HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostal Puripica

Guesthouse | Calle Guadalupe 446, Pobl. El Carmen, San Pedro de Atacama, Chile 1410000

76.9% Overall Rating

38 out of 43 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/04/2014)

"View of the volcano was great just outside the Hostal. Nice outdoor space. The hostal owner didn't speak English but was very friendly and helpful. It was only 10 minute walk out from the central plaza so dont…"

Read all Hostal Puripica reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Laundry service

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to San Pedro de Atacama?

Contact us directly

See other properties in San Pedro de Atacama

Hostal Sumaj Jallpa
29.93 USD

Guesthouse 73.7% 82 reviews
VIENTO NORTE
17.11 USD

Guesthouse 82.7% 14 reviews
Iquisa Hostal
17.11 USD

Guesthouse 73.9% 200 reviews
Hostal Campo Base
33.00 USD

Hostel 93.8% 172 reviews
Hostal Rural
20.53 USD

Hostel 85.4% 32 reviews
Hostal Mamatierra
24.00 USD

Hostel 91.1% 51 reviews
backpackers san pedro hostel & excursions
15.22 USD

Hostel 81.1% 42 reviews
Hostal Desert
32.50 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
76.9%

Overall Rating

38 out of 43 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostal Puripica'

Atmosphere
77.6%
Location
60.0%
Facilities
76.8%
Cleanliness
89.6%
Staff
88.8%
Value
66.4%
Safety
79.2%
Refine your results Showing 34 of 42 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: View of the volcano was great just outside the Hostal. Nice outdoor space. The hostal owner didn't speak English but was very friendly and helpful. It was only 10 minute walk out from the central plaza so dont understand what people were moaning about.

Disliked: Breakfast only from 8.30 to 9.30 so with our early morning excursions we only had one out of four, so not worth paying more for unless included anyway.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Lucas Demarchi Angeli

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 April 2013 Lucas would recommend this property

Liked: I was a calm place, clean and warm.

Disliked: There is no TV or living room, and the breakfast is controlled, you cannot eat everything you want, someone will bring you your breakfast.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday

02 January 2013

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: At all.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sebastián Tarragó

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 November 2012 Sebastián would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and friendly place to stay in Beatyfull San Pedro de Atacama. Amazing front view of Licancabur Volcano. Very friendly and helpfull staff, specially Alejandra (owner). Clean room and facilities. Nice private double room with private bathroom, great shower (very appreciated). Good breakfast.

Disliked: 10 minute walk to the center of San Pedro, and the way is very dark at night, Breakfast was 1 hour late both times I wanted it (but good quality when it came)

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was a few minutes walk out of town, this meant it was in peaceful and quiet surroundings, which was nice. Fantastic views of the landscape just by walking out of the front gate. The staff were very friendly and helpful, but sometimes they were difficult to find. Our room was basic, the bed was fine and it had everything we needed. A kitten and puppy that were on site at the time were a source of entertainment! When we had our washing done, the lady returned to us a 5,000 peso note which had been accidentally left in a pocket in a pair of shorts - her honesty impressed me so much it deserves a special mention.

Disliked: Wifi was a bit weak and slow at times, shower drain was quite badly blocked. As mentioned above, staff were sometimes difficult to locate but otherwise superb. An electric fan would have been a welcome addition to the room. Aside from that no complaints - an overall thumbs up from me.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very clean, peaceful place. good kitchen and nice patio, very friendly hosts.

Disliked: it' a bit away from the center, that's no problem at all during daytime, but maybe a bit of a problem at night for single females

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean and comfortable

Disliked: location and no english speakers

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

christopher williams

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 January 2012 christopher would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were excellent help and the hostel offers a lot of services and tour bookings for you. very helpful to people who dont speak a lot of spanish. a five minute walk out of town, very nice and quite place.

Disliked: It was a little hard to find from the bus station

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 December 2011

Liked: It is really really quiet, so it's great if you wanted some peace after days on the road, or away from the tourist crowd. It is also super clean, and the beds are comfortable. Great views of the volcanoes from the front door. Wifi works ok, and there is a computer (although you have to fight with the little girls playing games on them sometimes) for use. A few collection of books and lonely planets which was great. I asked for a ride to the bus station on my last day and the owners readily obliged. Would only recommend this place if you want absolute peace and solitude at a really clean hostel!

Disliked: It is really really far from everything. It's more of a 15 minutes to the town centre (10 minutes to the bus station) but there is absolutely nothing during the 10 minutes walk, as you walk past the cemetry and rural roads out of town. Although it is a little village just outside the town centre, there is not even a neighbourhood shop, so if you need groceries or food, you need to take the dusty route back to town. It does feel safe, but some parts are very dark at night so you will need a torch. Most of all, I think it is really expensive for a dorm room (10,500pesos) where you can easily get a dorm room (with all facilities as well) for 5,000 - 7,000 pesos right in the middle of everything. My advice is not to book ahead (the people staying here, and there were only 3 of us over xmas, were all those who booked ahead online, as there aren't many choices online) as there are so many choices in town, which you can view then decide if you want them.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and quiet hostal, friendly staff, great shower.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: family connection. help with everything we asked for even booking our next hostel for us via phone, very clean and friendly

Disliked: sometimes it was hard to get internet acess as there is only one pc

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was peaceful and the people were helpful, the rooms are all separate and it clean

Disliked: nothing

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

15 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner was really friendly and picked us up from the bus station. Just as well because it was a little bit out of the town center. The beds were really good and everything was new.

Disliked: The dorms are a bit small for the amount of beds in them. There are no lockers and there is not enough room for luggage. When we stayed there there we were the only ones there. So the atmosphere wasn't great but there are plenty of bars in town. And we got a dorm to ourselves.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, good beds

Disliked: A bit far away (10mn to center), only one shower

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The place looks really nice, The location is a bit out of town, but at night it's really quiet, which is especially nice if your doing a tour at 4 in the morning!

Disliked: There is only one shower! And the toilet is in the same bathroom as the shower, so when someone is using the shower, no one can go to the toilet... It's not a big hostel, but 1 shower for 10 persons is not enough...

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Our double en-suite room was large, comfortable and spotless and quiet. Alehandra, the proprietor, is charming and helpful with booking tours. She picked us up from and dropped us off at the bus station in her atmospheric limousine. Views of the Andes and the night sky were outstanding.

Disliked: The price was high for a double in a hostel on the outskirts of town, but San Pedro is a remote expensive town.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice, friendly and helpfull staff! Nice terrace.

Disliked: One bed in our dorm was uncomfortable, like a hammock

42.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very clean and the staff was friendly.

Disliked: There is no security at all. The front door doesn't lock, the windows don't lock and are big enough to climb through, and there are no lockers. Also, the WiFi isn't reliable and the owner's daughter is always using the only computer.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the place seemd to be new, and it was really clean. Its a bit more calm - as it is a 5-10mins walk to the center. I could book tours right with the hostel (got picked up then from there) and Alexandra (who runs the hostel) was a really nice person.

Disliked: There was a problem with a booking of one guest, that was done just the night before, and it turned out that there was no space anymore due to re-arrangments for a bunch of people. However, after the owner came, the person got a spot in another hoste/al. Finding the hostel without a proper map (like the guide from the tourist info) is a bit a problem for the first time.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emma Clarke

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 April 2011 Emma would recommend this property

Liked: Puripica is a brilliant place to stay. It's a short walk from the main centre, but the family are so loving and friendly. The place is SPOTLESS, I could see my reflection in the tiles. All the facilities are modern and the shower is awesome - great after a long day at altitude. We stayed in april and would stay there again in a heartbeat, highly recommended.

Disliked: Some people may find the walk a little far, but the town is safe and we had no problems even walking at night.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

ludovic moulou

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 February 2011 ludovic would recommend this property

Liked: Very quiet, a little bit far from the center, but means far from the tourist and noisy places.

Disliked: Maybe the price for dormitory, 9000/per night is a little bit expensive, but it's a good place to stay. Good kitchen, good rest place, good bathroom, good bed :)

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

La Rocca Gaetano

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

17 January 2011

Liked: it was the only one avalaible. The property was very friendly.

Disliked: it's 15 min walking from the centre (under the sun). Was Not very clean.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room was very clean and spacious. There was hot water also. It was in a good location.

Disliked: The price of the room was too expensive for what you got. The room was clean and nice, however the breakfast was beyond miserable a few crackers and half a cup of coffee- But then again it is Argentina! But for the price, you should had a recieved even a full cup of coffee!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The place was very nice, clean and calm. 10 minutes walking from the center. I got even a ride by the hostal staff from bus station :) The staff was all the time very helpful too. I used also the laundry service of the hostal.

Disliked: Hostal didn`t have any lockers which would have been nice especially when sleeping in dormitory.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Owner is really nice, spoke some English, helped me out quite a bit in terms of pick up. Shower was great. Beds Comfortable. I woud stay here again.

Disliked: Bit out of town if your lugging your pack in the midday heat! Neighbours dog barked non stop for the two nights I was there, minor but a bit of a pain.