HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Puripica Hostel San Pedro de Atacama

Hostel

Guadalupe 446, San Pedro de Atacama, Chile

Atmosphere 75%

Cleanliness 88%

Facilities 74%

Location 58%

Safety 77%

Staff 85%

Value 65%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Parking
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to San Pedro de Atacama?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 75%

Cleanliness 88%

Facilities 74%

Location 58%

Safety 77%

Staff 85%

Value 65%

Showing 1-2 of 2 reviews

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Nov 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: Rooms: a lot of space and well cleaned.

Disliked: Staff not helpful( when we arrived it wasn't even at the hostel). Poor breakfast. Too expensive for the service that offers.

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: View of the volcano was great just outside the Hostal. Nice outdoor space. The hostal owner didn't speak English but was very friendly and helpful. It was only 10 minute walk out from the central plaza so dont understand what people were moaning about.

Disliked: Breakfast only from 8.30 to 9.30 so with our early morning excursions we only had one out of four, so not worth paying more for unless included anyway.

Customer would recommend this property

37% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
37% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Family Holiday

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: At all.

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Family Holiday, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Nice and friendly place to stay in Beatyfull San Pedro de Atacama.Amazing front view of Licancabur Volcano.Very friendly and helpfull staff, specially Alejandra (owner).Clean room and facilities.Nice private double room with private bathroom, great shower (very appreciated).Good breakfast.

Disliked: 10 minute walk to the center of San Pedro, and the way is very dark at night,Breakfast was 1 hour late both times I wanted it (but good quality when it came)

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: I was a calm place, clean and warm.

Disliked: There is no TV or living room, and the breakfast is controlled, you cannot eat everything you want, someone will bring you your breakfast.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Apr 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: This hostel was a few minutes walk out of town, this meant it was in peaceful and quiet surroundings, which was nice.Fantastic views of the landscape just by walking out of the front gate. The staff were very friendly and helpful, but sometimes they were difficult to find. Our room was basic, the bed was fine and it had everything we needed. A kitten and puppy that were on site at the time were a source of entertainment!When we had our washing done, the lady returned to us a 5,000 peso note which had been accidentally left in a pocket in a pair of shorts - her honesty impressed me so much it deserves a special mention.

Disliked: Wifi was a bit weak and slow at times, shower drain was quite badly blocked.As mentioned above, staff were sometimes difficult to locate but otherwise superb.An electric fan would have been a welcome addition to the room. Aside from that no complaints - an overall thumbs up from me.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Jan 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: very clean, peaceful place. good kitchen and nice patio, very friendly hosts.

Disliked: it' a bit away from the center, that's no problem at all during daytime, but maybe a bit of a problem at night for single females

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Jan 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: clean and comfortable

Disliked: location and no english speakers

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Jan 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: The staff were excellent help and the hostel offers a lot of services and tour bookings for you. very helpful to people who dont speak a lot of spanish. a five minute walk out of town, very nice and quite place.

Disliked: It was a little hard to find from the bus station

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Dec 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: It is really really quiet, so it's great if you wanted some peace after days on the road, or away from the tourist crowd. It is also super clean, and the beds are comfortable. Great views of the volcanoes from the front door. Wifi works ok, and there is a computer (although you have to fight with the little girls playing games on them sometimes) for use. A few collection of books and lonely planets which was great. I asked for a ride to the bus station on my last day and the owners readily obliged. Would only recommend this place if you want absolute peace and solitude at a really clean hostel!

Disliked: It is really really far from everything. It's more of a 15 minutes to the town centre (10 minutes to the bus station) but there is absolutely nothing during the 10 minutes walk, as you walk past the cemetry and rural roads out of town. Although it is a little village just outside the town centre, there is not even a neighbourhood shop, so if you need groceries or food, you need to take the dusty route back to town. It does feel safe, but some parts are very dark at night so you will need a torch. Most of all, I think it is really expensive for a dorm room (10,500pesos) where you can easily get a dorm room (with all facilities as well) for 5,000 - 7,000 pesos right in the middle of everything. My advice is not to book ahead (the people staying here, and there were only 3 of us over xmas, were all those who booked ahead online, as there aren't many choices online) as there are so many choices in town, which you can view then decide if you want them.

Check Availability