HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Don Santiago Hostel Santiago Hostel

Av. Ricardo Cumming 95, Santiago, Chile

Atmosphere 94%

Cleanliness 88%

Facilities 84%

Location 90%

Safety 95%

Staff 97%

Value 90%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Towels for hire

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 1,000.00USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 12:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Santiago?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 94%

Cleanliness 88%

Facilities 84%

Location 90%

Safety 95%

Staff 97%

Value 90%

Showing 51-45 of 45 reviews

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 May 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great breakfast, nice common area, funky decor and friendliness and helpfullness of staff

Disliked: Private rooms are a little hit and miss. The first time I stayed here my partner and I had a great double but the second time we were put in a crummy four bed room for the same price

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 May 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: I love the breakfast served at the table evey morning. Very nice staff to hang out with. I would highly recommend this place to travelers and backpackers from all over the world.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: This hostel is doing things right! Amazing staff, great breakfast, beautiful decor & atmosphere!

Disliked: Honestly I couldn't name one thing if I tried

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Work / volunteering

Liked: The hostel has a funky decor and the staff were very helpful with activities and restaurants in the area. The room was clean and beds were comfortable. Lighting was a bit dim in the room. Great breakfast included each morning. There was a strong wifi connection and even two computers to use for free. There are storage lockers available to use, bring your own lock. Great location near the tourist sites but also in a more real life area of Santiago. Lots of restaurants and bars nearby full of local people.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Very clean, great staff, very helpful. Very safe, good location for getting to buses and airport. Gorgeous breakfast every morning!

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Staff were very helpful before and during my stay. The hostel is a big house and decorated in an interesting, quirky way. The breakfast was great.

Disliked: There are only 2 bathrooms for the whole place. The dorm was a little noisy at night though this may be unavoidable in Santiago as people arrive/leave at all hours to and from the airport.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Beautiful historic building with a lot of character. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Met a lot of friendly travelers and the group space allows for mingling with others. Close to metro so easy to get around to the other parts of Santiago.

Disliked: Nothing really.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Small, clean and comfortable. It is not a party hostel and they do have a sensible curfew 1am. The breakfast is decent as well with eggs, fruits, fresh juice, toast and coffee.

Disliked: Wished that the hosts spoke a little more English or that they provided more local information in English. Very much geared towards the Spanish speaking end of the market it seems.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: This really is one of the nicer hostels we've come across in South America! What our double room lacked in character, the hostel staff made up in friendliness and generosity. The breakfast is great - real drip coffee, eggs, bread. At night, we got free and delicious Terremotos (booze!). The atmosphere is laid back and easy-going but not in a loose and hippy-ish way. It is just a ten minute walk from the subway and there are tons of restaurants, a supermarket and a laundry place nearby.

Disliked: Nothing really. There are only two toilets but I never had to wait too long.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: awesome place, definitely my favorite hostel in south america! breakfast was lovingly prepared for us, pancakes, warm bread, eggs, fruit!everyone working there is extremely nice with a warm smile on their face.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability