We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostal Rural

Hostel | centro, calama 257, San Pedro de Atacama, Chile 1410000

85.0% Overall Rating

41 out of 45 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/03/2015)

I. C. Turner thinks…

"Even though I was on an extremely tight schedule (getting from Southern Chile to Rio for Carnival via Bolivia in three weeks), I extended twice because I felt so at home here. It has a really…"

Read all Hostal Rural reviews

Facilities

  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wake-up calls
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.64

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

We do not accept bookings for more than 6 pax

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to San Pedro de Atacama?

Contact us directly

See other properties in San Pedro de Atacama

Hostal Mamatierra
20.00 USD

Hostel 93.9% 66 reviews
Hostal Campo Base
24.00 USD

Hostel 92.8% 177 reviews
backpackers san pedro hostel & excursions
14.57 USD

Hostel 74.7% 48 reviews
Iquisa Hostal
13.10 USD

Guesthouse 74.7% 203 reviews
Hostal Sumaj Jallpa
31.92 USD

Guesthouse 73.7% 82 reviews
VIENTO NORTE
27.83 USD

Guesthouse 83.2% 15 reviews
Hostal Desert
30.00 USD

Hostel 72.4% 3 reviews
juriques hostal
11.46 USD

Guesthouse 71.9% 56 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 05/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 05/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.0%

Overall Rating

41 out of 45 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostal Rural'

Atmosphere
89.6%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
80.8%
Cleanliness
80.8%
Staff
87.2%
Value
75.2%
Safety
85.6%
Refine your results Showing 29 of 44 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

I. C. Turner

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 March 2015 I. C. would recommend this property

Liked: Even though I was on an extremely tight schedule (getting from Southern Chile to Rio for Carnival via Bolivia in three weeks), I extended twice because I felt so at home here. It has a really appropriate style for the environment and a friendly, relaxed ambiance. (The description oddly specifies that you must be 'outgoing', but to me it seemed welcoming and inclusive to anyone.) I really recommend it.

Disliked: It claims to have 24-hour hit showers, but they are in fact usually cold. In other places this wouldn't matter as much, but it's in the desert so cold at night and you are often getting up early to go on various trips. For example, if you take a jeep tour to Uyuni (which you definitely should) you won't get a shower the second morning so if you can't have one before you leave then you will go three days without.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

I. C. Turner

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 March 2015 I. C. would recommend this property

Liked: I really enjoyed staying at this hostel. I loved the decor, with motifs, tiles, bottles &c. laid into the adobe. It's a lot more artistic than I am making that sound, with nice details in every corner that you suddenly notice after being there for days. As the floor and a lot of the walls are earth, one cannot expect it to be like shiny marble, but I was perfectly satisfied with the cleanliness.

Disliked: The hostel is expensive but don't imagine that you will get a luxury experience for that price: all hostels in San Pedro seem to be the same sort of price. It's fair enough as it is a village in the middle of nowhere and that means additional costs incurred and a limited season. Talking of this location, though, the name doesn't make any sense: the hostel is right in the centre so as 'urban' as anything in thousands of square kilometres around.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

I. C. Turner

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 March 2015 I. C. would recommend this property

Liked: I had a great time, feeling like I knew virtually all of the other guests. Clarence really puts in a lot of effort to make the hostel as good as possible, in particular telling the guests about parties going on and organizing a minibus to one that was supposed to be out in the desert. We drove around for ages and it turned out that it wasn't really happening, but it was still fun and it's the thought that counts, and he then found us an alternative one anyway. Bear in mind that San Pedro is really very small and remote: it's not like a big city where there are countless venues and ways to find out information.

Disliked: One member of staff failed to record a ticket sale to the Valley of the Moon, so I later bought one and only found out at the last minute that there wasn't actually space for me. I therefore had to go with an external agency, which was a much lonelier experience and had a pretty annoying tour guide. However, by the time I was told, that employee had already been sacked for that and another failings, so it is clear that the manager will not tolerate slack staff.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lukas Vieyra

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 March 2015 Lukas would recommend this property

Liked: It´s amezing, nice atmosphere and nice people.... defenitly recommend it! Location, AMAZING, dont waste time in walking to the main street, cause your already there....

Disliked: Nothing

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 February 2015

Liked: Nothing at all

Disliked: very very small rooms. (12qm - 6 beds) Dirty rooms, bathrooms and kitchen. No breakfast... For that price (25$ for a dorm bed) you could definitely expect much more. Cannot understand the quite good rating.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michelle Willett

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 February 2015 Michelle would recommend this property

Liked: BEST HOSTEL EVER. I am only slightly exaggerating. Staff was the best I've seen in South America. They know everyone by name, they're always willing to help you out with literally everything, going way above and beyond to do it. The parties that they throw are great, they're knowledgable about everything going on in the village, the tours are awesome and well-priced. The rooms are clean and comfortable, with plenty of room and blankets. The showers are good. I could go on.

Disliked: Nada!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: .

Disliked: .

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The vibe was amazing and I met fantastic people and the properly was gorgeous!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

michael mckenna

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 May 2014 michael would recommend this property

Liked: Brilliant hostel, great value, really helpful multi lingual staff and amazing cosy atmosphere

Disliked: Nil

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very tranquil, hippy-like vibe to this place. it was full of happy and friendly guests enjoying the shared communal areas. the staff are really helpful, the showers are good and the wifi is not too bad.

Disliked: nothing, all good

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good chillin.

Disliked: Dirty kitchen.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was cheap

Disliked: The toilet was so dirty and one of the sink was stucked, so you didnt really want to wash your teeth in there. The kitchen was also quite dirty. Almost all the tour start early in morning so you prefer to rest early at nigth, but the yard was so noisy.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were really friendly and helpful. Hostel was clean and really central to town. Would definitely stay again.

Disliked: As the ATMs in town are so temperamental, the ability to pay by card would be brilliant!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Morgane Sokolowski

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

31 August 2013 Morgane would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel Rural is a really cool place, there was a great atmosphere there. I highly recomend this place. If you are travelling alone, this is the place to be to meet great people ! Everything is close to the hostel.. Its safe and clean and there is a kitchen you can use. Miguel, Javier, Jose, Juan are part of the staff and they're all very friendly. They'll help you book your tours for cheaper prices than agencies. Anyway, in two words: book it !

Disliked: Morgane left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Lynna Nguyen

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 July 2013 Lynna would recommend this property

Liked: the atmosphere was nice. it was a cool place to stay. i liked the location

Disliked: we didn't have hot water. the water got shut off during the night and we didn't have it in the morning before 6 which was a problem when some of the tours started at 4 am.. the wifi and electricity went out sometimes

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Veronica Asiain

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2013 Veronica would recommend this property

Liked: todo muy bien, seria bueno incluir un desayuno al menos de pan y cafe

Disliked: ninguna

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rosemary Zvirawa

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 June 2013 Rosemary would recommend this property

Liked: Lively, colourful clean hostal. I was in a 6 bed dorm with a beautiful ensite bathroom with hot water Location very central and just 2 blocks from bus terminal Receptionist very welcoming and provided all information requested for

Disliked: Nothing

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 June 2013

Liked: Wifi access in the rooms, comfortable beds, warm blankets

Disliked: Only two toilets and showers for the whole hostel, often had to ask for toilet paper. Only common area was outside which got quite cold. The kitchen wasn't well stocked. The hostel was quite expensive considering the facilities.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Julien Cardinal

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 March 2013 Julien would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location, nice friendly environment

Disliked: Some issues with booking excursions, better directly book with agencies.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Kristina Naumoska

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

08 March 2013 Kristina would recommend this property

Liked: Chilled vibe. Staff were friendly and helpful - they help you book all sorts of tours and trips in the area. Good wifi. There were only 2 showers, but never had a problem and they were nice and hot. Kitchen was small, but had what you needed. Minimarts, restaurants and tour companies were all within short walking distance.

Disliked: Kristina left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Florian Schmitz

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 January 2013 Florian would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly people. The hostel is quite small, so get in contact to everybody, if you want to! Very close to the main street, 20m!

Disliked: Florian left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, vibe, wi-fi

Disliked: a bit more clean would be better a bit noisy

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 January 2013

Liked: Great common area and good location - tho san pedro is very small anyway it isn't necessary for a good location.

Disliked: Attitude and friendliness of the staff is disappointing for this hostel. There is a young child who screams a lot. Lack of water during the night - from approx 8pm to 8am. Unable to use the bathroom at all - can't flush toilet etc.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Realllly cool common areas with hammocks. Good location, close to the bus and to the main street.

Disliked: Only one shower for girls and one for boys - not always enough

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Glaucimara Silva

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 January 2013 Glaucimara would recommend this property

Liked: Location. Internet works really well.

Disliked: There was an episode: there is only a shared room with private bathroom at the property. While I was staying in this room someone of the staff opened it to let other people use the private bathroom (excuse: the line to the shared bathroom was big). I don't think there a problem in it, we travellers need to help eachother. But what if me or one of the other three girls of the room wasn't in the room? Would the staff let other people get in and use it? Would the staff take care of our belongings?