HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Chillihostel

Hostel | Triana 863, Santiago, Chile .

85.0% Overall Rating

277 out of 303 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/12/2013)

"Breakfast and dinner Location was walking distance from subway and free tour meeting points Free dinner"

Read all Chillihostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Hostel’s conditions: Taxes are not included in prices. If you are not chilean and you pay in USD your accomodation is free of taxes. We charge an additional 4,5% for credit and debit card payment, and 19% of taxes for Chileans.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Santiago?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Santiago

Marilú s Bed and Breakfast
29.50 USD

Guesthouse 84.0% 12 reviews
Chile Hostales
20.00 USD

Guesthouse 90.7% 27 reviews
Atacama Hostel
12.42 USD

Hostel 78.4% 51 reviews
Castillo Surfista Hostel
14.38 USD

Hostel 91.2% 116 reviews
Hostal Boutique Bella
15.09 USD

Hostel 90.5% 53 reviews
Hostal Oveja Verde
17.75 USD

Guesthouse 87.4% 5 reviews
Chile Backpackers Hostel
15.97 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Bellavista Hostel
18.00 USD

Hostel 90.1% 537 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.0%

Overall Rating

277 out of 303 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Chillihostel'

Atmosphere
84.0%
Location
83.2%
Facilities
85.6%
Cleanliness
84.0%
Staff
91.2%
Value
83.2%
Safety
84.0%
Refine your results Showing 219 of 243 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9   Next
Reset filter
74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast and dinner Location was walking distance from subway and free tour meeting points Free dinner

Disliked: bathroom was in the room, so if someone was showering i couldnt use the toilet, and with 8 peopel in the room that seemed to always be the case

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly people and staff. Free dinners every night, though if you stay here for a while these will get repetative. Friday night BBQ is worth the money....good food and free beers and wine for 2 hours and entrance to a club later.

Disliked: Small kitchen, not very well equipped if you do want to cook for yourself.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

mariann lian

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 November 2013 mariann would recommend this property

Liked: breakfast and dinner

Disliked: just a tip ! its no ladder to the beds in the doorm rooms, one girl in my room almost fall down,when she try to get up..dangerous

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice quiet location. Short walk to metro. Great staff. Decent breakfast and dinner included. Old hostel but clean!

Disliked: Maybe only that it could have a bar or somewhere to grab a drink, and common area pretty basic, But otherwise pretty good place. We have no complaints :)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The best hostel I've stayed in south america, I came back three times in my trip. Free dinner every day, best barbecue party on friday night, staff very helpfull, very clean room with private bathroom. The location is perfect, not in the noisy dontown but not so far, in a little street. I definitly recomend it and I will come back for sure.

Disliked: come back to my real life

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Natalia Djajarahardja

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 July 2013 Natalia would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome place!!! friendly staff and mates, great bbq on friday the good atmosphere. The staff is always helpful with whatever you need. Dinner and towel included :) Location is perfect. 2 blocks from the metro and 10min from patio Bela Vista, the coolest neighborhood.

Disliked: The ensuite bathroom wasnt cleaned for a couple days and the room was dusty. No keys for the room. Dinner is small, but hey, it's free :)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

09 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent staff, cozy, good matress and very clean. I love it that they have heating. Fruit in the breakfast. Free dinner every day. Free towel. Safe.

Disliked: Sometimes, the water in the bath can be cold. We stayed without hot water all together for a whole morning and most of the afternoon.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Rachel Lowther

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 June 2013 Rachel would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast was good. The rooms are big and clean.

Disliked: As soon as we arrived we had to pay for the 3 nights we'd booked. We'd just arrived in Chile and only had enough cash to pay for 2 nights. At first the staff member at the front desk insisted we must pay for 3 nights immediately. After some time and assuring them we would pay for the third night the following morning they reluctantly let us check in. In general I found there was a lack of flexibility that I'm not used to from a hostel. It also wasn't very easy to get to know others and sit around and chat. The free dinner advertised was tiny, so we still had to buy some more food for dinner. I said I would recommend this hostel, because it's clean and, if you stay in a dorm, it's amongst the cheapest I saw in Santiago. However, don't expect a friendly 'hostel feel'.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

dolly cubasso

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

30 May 2013 dolly would recommend this property

Liked: staff very helpful and friendly, good and safety location, light dinner free 7 days

Disliked: no heating: very cold rooms and bathrooms. Support services deficient, deterioration of the painted walls, mainly outside.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: BBQ night! Great way to meet people and have some good food/wine.

Disliked: Not the smartest looking place I've stayed at, but for one night it did the job.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

lauren tyson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 May 2013

Liked: Close to subway which was good. Toast & cereal for Breakfast.

Disliked: Beds are very uncomfortable,thin foam mattresses. Room & bathroom didn't look very clean. Wouldn't recommend.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 April 2013

Liked: The location is good and the staff friendly. The room, a female dorm was clean enough.

Disliked: ¿Este es un hostel? That's what one of the other passengers in the minibus said when we pulled up to the hostel. the bathroom not so clean. The pipes had a smell of raw sewage. The frames on the bunk bed felt a little flimsy. The building needs a good paint job, especially when you compare it to the other buildings next to it; It seems like the building is in disrepair, but they are in the middle of doing some construction, to be fair. The breakfast is ok, my complaint being that they only serve you portion of everything, which didn't work for me because I didn't want the cereal but after an hour run, two slices of bed was not going to cut It

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

21 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free dinners were great.

Disliked: .

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrea Waghelstein

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 February 2013 Andrea would recommend this property

Liked: This was my first stop in South America, and the staff were great in helping me get oriented in Santiago, and suggesting things to do while here. The free breakfast is great, and the free dinner may not be amazing, but it's free and a great time to socialize with other people staying here. Great location to walk to downtown, Bellavista, and the metro.

Disliked: A little on the quiet side, so not a huge party atmosphere if that's what you're looking for. A bunch of us did buy wine and had a great time staying up and drinking here, so it's still a lot of fun.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Ellen Nascimento

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 February 2013

Liked: Free wine and pasta on thursday was good, but the food on the other days was lousy. There is one nice and friendly guy working there, but all others are very strange people.

Disliked: Worst hostel I've ever been. Full of bed bugs!!! The place is not only ugly but has a very bad atmosphere. I stayed for three days and they never cleaned the bathroom, which was filthy. You can't sleep when there is someone at the hall 'cos you will even listen to the person breathing.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice, friendly place. I only crashed there for the night before my flight, but in this short time had a fun time with other travelers drinking some wine. Also, they made free diner.

Disliked: It's not as centrally located as other hostels; I didn't really care though.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: All of the staff were welcoming, friendly and helpful. The location is excellent, just next to the Salvador subway station and 5 minutes walk to the busy nightlife in Bellavista. The meals provided are basic but man are they welcome when you've had a busy day and don't want to cook for yourself. Also there is a social aspect to the evening meal being provided and that is sitting down to eat with the other travelers makes it easy to meet people.

Disliked: Could really have done with a couple more lockers in the 9 bed dorm. Only 7 lockers between 9! But having said that the place is very secure with residents having to walk past the desk to get to the accommodation.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Their asado is really good value for money and includes entry to a club later. Nice and clean and the staff were very helpuland friendly. Breakfast was great.

Disliked: So hot in the hostel. No air con

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet neighbourhood but with convenient access to downtown centro. Staff pay serious attention to people in and out. Female dorm ensuite and dinner is provided.

Disliked: Hair dryer is not available, Wifi is weak in room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

17 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked the brightly colored rooms and the location.

Disliked: Nada. No complaints. Everything was great.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: todo

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Comfortable beds with down doonas, no street noise, friendly staff, decent breakfast and free dinner. Close to metro stop.

Disliked: Not within walking distance to night life.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely staff, particularly helpful. Free food and wine...you can't beat it for value.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly atmosphere, dinner included, good showers, cozy common room

Disliked: little far from the center, they have some mix-ups with the beds so the first night i entered the dorm and all beds were taken (they gave me a bed in another room then), a little loud sometimes

85.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Rodrigo Carvalho

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 May 2012 Rodrigo would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, good vibe, good place to cook.

Disliked: There were at least 3 nights that it was impossible to sleep even with ear blocks. We found that the place is excellent in their calmer nights or if you are in party mood but if you are not and the other occupants are, it is likely you won't be able to sleep. One particular night there were people talking loudly up to 5am.