HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Don Santiago Hostel Santiago Hostel

Av. Ricardo Cumming 95, Santiago, Chile

Atmosphere 94%

Cleanliness 89%

Facilities 85%

Location 90%

Safety 95%

Staff 97%

Value 91%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Towels for hire

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 1,000.00USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 12:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Santiago?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 94%

Cleanliness 89%

Facilities 85%

Location 90%

Safety 95%

Staff 97%

Value 91%

Showing 11-20 of 44 reviews

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: The hosts were accommodating and welcoming. The location was great and the area felt safe. The hostel met all my needs and provided a great atmosphere

Disliked: Only one full bath though there was an additional shower and toilet in separate rooms.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Good location, cool staff, nice breakfast and the best beds I've seen in an hostel

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 May 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It has a very nice and welcoming atmosphere. It is located in a nice and safe area close to the center. The breakfast is very good (it includes fresh fruits!)

Disliked: The bathrom was a little dirty - the bins were overflowing. Also during our stay a new staff member was in charge, who was very friendly but didn't have much knowledge about anything concerning the hostel and the area

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hey there!

We are totally renovating the hostel. It´ll get absolutely spotless. You can check it out on May 22nd
Hope to see ya next time!

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 May 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: We loved the location of the hostel - its in a great neighborhood with loads of little gems on the street. The house has character - the people working there are super friendly and will jump to your aid at the drop of a hat. The breakfast is really nice too. And the deco makes it seem like your chilling in a friends house rather than a huge hostel vibe.

Disliked: The kitchen is quite small, and the utitensils are lacking a bit.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hey there! We are totally renovating the hostel. It´ll get absolutely spotless. You can check it out on May 22nd Hope to see ya next time!

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Nice and friendly staff. Very cozy. Close to a metro station.

Disliked: Bit expensive. The hostel is very small and it's an old house so expect to wake up when somebody else wakes up.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hey there!

I`d like to say a couple of things. Firstly, Our double room (50 usd) is the standard rate for what you pay in Chile. I understand you guys were coming from Bolivia, and Chile is way more expensive than our neighbor country. Also our breakfast is the best you can get in town, not only because of the food (scrambled eggs, fresh squeezed juice, fresh fruit salad, nutella, jam, butter, bewed coffee) and it`s also included in the price. We also provide earplugs under request =)

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Nothing but good things to say about Don Santiago! I came to Chile for a university exchange and Don Santiago was my home while trying to find a place to live permanently. The atmosphere of the hostel is great, there is such a mix of people and everyone is very friendly so it was easy to make friends- nice when travelling alone. All the staff are amazing. They're always friendly, helpful, and fun, people you want to stay in touch with. The hostel itself is clean and comfortable, as well as having the best breakfast in town. I definitely would/will recommend Don Santiago to anyone visiting Santiago!!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Events / festivals

Liked: Super friendly staff always trying to help and make your stay the best... You really get to know evereone mostly beacuse is not a big hostel so you feel like family.They do the cleaning everyday, the beds are the most confortables ever and we been traveling for 10 months so that was nice!! Also the new years party was great felt like home, so overall nothing ba to say about Don Santiago, i strongly recommended!!!!

Disliked: nada

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Open, friendly staff; great atmosphere; nice christmasparty

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The staff were so friendly and helpful and were extremely kind when we had our bag stolen at the bus station and had to stay an extra 4 nights in Santiago. It felt like staying at a friends house and the staff even helped us translate the police report for our insurance. The breakfast was the best we've had traveling.

Disliked: Nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great small hostel, very very helpfull friendly staff, awesome breakfast, cozy home feeling and on a great location!

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability