We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of B&B Rio Amazonas-Plaza Italia

Guesthouse | Av. Vicuña Mackenna 47 , (next to Argentina Embassy), Santiago Centro Santiago, Chile .

91.5% Overall Rating

104 out of 105 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/05/2013)

Barbara Pender thinks…

"Friendly & helpful staff, good breakfast - real coffee, close to best Sandwich shop in Santiago & the Bella Vista Plaza"

Read all B&B Rio Amazonas-Plaza Italia reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 10.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Santiago?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Santiago

Terra Extremus Hostel
12.00 USD

Hostel 83.4% 87 reviews
HOTEL VICTORIA ORIENTE EXPRESS
41.00 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hostal Providencia
12.49 USD

Hostel 90.3% 130 reviews
Residencial Plaza Italia
13.32 USD

Hostel 67.8% 11 reviews
Hostal Forestal
13.00 USD

Guesthouse 84.2% 111 reviews
Rado Hostel
22.00 USD

Hostel 93.7% 60 reviews
Castillo Surfista Hostel
14.15 USD

Hostel 90.1% 121 reviews
Ecohostel
8.51 USD

Hostel 86.5% 206 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.5%

Overall Rating

104 out of 105 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'B&B Rio Amazonas-Plaza Italia'

Atmosphere
91.2%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
84.0%
Cleanliness
96.0%
Staff
95.2%
Value
87.2%
Safety
94.4%
Refine your results Showing 74 of 91 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Barbara Pender

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

15 May 2013 Barbara would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly & helpful staff, good breakfast - real coffee, close to best Sandwich shop in Santiago & the Bella Vista Plaza

Disliked: Not much did we dislike, we even booked again later in our trip before returning home

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent day tour suggestions and very helpful in assisting the reservation and communication with tour operators/winery etc. they even come along to one of the pioneer free walking tour of a new group to ensure the quality for future recommendation! Extremely caring too!

Disliked: None

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Carole Lomax

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 July 2012 Carole would recommend this property

Liked: The colours of the building gave character.A wonderful breakfast was served simple but excellent quality We were made to feel very welcome. The hostel was in a perfect location in the heart of Santiago.

Disliked: Nada

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very nice staff

Disliked: hot shower - not hot enough free wifi - not very good connection (sometimes), but they do have two PC. landuary service - expensive

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

08 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Pleasant & comfortable, staff very helpful. Easy access to the main tourist attractions. Good breakfast by Sth American standards.

Disliked: The bedbugs!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

01 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was just so friendly.

Disliked: They lost our booking for our third stay there - we were devastated when we had to go to another hostel.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

gilberto melo

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

27 February 2012 gilberto would recommend this property

Liked: IT S SOMETHING NEW AND NICE! THE BREAKFAST IS EXCELENT AND WE CAN HAVE IT UNTILL 10,30 AM.

Disliked: THE SPACE WHERE I USED TO HAVE A SHOWER IS VERY NARROW,SO IT WAS NECESSARY TO GO OUT OF IT TO SOAP MYSELF.IT S A BAD CONSTRUCTION THAT EXISTS IN THE ROOMS OF SOME HOTELS.ABSURD! A VERY FAt MAN CAN T SHOWER HIMSELF. I ADVISE THE OWNER OF THE HOSTEL TO PAY SOMEONE TO OPEN THE SPACE.SURELY IT LL BE MUCH BETTER!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hannah Warren

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

14 December 2011 Hannah would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location, close to metro, walking distance to cento area and bellavista. Safe street. Super friendly staff. Room was clean, comfy bed and great shower. Nice area to hang out. Hostel is well decorated and funky. Breakfast includes fresh fruit,yoghurt,bread,home made jam, coffee and fresh juice(diff each day). Would stay again.

Disliked: Bit of street noise, but with such a Central location this is expected.No common fridge or kitchen. Sell alcohol at hostel, so feel guilty bringing your own.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

ELISA RAGGIO

Alone

City break

13 September 2011 ELISA would recommend this property

Liked: Me gustó la atención cálida del personal.

Disliked: Mi habitación single con baño privado era sumamente pequeña. De todos modos tenía todo para estar bien: toallas limpias, ropa de cama limpia, TV y calefacción

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

René Olivera

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

07 September 2011 René would recommend this property

Liked: The heating system in our room was awsome!! perfect!! very warm and the matrimonial bed was VERY comfortable.

Disliked: With my wife were looking for economical, clean but not fancy, secure and comfortable private room for one night and we chose The Rio Amazonas on Plaza Italia becuase is well located but that´s means noisy until late in the evening because the traffic starts again early in the morning, very noise from the Av. Vicuña Makena. Friendliness of staff and clean rooms, that´s all folcks!! We miss this “home from home feeling” and a nice conversation with the owners. Breakfast was simple and adequate but appealing home made juice. We miss the real coffee.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christine Ponce Munoz

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

07 August 2011 Christine would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly and helpful staff, everything is well organized, nice old building not far from Bellavista

Disliked: NOTHING

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: beautiful, characteristic place. breakfast was nice (fresh juice and bread from bakery) and staff was helpfull (their english was ok)

Disliked: rooms were a little bit noisy

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Vanessa Burns

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 March 2011 Vanessa would recommend this property

Liked: The friendliness of the staff was fantastic and nice little breakfast.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Celene McMullan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 March 2011 Celene would recommend this property

Liked: Wonderful place, great start to Santiago. Staff very helpful. They get allot of returning guests and I am not surprized. Has character too. 11/10!!

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

John Watts

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

09 March 2011 John would recommend this property

Liked: quirky building, nice and light, good location

Disliked: Very noisy from main road if your room is at the front

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location! Nice clean rooms.

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

03 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location for local transport and walking to all sights within city. Very friendly and very helpful staff.

Disliked: Very noisy traffic in rooms at front of hostel especially at night.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Andrea Franchi

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture

18 October 2010 Andrea would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice place and great location.

Disliked: Andrea left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Evrithing is super, nice location and staff!!!!Exelent

Disliked: ----

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Wonderful and helpful staff. Great central location.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture

16 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff spoke English and were very helpful. Location is excellent. Recommed this hostel.

Disliked: Bring your earplugs - wooden floors can be noisey at times.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

22 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Wonderful hostel! Great place to stay and definitely worth the money. The location was excellent (3 min walk to Metro) though at night the street is dark (but the hostel is well-lighted). The breakfast was good except the orange juice needs improvement (had no taste at all). Overall, I would stay here again.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

30 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff, good atmosphere

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

26 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Made you feel welcome, showed you rooms to choose from and were only to happy to organise things for you.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

20 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was excellent, really close to the metro.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.