HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostal Mamatierra

Hostel | Pachamama 615, San Pedro de Atacama, Chile n/a

91.1% Overall Rating

43 out of 44 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (08/04/2014)

"Good facilities, kitchen, bathrooms, book swap. Nice helpful staff. Peaceful atmosphere"

Read all Hostal Mamatierra reviews

Facilities

  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Communal kitchen
  • Outside area

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to San Pedro de Atacama?

Contact us directly

See other properties in San Pedro de Atacama

Hostal Rural
21.52 USD

Hostel 84.5% 28 reviews
backpackers san pedro hostel & excursions
15.96 USD

Hostel 82.4% 36 reviews
Hostal Desert
34.08 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Iquisa Hostal
17.94 USD

Guesthouse 73.6% 199 reviews
Hostal Puripica
23.32 USD

Guesthouse 76.6% 41 reviews
Hostal Sumaj Jallpa
30.49 USD

Guesthouse 73.7% 82 reviews
VIENTO NORTE
17.94 USD

Guesthouse 86.2% 13 reviews
juriques hostal
12.55 USD

Guesthouse 71.3% 50 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.1%

Overall Rating

43 out of 44 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostal Mamatierra'

Atmosphere
92.8%
Location
77.6%
Facilities
91.2%
Cleanliness
95.2%
Staff
94.4%
Value
88.8%
Safety
97.6%
Refine your results Showing 37 of 44 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good facilities, kitchen, bathrooms, book swap. Nice helpful staff. Peaceful atmosphere

Disliked: Directions to hostel from bus station,

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic hostel - friendly staff, comfortable beds, best breakfast I've had in South America (fruit salad is great!), clean, nice outside area and warm showers. Highly recommended!

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

09 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The character, we were in a very nice double room !

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, good atmosphere, perfect breakfast, very good beds and calm nights: nice to relax and furthermore a good connection to the wifi. Would always come back!

Disliked: The rooms are a bit too small

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was quiet in the evening and at night, and the bed was very comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful.

Disliked: No possibility to do laundry.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice facilities, very clean

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Natalie Johnston

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 November 2013 Natalie would recommend this property

Liked: really nice family! clean simple rooms, we enjoyed our stay very much!

Disliked: -

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: - breakfast - good support for booking trips

Disliked: - mouldy air in rooms - description how to get to the hostel is not very good

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast has fruit salad and they put out eggs so you can make eggs however you like them. It was super clean, and there were plenty of clean bathrooms and showers for those of us who shared then with our private rooms.

Disliked: Location is a bit of a walk to town, but we didn't mind it... Room was a bit small and only had one small window, but the courtyard was just outside so we didn't feel cramped.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ARI GABRIELA VILLAFUERTE PEREYRA

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 July 2013 ARI GABRIELA would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast is excellent, the staff suuper friendly, nice, quiet and comfortable hostel!!

Disliked: ARI GABRIELA left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Rachel Lowther

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 June 2013 Rachel would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is only a few minutes walk to the main street. The staff are very friendly. Breakfast is great - fruit salad, yoghurt, cereal, bread, ham, cheese and eggs to cook yourself. The beds are very comfortable. Everywhere is very clean. There are lockers to keep your valuables in.

Disliked: The showers run out of hot water very quickly, so if a couple of people have showered before you, expect freezing water. The bedrooms are really cold (unless you're in bed). This is probably a blessing in the summer, but a bit chilly on those winter nights.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christian Weber

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 June 2013 Christian would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and quiet. Great breakfast. 5 minutes walk to Caracoles. Excellent place to stay

Disliked: Christian left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The nice open area inbetween the rooms.

Disliked: Rooms were a bit small.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ngar Chui Tang

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 May 2013 Ngar Chui would recommend this property

Liked: Staff is nice and helpful, their english is not really good, but they will try their best to help us. Location of the hostel is very good, very convenience and easy to go other place from the hostel. Toilet was clean. Hot water is strong and hot enough to have a comfortable bath. Beds are tidy and clean. We all have a good sleep. Nice place to stay.

Disliked: The hot water will be stopped at mid-night and nobody informed us before. So we need to bath in the next morning instead of have a good bath before sleep.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

PO MAN LEE

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 May 2013 PO MAN would recommend this property

Liked: nice room and clean toilet, helpful and friendly staff

Disliked: PO MAN left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is nice and clean. It´s not very central, but it´s really close to the centre if you go on foot. It has a nice patio where you can relax and the rooms are small but cozy.

Disliked: The wi-fi has a fairly small reach so you need to be in the kitchen/dining room in order to get a good signal.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: beautiful rooms, clean facilities, nice breakfast, good kitchen, nice people, great patio, quiet, helpfull with tours

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very cozy and clean. Helpful staff, we arrived at the busstation rather late and they had a car waiting for us for a Good Price.

Disliked: Wifi worked only when standing pretty close to the reception. A little pricey but that is the Case throughout San Pedro.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Karly Gniel

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 April 2013 Karly would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel vibe, pleasant from entry, nice and colourful, really clean throughout - kitchen, dorms, bathrooms, staff were very helpful with booking tours, nice courtyard area, BEST BEDS I HAVE HAD IN SOUTH AMERICA!

Disliked: Property is great but is slightly further out of town than some of the other hostels - only a 10-min walk however.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Cella Hubel

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 April 2013 Cella would recommend this property

Liked: friendly and helpful staff, we arrived with the night bus in the morning and got breakfast, we could store our baggage for 4 days while going to bolivia. good breakfast, nice kitchen, nice courtyard, clean room, good, relaxed athmosphere

Disliked: Bit far from the center (but there is anyway nothing but restaurants and travelagencies), bathrooms could be a bit cleaner

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hugo de Franca

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 April 2013 Hugo would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic service, very friendly staff. The hostal has a lot of character.

Disliked: Hugo left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I have been travel g for 6 weeks now and this has been the best so far. The atmosphere is good and very sociable., staff very helpful and the pick up from the border was quick and efficient. As I was aware buses can be very late I only contacted them from the border and the taxi was there witthin 10 minutes. The only criticism is that dorms Are small but with only 1 bunk bed and 1 bed in our room this was no problem

Disliked: Nothing

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean rooms and toilets, and staff is friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Pricey but I guess all hostels are pricey in San Pedro de Atacama.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Amber Reeves

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 March 2013 Amber would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, nice common space, clean

Disliked: Double rooms are off the lobby, so are pretty noisy. Shared bathroom is across the lobby from the rooms.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice courtyard, fruit salad and yoghurt at breakfast

Disliked: Showerhead was falling apart, shower drain clogged. Rooms could do with places to hang towels. Dorms a bit cramped for luggage space