HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Andes Hostel Santiago Hostel

Monjitas 506, Santiago, Chile

Atmosphere 89%

Cleanliness 96%

Facilities 89%

Location 98%

Safety 98%

Staff 92%

Value 92%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Reading Light
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Steam room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 40.00USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Santiago?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 89%

Cleanliness 96%

Facilities 89%

Location 98%

Safety 98%

Staff 92%

Value 92%

Showing 1-10 of 17 reviews

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: The pool table was a fun addition and staff were generally friendly.

Disliked: When we arrived we found that we has been allocated a double room with a double bed (when we had actually book 2 beds in a dorm). The double room was tiny, so we didn't have anywhere to put our stuff. We were also very disappointed with the breakfast which wasn't at all what it looked like on the website. Most days there was only cereal left.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great location, enjoyed the wine and pasta (free) on Wed night, had a 6 bed room to ourselves, 4th floor wasn't too loud, great social area. Breakfast had eggs and wheat toast, yeah!

Disliked: Seemed a little pricey compared to what you get.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: We booked one of the apartments. It meant that we were not immersed in the atmosphere of the hostel except for breakfast time, when no one is at their most communicative, but we could drop in at any time and were very pleased to be invited in advance to join in with the New Year's Eve BBQ and party. It was very well organised by the lovely hostel staff and we had a great night. The apartment was a short walk away and was one of a few hundred in a group of tower blocks, populated by an agreeable, friendly mix of mostly young people. Presumably most are unconnected with the Andes Hostel. Our apartment was pleasant, clean and serviced every day, with a little kitchen and a tiny balcony. There's a covered swimming pool at the top of one of the blocks and a terrace there from which there is a stunning view to the Andes, with the glaciers clearly visible on the highest peak. The hostel and apartments are within easy walking distance of the main square and there are good bars and restaurants nearby. It's only a few minutes to buzzing Bellavista and there are Metro stations close at hand at Belles Artes and Santa Lucia. We liked our apartment and enjoyed staying here. We intend to return later this year.

Disliked: No complaints at all.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Nov 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: We stayed in an apartment which is just round the corner. Excellent place, top marks.

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Excellent location in the Bellas Artes district, really great restaurants nearby and a beautiful area to walk around in in general. Also really close to the meeting point Santiago walking tours 'tours for tips', so very handy if you want to participate in those. Beautiful lobby area and the rooms were clean and nice.

Disliked: Wifi only works downstairs, not in the rooms. There was a mistake with our booking and as all the rooms were full, our party of 4 had to split into two group dorms for the first night, even though we had booked a 4 bed dorm to be all together. It was a bit frustrating having to pack up and re-check in the next morning because of this.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: The kitchen

Disliked: The common areas

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good hostel clean and tidy...notMuch night life though bar was almost never used

Disliked: Quiet nightlife

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Free pasta and wine on a Wednesday night! Staff was friendly. Good location. Good wifi. Free pool table.

Disliked: Wifi available in comon room only. On our first morning there the hot water was not working, that was disappointing.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: We had the apartment around the corner and it was great. I also liked the central location and the proximity to cafes, bars, metro and sights

Disliked: Breakfast got a bit dull after the first couple of days

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very helpful desk staff. Complimentary pasta and wine in the evening.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability