HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Don Santiago Hostel

Hostel | Av. Ricardo Cumming 95, Santiago, Chile 22331

94.6% Overall Rating

366 out of 383 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (20/03/2014)

Mark Brown thinks…

"Friendly staff, great cooked breakfast and an open and welcome living area. The staff were all on hand to help with questions at anytime."

Read all Don Santiago Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1,000.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Santiago?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Santiago

The Princesa Insolente Hostel
12.45 USD

Hostel 88.9% 123 reviews
La Casa Roja
14.23 USD

Hostel 84.2% 115 reviews
Chile Lindo Hostel
10.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Landay Hostel
12.45 USD

Hostel 89.7% 125 reviews
HI - Santiago de Chile
14.23 USD

Hostel 73.9% 26 reviews
Hostel Ayekantun
32.02 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hostel So Be
16.00 USD

Hostel 76.7% 27 reviews
Happy House Hostel
21.34 USD

Hostel 90.2% 33 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
94.6%

Overall Rating

366 out of 383 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Don Santiago Hostel'

Atmosphere
96.8%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
90.4%
Cleanliness
92.0%
Staff
99.2%
Value
96.8%
Safety
95.2%
Refine your results Showing 336 of 356 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sally Douglas

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 March 2011 Sally would recommend this property

Liked: Great breakfast; staff were really helpful and nice (they made usfree drinks!); good common area; great value for money.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, you feel really at home, great breakfast, awesome and helpful staff, great location. This is our second time here and one of our fave hostels in 5 months travel.

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to stay, beautiful inside and good location

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Luis Mendes

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 February 2011 Luis would recommend this property

Liked: Very good to meet people, very nice breakfast, a must in santiago

Disliked: hmmm.....

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

31 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere. Make sure you get the Sunday night BBQ and sing- song it was great fun.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

chuck middleton

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 January 2011 chuck would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly...stayed longer than expected to as it was so fun.

Disliked: Not dislike, but the front door could have used a sign.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paul Sharples

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 January 2011 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff, clean, secure, good breakfast

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: really nice little hostel, very clean and very good breakfasts

Disliked: our dorm was very cramped when it was full, although the private rooms were very big. could do with a couple more bathrooms.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

12 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: El cervisio

Disliked: nada

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice relaxed atmosphere, safe location, good breakfast!

Disliked: Dorms a bit cramped.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere, the fantastic breakfast and the fact that it is small and very friendly.

Disliked: No comment

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

oliver grasser

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 January 2011 oliver would recommend this property

Liked: i had a great time there with jamsessions, pisco sours,...,within an amazing atmosphere!!! lovely staff, good location, clean, all you need!!!

Disliked: nothing!!!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Kevin O'Brien

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

01 January 2011

Liked: Very amazing staff, the location is pretty easy to find, and the breakfast is pretty good. The staff held an awesome new year's dinner and took us to the roof of a building where they own an apartment to celebrate.

Disliked: The building was a little bit older, so this made some things look less clean at times. However, the important things like the bathroom, kitchen, and beds were all VERY clean :)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Simon Salomonsson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

29 December 2010 Simon would recommend this property

Liked: the atmosphere and the staff! The style of the house is really cool as well

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel Marcus

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

28 December 2010 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: I felt at home here with my kind of people. I loved the band room, I didn't have to bring a guitar on my travels and always had access to one. Where else do you get that? Great friendly, helpful staff, satisfying breakfast. Fun, interesting guests. Highly recommended.

Disliked: Not much to comment on. Great value.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location close to the metro station and a large supermarket. Quiet and safe at night. Good breakfast too.

Disliked: Not enough bathrooms. Can't stay up and watch tv or talk past 1am as this is when 'quiet time' begins.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Antje Steglich

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 December 2010 Antje would recommend this property

Liked: Pato was very great, - we can recommend this hostel ! very good atmosphere ! around the world-team from berlin jantje

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ian Wacker

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 December 2010 Ian would recommend this property

Liked: The BBQ's (with Victor's special hot sauce) were awesome. The jam nights that they had when we were there was lots of fun (the staff double as musicians too). Pato, Victor, and David were very helpful, breakfasts were fantastic, and we met lots of other good travelers during our stay (we spent two more nights there we liked it so much). We stayed in a double private room which was big and comfortable. Its not a huge hostal, but we really liked the warm, homey atmosphere. Highly recommend staying here.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cristina Torres da Silva

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 December 2010 Cristina would recommend this property

Liked: The decoration is amazing...Loved the bathrooms...Very well located...great staff...It was my last night in Chile and I asked to change rooms as I wanted a private room so I could sleep well....They gave me another room and charged me just a bit more so I could fly out(early) the next day after a good night sleep!!!!

Disliked: That I was there just for one night and left eraly in the morning and could not have the amazing brekky they offer!!!!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Robert McIlreavy

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 December 2010 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: A very convenient place to stay. Close to 2 different Metro line stations, 3 stops from the bus terminal and a short walk away from the bus to the airport.Very friendly and helpful staff.

Disliked: Robert left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect BBQ, Jam-Session and Pisco-Evening! And of course Lucy ;) Very friendly staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, friendly staff and very good breakfast!. The best I've ever had in a Hostel.

Disliked: noisy beds

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Brilliant place, really! Fairly central and the staff was just awesome!

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice, relaxed atmosphere. Staff really friendly and helpful. Good breakfast. Comfy bed and rooms have fans. The staff play music in the night time and anyone can join in, just adds to the atmosphere here. One of the best hostels we've stayed in after 3 months in South America, highly recommended!

Disliked: Nothing. Stay here!!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was in a good location, only a 15-20 min walk to the city centre. We arrived before check in time as we got an over night bus and the owner had no issues and gave us breakfast. This was really nice and the breakfast was delicious- Fruit and scrambled egg and toast with real coffee! The living area had lots of sofa´s so was a good place to meet people. The also had a pisco night which was great craic. The owner was one of the most genuine person we have met on our travels. His staff were really really helpful and friendly and gave us lots of good ideas and advice on things to see and do in SA.

Disliked: The only thing was our bathroom was not the cleanist - I think our room was cleanded in a hurry so this may have been what happened.