HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Don Santiago Hostel

Hostel | Av. Ricardo Cumming 95, Santiago, Chile 22331

94.1% Overall Rating

365 out of 382 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (20/03/2014)

Mark Brown thinks…

"Friendly staff, great cooked breakfast and an open and welcome living area. The staff were all on hand to help with questions at anytime."

Read all Don Santiago Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1,000.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Santiago?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Santiago

The Princesa Insolente Hostel
12.45 USD

Hostel 88.9% 123 reviews
La Casa Roja
14.23 USD

Hostel 84.2% 115 reviews
Chile Lindo Hostel
10.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Landay Hostel
12.45 USD

Hostel 89.7% 125 reviews
HI - Santiago de Chile
14.23 USD

Hostel 73.9% 26 reviews
Hostel Ayekantun
32.02 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hostel So Be
16.00 USD

Hostel 76.7% 27 reviews
Happy House Hostel
21.34 USD

Hostel 90.2% 33 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
94.6%

Overall Rating

366 out of 383 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Don Santiago Hostel'

Atmosphere
96.8%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
90.4%
Cleanliness
92.0%
Staff
99.2%
Value
96.8%
Safety
95.2%
Refine your results Showing 336 of 356 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Fiona Doyle

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 November 2010 Fiona would recommend this property

Liked: This is our second time staying in this hostel & we loved it here. Hostel was really chilled out with really friendly & helpful staff. Its a great place to meet people & feels like being in your own home. Would definitely recommend it to other travellers.

Disliked: Fiona left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast is great

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Deborah Monaghan

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

01 November 2010 Deborah would recommend this property

Liked: This place was fantastic, easily the most easy going hostel i have come across in South Ameria! The guy that runs it is very friendly and very helpful, excellent english! Also they had a bbq one night we were there, we only had to pay a small amount and food was awesome!!! Great place to stay, highly reccommend it!

Disliked: Deborah left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

pierre chenier

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 October 2010 pierre would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful & friendly staff, beautiful wooden floors

Disliked: Road outside a bit noisey.... although they do give you earplugs if you want them!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Doris Elgert

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 October 2010 Doris would recommend this property

Liked: I pretty much liked everything. Nice atmosphere and very nice people.

Disliked: Doris left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly environment

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Trent German

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

14 September 2010 Trent would recommend this property

Liked: I can not say enough nice things about the staff. Very chill group of guys who will try their best to make you feel at home for your stay. In fact I continued to visit and hangout with them weeks after I left the hostel (I was staying in the city for a 10 weeks afterwards). In fact, my 3rd week there I got locked out of my apartment with no keys, no money, no cell phone, and no shoes (I was doing laundry), along with a pot of water on to boil. I have no idea where my roommates work, and they wouldnt come home for hours, so instead i walked barefoot through the city to the hostel and asked the guys working if I could borrow a phone and a little money for a cab. Thankfully they were more than happy to help me in my time of need, and when I came back later to repay them, they would not accept my money (though I bought them a few beers anyways!)

Disliked: Trent left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good, helpful staff. Good breakfast and a good homely feel

Disliked: Sometimes noisy in the downstairs room

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

celia meighen mclean

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 August 2010 celia would recommend this property

Liked: really nice place with amazing staff and GOOD breakfast!! not only bread !! fruits and eggs!go there!

Disliked: ---

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was lovely, really homely, Pato, the owner is amazing, the staff will help with everything you need to know about Santiago and beyond. Really easy to meet other people, i extended my stay!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Avi Mastov

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 July 2010 Avi would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was really nice and the breakfast was absolutely amazing! The hostel didn't have many rooms and as such it had a very unique family atmosphere where you could get to know everyone.

Disliked: The weird thing was that the only computer was shared between the workers of the hostel and the guests, meaning that the hostel's management was being made on a computer available for everyone's access.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Roisin McClean

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

13 July 2010 Roisin would recommend this property

Liked: the staff were amazing and willing to help out anyone with tips on where to go in south america! best breakfast you will get in any hostel and really friendly atmosphere! would def recommend anyone to stay here!

Disliked: Roisin left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nothing

Disliked: excellent hostel, maybe the best i have stayed in. Staff have been so friendly and helpful would not hesitate to recommend Don Santiago to a friend.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Philip Imlay

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

07 July 2010

Liked: The computers for accessing the Internet. The friendly staff and the awesome brakfast.

Disliked: The cleanliness and its noisy (creaking staircase, badly insulated rooms)

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is a great friendly hostel with loads of character, where you really feel welcome. The staff are fantastic and it is a great place to meet people. Excellent breakfast including scrambled eggs; they even do the washing up for you! Only minor complaint was that the shower wasnt great, but I enjoyed the place so much that I can easily forgive that.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

01 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff. The place feels like home and it's not one of those super hostels like the Loki and point. Enough said.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

18 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were awesome - really friendly and welcoming. We had a double room at the front of the hostel which was a bit loud from traffic at night. The staff and other guests are really respectful of the fact that people have paid for somewhere to sleep, at 1am you either go out or go to bed and its taken seriously. Pisco sour night is great, and they have barbecues and things on other nights too. Its a great hostel to hang out and meet other travellers also. The breakfast is great too - vegemite!!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Claire Jenkins

12 June 2010 Claire would recommend this property

Liked: This is an absolutely amazing hostel, so comfortable and friendly. There is a living room with massive TV and sofas where you can sit and relax and chat to the wonderful staff or have a few drinks. The breakfast is first class, and really sociable because you all sit round the dining table together, and there are barbeques and pisco nights. I really think this is the best hostel I stayed in while in South America and would recommend it to everyone!

Disliked: Claire left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

12 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: All the staff were extremely welcoming & offered a perfect introduction into our Sth American holiday. Recommend in a flash!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Summer Kimbrough

31 May 2010 Summer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome Hostel with lots of fun but also a quiet time at 1am and free earplugs to everyone to make sure you can actually sleep!

Disliked: Summer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Dorothy Brincat

29 May 2010 Dorothy would recommend this property

Liked: really friendly and a lovely breakfast

Disliked: Dorothy left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marietta Mayo

14 May 2010 Marietta would recommend this property

Liked: Our time in Santiago and Don Santiago Hostel was incredible!! We loved the city and meeting new people at the hostel. The staff did a great job in making us feel welcomed. This was one of the best trips we have taken. Job well done Don Santiago Hostel!!!

Disliked: Marietta left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

11 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really great hostel in a great location with cheap places to eat at, supermarket, buses and metro terminal close by. Staff are great, so friendly and helpful - Diego was great! Gives great advice for second hand shopping if you`re interested. It was so great we came back to stay on our second visit to Santiago!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

joao fernandes

07 May 2010 joao would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, comfortable beds and the best breakfast i've had in SA,KEEP ROCKING GUYS!!!!!

Disliked: joao left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

joao fernandes

07 May 2010 joao would recommend this property

Liked: Just try it and see for yourself. =)

Disliked: joao left no negative feedback.