HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Chillihostel

Hostel | Triana 863, Santiago, Chile .

85.5% Overall Rating

280 out of 306 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (30/05/2014)

"One of my favorite hostels in months of traveling! Free dinner is a great way to meet people."

Read all Chillihostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Hostel’s conditions: Taxes are not included in prices. If you are not chilean and you pay in USD your accomodation is free of taxes. We charge an additional 4,5% for credit and debit card payment, and 19% of taxes for Chileans.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Santiago?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Santiago

Marilú s Bed and Breakfast
29.50 USD

Guesthouse 84.0% 12 reviews
Chile Hostales
20.00 USD

Guesthouse 90.7% 27 reviews
Atacama Hostel
13.00 USD

Hostel 78.4% 51 reviews
Castillo Surfista Hostel
14.90 USD

Hostel 90.1% 121 reviews
Hostal Boutique Bella
16.14 USD

Hostel 91.8% 55 reviews
Hostal Oveja Verde
17.73 USD

Guesthouse 87.4% 5 reviews
Chile Backpackers Hostel
13.30 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Bellavista Hostel
18.00 USD

Hostel 89.1% 547 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.5%

Overall Rating

280 out of 306 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Chillihostel'

Atmosphere
84.8%
Location
83.2%
Facilities
84.8%
Cleanliness
83.2%
Staff
91.2%
Value
85.6%
Safety
85.6%
Refine your results Showing 221 of 246 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: strong wifi signal, good common place to meet others, the trouble they take to organize events for all.

Disliked: bathrooms could be cleaner.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 July 2011

Liked: The free dinner on thursday night.

Disliked: Kitchen facilities : very minimal, not a lot of cooking equipment, just enough to boil hot water to make tea/coffee. Stayed in Room for 8 : an extra bed was added, so there were 9 beds to the room, made it very small, no space for your bags or anything else. The room was stuffy. Payment : you have pay in US dollars, they charge a higher rate if you pay by Chilean pesos, I had to pay us$2 more on top of the room rates when I paid in pesos which sucked big time especially hostelbookers charge your credit card in British Pounds rather than the advertised US$.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Diego Ostrovsky

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

14 July 2011 Diego would recommend this property

Liked: The people who work in the hostel are absolutely friendly and cool, from the person who prepare the breakfast to the owner. They were always doing activities to integrate people at night such as dinners, hanging out, etc. I found that an important difference comparing to other hostels I stayed before.

Disliked: It was a bit cold during the night but just because the period of the year I stayed there. However, they offered alternatives to keep everyone warm.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: free dinner monday through thursday

Disliked: some of the residents and staff didnt seem to care about being quiet despite how late it is. i was woken up many times at 2 or 3 in the morning with people turning on the lights or music blasting from downstairs.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Rebecca Harrison

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 June 2011 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: The free breakfast and evening meal was a bonus... The owners of the hostel are very nice. Free glass of wine sometimes with your meal is nice too

Disliked: The staff where never sure who where in which beds so there was always confusion. This hostel can be quite noisy after dark but it is a popular place to stay.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: V. Good value hostel with fairly good breakfast and free dinners every nights, big and airy dorms, comfy beds and some of the best showers in South America. Good place to meet other travellers too.

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Desiree Van Haute

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

06 June 2011 Desiree would recommend this property

Liked: Good Value for your money, excellent staff who cultivate a fun atmosphere where people can hang out and chat!

Disliked: Dinner is included Monday through Thursday, but on Friday there is a charge that was unclear and on the weekends you are on your own-- this wasnt clear online.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free dinners. Good location

Disliked: Bathrooms could be better fitted out, soap would be nice as would more bins.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful even going so far as to lend a personal mobile to contact my bank in the UK

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

lara Feinstein

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 April 2011 lara would recommend this property

Liked: My friend and I are travelling South America on a tight budget and were only planning to stay at Chilli hostel for 2 nights. But we had such a good time both in the hostel and on nights out with people we met that we ended up staying 4 nights.. but could have stayed more! The price is very reasonable for a clean, spacious and friendly hostel but the fact that you get FREE dinner every night really makes this hostel special. And dinner is really nice. My friend is a vegetarian and every night they ensured there was an option for her. It actually makes a real difference not having to think about what to cook or where to go for dinner!! And the cafe downstairs does a bargain lunch menu which we had twice and is really really tasty. Id also really recommend the free walking tour if you are visiting Santiago, its well worth doing and the guide Felipe really knows his stuff.

Disliked: Nothing really. It was autumn when we visited so the hostel was cold at times but I know they put the heating on during winter.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

25 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really close to metro station, located in quite cul de sac off the main road so really good location. Rooms were cleaned every day, and free breakfast and dinners mon-thurs were excellent.

Disliked: Sheets were changed at irregular intervals, and there was building work going on everyday so hot water was sometimes not present.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: free dinner, location, people that have been there

Disliked: small shower place, combined with toilets (i.e. one bathroom only) 9 beds in a 8 bed dorm

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Dante Rodriguez

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

31 March 2011 Dante would recommend this property

Liked: The owner is very friendly but some of the staff does not have a clue about giving directions

Disliked: Just two bathrooms for too many rooms

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, loved the building, good breakfast.

Disliked: Eventhough I really liked the location, getting to the Plaza de Armas does take a 20 minute walk, but it is through a beautyful park so you don't really notice it.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

31 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, comfortable room and helpfull staff.

Disliked: --

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good and very friendly- helpfull Staff.

Disliked: The house has quite thin walls, so it can get noisey at night.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Harpreet Binning

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 January 2011 Harpreet would recommend this property

Liked: Free meal and an alcoholic beverage Mon-Thurs nights and better than average breakfast. The least creeky bunk beds i've slept on since i've been in South America. Staff are awesome. Perfect location to go to the park, metro, Bella Vista to party, 3 supermarkets within 5-10 mins walk. Clean and equiped kitchen, if you cant find what you want in the communal kitchen ask and they'll get it for you from their kitchen. The nice lady makes your bed every morning, just make sure you leave some stuff on the bed before you go, otherwise new people might jump into your bed by mistake. We really liked this hostel and so did everyone on our 5-6 day stay. Any we had people returning who had stayed before. It actually felt like a home.

Disliked: Wifi works awesome but the hostel computers are sometimes slighty slow but if you let reception know, they reset the connection instantly and your good to go again. So not really a huge problem.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

mandy jones

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 December 2010 mandy would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were all really friendly and helpful. Our dorm room and bathroom were really clean.

Disliked: Kitchen was a bit cramped at breakfast time!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Monique Jarny

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 November 2010 Monique would recommend this property

Liked: The staff at chillihostel were fantastic! So helpful and friendly! The adjoining cafe is lovely, and the rooms are great for the price you pay!

Disliked: The atmosphere was sometimes lacking - however, this was entirely caused by the guests at the time rather than the hostel or the staff!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Helder Fernandes

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 November 2010 Helder would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very helpful, prepared us some meals and went out with us on Saturday! The Pisco Sour and the BBQ were top highlights!

Disliked: Helder left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Anna Pearson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 November 2010

Liked: The building itself is nice enough but unless you want to be kept awake half the night - which is what some people want I guess, then its a no from me.

Disliked: If you want a decent nights sleep avoid Chilli Hostel. On our first night really loud music went on till well past twelve, it was so loud that earplugs couldn't block it out. Then we we asked if it was possible to make sure that music was turned off by 12 we were given a flat refusal - the owners of this place do not give a damn about you if you want to sleep and were extremely rude and patronising to us. We moved on after the second night of loud noise which went on till 2am! Its fine to have a bit noise in a hostel, people want to have fun and its what we would expect but this place does not advertise itself as a party hostel - if you stay in the double rooms it feels like being above a nightclub. To move on whilst the building is nice, the room we stayed in looked nothing like the warm inviting photos. It was bare with cracks in the ceiling, faded fittings and a mouldy bathroom - that said without the noise we'd have probably just put up with it. We moved to the beautiful hostal caracol in bellavista which was far cheaper and practically felt like a boutique hotel - it was much cheaper too. Finally the member of staff generally on call made us think about Faulty Towers he was pretty much unable to help on any problem. When we first arrived at 11am after an all night flight he said we could check in a 12, we came back then to be told the room wasn't ready and he didn't know when it would be - the I don't knows continued... You can do much better than ChilliHostel - I'd avoid this place!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really enjoyed my stay at Chilli hostel. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean, spacious and the hostel has a good location in a quiet and safe area of Santiago not too far from the city center. It was also a good place to meet other travellers since there were activities provided on some evenings.

Disliked: -

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

30 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is Unbelievable!!!! the location is good close to Cerro San cristobal and Cerro Santa Lucia. You can find restaurants, shops, supermarkets around the hostal.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

30 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Location is good, I mean you´ve got a few stations the city centre and the shopping malls, you can find close the hostal restaurants, supermarket.The staff is amazing, friendly

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Agustin Aguilera

Alone

14 August 2010 Agustin would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff. Lots of things to do there in the evening. The hostal had a very friendly environment, making it easy to meet new friends. A really good deal for the price. Would recommend it to all.

Disliked: Agustin left no negative feedback.