HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Atacama Hostel

Hostel | Román Diaz, no 130, Providencia, Santiago, Chile 7500000

78.4% Overall Rating

40 out of 51 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/01/2013)

Lambros Karasoulas thinks…

"i've travelled everywhere in the world and i must say this is for sure one of the best places i have stayed!!! the stuff is soooo friendly and helpful (especially Ale & Carla)!!! the location is…"

Read all Atacama Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 15,000.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Santiago?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Santiago

Chile Hostales
20.00 USD

Guesthouse 90.7% 27 reviews
Marilú s Bed and Breakfast
29.50 USD

Guesthouse 84.0% 12 reviews
Chillihostel
12.90 USD

Hostel 84.9% 307 reviews
Hostal Oveja Verde
16.94 USD

Guesthouse 87.4% 5 reviews
Hostal Boutique Bella
15.42 USD

Hostel 92.6% 56 reviews
Castillo Surfista Hostel
14.23 USD

Hostel 90.1% 121 reviews
Chile Backpackers Hostel
12.71 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Cambiaso Apart Hotel
37.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 80.7% 8 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
78.4%

Overall Rating

40 out of 51 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Atacama Hostel'

Atmosphere
72.8%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
69.6%
Cleanliness
65.6%
Staff
87.2%
Value
77.6%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 34 of 46 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location and staff are good

Disliked: stayed in a private room in summer without aircon which can be troubeling to some travelers...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Aline Emch

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 January 2013

Liked: Friendly and helpfull staff,good location

Disliked: 4 bed female dorm is very small,the hole hostel is very dark and light does not work well!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lambros Karasoulas

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 January 2013 Lambros would recommend this property

Liked: i've travelled everywhere in the world and i must say this is for sure one of the best places i have stayed!!! the stuff is soooo friendly and helpful (especially Ale & Carla)!!! the location is very good on the area of providencia. the facilities are excellent, rooms and bathrooms are extremelly clean.

Disliked: unfortunatelly in this place, works a THIEF and his name is Luis. i left my iphone on the table of the reception room for 5' one night, i came back with some friends, he was the only one there, i asked him where it was and he was saying "i dont know" and things like that. i called from a friends phone and it was ringing in the private stuff office where he had put it!!! he steals things and maybe he has done it b4 but he will do it again, so watch out for this criminal!!!

62.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 November 2012

Liked: Its good location...thats about it.

Disliked: Booked a 4-room, got an 8 room dorm. When I came back late at night all my stuff was hauled to another bed without noticing me. That new bed was NOT made and apparently somebody had to sleep on the couch for me...Chaos! Oh, and did I mention that after 8pm the desk will not be occupied? Had to ring 6 times for somebody to finally open the door for me - a guest! All in all, having been to Aconcagua as well, which is just around the corner and part of the whole business there, I would choose Aconcagua over Atacama every time.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Sally Gascoigne

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

25 July 2012

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff

Disliked: Seriously cramped rooms, window that didn't close properly, stale bread and jam for breakfast, dirty bathrooms, after midnight you had to go to anothe hostel to get the key to get in.....need I go on?

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Juan Ordoñez

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 July 2011 Juan would recommend this property

Liked: Good hostal, well located and people who work here really helpfull and friendly. Highly recommended.

Disliked: Bathroom was a little far from the room, but it's ok.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 February 2011

Liked: The location is good, the WiFi is fast and the lounge area is reasonably comfortable.

Disliked: I got BED BUGS here! 5 bed Male dorm ( room 3) lower bunk in far right corner, do not sleep on it! I informed the staff who initially expressed shock but didn't appear to do anything to remedy the situation. I went back into the room later and the bed had been made up for someone else to sleep in. Not acceptable.... Also the place doesn't have much character, the Ventana Sur hostel is much better.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it is a nice place to stay. The staff is very help full and the location is perfect.

Disliked: there is not much space for you bags especially when all beds are full.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

05 October 2010

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff, nice location, quiet.

Disliked: The room was tiny and the male showers stink.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

15 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's a good place if you're not staying for too long. The only downside of the hostel is the cleanliness. The rooms were ok, but the bathrooms could be more clean. The shower is kind of hard to adjust, but the drain doesn't work too well, so it makes kinda of a pool in the shower. Other than that, the staff is great and the location is really good.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

14 September 2010

Liked: It was very secure and the garden was very nice and had it been warmer, would have been a great place to hang out.

Disliked: the bathroom was gross and it was very cold at night, but that was no fault of the hostel. Be sure to bring lots of layers!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Lesley Blumrick

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 September 2010 Lesley would recommend this property

Liked: well decorated and nice lounge,good tv,breakfast was average. there was a nice outside courtyard for summer.

Disliked: showers were not great and ladies showers the water changed from hot to cold all the time. the room was very small and dark.the night staff was very noisy until the early mornings.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

13 September 2010

Liked: Everyone who worked there was very happy and willing to accomdate most requests. Making phone calls was hard as our Canadian cell phones didn not work in Chile and the phone they offered the guests was broken and long distance phone calls were not offered on the house phone. The garden in the back was very nice and kept the rooms quiet from the noise (had there been any) from the main house. I was also very glad to have an in room heater, but couldn't leave it on overnight as it was pretty much an open flame.

Disliked: The bathroom in the private room was not very clean and mold was growing everywhere, the window wouldn't open which made the room very damp after a shower or running the water. If you return late at night you have to go to another hostel to have someone let you in which wasn't told to us before hand and we felt a little abandonded on the street.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
City break

06 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice place. Great staff, very helpfull. Good location.

Disliked: the shower wasn´t so good, it was either too hot or too cold. The room door didn´t have key.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jonathan Adams

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

03 September 2010 Jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: The security was good and the breakfast provided was satisfactory.

Disliked: The bedrooms were slightly cold.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yolanda Bonilla

Alone

Family Holiday

19 August 2010 Yolanda would recommend this property

Liked: Lisa is fun, a salute to Alberto, Paty and Olga, very nice. Excellent hostel with friendly atmosphere like a family. That was what I wanted. 100%

Disliked: Leave the hostel is sad

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew Gianniotis

Alone

08 August 2010 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: I had a fantastic stay.

Disliked: The hot water didn't last very long, but it was a new room and the staff assure me that my feedback will lead to a longer hot water shower experience for the next guests.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 June 2010

Liked: Nice beddsss

Disliked: A bit quiet and out of the way

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

30 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff in thiss hostel was kind and very helpful. The location was very convenient. It is a place travelers really need to stay.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

29 July 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent staff, super amigable y disponible. Voy a conservar un muy buen recuerdo de este hostel. Gracias a todos

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

esmeralda delgado

23 July 2009 esmeralda would recommend this property

Liked: the staff are very nice people , the location is safe and they offer all that we need . the hostel is clean and we can meet people.

Disliked: esmeralda left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

natalie ann singh

28 January 2009 natalie ann would recommend this property

Liked: Felt very comfortable it was friendly, they spoke english and I felt at home and safe. Very well cared for. Loved the staff and the area the hostel is located in.

Disliked: natalie ann left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Denise Jacobi

17 December 2008 Denise would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff, clean, situated in a good area of Santiago

Disliked: Denise left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

15 November 2008

Liked: friendly people

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jo MacSweeney

14 November 2008 Jo would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly, welcoming and helpful staff - made you feel relaxed and comfortable. Lovely common area. Lovley courtyard. Very knowledgeable staff too.

Disliked: Jo left no negative feedback.