We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Don Santiago Hostel

Hostel | Av. Ricardo Cumming 95, Santiago, Chile 22331

94.2% Overall Rating

380 out of 398 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (26/08/2014)

"I had an amazing stay! Staff is really welcoming and helpful, great people work here and create this positive atmosphere. Just for a few days or for longer, you feel like home. So much that it's hard to leave! See you…"

Read all Don Santiago Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1,000.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Santiago?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Santiago

The Princesa Insolente Hostel
11.62 USD

Hostel 82.3% 128 reviews
La Casa Roja
10.79 USD

Hostel 83.0% 120 reviews
Chile Lindo Hostel
9.20 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Landay Hostel
11.62 USD

Hostel 89.3% 127 reviews
HI - Santiago de Chile
15.77 USD

Hostel 73.9% 26 reviews
Hostel Ayekantun
29.89 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Happy House Hostel
19.93 USD

Hostel 89.7% 35 reviews
Traveller's Place Hostel
10.79 USD

Hostel 86.8% 24 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
94.2%

Overall Rating

380 out of 398 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Don Santiago Hostel'

Atmosphere
95.2%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
89.6%
Cleanliness
90.4%
Staff
100.0%
Value
94.4%
Safety
96.8%
Refine your results Showing 349 of 371 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff

Disliked: N/a

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

CHIH HSIANG CHUANG

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 April 2012 CHIH HSIANG would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff and delicious breakfast! you will feel like in your home!

Disliked: the hot water is not so stable.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Caroline Silva

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

29 April 2012 Caroline would recommend this property

Liked: Good breakfast. People are very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Payment just in cash.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice breakfast! ;) Superfriendly staff!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Maria Eugenia Martinez

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

06 March 2012 Maria Eugenia would recommend this property

Liked: it was a nice place to stay.

Disliked: the common area was maybe not too comfortable for more than 3 or 4 people at a time

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Andrea Robinson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 March 2012

Liked: the location

Disliked: the noise, smoke drifting in our room, no privacy. Definitely not a good place for more mature people.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

carla bermudez

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 February 2012 carla would recommend this property

Liked: I enjoyed my stay at this hostel. The staff was very friendly and always inclined to help, the hostel is clean and the rooms very comfortable. Is a perfect place to meet new friends. I really recommend it!!

Disliked: I have nothing to say, everything was very well!!!!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Maurits Van der Zouw

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 February 2012

Liked: Great breakfast with scrambled eggs and fresh fruit. We stayed at the double room and that has a big bed. The design of the rooms is really nice, the atmospere is good and they always have great music playing.

Disliked: The hostel is really noisy! You can almost hear every step a person takes. The double room could use a ventilator in summer and if sleeping with opened windows you cannot sleep because people are talking outside in the patio. The kitchen misses a lot of proper gear to prepare a meal. Both THE bathrooms could use a proper cleanup. In the big bathroom the windows need a paintjob or replacement.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

01 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I had a great stay! I stayed just for one day at a double room. They have a great breakfast included and they let us stay one hour longer in the room before checking out. The best part was the staff who you can tell was very knowledgeable and friendly. The place looks great and clean. It's small and cozy. I loved it! thanks soo much for everything!

Disliked: ---

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: this is a very colourful hostel; it is quiet but has good spaces for meeting people in - the two lounges and the back patio; it is close to a supermarket and has a kitchen for use; the breakfasts are substantial - fruit, eggs, bread, vegemite, tea and coffee. I didn´t come to party but there is opportunity if you want it.. but in a low-key way. Homely.

Disliked: water temp in the showers. scalding hot for 30 seconds and then cold. the one drawback. if you´re a light sleeper you may have trouble with the creaky floorboards...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Frith Janes

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 January 2012 Frith would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly and helpful staff and amazing, fresh breakfast every morning included in the price. Loved the quirky decor especially the bathrooms!

Disliked: Could have been a slighlty better location but having said that there was a metro stop very nearby to get to the centre.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Small hostel with really chilled social atmosphere. Staff are very friendly and laidback. Clean with good beds. Best breakfast ive had in south america so far, there was even a jar of vegemite when i stayed. Would definately recommend.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Katrin Heindl

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 January 2012 Katrin would recommend this property

Liked: Creative, colorful atmosphere, very nice staff who enjoys chatting and getting to know the guests. Very small and thus cozy and personal. Great for lounging and relaxing.

Disliked: A bit far from the action - but the staff tries to make up for that and always has something planned!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cosy, homely atmosphere

Disliked: As is a very small hostel, you´re experience will very much depend on the other guests there at that time!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice place to stay in santiago, breakfast was one of the better ive had on my trip

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Small and homely place. All the people there were great and rachel was exceedinly helpful.

Disliked: Spent just a few hours sleeping, great showers and didnt find anything to crib about...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Don Santiago is a very nice hostel with clean bathrooms.

Disliked: I didn't like that there was no reception. In the beginning it was a bit hard figuering out who actually worked at the hostel.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

wouter broekmeulen

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 December 2011 wouter would recommend this property

Liked: it is al pleasant and clean hostel. The staff is really nice and very helpfull.

Disliked: It can be a bit noisy, but that is what you can expect when you book a room with a guesthouse.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jessica Viau

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 December 2011 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: An amazing stay at this hostel! I planned to be there for two nights but decided to stay for four nights. Everything is there for you. A beautiful living room well decorated to be calm, read a book, go on Intenet, watch TV. The dorm is great with only six beds. The staff is amazing, friendly and you really feel that you are welcome in there hostel. You have to meet Jorge, Pato and Rachel! They are very helpful and generous. After a day of visiting, it's great to come back because you feel just like home! The ambiance created helps the get together with travelers for great conversations, to have a drink, to sing songs, or to go out for a show!!

Disliked: I couldn't stay longer because I had a flight waiting for me!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Pato was incredibly friendly and helpful. Arriving back to the hostel after a day out felt like coming home to a friends house. The communal areas were welcoming and comfortable. Breakfast was really good, fresh fruit, and scrambled eggs on toast. They even had vegemite and marmite... Wireless internet was a bonus. Was one of the smaller hostels we have stayed in, which we enjoyed as it was easy to meet people and didnt have the craziness going on that some of the larger hostels have. Would definitely stay here again if back in Santiago.

Disliked: Wear your earplugs (given some on arrival) as the place is quite old and has creaky floorboards.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful, colourful hostel. Friendly and warm staff, delicious breakfast and excellent taste in music. Really enjoyed my stay here, much more relaxed and friendly than any other hostel.

Disliked: Nada!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast was Awesome, fruit, scrambled eggs, toast and real coffee!

Disliked: It was very loud at night, could not get to sleep until after 3am one night!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

daniel frederiksen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 November 2011 daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, atmosphere and breakfast. I have stayed here 3 times and had a great time everytime.

Disliked: Pato's singing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrea Connelly

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 November 2011 Andrea would recommend this property

Liked: Don Santiago is a fantastic hostel in a central location in Santiago. The staff is very friendly and always ready to help. It is a small hostel that feels more like a home than a hostel. The facilities are great (great wifi, comfortable dorm, 2 computers) and the breakfast is amazing. It's a great hostel to meet other travelers but you will also be able to relax. I highly recommend it.

Disliked: There was nothing that I disliked. This hostel is fantastic.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

31 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The host approaches to the travellers as a friend which was very nice. he also speaks English very well and informative. We only stayed for 2 nights, but one of nights was "Pisco sour" night. While drinking Chile's typical drink, we met other travellers, it was very good atmosphere. .

Disliked: Room was very small and next to the kitchen, right in front of the main door, etc.