We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostal Sumaj Jallpa

Guesthouse | Volcán el Tatio 703, San Pedro de Atacama, Chile .

73.7% Overall Rating

62 out of 82 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (05/12/2012)

"Mainly atmosphere. This is why I decided to book it considering money value at the same range of options."

Read all Hostal Sumaj Jallpa reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 3.33

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to San Pedro de Atacama?

Contact us directly

See other properties in San Pedro de Atacama

VIENTO NORTE
16.65 USD

Guesthouse 83.2% 15 reviews
Hostal Puripica
21.65 USD

Guesthouse 76.9% 43 reviews
Iquisa Hostal
14.99 USD

Guesthouse 73.9% 200 reviews
Hostal Campo Base
30.00 USD

Hostel 93.8% 172 reviews
Hostal Rural
19.98 USD

Hostel 86.6% 34 reviews
Hostal Mamatierra
20.00 USD

Hostel 90.3% 54 reviews
backpackers san pedro hostel & excursions
13.32 USD

Hostel 79.8% 43 reviews
Hostal Desert
32.50 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
73.7%

Overall Rating

62 out of 82 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostal Sumaj Jallpa'

Atmosphere
72.8%
Location
60.0%
Facilities
73.6%
Cleanliness
89.6%
Staff
72.0%
Value
67.2%
Safety
80.8%
Refine your results Showing 41 of 47 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Clare Backes

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 April 2014 Clare would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and quiet good kitchen. Very good trips

Disliked: Some road noise

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Thomas Thiemann

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 March 2013

Liked: Its very clean and it has a nice kitchen for the guests.

Disliked: We booked three nights in private double with shared bathroom. From the bus station we need a transfer to the hostel, so we wrote an email 2 days before, if its possible to pick us up. We didnt get an answer, so we took a taxi to the hostel, because its not very near the city center and we had heavy backpacks. Then the hostel had a problem with the reservation system (we read about this before). There was no double with shared bath available. After a long discussion we got into a double with private bath for the same price and had to move after 2 nights to the one with shared. There is only 1 spanish speaking Staff, and she is unfriendly. In the public bathroom the tube was not working well. You cannot see the andes and volcanoes from inside the hostel as written in their description. To the city center you need about 15 min to walk. One day we ordered the optional breakfast and were suprised that we had to pay 3.000 Pesos each instead of 2.000 as offered on hostelbookers. And the breakfast is really not worth the money. Over hostelbookers we had to pay 32.000 pesos for the double. In the hostel the price for the same room is 31.000 pesos...

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Mainly atmosphere. This is why I decided to book it considering money value at the same range of options.

Disliked: A litlle far away from city downtown (about a 10min walk).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maiza Ide

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

13 June 2012 Maiza would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is very good. We had a great time. Rachel, who took care of the hostel when we were there, was amazing! All the time helping us, without being boring. We asked for many things and she helped us patiently. It is always very clean, what is particularly amazing, in that world of dust!!!

Disliked: Well, nobody knew anything about our reservation.... but we were luck, because there was a empty room...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Josh Mullenger

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 May 2012 Josh would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean tidy and secure

Disliked: The WiFi cut out at night

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The people are very helpful, friendly and hospitable. They helped us a lot during our stay when we had a problem with our rental car. Besides that the rooms are nice and clean.

Disliked: Nothing

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 January 2011

Liked: -

Disliked: Although I booked and paid a deposit, when I got to the hotel they didn´t have a room reserved for me and i was moved between different room over the days. I found that quite unprofessional.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Stefan Notenboom

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 January 2011 Stefan would recommend this property

Liked: There was a nice atmosphere at the hotel, we especially liked the little patio outside, where you can enjoy your meals or relax. One of the best equiped kitchens in Chile! Staff is very helpful.

Disliked: Again the issue with the reservation. They seem to have troubles with the reservation system. You can book by phone and online with HostelBookers.com the same room.. happened to us. Hence we got instead of a double room w/private bathroom a shared bathroom. Suggestion: Precheck availability with hostel by email, by sending your reservation. However, overall a nice place to stay, despite the 10 min walking distance from the town center.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Frank Timper

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 January 2011 Frank would recommend this property

Liked: really CLEAN!!! safe and quiet during the nights - you can sleep well there. it is not a party-hostel, but a really good place to stay, if you are looking for a good holiday in san pedro. internet is free and - for san pedro - quite fast. my next holiday in san pedro will be at Sumaj Jallpa!

Disliked: it is not so cheap like other hostels - but quality has its price!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The place is an easy 8-10min walk away from the busy high street, no probs there, felt safe to walk there and payth was well lit at night when there was electricity). Most people staying in Sumja Jallpa only sleep and maybe cook there, but are away on tours otherwise. Tour operators usually pick up from the hostel for tours and transfer.

Disliked: Can be a little noisy as thin walls between rooms, so depends on fellow travellers. It sure helps to speak Spanish as no one there seems to speak English. There seems to be regular confusion about online room bookings. Even if you have booked a private room they might try to shift you into a dorm. Then being able to argue your case (or for your money back) in Spanish is very helpful.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

23 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was really clean

Disliked: Its quite far and even if my balance was 16200 pesos they charged me more at the check out.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Christopher Black

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

06 July 2010

Liked: It was clean

Disliked: Internet terminal completely useless. Riddled with viruses and continually dropping out, I went to town and paid to use an internet cafe. Shower was either scalding or freezing. Long walk into town and no restaurants nearby so you are forced to walk back in dark , unsecure streets

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Marcos Biazi

19 January 2010 Marcos would recommend this property

Liked: it was next to down town, confortable and the owners were very kind

Disliked: Marcos left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Tim Dahlmann

21 December 2009 Tim would recommend this property

Liked: schöne Zimmer, etwas schwierig zu finden

Disliked: Tim left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

03 December 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean well-run place, friendly helpful staff (one speaks English), 8-10 min walk to center

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

27 July 2009

Liked: Well, I only booked fo this Hostal. When i arrived there, they did not now anything about my booking, and it was booked out, but staff was nice and found another hostal with same facilities for the same price for me and organised me a taaxi to take me to the other hostal.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

23 June 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place to stay in San Pedro. Limited access to one computer , but there are many internet cafes in the village.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

17 May 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were extremely friendly even though we had very limited spanish and they had very limited English. I would highly recommend this hostel. It is 5-10 minutes walk from the centre of San Pedro and well worth a visit. As too is Solar which is on the same street and very nice aswell

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

06 May 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice place. However, breakfast was not included but it could be purchased, and not really a bilingual staff, but I certainly would stay there again. Clean, quiet, and friendly.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

27 April 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The outside patio area was lovely with chairs and umbrellas

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

20 April 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good distance from the main street in that it was quiet but also close enough to reach everything. Extremely clean and very helpful and friendly staff. Would advise anyone to bring a torch for the walk to/from main street as the electricity doesn´t always work in the town.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Maggie Arkinstall

01 March 2009

Liked: Too far away from the centre along unlit roads, not good for someone on their own.

Disliked: Maggie left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

19 January 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly and family place

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

allan smith

24 December 2008 allan would recommend this property

Liked: Very relaxing place and friendly lady who runs the place. No complaints.

Disliked: allan left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

12 December 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and nice hostel with a friendly stuff, but a bad location.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.