HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Hostal Rio Amazonas - Plaza Italia

Guesthouse

Vicuña Mackenna 47, Santiago, Chile

Atmosphere 93%

Cleanliness 97%

Facilities 85%

Location 92%

Safety 95%

Staff 96%

Value 89%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Airport Transfers
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Parking
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 10.00USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Santiago?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 93%

Cleanliness 97%

Facilities 85%

Location 92%

Safety 95%

Staff 96%

Value 89%

Showing 1-1 of 1 reviews

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Friendly & helpful staff, good breakfast - real coffee, close to best Sandwich shop in Santiago & the Bella Vista Plaza

Disliked: Not much did we dislike, we even booked again later in our trip before returning home

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Excellent day tour suggestions and very helpful in assisting the reservation and communication with tour operators/winery etc. they even come along to one of the pioneer free walking tour of a new group to ensure the quality for future recommendation! Extremely caring too!

Disliked: None

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The colours of the building gave character.A wonderful breakfast was served simple but excellent quality We were made to feel very welcome. The hostel was in a perfect location in the heart of Santiago.

Disliked: Nada

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 May 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: very nice staff

Disliked: hot shower - not hot enoughfree wifi - not very good connection (sometimes), but they do have two PC.landuary service - expensive

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Pleasant & comfortable, staff very helpful. Easy access to the main tourist attractions. Good breakfast by Sth American standards.

Disliked: The bedbugs!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: IT S SOMETHING NEW AND NICE! THE BREAKFAST IS EXCELENT AND WE CAN HAVE IT UNTILL 10,30 AM.

Disliked: THE SPACE WHERE I USED TO HAVE A SHOWER IS VERY NARROW,SO IT WAS NECESSARY TO GO OUT OF IT TO SOAP MYSELF.IT S A BAD CONSTRUCTION THAT EXISTS IN THE ROOMS OF SOME HOTELS.ABSURD! A VERY FAt MAN CAN T SHOWER HIMSELF. I ADVISE THE OWNER OF THE HOSTEL TO PAY SOMEONE TO OPEN THE SPACE.SURELY IT LL BE MUCH BETTER!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Dec 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Perfect location, close to metro, walking distance to cento area and bellavista. Safe street. Super friendly staff. Room was clean, comfy bed and great shower. Nice area to hang out. Hostel is well decorated and funky. Breakfast includes fresh fruit,yoghurt,bread,home made jam, coffee and fresh juice(diff each day). Would stay again.

Disliked: Bit of street noise, but with such a Central location this is expected.No common fridge or kitchen. Sell alcohol at hostel, so feel guilty bringing your own.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Sep 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Me gustó la atención cálida del personal.

Disliked: Mi habitación single con baño privado era sumamente pequeña. De todos modos tenía todo para estar bien: toallas limpias, ropa de cama limpia, TV y calefacción

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Jul 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Visiting friends or family

Liked: very friendly and helpful staff, everything is well organized, nice old building not far from Bellavista

Disliked: NOTHING

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 100%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Jun 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: The heating system in our room was awsome!! perfect!! very warm and the matrimonial bed was VERY comfortable.

Disliked: With my wife were looking for economical, clean but not fancy, secure and comfortable private room for one night and we chose The Rio Amazonas on Plaza Italia becuase is well located but that´s means noisy until late in the evening because the traffic starts again early in the morning, very noise from the Av. Vicuña Makena. Friendliness of staff and clean rooms, that´s all folcks!! We miss this “home from home feeling” and a nice conversation with the owners.Breakfast was simple and adequate but appealing home made juice. We miss the real coffee.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Since end of july, we have installed windows with noise insulation in all the room in Vicuña Mackenna. The result is very efective.

Check Availability