HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Hostal Campo Base San Pedro de Atacama

Hostel

Toconao 535, San Pedro de Atacama, Chile

Atmosphere 90%

Cleanliness 98%

Facilities 93%

Location 94%

Safety 95%

Staff 93%

Value 85%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to San Pedro de Atacama?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 90%

Cleanliness 98%

Facilities 93%

Location 94%

Safety 95%

Staff 93%

Value 85%

Showing 1-10 of 18 reviews

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: All the great things about this hostal have already been said by other reviewers. It is definitely worth paying the little bit extra as it is worth it. The thing that I loved most was the wonderful chicas Ana y Gloria who are so welcoming and who work super hard to help everyone with all sorts of requests but who also take the time to chat (and were very patient with me practicing my Spanish!) Muchas gracias chicas!

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It was ok

Disliked: A little overpriced, but so is much of San pedro

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Extremely good service, cleaning and fresh towels every day, perfect breakfast!

Disliked: A bit noisy if your room is near the kitchen

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Pretty clean and has a good breakfast - plus an early evening snack/coffee time! Really nice pillows too and provides soap, hairdryer etc. in the bathrooms.

Disliked: Because the rainy season is coming soon the hostel had an ant problem. I woke up one morning to them on my pillow and bed, the cleaners (who are great) sprayed and I didn't see them by my bed again, but there were plenty in the kitchen and bathroom still - I had to throw out a bunch of snacks that I thought would be safe in the kitchen, but ended up covered in ants.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

we are really sorry about what happened with the ants.
It is already solved.
PANCHO

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: All the areas of the hostel (kitchen, room, bathroom) were spotless. The shower had hot water and really good water pressure it was really enjoyable. The breakfast was the best I had in South America in a hostel. you have eggs, breads, spreads (that includes peanut butter and nutella), fruits, cheese, ham, etc.. It was just delicious. And Internet was fast enough also

Disliked: Nothing. Everything was good honestly.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Indeed, this hostel isn't really cheap and even if I could find some cheaper places (but still: San Pedro is the most expensive city in Chile we have been) I would come back here for several reasons:* It is really clean - it seems they clean it the whole day* Relaxed and quite* Very good breakfast with fruit salad, cheese, ham, pancakes and eggs* Friendly and helpful staff -- they even upgraded us to a private room for our first night for free so we didn't have to wait for the room after our long bus ride

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Sooo clean! Lovely staff, super hot showers, we got take away breakfasts for days when we were going on early trips which was a really nice touch.

Disliked: Nothing!

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Hostal Campo Base is a superb hostel! It's the cleanest place I have seen in South America! The owner is super friendly and you can directly book tours from there even with a little discount.The breakfast is a buffet and you can eat as much as you want, there is lots of variety as well.The location is very convenient, 2 blocks away from the Main Street but still very quiet.The beds are comfortable and you get enough blankets to keep you warm in the cold desert nights! I can absolutely recommend this place!

Disliked: The other people who stayed there weren't very open to hanging out or chatting together but that is definetely not the hostel's fault.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: One of the better hostels in San Pedro. If you have an early tour (which you probably will at some point), they'll happily prepare a take-away breakfast for you. The 4-bed dorm is clean, towels are provided and they'll make your bed every day. Fast wifi throughout (including rooms and kitchen).

Disliked: It's not cheap, but nothing in San Pedro is. Prices are average for the town.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Clean shared bathrooms & DIY kitchen

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability