HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Hostal Rural San Pedro de Atacama Hostel

Centro, Calle Calama 257, San Pedro de Atacama, Chile

Atmosphere 93%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 83%

Location 98%

Safety 90%

Staff 91%

Value 82%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • BBQ
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Steam room
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 1.53USD

Important Information

We do not accept bookings for more than 6 pax

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 11:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to San Pedro de Atacama?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 93%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 83%

Location 98%

Safety 90%

Staff 91%

Value 82%

Showing 1-10 of 16 reviews

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Apr 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: The atmosphere is so relaxed and happy. Staff and travellers alike are so friendly and inclusive. I have seen lots of other hostels around San Pedro which seem so much more sedate. Music is always a great addition. Music is a must here but as others have stated the staff do enforce the midnight rule of silence.

Disliked: I would only suggest a breakfast to be added for the price.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Apr 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: The staff was very welcoming, and helped us from the time we booked (since we were arriving late at night) to helping us with the tours, giving us recommendations of restaurants! Also, we were greeted by a glass of wine, which made a very good first impression! Overall, the chilled-out atmosphere of the hostal and the travellers was really nice. The kitchen and rooms were clean, and so were the bathrooms.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: I really loved the atmosphere the hostal has, with art everywhere you looked. The people that work there were all so nice, friendly and helpfull with everything we needed. It has a great location, right in the middle of the town, close to restaurants, tour agencies, bike rentals and actually all you needed is right there. The kitchen was OK, with the implements necessary in order to cook and eat. The bedrooms are OK for the price, confy beds. I totally recommend this place if you are visiting San Pedro.

Disliked: The one thing we did not like were the showers. It was really hard to get the right temperature in order to have a nice shower. The water was really really hot, it burned. besides from that nothing else to say really.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Excellent place to stay in San Pedro! Hector the guy who works there is an excellent source of info for the area. Nice kitchen to make your own meals and good location in the center of the city. Highly recommended!

Disliked: No breakfast is included.

Customer would recommend this property

49% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
49% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Nothing at all

Disliked: very very small rooms. (12qm - 6 beds)Dirty rooms, bathrooms and kitchen.No breakfast...For that price (25$ for a dorm bed) you could definitely expect much more. Cannot understand the quite good rating.

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
94% Overall Rating


31 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Even though I was on an extremely tight schedule (getting from Southern Chile to Rio for Carnival via Bolivia in three weeks), I extended twice because I felt so at home here. It has a really appropriate style for the environment and a friendly, relaxed ambiance. (The description oddly specifies that you must be 'outgoing', but to me it seemed welcoming and inclusive to anyone.) I really recommend it.

Disliked: It claims to have 24-hour hit showers, but they are in fact usually cold. In other places this wouldn't matter as much, but it's in the desert so cold at night and you are often getting up early to go on various trips. For example, if you take a jeep tour to Uyuni (which you definitely should) you won't get a shower the second morning so if you can't have one before you leave then you will go three days without.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: BEST HOSTEL EVER. I am only slightly exaggerating. Staff was the best I've seen in South America. They know everyone by name, they're always willing to help you out with literally everything, going way above and beyond to do it. The parties that they throw are great, they're knowledgable about everything going on in the village, the tours are awesome and well-priced. The rooms are clean and comfortable, with plenty of room and blankets. The showers are good. I could go on.

Disliked: Nada!

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
94% Overall Rating


30 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I had a great time, feeling like I knew virtually all of the other guests. Clarence really puts in a lot of effort to make the hostel as good as possible, in particular telling the guests about parties going on and organizing a minibus to one that was supposed to be out in the desert. We drove around for ages and it turned out that it wasn't really happening, but it was still fun and it's the thought that counts, and he then found us an alternative one anyway. Bear in mind that San Pedro is really very small and remote: it's not like a big city where there are countless venues and ways to find out information.

Disliked: One member of staff failed to record a ticket sale to the Valley of the Moon, so I later bought one and only found out at the last minute that there wasn't actually space for me. I therefore had to go with an external agency, which was a much lonelier experience and had a pretty annoying tour guide. However, by the time I was told, that employee had already been sacked for that and another failings, so it is clear that the manager will not tolerate slack staff.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
94% Overall Rating


29 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I really enjoyed staying at this hostel. I loved the decor, with motifs, tiles, bottles &c. laid into the adobe. It's a lot more artistic than I am making that sound, with nice details in every corner that you suddenly notice after being there for days. As the floor and a lot of the walls are earth, one cannot expect it to be like shiny marble, but I was perfectly satisfied with the cleanliness.

Disliked: The hostel is expensive but don't imagine that you will get a luxury experience for that price: all hostels in San Pedro seem to be the same sort of price. It's fair enough as it is a village in the middle of nowhere and that means additional costs incurred and a limited season. Talking of this location, though, the name doesn't make any sense: the hostel is right in the centre so as 'urban' as anything in thousands of square kilometres around.

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: .

Disliked: .

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability