We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostal Mamatierra

Hostel | Pachamama 615, San Pedro de Atacama, Chile n/a

94.3% Overall Rating

66 out of 67 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (29/04/2015)

Philipp Wacha thinks…

"The owners are really friendly and can help you arranging tours, airport transfer and lots of other things. Bathrooms and Dorms/private Rooms get cleaned evrery day They provide lunchpacks in case…"

Read all Hostal Mamatierra reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to San Pedro de Atacama?

Contact us directly

See other properties in San Pedro de Atacama

Hostal Rural
23.02 USD

Hostel 85.0% 45 reviews
Hostal Campo Base
24.00 USD

Hostel 92.8% 177 reviews
backpackers san pedro hostel & excursions
14.63 USD

Hostel 74.7% 48 reviews
Hostal Desert
27.50 USD

Hostel 72.4% 3 reviews
Iquisa Hostal
13.15 USD

Guesthouse 73.7% 204 reviews
Hostal Sumaj Jallpa
32.06 USD

Guesthouse 73.7% 82 reviews
VIENTO NORTE
27.95 USD

Guesthouse 83.2% 15 reviews
juriques hostal
11.51 USD

Guesthouse 71.4% 57 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
94.3%

Overall Rating

66 out of 67 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostal Mamatierra'

Atmosphere
92.8%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
94.4%
Cleanliness
99.2%
Staff
97.6%
Value
90.4%
Safety
98.4%
Refine your results Showing 53 of 67 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Philipp Wacha

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 April 2015 Philipp would recommend this property

Liked: The owners are really friendly and can help you arranging tours, airport transfer and lots of other things. Bathrooms and Dorms/private Rooms get cleaned evrery day They provide lunchpacks in case you booked a tour early in the morning

Disliked: Philipp left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel Sagert

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 March 2015 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Couldn't be better. Such a comfy hostel with great staff, nice breakfast, really clean rooms and sanitary installations and so on. The supermarket next door is also very useful. Would recommand this hostel to everyone visiting San Pedro. Absolutely worth the price.

Disliked: Daniel left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

12 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything is very clean. Rooms are cleaner daily. Great courtyard/ garden. The staff is very helpful. I booked my tours through the hostel and they were great, too. Good breakfast, too, and you can help yourself to tea and coffee all day long.

Disliked: It's a ten minutes walk to the city centre but this can be an advantage, too, as it means it is in a quite location and not noisy.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christine Minder

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 February 2015 Christine would recommend this property

Liked: They organised excursions with a good company, were helpful when we had questions, it was clean, when it started raining one day they were very well organised, always enough food at breakfast

Disliked: Because of the excursions people get up very early and it is noisy from 4-8 am. There are a lot of dogs barking during the night.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It´s clean. Best brakfast in south america, but you have to do it by your own. But with juice and EGGS. For the stuff I need a star more then five. More than friendly, very helpful and perfect english speaking.

Disliked: It was expensiv, but in San Pedro everyhing is expensiv.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is really nice and helps with whatever you need. The breakfast is the best we ever had in a hostel and there's free tea and (instant) coffee all day. Towels are provided and you are even allowed to take them on tours. The distance to town really is no problem and it's really close to the bus terminal. And even though we won't be staying another night after our Uyuni tour, we can leave stuff here and use the showers when we're back.

Disliked: The dorm beds are not the most comfortable. It is quite pricy, but in the end everything in San Pedro is. So value for money is good.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: awesome! wonderful staff, great rooms, clean bathroom. I strongly recommend this hostel

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicholas Montrose

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

06 January 2015 Nicholas would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great, and the accomodations are very clean. The staff are very friendly and bilingual, which was a welcome relief for a gringo like me. Multiple showers and bathrooms, with a clean kitchen and even breakfast is provided! El ubicacion es bueno and la habitaciones son muy limpias. El personal es muy simpatico y habla muchas idiomas. Son mas duchas y banos, con una cocina limpia y ellos sirven desayuno!

Disliked: The only bad thing I can say is that with the room designs, they get hot and the wifi signal is a little week inside of them. Lo unico malo es la habitaciones son calor y wifi es debil en la habitaciones.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness of the common parts and full equiped cuisine.

Disliked: The noise. Rooms are not well isolated so you hear very well neighborhood and people talking in the patio. From 7:30 impossible to sleep.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Amy Colvin

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 September 2014 Amy would recommend this property

Liked: This is by far one of the cleanest hostels I have stayed in, in my 9 months of travel. They also offer a great breakfast and provide a lunch box to take away if you leave before breakfast starts. Nice patio area with hammock too.

Disliked: It isn't in the centre of San Pedro but it's a 5 min walk max and only 2 minutes from the bus station so you can't really go wrong.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Rory Cahill

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 August 2014 Rory would recommend this property

Liked: Clean with a good breakfast! Not too far out from town.

Disliked: The room was not worth the amount of money that was charged.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Larissa Ryan

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 August 2014 Larissa would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely place to stay. Pretty courtyard with hammocks. Mijal spoke English and was very helpful/efficient in organising tours etc. Nice breakfast and you could cook your own eggs if you wanted.

Disliked: A little walk from town <10mins but easy walk from bus station.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

chui ting leung

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 August 2014 chui ting would recommend this property

Liked: clean, can see stars at night!

Disliked: 10 min walk from city centre, but feel safe even i walk on my own. it wasn't so quiet at night, at midnight there were cats and dogs barking, almost sunrise chickens kept making noise as well. but if u make last minute reservation like me, it is still a good choice!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Julia Herberhold

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 July 2014 Julia would recommend this property

Liked: I liked that they offered to prepare a snack in case you were not able to have breakfast for example because of going on a trip earlier than 7:30. That was great.

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Tyler Lucas

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 June 2014 Tyler would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful and experienced (15+ years) owner.

Disliked: Tyler left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Samuel Barlow

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 May 2014 Samuel would recommend this property

Liked: Best breakfast I've had so far, all the usuals plus a choice of cereals, fruit salad, and eggs that you can cook yourself. Great location, very clean, comfy beds, hot water if you get in quick, and they're upgrading the lounge to be completed in a couple of days.

Disliked: Samuel left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good facilities, kitchen, bathrooms, book swap. Nice helpful staff. Peaceful atmosphere

Disliked: Directions to hostel from bus station,

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic hostel - friendly staff, comfortable beds, best breakfast I've had in South America (fruit salad is great!), clean, nice outside area and warm showers. Highly recommended!

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

09 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The character, we were in a very nice double room !

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, good atmosphere, perfect breakfast, very good beds and calm nights: nice to relax and furthermore a good connection to the wifi. Would always come back!

Disliked: The rooms are a bit too small

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was quiet in the evening and at night, and the bed was very comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful.

Disliked: No possibility to do laundry.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice facilities, very clean

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Natalie Johnston

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 November 2013 Natalie would recommend this property

Liked: really nice family! clean simple rooms, we enjoyed our stay very much!

Disliked: -

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: - breakfast - good support for booking trips

Disliked: - mouldy air in rooms - description how to get to the hostel is not very good

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast has fruit salad and they put out eggs so you can make eggs however you like them. It was super clean, and there were plenty of clean bathrooms and showers for those of us who shared then with our private rooms.

Disliked: Location is a bit of a walk to town, but we didn't mind it... Room was a bit small and only had one small window, but the courtyard was just outside so we didn't feel cramped.