We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Andes Hostel

Hostel | Monjitas 506, Barrio Bellas Artes, Santiago, Chile 0000

94.5% Overall Rating

106 out of 111 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (12/11/2014)

Chris Constable thinks…

"We stayed in an apartment which is just round the corner. Excellent place, top marks."

Read all Andes Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 40.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Santiago?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Santiago

Hostal de la Barra
24.00 USD

Guesthouse 78.7% 13 reviews
Santiago Backpackers
14.00 USD

Hostel 86.5% 86 reviews
Lucia Suites
14.99 USD

Guesthouse 83.3% 25 reviews
Casa Mosaico Backpacker Hostels
14.00 USD

Hostel 91.4% 10 reviews
casAltura Hostel
16.65 USD

Guesthouse 84.8% 91 reviews
Plaza de Armas Hostel
9.99 USD

Hostel 82.6% 312 reviews
Che Lagarto Hostel and Suites Santiago
14.40 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Santa Lucia Green House
18.32 USD

Guesthouse 85.9% 267 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
94.5%

Overall Rating

106 out of 111 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Andes Hostel'

Atmosphere
90.4%
Location
98.4%
Facilities
92.0%
Cleanliness
97.6%
Staff
93.6%
Value
92.8%
Safety
96.8%
Refine your results Showing 78 of 104 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chris Constable

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 November 2014 Chris would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in an apartment which is just round the corner. Excellent place, top marks.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location in the Bellas Artes district, really great restaurants nearby and a beautiful area to walk around in in general. Also really close to the meeting point Santiago walking tours 'tours for tips', so very handy if you want to participate in those. Beautiful lobby area and the rooms were clean and nice.

Disliked: Wifi only works downstairs, not in the rooms. There was a mistake with our booking and as all the rooms were full, our party of 4 had to split into two group dorms for the first night, even though we had booked a 4 bed dorm to be all together. It was a bit frustrating having to pack up and re-check in the next morning because of this.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Martin Iglesias

Alone

Visiting friends or family

11 June 2014 Martin would recommend this property

Liked: The kitchen

Disliked: The common areas

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Matthew Speranza

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 May 2014 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: Good hostel clean and tidy...not Much night life though bar was almost never used

Disliked: Quiet nightlife

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free pasta and wine on a Wednesday night! Staff was friendly. Good location. Good wifi. Free pool table.

Disliked: Wifi available in comon room only. On our first morning there the hot water was not working, that was disappointing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jason Smith

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

12 April 2014 Jason would recommend this property

Liked: We had the apartment around the corner and it was great. I also liked the central location and the proximity to cafes, bars, metro and sights

Disliked: Breakfast got a bit dull after the first couple of days

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

27 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful desk staff. Complimentary pasta and wine in the evening.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Philip Altarelli

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

28 February 2014 Philip would recommend this property

Liked: All the facilities were fantastic, staff were great. Awesome place to stay at, highly recommend!

Disliked: Philip left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break

19 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good breakfast, right next to a metro station, a big locker for every bead in the dorm, fully equipped kitchen, good staff

Disliked: Some of the toilets were broken

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

07 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We had our own little apartment- really cute and cleaned daily.

Disliked: I wish we could have been a little closer to the hostel common areas.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff (excellent English!), good breakfast, proper rooms, sometimes a free meal, big lockers in every room and reading lights for every bed.

Disliked: Small showers, quite old. No sufficient common room to sit and relax.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel A. M. Ribeiro

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 October 2013 Daniel A. M. would recommend this property

Liked: Great Hostel! Good location, close to main places and in front of metro. Helpfull staff. Clean. Good kitchen.

Disliked: Wi-fi sometimes didn't work and is avaliable only at the reception.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

06 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The place is really nice, comfortable and clean. The stuff is great, they are always in a good mood and willing to help (and this was for the entire week I stayed). They were ready to help me with everything I needed, it really made a big difference in my stay! The hostel is small what generates a great atmosphere as you get to see the people and chat around a lot, what is great for a solo traveler.

Disliked: It would be great if the bathroom windows could be fixed as they do not close so it gets quite chilli during winter.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Nick Hodgson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 August 2013 Nick would recommend this property

Liked: Good hostel, take advantage of the free pasta and wine evening, good way to meet fellow travellers.

Disliked: Showers a little ropey

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were really great and always on hand to answer questions, and they make this a very social hostel with different events on most nights of the week. The 4-bed dorm rooms were big and the beds really comfy! Everything is cleaned thoroughly every day, you even get your bed made! Location couldn't be better, right in the heart of the city and a 10 min walk to Bellavista. Highly recommend!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stephen Hodges

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 June 2013 Stephen would recommend this property

Liked: The best hostel I have ever stayed in. Hands down. The very best. Great location, amazing staff. I would come to Santiago just to spend time here.

Disliked: That I had to leave.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great breakfast. Very helpful staff. Very clean great location.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location and atmosphere, rooms are big and clean. We slept really well and enjoyed the stay!

Disliked: -

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is great, security was really high and eggs for breakfast was a nice change too

Disliked: In the ladies showers on both level 2 and 4 only one out of the 2 showers ran hot water. The rooms were also quite hot and stuffy, a fan would have been handy.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Alfredo Rodriguez

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 January 2013 Alfredo would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel has excellent location directly accross the street from metro station. It's clean and offers a fantastic buffet style breakfast.

Disliked: Although we did have a reservation, the staff had no idea where to place us and beds were not ready well past check-in time. After reporting the bed situation to the staff numerous times, the two staff persons argued with eachother and handled the situation very poorly. I dont mind mistakes but how it was handled was a bad way to start our stay at this hostel.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Micaela Muro

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

01 January 2013 Micaela would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in one of the appartments: small but really nice, with all the facilities you might need. We spend new years eve there and they organized a very nice barbeque in the roof where we met some nice people.

Disliked: No A/C in the appartment. The quality of the breakfast products was poor (stale bread, not butter but margerine, instant orange juice, etc.). If you want to pay in pesos chilenos, they warn you that they will charge you the 19% of VAT, so you're kinda forced to pay with credit card or us dollars.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location, just across the Metro station and walking distance to major tourist sights. Spacious dorm room with nice interior. Good ratio of bed and toilet/shower. Daily maid service who make up your bed.

Disliked: Things are easily stolen in this hostel! Some of our food (e.g. salmon, instant noodle, even condiments and leeks!) in the refrigerator and kitchen's shelf were gone although labeled clearly. My friend's soap and shampoo also gone although she put inside her bag in the room. My roommate's books in the room were gone as well.. and we stayed in 4-bed dorm! The worst thing in this hostel is no internet wifi! Half of our stay, the internet was very slow and on-off. The rest the wifi was literally dead!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

05 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in the Andes appartments which is on the road parallel to the actual hostel. Less than a minute walk away. Central location is great. 5 minute walk to everything u need to see and do in Santiago. The staff are very helpful with offering advice. Free wifi in all appartment rooms. Maid service daily. Free breakfast at the hostel each morning. I didn't see the hostel bedrooms / showers as like I say I stayed in there appartment block. However the kitchen and common rooms looked very clean. Free wifi there too.

Disliked: I can honestly say that there is nothing to say in a negative way about the appartments.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location and clean rooms

Disliked: Extremely rude staff and they did not have an idea what they were talking about (for ex. they told that you can not make a reservation to Concha y Toro bodega and you supposed just go there and you will get a tour. We were lucky to get ourselves to tour at the same day even though all were supposed to be full. It´s not nice to spent your time for nothing). Hostel is quite noisy and toilets cleaned poorly.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jennifer Rogers

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

08 November 2012 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in an apartment worth every penny.It was well equipped and very comfortable.

Disliked: nothing.