HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Don Santiago Hostel

Hostel | Av. Ricardo Cumming 95, Santiago, Chile 22331

94.6% Overall Rating

366 out of 383 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (20/03/2014)

Mark Brown thinks…

"Friendly staff, great cooked breakfast and an open and welcome living area. The staff were all on hand to help with questions at anytime."

Read all Don Santiago Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1,000.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Santiago?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Santiago

The Princesa Insolente Hostel
12.50 USD

Hostel 88.9% 123 reviews
La Casa Roja
14.28 USD

Hostel 84.2% 115 reviews
Chile Lindo Hostel
10.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Landay Hostel
12.50 USD

Hostel 89.7% 125 reviews
HI - Santiago de Chile
14.28 USD

Hostel 73.9% 26 reviews
Hostel Ayekantun
32.14 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hostel So Be
16.00 USD

Hostel 76.7% 27 reviews
Happy House Hostel
21.42 USD

Hostel 90.2% 33 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
94.6%

Overall Rating

366 out of 383 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Don Santiago Hostel'

Atmosphere
96.8%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
90.4%
Cleanliness
92.0%
Staff
99.2%
Value
96.8%
Safety
95.2%
Refine your results Showing 336 of 356 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cosy, homely atmosphere

Disliked: As is a very small hostel, you´re experience will very much depend on the other guests there at that time!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice place to stay in santiago, breakfast was one of the better ive had on my trip

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Small and homely place. All the people there were great and rachel was exceedinly helpful.

Disliked: Spent just a few hours sleeping, great showers and didnt find anything to crib about...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Don Santiago is a very nice hostel with clean bathrooms.

Disliked: I didn't like that there was no reception. In the beginning it was a bit hard figuering out who actually worked at the hostel.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

wouter broekmeulen

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 December 2011 wouter would recommend this property

Liked: it is al pleasant and clean hostel. The staff is really nice and very helpfull.

Disliked: It can be a bit noisy, but that is what you can expect when you book a room with a guesthouse.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jessica Viau

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 December 2011 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: An amazing stay at this hostel! I planned to be there for two nights but decided to stay for four nights. Everything is there for you. A beautiful living room well decorated to be calm, read a book, go on Intenet, watch TV. The dorm is great with only six beds. The staff is amazing, friendly and you really feel that you are welcome in there hostel. You have to meet Jorge, Pato and Rachel! They are very helpful and generous. After a day of visiting, it's great to come back because you feel just like home! The ambiance created helps the get together with travelers for great conversations, to have a drink, to sing songs, or to go out for a show!!

Disliked: I couldn't stay longer because I had a flight waiting for me!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Pato was incredibly friendly and helpful. Arriving back to the hostel after a day out felt like coming home to a friends house. The communal areas were welcoming and comfortable. Breakfast was really good, fresh fruit, and scrambled eggs on toast. They even had vegemite and marmite... Wireless internet was a bonus. Was one of the smaller hostels we have stayed in, which we enjoyed as it was easy to meet people and didnt have the craziness going on that some of the larger hostels have. Would definitely stay here again if back in Santiago.

Disliked: Wear your earplugs (given some on arrival) as the place is quite old and has creaky floorboards.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful, colourful hostel. Friendly and warm staff, delicious breakfast and excellent taste in music. Really enjoyed my stay here, much more relaxed and friendly than any other hostel.

Disliked: Nada!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast was Awesome, fruit, scrambled eggs, toast and real coffee!

Disliked: It was very loud at night, could not get to sleep until after 3am one night!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

daniel frederiksen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 November 2011 daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, atmosphere and breakfast. I have stayed here 3 times and had a great time everytime.

Disliked: Pato's singing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrea Connelly

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 November 2011 Andrea would recommend this property

Liked: Don Santiago is a fantastic hostel in a central location in Santiago. The staff is very friendly and always ready to help. It is a small hostel that feels more like a home than a hostel. The facilities are great (great wifi, comfortable dorm, 2 computers) and the breakfast is amazing. It's a great hostel to meet other travelers but you will also be able to relax. I highly recommend it.

Disliked: There was nothing that I disliked. This hostel is fantastic.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

31 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The host approaches to the travellers as a friend which was very nice. he also speaks English very well and informative. We only stayed for 2 nights, but one of nights was "Pisco sour" night. While drinking Chile's typical drink, we met other travellers, it was very good atmosphere. .

Disliked: Room was very small and next to the kitchen, right in front of the main door, etc.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location, close to bars and restaurants and walking distance to city centre, great breakfast (scrambled eggs mmmm!), very friendly helpful staff, lots of things to do, we had a pisco sour party which was amazing, very friendly guinea pig called lucy!!! room was nice, toilets and showers were good. kitchen was decent. would highly recommend.

Disliked: nothing.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel has a lot of personality, with cool decor and comfortable common rooms. The beds were comfortable and the rooms were clean. The staff was friendly and pointed out the best places to visit in the city. It was four blocks from the metro, which will take you anywhere you want to be in the city.

Disliked: The staff was a little hard to get a hold of at times.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good and cheap to stay a few days

Disliked: None

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Erik Achterkamp

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 August 2011 Erik would recommend this property

Liked: By far the best location in Santiago! Great views on the Plaza.. Staff is helpful and can arrange great deals.

Disliked: -

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

louisa stewart

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 August 2011 louisa would recommend this property

Liked: our last stop in south america after 3 months - one of the best places we've stayed! certainly the most individual, with great staff, lovely breakfast, fantastic arty decor and good location - wonderful place to enjoy santiago from with an incredibly relaxed atmosphere

Disliked: i'd be pushed to say anything bad, but maybe the fridge could be a bit cleaner!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Luke Pattison

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 August 2011 Luke would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, great staff. Very easy to meet other travellers as it is basically a house and only has 17 beds. Lots of cool home done art everywhere, like an art student's shared house. Breakfast is served at the table and you don't have to wash up - you might be waiting for up to an hour if everyone wants to eat at the same time though.

Disliked: Could been seen as a nice squat with a cleaner - pretty grimy, super squeeky floors, not enough toilets (they were always occupied when I wanted to use one), lights in the double room didn't light it up at all, 'jam sessions' until 1am officially but went on until 3am one night. I am just mentioning these so that people know, we really enjoyed the hostel and I would still recommend it, if you think it sounds like your kind of place - book ahead because many people like this kind of atmosphere!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Don Santiago is an awesome place to stay some days or even more. The atmosphere is really friendly and it feels like you are in your own home. I would recommend it to everybody.

Disliked: There was nothing I disliked.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Liam Hallinan Johns

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

06 August 2011 Liam would recommend this property

Liked: Don Santiago was by far the best hostel we stayed at whilst in Chile. All the staff are really helpful, friendly and great to have a drink with! The hostel itself is clean and homey, the breakfast and bbqs were amazing and the general vibe of the hostel was great. I will definately stay at Don Santiago when i one day come back to Chile and i would highly recommend it for anyone traveling through Santiago

Disliked: nothing at all!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Simon Goodenough

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2011 Simon would recommend this property

Liked: Great Breakfast, friendly and helpful staff, nice rooms and bathroom facilities

Disliked: nothing... had an amazing stay so much so we decided to stay an extra 3 nights

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ines Drent

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

27 July 2011 Ines would recommend this property

Liked: The friendly atmosphere, the fact that it was a small hostel, and Lucy the guinneepig!

Disliked: Nothing.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laura Dixon

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 July 2011 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: The staff. The room with electric blanket and overall the mice welcoming atmosphere.

Disliked: The noise from the street plus the directions to the hostel are not that clear.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Small cosy place, with nice beds, nice atmosphere and a really good breakfast. I would definetely recomend this place.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

11 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I paid the extra money to get the the Deluxe Private Double Ensuite and I don't regret it!!! It was actually a Loft Apartment, has a kitchen, living room, cable tv, wifi, heater, located 4 blocks away from the hostel, amazing view of Plaza Brasil. We extended our booking for 2 more days, and had a great time hanging out with the staff and guests at the hostel. Thumbs up for this place!! !ohhh lovely breakfast! Cecilia and Mike

Disliked: Nothing