HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Don Santiago Hostel

Hostel | Av. Ricardo Cumming 95, Santiago, Chile 22331

95.0% Overall Rating

375 out of 392 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (26/07/2014)

Patrick Donaghey thinks…

"Simply put the hostel has a great atmosphere. Its relatively small and they offer a great breakfast in which all the guests sit around the breakfast table and get it served to them. Its a good way of…"

Read all Don Santiago Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1,000.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Santiago?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Santiago

The Princesa Insolente Hostel
13.30 USD

Hostel 87.0% 125 reviews
La Casa Roja
13.30 USD

Hostel 83.0% 119 reviews
Chile Lindo Hostel
10.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Landay Hostel
11.17 USD

Hostel 89.7% 125 reviews
HI - Santiago de Chile
14.19 USD

Hostel 73.9% 26 reviews
Hostel Ayekantun
31.92 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Happy House Hostel
21.28 USD

Hostel 89.4% 34 reviews
Traveller's Place Hostel
12.41 USD

Hostel 86.8% 24 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
95.0%

Overall Rating

375 out of 392 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Don Santiago Hostel'

Atmosphere
97.6%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
90.4%
Cleanliness
93.6%
Staff
99.2%
Value
96.8%
Safety
96.0%
Refine your results Showing 345 of 365 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christina Trapl

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 July 2013 Christina would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely place to stay at in Santiago, one of the best hostels i have ever seen. Cosy living room, nice people, clean and heaters in the room!

Disliked: Nothing at all - a fantastic place to stay

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Don Santiago Hostel is fanastic and arguably the best hostel I've stayed at. Awesome atmosphere and in a great location that doesn't feel overrun with tourist traps surrounding it, but in close proximity to sites, museums, etc. The breakfast is amazing and the staff are incredibly helpful and welcoming. I will definitely be back!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Robin Davies

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 July 2013 Robin would recommend this property

Liked: The staff make you feel at home in fact you feel like you re staying in someone s home. Good breakfast, too.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

abby dowel

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2013 abby would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! Location is fantastic, best staff I've come across, really a faultless hostel; we came back & stayed longer!!!

Disliked: Nothing!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Nicola Forsyth

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 July 2013 Nicola would recommend this property

Liked: Great breakfast, nice common area, funky decor and friendliness and helpfullness of staff

Disliked: Private rooms are a little hit and miss. The first time I stayed here my partner and I had a great double but the second time we were put in a crummy four bed room for the same price

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

12 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I love the breakfast served at the table evey morning. Very nice staff to hang out with. I would highly recommend this place to travelers and backpackers from all over the world.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is doing things right! Amazing staff, great breakfast, beautiful decor & atmosphere!

Disliked: Honestly I couldn't name one thing if I tried

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

29 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel has a funky decor and the staff were very helpful with activities and restaurants in the area. The room was clean and beds were comfortable. Lighting was a bit dim in the room. Great breakfast included each morning. There was a strong wifi connection and even two computers to use for free. There are storage lockers available to use, bring your own lock. Great location near the tourist sites but also in a more real life area of Santiago. Lots of restaurants and bars nearby full of local people.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, great staff, very helpful. Very safe, good location for getting to buses and airport. Gorgeous breakfast every morning!

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were very helpful before and during my stay. The hostel is a big house and decorated in an interesting, quirky way. The breakfast was great.

Disliked: There are only 2 bathrooms for the whole place. The dorm was a little noisy at night though this may be unavoidable in Santiago as people arrive/leave at all hours to and from the airport.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Paula Boast

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 December 2012 Paula would recommend this property

Liked: Small, clean and comfortable. It is not a party hostel and they do have a sensible curfew 1am. The breakfast is decent as well with eggs, fruits, fresh juice, toast and coffee.

Disliked: Wished that the hosts spoke a little more English or that they provided more local information in English. Very much geared towards the Spanish speaking end of the market it seems.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gabriella Milgrom

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 November 2012 Gabriella would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful historic building with a lot of character. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Met a lot of friendly travelers and the group space allows for mingling with others. Close to metro so easy to get around to the other parts of Santiago.

Disliked: Nothing really.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Franziska Hollender

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 November 2012 Franziska would recommend this property

Liked: This really is one of the nicer hostels we've come across in South America! What our double room lacked in character, the hostel staff made up in friendliness and generosity. The breakfast is great - real drip coffee, eggs, bread. At night, we got free and delicious Terremotos (booze!). The atmosphere is laid back and easy-going but not in a loose and hippy-ish way. It is just a ten minute walk from the subway and there are tons of restaurants, a supermarket and a laundry place nearby.

Disliked: Nothing really. There are only two toilets but I never had to wait too long.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

10 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: There's nothing not to like. Maybe that you feel like a worse person because the people are so nice and go so out of their way in helping you. If you ever want to use a cliche home away from home this is definitely it. And the breakfast is just awesome. Ask Rodri to make you piscos and Pablo some terramotos. You will definitely have a wonderful stay.

Disliked: There could be more showers compared to the amount of people using them but it really even isn't a problem.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Julia Faller

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 November 2012 Julia would recommend this property

Liked: awesome place, definitely my favorite hostel in south america! breakfast was lovingly prepared for us, pancakes, warm bread, eggs, fruit! everyone working there is extremely nice with a warm smile on their face.

Disliked: Julia left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

30 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, very confortable new mattresses in the mixed dorm, excellent breakfast (loved the ginger lemonade and scramble eggs with chives) Small hostel , just what I was looking for during my trip to Santiago Highly recommended.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elizabeth Heath

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

28 October 2012 Elizabeth would recommend this property

Liked: Don Santiago is a small homely hostel that is so friendly! The staff are amazing, they are all so helpful and make you feel really welcome and the breakfast is great. I booked in here for 2 nights and have ended up coming back every time I have passed through Santiago. I have recommended this hostel to every traveler I have met, who is heading through Santiago and can't say enough good things about it. Its quiet enough to chill out, but you can always organise a party as well :)

Disliked: Nothing. All good things to say about this place :)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I felt comfortable

Disliked: Coffee was not strong enough :-)

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: L'auberge est décorée de manière originale. Même si ce ne sera pas au gout de tout le monde l'effort mérite d'être souligné. Auberge de taille raisonnable (environ 20 lits total) ça change des usines à backpackers habituelle. Le petit déjeuner inclu était très bon mais un peu petit pour des backpackers affamés :) Internet gratuit propre Staff très sympa et certains parlent parfaitement bien l'anglais

Disliked: Rien à déclarer

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Hiu Na Yu

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 October 2012 Hiu Na would recommend this property

Liked: I like the atmosphere the most!!! very cool hostel!! The breakfast is so good that to have egg, fresh fruits...etc!! For the location, it takes around 10 mins to the main area. It is quiet but safe! The last thing is that, the staff are so nice and helpful! we enjoy our stay in there so much!!

Disliked: Hiu Na left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sam Steele

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 July 2012 Sam would recommend this property

Liked: The Staff were fantastic and went out of their way to ensure that everyone was happy. The Hostel was kept very clean, the facilities were good and breakfast was great. I stayed here twice.

Disliked: Sam left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff

Disliked: N/a

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

CHIH HSIANG CHUANG

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 April 2012 CHIH HSIANG would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff and delicious breakfast! you will feel like in your home!

Disliked: the hot water is not so stable.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Caroline Silva

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

29 April 2012 Caroline would recommend this property

Liked: Good breakfast. People are very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Payment just in cash.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice breakfast! ;) Superfriendly staff!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.