We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Don Santiago Hostel

Hostel | Av. Ricardo Cumming 95, Santiago, Chile 22331

94.2% Overall Rating

390 out of 408 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (06/05/2015)

"It has a very nice and welcoming atmosphere. It is located in a nice and safe area close to the center. The breakfast is very good (it includes fresh fruits!)"

Read all Don Santiago Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1,000.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Santiago?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Santiago

The Princesa Insolente Hostel
10.00 USD

Hostel 84.1% 135 reviews
Chile Lindo Hostel
9.00 USD

Hostel 69.1% 11 reviews
Landay Hostel
10.75 USD

Hostel 86.3% 134 reviews
HI - Santiago de Chile
14.93 USD

Hostel 73.9% 26 reviews
Hostel Ayekantun
26.88 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Happy House Hostel
17.92 USD

Hostel 89.3% 36 reviews
Traveller's Place Hostel
9.71 USD

Hostel 85.8% 26 reviews
Nuevo Horizonte Hostel
9.00 USD

Hostel 78.6% 37 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
94.2%

Overall Rating

390 out of 408 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Don Santiago Hostel'

Atmosphere
96.0%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
89.6%
Cleanliness
88.8%
Staff
99.2%
Value
92.8%
Safety
99.2%
Refine your results Showing 357 of 381 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 14 | 15   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Feel like home. Nice staff and owner. Good matress in double room, real hot shower, electric blanket, heater in the common room.

Disliked: NA

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Stefan Willemsen

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 June 2011 Stefan would recommend this property

Liked: Location is okay, not too far from the metro. Breakfast is really good. Staff is really helpful.

Disliked: What others might consider cosy, I consider cramped, worn and a bit dirty.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

tom naseby

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 June 2011 tom would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent breakfast, nice beds, warm showers, great location- could walk everywhere! Staff were fantastic! very easy to talk to and really accommodating. Loved it!!! also loved lucy!!!

Disliked: creaking floorboards

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Had character

Disliked: Not enough bathrooms with showers

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very helpfull. We even got breakfast on the day we arrived (although we didn't sleep there yet) and it was amazing. Best breakfast we had so far. The guys made us a wonderfull BBQ (Try to stay there on Fridays ;-)) and they are always there to help you. I even had a little Jam-session with them.

Disliked: The showers could use a little painting, but they had really hot water (which is not that common in Chili, we found out).

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Christoph Mueller

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 May 2011 Christoph would recommend this property

Liked: nice and cozy, very helpful staff

Disliked: few rooms, book early

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice little common area- though a bit crowded. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Bathroom was really really old and dirty. Only dorm room had the only window down to the terrace at the back where people tended to sit and talk until late.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 May 2011

Liked: A convenient little place in the central Santiago, and one of the best breakfasts we've had in South America. The staff is nice, relaxed and cool.

Disliked: We stayed at Don Santiago for a couple of nights and there were some things we didn't like. When you a staying in the double bedroom it is located just under the staircase, which makes alot noise. In the dorm room there might have been bed bugs, because one of us got nearly between 50 and 100 bites just in one night.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The decor was really cool, and we had a huge room with a balcony. The staff were really helpful and friendly and spoke good english - Victor even acme with us to talk to a taxi driver to make sure he didn´t rip us off. The breakfast was also great - fresh fruit, scrambled egg and hot bread with butter and jam.

Disliked: There are 2 showers - one of which was really good (the one that is just a shower room) but the other (the one above a bath) was hot and cold and not very powerful. And the breakfast table only sat 6 people, so if you came down and it was full i guess you would have to wait...

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: SO much Character, beautiful old style building, quirky art everywhere. decent free breakfast. Pado and Victor are awesome. thanks guys.

Disliked: nothing really!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: love the loft, although they can do something about the bunk-bed there.

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jordan Miles

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 May 2011 Jordan would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the art work on the walls and around the hostel, very cool and funky place. The staff and guests were very friendly and lovely people. They made an awesome breakfast very morning. Located nice and close to Bars, Clubs, Restaurants and the Subway.

Disliked: There was nothing to dislike about Don Santiago Hostel

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 May 2011

Liked: really eclectic and unique, in a cool part of town. Great breakfast

Disliked: Too dark, had to wear headlamps at night even with lights on. Old and falling apart

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

JONATHAN millar

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 April 2011 JONATHAN would recommend this property

Liked: Very good hostel, great hosts and very welcoming. Pisco Sour night on Wed was a nice bonus! Breakfast very good for hostel (fresh fruit, real coffee & scrambled egg). Very clean and good decor. Short walk from central district but Barrio Brasil is good place to be based.

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jesper Hoegsdal

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 April 2011 Jesper would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff and amazing breakfast.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joanna Hollebon

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 March 2011 Joanna would recommend this property

Liked: great staff and cool place!!

Disliked: nothing!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: character in furnishings, artworks comfortable lounge area friendly staff

Disliked: small kitchen - and losing food from there for no clear reason; in loft accommodation air con did not work and fan squeaked all night

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Easy to find if you note the address. Great staff, helpful and very friendly. Very relaxing start to my RTW trip, quiet enough place but plenty of others to get to know, enjoy a bbq together.

Disliked: none

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice staff, very clean and silent but also a good place to meet people. They have a very warm and comfy atmosphere. There is a reason why this hostel has one of the highest ratings.

Disliked: If there is one thing to improve it would be a sign at the wall. However also without that it is not too hard to find.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Marcel Knothe

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 March 2011 Marcel would recommend this property

Liked: It's a very nice hostel with tasteful decorations and a very good breakfast served until 11 a.m. The common living room is very cosy and a good place to meet other travellers. They also have a fully equipped kitchen and supermarket is 5 min walk. Very friendly english speaking stuff. The rooms on the streetside are a bit noisy (traffic) but thats no problem because they give you earplugs for free. We would definitely stay here again.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel Pavlik

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

16 March 2011 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: everything about the hostel is just perfect! the interiour is more of a piece of art than just a hostel, the artistic designs and decorations are beautiful. the hostel is very clean and the owners superfriendly. at the morning table they serve a nice breakfast where you easily get in contact with other guests of the hostel. or when they offer a delicious bbq to all guests for a more than reasonable price. to cut this short: it feels like coming home to a big family from the very first minute on...

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sally Douglas

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 March 2011 Sally would recommend this property

Liked: Great breakfast; staff were really helpful and nice (they made usfree drinks!); good common area; great value for money.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, you feel really at home, great breakfast, awesome and helpful staff, great location. This is our second time here and one of our fave hostels in 5 months travel.

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to stay, beautiful inside and good location

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Luis Mendes

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 February 2011 Luis would recommend this property

Liked: Very good to meet people, very nice breakfast, a must in santiago

Disliked: hmmm.....