We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Chillihostel

Hostel | Triana 863, Santiago, Chile .

85.8% Overall Rating

283 out of 310 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (30/05/2014)

"One of my favorite hostels in months of traveling! Free dinner is a great way to meet people."

Read all Chillihostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Hostel’s conditions: Taxes are not included in prices. If you are not chilean and you pay in USD your accomodation is free of taxes. We charge an additional 4,5% for credit and debit card payment, and 19% of taxes for Chileans.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Santiago?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Santiago

Marilú s Bed and Breakfast
29.50 USD

Guesthouse 84.0% 12 reviews
Chile Hostales
20.00 USD

Guesthouse 90.7% 27 reviews
Atacama Hostel
14.00 USD

Hostel 78.4% 51 reviews
Nomades Hostel
14.99 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Castillo Surfista Hostel
14.15 USD

Hostel 90.1% 121 reviews
Hostal Boutique Bella
15.82 USD

Hostel 89.8% 58 reviews
Hostal Oveja Verde
16.65 USD

Guesthouse 87.4% 5 reviews
Chile Backpackers Hostel
13.32 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.8%

Overall Rating

283 out of 310 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Chillihostel'

Atmosphere
87.2%
Location
85.6%
Facilities
84.0%
Cleanliness
82.4%
Staff
92.0%
Value
85.6%
Safety
84.0%
Refine your results Showing 222 of 250 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely staff, particularly helpful. Free food and wine...you can't beat it for value.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly atmosphere, dinner included, good showers, cozy common room

Disliked: little far from the center, they have some mix-ups with the beds so the first night i entered the dorm and all beds were taken (they gave me a bed in another room then), a little loud sometimes

85.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Rodrigo Carvalho

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 May 2012 Rodrigo would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, good vibe, good place to cook.

Disliked: There were at least 3 nights that it was impossible to sleep even with ear blocks. We found that the place is excellent in their calmer nights or if you are in party mood but if you are not and the other occupants are, it is likely you won't be able to sleep. One particular night there were people talking loudly up to 5am.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Casey Rummel

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 April 2012 Casey would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful, friendly staff. Free breakfast was ample, and it also included a free dinner and free glass of wine. Price was good, value for the money is excellent.

Disliked: Showers were cramped and lukewarm

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: El hostel es muy bueno, la gente del staf te atiende muy bien, la habitacion era buena. Ademas, la cena incluida en la noche es super, se puede compartir con la gente, todo buena onda.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Naomi Cooper

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 April 2012 Naomi would recommend this property

Liked: I booked a private room months in advance but my plans changed a few times. The hostel was very accommodating and even added an extra bed in our room for a friend that was visiting. Cafe next door did a very good lunch menu. Airport pick up was a success and great after a long flight!! Friday night BBQ was good....not so much meat but plenty of red wine and beer. The people from the hostel took us out into Santiago and it was a great night. They are all very friendly.

Disliked: Music from downstairs (not sure if it was the hostel or not) seemed to go on quite late most nights, not a huge issue but not great if you're suffering from jet lag. Also, there are communal seats and computers on the landings of each floor - people tend to sit and talk quite loudly into the night. If you bring ear plugs you will be fine!!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Ashlie Newell

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 March 2012 Ashlie would recommend this property

Liked: Chilled out, friendly vibe, great location, free meals during the week.

Disliked: No hot water ever! Became very frustrating. And there could be more utensils in the kitchen.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 March 2012

Liked: The hostel is in a nice old builing close to an university and the Salvador metro-station. The breakfast is not a buffet, just 2 pices of toast each traveller. But the coffee is good and the free dinner a nice extra. However, there are some other hostels with better value for money, like the Luna Calypso, in similar location.

Disliked: The beds could have been better and the dorm is very noisy.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matthew burfield

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 March 2012 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were super friendly and friend helpful, breakfast was also quite nice. The common area was also a nice place to chill out and relax.

Disliked: Matthew left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Rich Lewis

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 March 2012 Rich would recommend this property

Liked: Different activities on, close to Metro, good value

Disliked: Water from showers wasnt always warm

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, friendly staff, good asado!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 March 2012

Liked: Helpfulness staff.

Disliked: Not bad

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was perfect for our stay. We stayed in 6 bed doorm with private bathroom and it was very spacious. Always had hot water and the bathrooms and linen were changed daily. The hostel had a good atmosphere, offering free dinners and drinks most nights of the week in the common area which was great! Breakfast was also served in there cafe and was good.

Disliked: Not many activities on offer, what they did offer was for the winter months and we were there in summer. Location not ideal, but close to public transport making it easy to get to the main centre.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ana Necrici

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 January 2012 Ana would recommend this property

Liked: Thank you so much for making my stay very pleasant to the awesome staff! Nice dinner included! ;-)

Disliked: Ana left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel breakfast includes fresh orange juice and real milk but the break is weak and the butter doesn't melt...something strange there. I like the nightly dinners and the staff was accommodating of my need to change rooms.

Disliked: The rooms feel cramped and crowed and the building itself is one tall, fairly narrow set of stairs. I was disappointed by the size of the common area and how hard it was to reach my bed on the top bunk.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anna Emmerson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 December 2011 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: We love Aji hostel! The free dinners are a god send, and the Friday bbq is definitely worth going to! Nice breakfast with fresh juice, and the usual coffee, tea, toast, spreads, cereal etc. Basic rooms, but cleaned thoroughly every day. The staff were fantastic, and the owners are very involved in the operation which means that things that need to get done are done very quickly. There is also an excellent restaurant downstairs open for lunch. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

Disliked: Nada

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year

02 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location,comfty bed,it is our first time the dinner is included ,delicious dinner.

Disliked: male toilet-shower is not enough,but it is not the main problem

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

22 November 2011

Liked: Spacious room

Disliked: Smells like smoke sometimes. People smoke outside the door and for some reason, the smoke just seeps into the building.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 November 2011

Liked: The location and the free dinner (which was mediocre but nice to have after a long day/night of travelling and being too exhausted to go out and get real food).

Disliked: It was dirty and felt as thought things were left unfixed during contstruction and/or falling apart. I climbed in to bed to find lots of someone's dark hair on my pillow case. The front dek staff just stared at me when I walked in and didn't say a thing other than stare at me until I finally spoke up. The night staff seemed to glare at me when I had a few questions about busses and the area, as if I was inconveniencing them.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Alejandro Rey

With my spouse / partner

City break

06 November 2011 Alejandro would recommend this property

Liked: Well located, friendly staff, clean bedrooms, nice breakfast

Disliked: double room was quite small actually. didn´t see too many people making friends

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

19 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff, good location, comfy bed and chilled common area

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Philippa Walker

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 October 2011 Philippa would recommend this property

Liked: Free food four nights a week as well as wine or a pisco sours! Really friendly and helpful staff. Also they have feather duvets and keep the hostel nice and clean! Amazing value for money!

Disliked: Not always really hot water but can't complain as everything else so good! Really recommend this hostel.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff and something on every night, close to everything without being slap bang in the centre

Disliked: nada

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast was pretty good.

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: hostel was great value for money and had a very homely feel. free brekfast, free yummy dinner and free glass of wine or pisco every night was amazing and very helpful for the budget traveller. great hot showers and clean rooms with a relaxing common area with great wi fi and a tv. we would have loved to stay longer if we had the time!

Disliked: nothing!