We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostal Mamatierra

Hostel | Pachamama 615, San Pedro de Atacama, Chile n/a

90.3% Overall Rating

52 out of 53 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/09/2014)

Amy Colvin thinks…

"This is by far one of the cleanest hostels I have stayed in, in my 9 months of travel. They also offer a great breakfast and provide a lunch box to take away if you leave before breakfast starts.…"

Read all Hostal Mamatierra reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to San Pedro de Atacama?

Contact us directly

See other properties in San Pedro de Atacama

Hostal Rural
20.14 USD

Hostel 85.8% 33 reviews
Hostal Campo Base
33.00 USD

Hostel 93.8% 172 reviews
backpackers san pedro hostel & excursions
14.94 USD

Hostel 81.1% 42 reviews
Hostal Desert
32.50 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Iquisa Hostal
16.79 USD

Guesthouse 73.9% 200 reviews
Hostal Puripica
21.82 USD

Guesthouse 76.9% 43 reviews
Hostal Sumaj Jallpa
29.38 USD

Guesthouse 73.7% 82 reviews
VIENTO NORTE
16.79 USD

Guesthouse 83.2% 15 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.3%

Overall Rating

52 out of 53 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostal Mamatierra'

Atmosphere
88.0%
Location
77.6%
Facilities
92.0%
Cleanliness
96.8%
Staff
93.6%
Value
86.4%
Safety
97.6%
Refine your results Showing 44 of 53 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Amy Colvin

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 September 2014 Amy would recommend this property

Liked: This is by far one of the cleanest hostels I have stayed in, in my 9 months of travel. They also offer a great breakfast and provide a lunch box to take away if you leave before breakfast starts. Nice patio area with hammock too.

Disliked: It isn't in the centre of San Pedro but it's a 5 min walk max and only 2 minutes from the bus station so you can't really go wrong.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Rory Cahill

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 August 2014 Rory would recommend this property

Liked: Clean with a good breakfast! Not too far out from town.

Disliked: The room was not worth the amount of money that was charged.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Larissa Ryan

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 August 2014 Larissa would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely place to stay. Pretty courtyard with hammocks. Mijal spoke English and was very helpful/efficient in organising tours etc. Nice breakfast and you could cook your own eggs if you wanted.

Disliked: A little walk from town <10mins but easy walk from bus station.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

chui ting leung

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 August 2014 chui ting would recommend this property

Liked: clean, can see stars at night!

Disliked: 10 min walk from city centre, but feel safe even i walk on my own. it wasn't so quiet at night, at midnight there were cats and dogs barking, almost sunrise chickens kept making noise as well. but if u make last minute reservation like me, it is still a good choice!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Julia Herberhold

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 July 2014 Julia would recommend this property

Liked: I liked that they offered to prepare a snack in case you were not able to have breakfast for example because of going on a trip earlier than 7:30. That was great.

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Tyler Lucas

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 June 2014 Tyler would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful and experienced (15+ years) owner.

Disliked: Tyler left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Samuel Barlow

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 May 2014 Samuel would recommend this property

Liked: Best breakfast I've had so far, all the usuals plus a choice of cereals, fruit salad, and eggs that you can cook yourself. Great location, very clean, comfy beds, hot water if you get in quick, and they're upgrading the lounge to be completed in a couple of days.

Disliked: Samuel left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good facilities, kitchen, bathrooms, book swap. Nice helpful staff. Peaceful atmosphere

Disliked: Directions to hostel from bus station,

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic hostel - friendly staff, comfortable beds, best breakfast I've had in South America (fruit salad is great!), clean, nice outside area and warm showers. Highly recommended!

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

09 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The character, we were in a very nice double room !

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, good atmosphere, perfect breakfast, very good beds and calm nights: nice to relax and furthermore a good connection to the wifi. Would always come back!

Disliked: The rooms are a bit too small

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was quiet in the evening and at night, and the bed was very comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful.

Disliked: No possibility to do laundry.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice facilities, very clean

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Natalie Johnston

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 November 2013 Natalie would recommend this property

Liked: really nice family! clean simple rooms, we enjoyed our stay very much!

Disliked: -

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: - breakfast - good support for booking trips

Disliked: - mouldy air in rooms - description how to get to the hostel is not very good

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast has fruit salad and they put out eggs so you can make eggs however you like them. It was super clean, and there were plenty of clean bathrooms and showers for those of us who shared then with our private rooms.

Disliked: Location is a bit of a walk to town, but we didn't mind it... Room was a bit small and only had one small window, but the courtyard was just outside so we didn't feel cramped.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ARI GABRIELA VILLAFUERTE PEREYRA

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 July 2013 ARI GABRIELA would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast is excellent, the staff suuper friendly, nice, quiet and comfortable hostel!!

Disliked: ARI GABRIELA left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Rachel Lowther

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 June 2013 Rachel would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is only a few minutes walk to the main street. The staff are very friendly. Breakfast is great - fruit salad, yoghurt, cereal, bread, ham, cheese and eggs to cook yourself. The beds are very comfortable. Everywhere is very clean. There are lockers to keep your valuables in.

Disliked: The showers run out of hot water very quickly, so if a couple of people have showered before you, expect freezing water. The bedrooms are really cold (unless you're in bed). This is probably a blessing in the summer, but a bit chilly on those winter nights.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christian Weber

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 June 2013 Christian would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and quiet. Great breakfast. 5 minutes walk to Caracoles. Excellent place to stay

Disliked: Christian left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The nice open area inbetween the rooms.

Disliked: Rooms were a bit small.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ngar Chui Tang

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 May 2013 Ngar Chui would recommend this property

Liked: Staff is nice and helpful, their english is not really good, but they will try their best to help us. Location of the hostel is very good, very convenience and easy to go other place from the hostel. Toilet was clean. Hot water is strong and hot enough to have a comfortable bath. Beds are tidy and clean. We all have a good sleep. Nice place to stay.

Disliked: The hot water will be stopped at mid-night and nobody informed us before. So we need to bath in the next morning instead of have a good bath before sleep.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

PO MAN LEE

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 May 2013 PO MAN would recommend this property

Liked: nice room and clean toilet, helpful and friendly staff

Disliked: PO MAN left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is nice and clean. It´s not very central, but it´s really close to the centre if you go on foot. It has a nice patio where you can relax and the rooms are small but cozy.

Disliked: The wi-fi has a fairly small reach so you need to be in the kitchen/dining room in order to get a good signal.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: beautiful rooms, clean facilities, nice breakfast, good kitchen, nice people, great patio, quiet, helpfull with tours

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very cozy and clean. Helpful staff, we arrived at the busstation rather late and they had a car waiting for us for a Good Price.

Disliked: Wifi worked only when standing pretty close to the reception. A little pricey but that is the Case throughout San Pedro.

The property's response is...