HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Don Santiago Hostel

Hostel | Av. Ricardo Cumming 95, Santiago, Chile 22331

96.1% Overall Rating

380 out of 397 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (26/08/2014)

"I had an amazing stay! Staff is really welcoming and helpful, great people work here and create this positive atmosphere. Just for a few days or for longer, you feel like home. So much that it's hard to leave! See you…"

Read all Don Santiago Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1,000.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Santiago?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Santiago

The Princesa Insolente Hostel
11.01 USD

Hostel 85.1% 126 reviews
La Casa Roja
11.01 USD

Hostel 83.0% 120 reviews
Chile Lindo Hostel
9.96 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Landay Hostel
11.86 USD

Hostel 89.3% 127 reviews
HI - Santiago de Chile
16.10 USD

Hostel 73.9% 26 reviews
Hostel Ayekantun
30.50 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Happy House Hostel
20.33 USD

Hostel 89.7% 35 reviews
Traveller's Place Hostel
11.86 USD

Hostel 86.8% 24 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
96.1%

Overall Rating

380 out of 397 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Don Santiago Hostel'

Atmosphere
98.4%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
92.0%
Cleanliness
92.8%
Staff
100.0%
Value
97.6%
Safety
97.6%
Refine your results Showing 349 of 370 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Kevin O'Brien

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

01 January 2011

Liked: Very amazing staff, the location is pretty easy to find, and the breakfast is pretty good. The staff held an awesome new year's dinner and took us to the roof of a building where they own an apartment to celebrate.

Disliked: The building was a little bit older, so this made some things look less clean at times. However, the important things like the bathroom, kitchen, and beds were all VERY clean :)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Simon Salomonsson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

29 December 2010 Simon would recommend this property

Liked: the atmosphere and the staff! The style of the house is really cool as well

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel Marcus

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

28 December 2010 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: I felt at home here with my kind of people. I loved the band room, I didn't have to bring a guitar on my travels and always had access to one. Where else do you get that? Great friendly, helpful staff, satisfying breakfast. Fun, interesting guests. Highly recommended.

Disliked: Not much to comment on. Great value.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location close to the metro station and a large supermarket. Quiet and safe at night. Good breakfast too.

Disliked: Not enough bathrooms. Can't stay up and watch tv or talk past 1am as this is when 'quiet time' begins.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Antje Steglich

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 December 2010 Antje would recommend this property

Liked: Pato was very great, - we can recommend this hostel ! very good atmosphere ! around the world-team from berlin jantje

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ian Wacker

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 December 2010 Ian would recommend this property

Liked: The BBQ's (with Victor's special hot sauce) were awesome. The jam nights that they had when we were there was lots of fun (the staff double as musicians too). Pato, Victor, and David were very helpful, breakfasts were fantastic, and we met lots of other good travelers during our stay (we spent two more nights there we liked it so much). We stayed in a double private room which was big and comfortable. Its not a huge hostal, but we really liked the warm, homey atmosphere. Highly recommend staying here.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cristina Torres da Silva

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 December 2010 Cristina would recommend this property

Liked: The decoration is amazing...Loved the bathrooms...Very well located...great staff...It was my last night in Chile and I asked to change rooms as I wanted a private room so I could sleep well....They gave me another room and charged me just a bit more so I could fly out(early) the next day after a good night sleep!!!!

Disliked: That I was there just for one night and left eraly in the morning and could not have the amazing brekky they offer!!!!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Robert McIlreavy

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

03 December 2010 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: A very convenient place to stay. Close to 2 different Metro line stations, 3 stops from the bus terminal and a short walk away from the bus to the airport.Very friendly and helpful staff.

Disliked: Robert left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect BBQ, Jam-Session and Pisco-Evening! And of course Lucy ;) Very friendly staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, friendly staff and very good breakfast!. The best I've ever had in a Hostel.

Disliked: noisy beds

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

25 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Brilliant place, really! Fairly central and the staff was just awesome!

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice, relaxed atmosphere. Staff really friendly and helpful. Good breakfast. Comfy bed and rooms have fans. The staff play music in the night time and anyone can join in, just adds to the atmosphere here. One of the best hostels we've stayed in after 3 months in South America, highly recommended!

Disliked: Nothing. Stay here!!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

19 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was in a good location, only a 15-20 min walk to the city centre. We arrived before check in time as we got an over night bus and the owner had no issues and gave us breakfast. This was really nice and the breakfast was delicious- Fruit and scrambled egg and toast with real coffee! The living area had lots of sofa´s so was a good place to meet people. The also had a pisco night which was great craic. The owner was one of the most genuine person we have met on our travels. His staff were really really helpful and friendly and gave us lots of good ideas and advice on things to see and do in SA.

Disliked: The only thing was our bathroom was not the cleanist - I think our room was cleanded in a hurry so this may have been what happened.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Fiona Doyle

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 November 2010 Fiona would recommend this property

Liked: This is our second time staying in this hostel & we loved it here. Hostel was really chilled out with really friendly & helpful staff. Its a great place to meet people & feels like being in your own home. Would definitely recommend it to other travellers.

Disliked: Fiona left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast is great

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Deborah Monaghan

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

01 November 2010 Deborah would recommend this property

Liked: This place was fantastic, easily the most easy going hostel i have come across in South Ameria! The guy that runs it is very friendly and very helpful, excellent english! Also they had a bbq one night we were there, we only had to pay a small amount and food was awesome!!! Great place to stay, highly reccommend it!

Disliked: Deborah left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

pierre chenier

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 October 2010 pierre would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful & friendly staff, beautiful wooden floors

Disliked: Road outside a bit noisey.... although they do give you earplugs if you want them!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Doris Elgert

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 October 2010 Doris would recommend this property

Liked: I pretty much liked everything. Nice atmosphere and very nice people.

Disliked: Doris left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly environment

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Trent German

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

14 September 2010 Trent would recommend this property

Liked: I can not say enough nice things about the staff. Very chill group of guys who will try their best to make you feel at home for your stay. In fact I continued to visit and hangout with them weeks after I left the hostel (I was staying in the city for a 10 weeks afterwards). In fact, my 3rd week there I got locked out of my apartment with no keys, no money, no cell phone, and no shoes (I was doing laundry), along with a pot of water on to boil. I have no idea where my roommates work, and they wouldnt come home for hours, so instead i walked barefoot through the city to the hostel and asked the guys working if I could borrow a phone and a little money for a cab. Thankfully they were more than happy to help me in my time of need, and when I came back later to repay them, they would not accept my money (though I bought them a few beers anyways!)

Disliked: Trent left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good, helpful staff. Good breakfast and a good homely feel

Disliked: Sometimes noisy in the downstairs room

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

celia meighen mclean

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 August 2010 celia would recommend this property

Liked: really nice place with amazing staff and GOOD breakfast!! not only bread !! fruits and eggs!go there!

Disliked: ---

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was lovely, really homely, Pato, the owner is amazing, the staff will help with everything you need to know about Santiago and beyond. Really easy to meet other people, i extended my stay!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Avi Mastov

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 July 2010 Avi would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was really nice and the breakfast was absolutely amazing! The hostel didn't have many rooms and as such it had a very unique family atmosphere where you could get to know everyone.

Disliked: The weird thing was that the only computer was shared between the workers of the hostel and the guests, meaning that the hostel's management was being made on a computer available for everyone's access.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Roisin McClean

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

13 July 2010 Roisin would recommend this property

Liked: the staff were amazing and willing to help out anyone with tips on where to go in south america! best breakfast you will get in any hostel and really friendly atmosphere! would def recommend anyone to stay here!

Disliked: Roisin left no negative feedback.