HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Don Santiago Hostel Santiago Hostel

Av. Ricardo Cumming 95, Santiago, Chile

Atmosphere 94%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 84%

Location 90%

Safety 96%

Staff 97%

Value 90%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Towels for hire

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 1,000.00USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 12:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Santiago?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 94%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 84%

Location 90%

Safety 96%

Staff 97%

Value 90%

Showing 11-20 of 49 reviews

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Nice and friendly staff. Very cozy. Close to a metro station.

Disliked: Bit expensive. The hostel is very small and it's an old house so expect to wake up when somebody else wakes up.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hey there!

I`d like to say a couple of things. Firstly, Our double room (50 usd) is the standard rate for what you pay in Chile. I understand you guys were coming from Bolivia, and Chile is way more expensive than our neighbor country. Also our breakfast is the best you can get in town, not only because of the food (scrambled eggs, fresh squeezed juice, fresh fruit salad, nutella, jam, butter, bewed coffee) and it`s also included in the price. We also provide earplugs under request =)

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Nothing but good things to say about Don Santiago! I came to Chile for a university exchange and Don Santiago was my home while trying to find a place to live permanently. The atmosphere of the hostel is great, there is such a mix of people and everyone is very friendly so it was easy to make friends- nice when travelling alone. All the staff are amazing. They're always friendly, helpful, and fun, people you want to stay in touch with. The hostel itself is clean and comfortable, as well as having the best breakfast in town. I definitely would/will recommend Don Santiago to anyone visiting Santiago!!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Events / festivals

Liked: Super friendly staff always trying to help and make your stay the best... You really get to know evereone mostly beacuse is not a big hostel so you feel like family.They do the cleaning everyday, the beds are the most confortables ever and we been traveling for 10 months so that was nice!! Also the new years party was great felt like home, so overall nothing ba to say about Don Santiago, i strongly recommended!!!!

Disliked: nada

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Open, friendly staff; great atmosphere; nice christmasparty

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The staff were so friendly and helpful and were extremely kind when we had our bag stolen at the bus station and had to stay an extra 4 nights in Santiago. It felt like staying at a friends house and the staff even helped us translate the police report for our insurance. The breakfast was the best we've had traveling.

Disliked: Nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great small hostel, very very helpfull friendly staff, awesome breakfast, cozy home feeling and on a great location!

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: so nice people! :)

Disliked: a small thing: if you get up early, the breakfast offer is quite poor...

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Work / volunteering

Liked: This hostel is awesome! I stayed at the hostel for two weeks as I will study in Santiago for 5 months and needed some place to start. The staff are extremely nice, helpful, like to chat and tell you more about Santiago and Chile. We also had a BBQ night which was really nice and funny. The living room is the perfect place to get to know other travellers, which is really easy as there are only about 15 beds available at the hostel. The breakfast is yummy, fresh fruit and bread, tea, coffee, nutella, eggs.. and they even serve you and clean up your stuff afterwards! I'd absolutely recommend it! Located only a 3 min walk from the metro stations Republica and Cumming, and 2 min to the closest supermarket.

Disliked: It does look a little shabby in some places and could possibly be a little cleaner. So if clenaliness is really important to you, it might not be the best place to live. However, all the other factors outhweigh this easily!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Work / volunteering

Liked: I had an amazing stay! Staff is really welcoming and helpful, great people work here and create this positive atmosphere. Just for a few days or for longer, you feel like home. So much that it's hard to leave!See you soon Don Santiago hostel!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Simply put the hostel has a great atmosphere. Its relatively small and they offer a great breakfast in which all the guests sit around the breakfast table and get it served to them. Its a good way of bringing the guests of the hostel together. The guys who work there are fantastic and keen to help. I cant speak highly enough of them.The location is very good and close to places you´ll likely want to visit as well as being a 5 minute walk away from 2 seperate metro stops. The hostel is clean and comfortable and I think it offered great value for money.All in all its a great place to stay and id be suprised if anyone left it feeling disappointed. Thanks to Don Santiago for a great stay.

Disliked: Nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability