HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Don Santiago Hostel

Hostel | Av. Ricardo Cumming 95, Santiago, Chile 22331

96.1% Overall Rating

380 out of 397 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (26/08/2014)

"I had an amazing stay! Staff is really welcoming and helpful, great people work here and create this positive atmosphere. Just for a few days or for longer, you feel like home. So much that it's hard to leave! See you…"

Read all Don Santiago Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1,000.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Santiago?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Santiago

The Princesa Insolente Hostel
11.01 USD

Hostel 85.1% 126 reviews
La Casa Roja
11.01 USD

Hostel 83.0% 120 reviews
Chile Lindo Hostel
9.96 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Landay Hostel
10.00 USD

Hostel 89.3% 127 reviews
HI - Santiago de Chile
16.10 USD

Hostel 73.9% 26 reviews
Hostel Ayekantun
30.50 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Happy House Hostel
20.33 USD

Hostel 89.7% 35 reviews
Traveller's Place Hostel
11.86 USD

Hostel 86.8% 24 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
96.1%

Overall Rating

380 out of 397 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Don Santiago Hostel'

Atmosphere
98.4%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
92.0%
Cleanliness
92.8%
Staff
100.0%
Value
97.6%
Safety
97.6%
Refine your results Showing 349 of 370 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location, close to bars and restaurants and walking distance to city centre, great breakfast (scrambled eggs mmmm!), very friendly helpful staff, lots of things to do, we had a pisco sour party which was amazing, very friendly guinea pig called lucy!!! room was nice, toilets and showers were good. kitchen was decent. would highly recommend.

Disliked: nothing.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel has a lot of personality, with cool decor and comfortable common rooms. The beds were comfortable and the rooms were clean. The staff was friendly and pointed out the best places to visit in the city. It was four blocks from the metro, which will take you anywhere you want to be in the city.

Disliked: The staff was a little hard to get a hold of at times.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good and cheap to stay a few days

Disliked: None

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Erik Achterkamp

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 August 2011 Erik would recommend this property

Liked: By far the best location in Santiago! Great views on the Plaza.. Staff is helpful and can arrange great deals.

Disliked: -

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

louisa stewart

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 August 2011 louisa would recommend this property

Liked: our last stop in south america after 3 months - one of the best places we've stayed! certainly the most individual, with great staff, lovely breakfast, fantastic arty decor and good location - wonderful place to enjoy santiago from with an incredibly relaxed atmosphere

Disliked: i'd be pushed to say anything bad, but maybe the fridge could be a bit cleaner!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Luke Pattison

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 August 2011 Luke would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, great staff. Very easy to meet other travellers as it is basically a house and only has 17 beds. Lots of cool home done art everywhere, like an art student's shared house. Breakfast is served at the table and you don't have to wash up - you might be waiting for up to an hour if everyone wants to eat at the same time though.

Disliked: Could been seen as a nice squat with a cleaner - pretty grimy, super squeeky floors, not enough toilets (they were always occupied when I wanted to use one), lights in the double room didn't light it up at all, 'jam sessions' until 1am officially but went on until 3am one night. I am just mentioning these so that people know, we really enjoyed the hostel and I would still recommend it, if you think it sounds like your kind of place - book ahead because many people like this kind of atmosphere!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Don Santiago is an awesome place to stay some days or even more. The atmosphere is really friendly and it feels like you are in your own home. I would recommend it to everybody.

Disliked: There was nothing I disliked.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Liam Hallinan Johns

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

06 August 2011 Liam would recommend this property

Liked: Don Santiago was by far the best hostel we stayed at whilst in Chile. All the staff are really helpful, friendly and great to have a drink with! The hostel itself is clean and homey, the breakfast and bbqs were amazing and the general vibe of the hostel was great. I will definately stay at Don Santiago when i one day come back to Chile and i would highly recommend it for anyone traveling through Santiago

Disliked: nothing at all!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Simon Goodenough

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2011 Simon would recommend this property

Liked: Great Breakfast, friendly and helpful staff, nice rooms and bathroom facilities

Disliked: nothing... had an amazing stay so much so we decided to stay an extra 3 nights

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ines Drent

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

27 July 2011 Ines would recommend this property

Liked: The friendly atmosphere, the fact that it was a small hostel, and Lucy the guinneepig!

Disliked: Nothing.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laura Dixon

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 July 2011 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: The staff. The room with electric blanket and overall the mice welcoming atmosphere.

Disliked: The noise from the street plus the directions to the hostel are not that clear.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Small cosy place, with nice beds, nice atmosphere and a really good breakfast. I would definetely recomend this place.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

11 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I paid the extra money to get the the Deluxe Private Double Ensuite and I don't regret it!!! It was actually a Loft Apartment, has a kitchen, living room, cable tv, wifi, heater, located 4 blocks away from the hostel, amazing view of Plaza Brasil. We extended our booking for 2 more days, and had a great time hanging out with the staff and guests at the hostel. Thumbs up for this place!! !ohhh lovely breakfast! Cecilia and Mike

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We liked the open spaces and the common room was super cozy and nice to hang out. The staff went out of the way to help us and hang out with us. The electric blanked in the double was amazing.

Disliked: The location was safe but somewhat far from lots of attractions.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel has a lot of character!!!!! Nice beds, (electric blanket provided) warm and homely. Book it!

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A truly excellent hostel!!!! The hostel itself has great funky decor, with great chill out areas, instruments for jam sessions if you interested, really cozy beds and a GREAT brekkie!! And also a good location! But its the staff who really make the hostel.....they are all super friendly, helpful, fun and generally really great!! Cant recommend the hostel enough.......book it!!!!

Disliked: Nada

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

MARINA SALIBA

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 July 2011 MARINA would recommend this property

Liked: Friendliness and helpfulness of the staff and location. They changed our room easily.

Disliked: The room was cold and they need a central heating system.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Feel like home. Nice staff and owner. Good matress in double room, real hot shower, electric blanket, heater in the common room.

Disliked: NA

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Stefan Willemsen

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 June 2011 Stefan would recommend this property

Liked: Location is okay, not too far from the metro. Breakfast is really good. Staff is really helpful.

Disliked: What others might consider cosy, I consider cramped, worn and a bit dirty.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

tom naseby

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 June 2011 tom would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent breakfast, nice beds, warm showers, great location- could walk everywhere! Staff were fantastic! very easy to talk to and really accommodating. Loved it!!! also loved lucy!!!

Disliked: creaking floorboards

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Had character

Disliked: Not enough bathrooms with showers

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very helpfull. We even got breakfast on the day we arrived (although we didn't sleep there yet) and it was amazing. Best breakfast we had so far. The guys made us a wonderfull BBQ (Try to stay there on Fridays ;-)) and they are always there to help you. I even had a little Jam-session with them.

Disliked: The showers could use a little painting, but they had really hot water (which is not that common in Chili, we found out).

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Christoph Mueller

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 May 2011 Christoph would recommend this property

Liked: nice and cozy, very helpful staff

Disliked: few rooms, book early

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice little common area- though a bit crowded. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Bathroom was really really old and dirty. Only dorm room had the only window down to the terrace at the back where people tended to sit and talk until late.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 May 2011

Liked: A convenient little place in the central Santiago, and one of the best breakfasts we've had in South America. The staff is nice, relaxed and cool.

Disliked: We stayed at Don Santiago for a couple of nights and there were some things we didn't like. When you a staying in the double bedroom it is located just under the staircase, which makes alot noise. In the dorm room there might have been bed bugs, because one of us got nearly between 50 and 100 bites just in one night.

The property's response is...