HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Top Rated Hostels in San Pedro de Atacama, Chile

Mamatierra Hostel 96%

1. Mamatierra Hostel

Hostel
Pachamama 615

Atmosphere 95%

Cleanliness 100%

Facilities 95%

Location 89%

Safety 99%

Staff 99%

Value 94%

76 out of 77 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Mamatierra Hostel

12 Nov 2015 94%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Sightseeing & culture Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Comfortable beds. Nice showers with soap and shampoo. Central patio for easy mingling. Great breakfast. Fantastic staff.

would recommend this property

19 Oct 2015 100%
Travel Type: With friends / other travellers
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year Sightseeing & culture

It was really clean. They cleaned our room everyday and we even got bottle of water everyday. We liked that we could easily book the half-day/day through the hostel, transfer from/to Calama airport. Breakfast was amazing, wide chose, ham, cereals, eggs, jams, tomatoe, cheese, coffe, tee, juice, yoghurt. If you go on an early trip they give you breakfast package with sandwich, juice, yoghurt, cerealbars. Hostel has a bbq area where you can have bbq night. Recomended hostel!

would recommend this property

Read all Mamatierra Hostel reviews
Hostal Rural 89%

2. Hostal Rural

Hostel
Centro, Calle Calama 257

Atmosphere 93%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 83%

Location 98%

Safety 90%

Staff 91%

Value 82%

51 out of 57 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Hostal Rural

29 Apr 2016 97%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Sightseeing & culture
Age Range: 25-30

The atmosphere is so relaxed and happy. Staff and travellers alike are so friendly and inclusive. I have seen lots of other hostels around San Pedro which seem so much more sedate. Music is always a great addition. Music is a must here but as others have stated the staff do enforce the midnight rule of silence.

would recommend this property

28 Apr 2016 94%
Travel Type: With friends / other travellers
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year City break Sightseeing & culture Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Age Range: 18-24

The staff was very welcoming, and helped us from the time we booked (since we were arriving late at night) to helping us with the tours, giving us recommendations of restaurants! Also, we were greeted by a glass of wine, which made a very good first impression! Overall, the chilled-out atmosphere of the hostal and the travellers was really nice. The kitchen and rooms were clean, and so were the bathrooms.

would recommend this property

Read all Hostal Rural reviews
Aji Verde Hostel San Pedro de Atacama 80%

3. Aji Verde Hostel San Pedro de Atacama

Hostel
Ckilapana 69 A - Solcor

Atmosphere 85%

Cleanliness 78%

Facilities 80%

Location 66%

Safety 86%

Staff 88%

Value 77%

18 out of 24 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Aji Verde Hostel San Pedro de Atacama

25 Oct 2015 80%
Travel Type: With my spouse / partner
Trip Type: Family Holiday

It is very difficult to find. Almost impossible to locate in the dark.Please refer to my instructions.The town is small but this hostel is just outside the town boundary. Walking there from the town centre takes 15 to 20 minutes. It is at the southern end of town, along Ckilaparia Street (number 69A). However, if you follow the street numbers, you will be totally confused. The Latino Americans restaurant, number 688 Ckilaparia Street, is the "next neighbour" towards town.To get to this hostel you can walk along Ckilaparia Street. Better still, walk along Toconao Street and away from town. This street starts from town centre so the direction is clear. The main streets are Caracoles Street and Toconao Street from town centre.Walk to the end of Toconao street (the road stops here) then walk to your left (which is Ckilaparia street). It is a wide rocky dirt road with mud brick/stone walls (side fences) on both sides. Walk down (downhill) along this main dirt road for about 40 steps and you will see a Chilean flag on your right. This is where the hostel is. It has a high metal gate. You need to press a button and communicate through an intercom and wait for the hostel staff to open the gate for you.On the gate outside the hostel, both the number and the name of the hostel were written but the writing had long faded. You will not see it even in daylight.In the dark (there is no street light but the town itself is well lit) watch for the well and clearly lighted sign of "La Aldes Hotel" which is right next to this hostel. If you walk past this sign, you have just walk past your hostel.

would recommend this property

26 Sep 2015 77%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Sports, adventure or outdoor activities Visiting friends or family

Sympa assez calme

would recommend this property

Read all Aji Verde Hostel San Pedro de Atacama reviews
Hostal Desert 73%

4. Hostal Desert

Hotel
Jama #743, Poblacion Licancabur, San Pedro de Atacama

Atmosphere 67%

Cleanliness 73%

Facilities 80%

Location 67%

Safety 80%

Staff 67%

Value 73%

3 out of 3 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Hostal Desert

24 Dec 2014 89%
Travel Type: With my spouse / partner
Trip Type: Family Holiday Relaxation / spa Sightseeing & culture

The owner was very helpfull in fulfilling our requests he even let us use the private washing machine.

would recommend this property

Read all Hostal Desert reviews
Backpackers San Pedro 71%

5. Backpackers San Pedro

Hostel
Portal del Inca #486,, Condeduque

Atmosphere 76%

Cleanliness 71%

Facilities 70%

Location 61%

Safety 76%

Staff 74%

Value 70%

46 out of 53 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Backpackers San Pedro

20 Jul 2015 40%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year

The San Pedro desert is an incredible place to visit and this place is a reliable option. The fires in the evenin are really spectacular, though for some strange reason they only really seem to do them when the staff can be bothered- even in the middle of winter. Although, the main receptionist is really lovely and helpful.

20 Mar 2015 40%
Travel Type: With friends / other travellers
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year

Nothing

Read all Backpackers San Pedro reviews

Why book with hostelbookers?

Thousands of beds and private rooms, close to the things you’re planning to see and do.
With great value hostels and cheap hotels, everything you want to see and do is just a step away.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to San Pedro de Atacama?

Contact us directly

Our top-rated San Pedro de Atacama hostels have only been scored by hostelbookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in San Pedro de Atacama. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.

Guide to San Pedro de Atacama

Guide to Find our best travel tips, advice and inspiration on what to do and where to stay in our guide to San Pedro de Atacama. Discover how to travel on a budget and don’t forget to check the weather before you go!