We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Don Santiago Hostel

Hostel | Av. Ricardo Cumming 95, Santiago, Chile 22331

94.1% Overall Rating

389 out of 407 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (06/05/2015)

"It has a very nice and welcoming atmosphere. It is located in a nice and safe area close to the center. The breakfast is very good (it includes fresh fruits!)"

Read all Don Santiago Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1,000.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Santiago?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Santiago

The Princesa Insolente Hostel
12.00 USD

Hostel 81.6% 134 reviews
Chile Lindo Hostel
9.00 USD

Hostel 66.0% 10 reviews
Landay Hostel
10.64 USD

Hostel 86.3% 134 reviews
HI - Santiago de Chile
14.74 USD

Hostel 73.9% 26 reviews
Hostel Ayekantun
29.48 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Happy House Hostel
19.65 USD

Hostel 89.3% 36 reviews
Traveller's Place Hostel
10.64 USD

Hostel 85.8% 26 reviews
Nuevo Horizonte Hostel
9.00 USD

Hostel 78.6% 37 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
94.1%

Overall Rating

389 out of 407 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Don Santiago Hostel'

Atmosphere
96.0%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
88.8%
Cleanliness
88.8%
Staff
99.2%
Value
92.8%
Safety
99.2%
Refine your results Showing 356 of 380 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 14 | 15   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Julia Faller

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 November 2012 Julia would recommend this property

Liked: awesome place, definitely my favorite hostel in south america! breakfast was lovingly prepared for us, pancakes, warm bread, eggs, fruit! everyone working there is extremely nice with a warm smile on their face.

Disliked: Julia left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

30 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, very confortable new mattresses in the mixed dorm, excellent breakfast (loved the ginger lemonade and scramble eggs with chives) Small hostel , just what I was looking for during my trip to Santiago Highly recommended.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elizabeth Heath

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

28 October 2012 Elizabeth would recommend this property

Liked: Don Santiago is a small homely hostel that is so friendly! The staff are amazing, they are all so helpful and make you feel really welcome and the breakfast is great. I booked in here for 2 nights and have ended up coming back every time I have passed through Santiago. I have recommended this hostel to every traveler I have met, who is heading through Santiago and can't say enough good things about it. Its quiet enough to chill out, but you can always organise a party as well :)

Disliked: Nothing. All good things to say about this place :)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I felt comfortable

Disliked: Coffee was not strong enough :-)

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: L'auberge est décorée de manière originale. Même si ce ne sera pas au gout de tout le monde l'effort mérite d'être souligné. Auberge de taille raisonnable (environ 20 lits total) ça change des usines à backpackers habituelle. Le petit déjeuner inclu était très bon mais un peu petit pour des backpackers affamés :) Internet gratuit propre Staff très sympa et certains parlent parfaitement bien l'anglais

Disliked: Rien à déclarer

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Hiu Na Yu

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 October 2012 Hiu Na would recommend this property

Liked: I like the atmosphere the most!!! very cool hostel!! The breakfast is so good that to have egg, fresh fruits...etc!! For the location, it takes around 10 mins to the main area. It is quiet but safe! The last thing is that, the staff are so nice and helpful! we enjoy our stay in there so much!!

Disliked: Hiu Na left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sam Steele

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 July 2012 Sam would recommend this property

Liked: The Staff were fantastic and went out of their way to ensure that everyone was happy. The Hostel was kept very clean, the facilities were good and breakfast was great. I stayed here twice.

Disliked: Sam left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff

Disliked: N/a

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

CHIH HSIANG CHUANG

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 April 2012 CHIH HSIANG would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff and delicious breakfast! you will feel like in your home!

Disliked: the hot water is not so stable.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Caroline Silva

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

29 April 2012 Caroline would recommend this property

Liked: Good breakfast. People are very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Payment just in cash.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice breakfast! ;) Superfriendly staff!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Maria Eugenia Martinez

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

06 March 2012 Maria Eugenia would recommend this property

Liked: it was a nice place to stay.

Disliked: the common area was maybe not too comfortable for more than 3 or 4 people at a time

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Andrea Robinson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 March 2012

Liked: the location

Disliked: the noise, smoke drifting in our room, no privacy. Definitely not a good place for more mature people.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

carla bermudez

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 February 2012 carla would recommend this property

Liked: I enjoyed my stay at this hostel. The staff was very friendly and always inclined to help, the hostel is clean and the rooms very comfortable. Is a perfect place to meet new friends. I really recommend it!!

Disliked: I have nothing to say, everything was very well!!!!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Maurits Van der Zouw

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 February 2012

Liked: Great breakfast with scrambled eggs and fresh fruit. We stayed at the double room and that has a big bed. The design of the rooms is really nice, the atmospere is good and they always have great music playing.

Disliked: The hostel is really noisy! You can almost hear every step a person takes. The double room could use a ventilator in summer and if sleeping with opened windows you cannot sleep because people are talking outside in the patio. The kitchen misses a lot of proper gear to prepare a meal. Both THE bathrooms could use a proper cleanup. In the big bathroom the windows need a paintjob or replacement.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

01 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I had a great stay! I stayed just for one day at a double room. They have a great breakfast included and they let us stay one hour longer in the room before checking out. The best part was the staff who you can tell was very knowledgeable and friendly. The place looks great and clean. It's small and cozy. I loved it! thanks soo much for everything!

Disliked: ---

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: this is a very colourful hostel; it is quiet but has good spaces for meeting people in - the two lounges and the back patio; it is close to a supermarket and has a kitchen for use; the breakfasts are substantial - fruit, eggs, bread, vegemite, tea and coffee. I didn´t come to party but there is opportunity if you want it.. but in a low-key way. Homely.

Disliked: water temp in the showers. scalding hot for 30 seconds and then cold. the one drawback. if you´re a light sleeper you may have trouble with the creaky floorboards...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Frith Janes

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 January 2012 Frith would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly and helpful staff and amazing, fresh breakfast every morning included in the price. Loved the quirky decor especially the bathrooms!

Disliked: Could have been a slighlty better location but having said that there was a metro stop very nearby to get to the centre.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Small hostel with really chilled social atmosphere. Staff are very friendly and laidback. Clean with good beds. Best breakfast ive had in south america so far, there was even a jar of vegemite when i stayed. Would definately recommend.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Katrin Heindl

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 January 2012 Katrin would recommend this property

Liked: Creative, colorful atmosphere, very nice staff who enjoys chatting and getting to know the guests. Very small and thus cozy and personal. Great for lounging and relaxing.

Disliked: A bit far from the action - but the staff tries to make up for that and always has something planned!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cosy, homely atmosphere

Disliked: As is a very small hostel, you´re experience will very much depend on the other guests there at that time!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice place to stay in santiago, breakfast was one of the better ive had on my trip

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Small and homely place. All the people there were great and rachel was exceedinly helpful.

Disliked: Spent just a few hours sleeping, great showers and didnt find anything to crib about...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Don Santiago is a very nice hostel with clean bathrooms.

Disliked: I didn't like that there was no reception. In the beginning it was a bit hard figuering out who actually worked at the hostel.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

wouter broekmeulen

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 December 2011 wouter would recommend this property

Liked: it is al pleasant and clean hostel. The staff is really nice and very helpfull.

Disliked: It can be a bit noisy, but that is what you can expect when you book a room with a guesthouse.