HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostal Campo Base

Hostel | Toconao 535, San Pedro de Atacama, Chile 1410000

93.6% Overall Rating

165 out of 170 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (12/06/2014)

"Indeed, this hostel isn't really cheap and even if I could find some cheaper places (but still: San Pedro is the most expensive city in Chile we have been) I would come back here for several reasons: * It is really…"

Read all Hostal Campo Base reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Communal kitchen
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to San Pedro de Atacama?

Contact us directly

See other properties in San Pedro de Atacama

Hostal Mamatierra
24.00 USD

Hostel 91.5% 49 reviews
Hostal Rural
21.28 USD

Hostel 84.5% 30 reviews
backpackers san pedro hostel & excursions
15.78 USD

Hostel 83.3% 41 reviews
Hostal Desert
35.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Iquisa Hostal
17.73 USD

Guesthouse 73.9% 200 reviews
Hostal Puripica
23.05 USD

Guesthouse 75.5% 42 reviews
Hostal Sumaj Jallpa
31.03 USD

Guesthouse 73.7% 82 reviews
VIENTO NORTE
17.73 USD

Guesthouse 86.2% 13 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
93.6%

Overall Rating

165 out of 170 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostal Campo Base'

Atmosphere
89.6%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
94.4%
Cleanliness
98.4%
Staff
95.2%
Value
87.2%
Safety
96.0%
Refine your results Showing 133 of 166 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Indeed, this hostel isn't really cheap and even if I could find some cheaper places (but still: San Pedro is the most expensive city in Chile we have been) I would come back here for several reasons: * It is really clean - it seems they clean it the whole day * Relaxed and quite * Very good breakfast with fruit salad, cheese, ham, pancakes and eggs * Friendly and helpful staff -- they even upgraded us to a private room for our first night for free so we didn't have to wait for the room after our long bus ride

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

James Ballardie

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 April 2014 James would recommend this property

Liked: Sooo clean! Lovely staff, super hot showers, we got take away breakfasts for days when we were going on early trips which was a really nice touch.

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ashley Lounsbury

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 February 2014 Ashley would recommend this property

Liked: The courtyard hammocks are amazing. Soak in the afternoon sun.

Disliked: Nothing, it was great!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hostal Campo Base is a superb hostel! It's the cleanest place I have seen in South America! The owner is super friendly and you can directly book tours from there even with a little discount. The breakfast is a buffet and you can eat as much as you want, there is lots of variety as well. The location is very convenient, 2 blocks away from the Main Street but still very quiet. The beds are comfortable and you get enough blankets to keep you warm in the cold desert nights! I can absolutely recommend this place!

Disliked: The other people who stayed there weren't very open to hanging out or chatting together but that is definetely not the hostel's fault.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean shared bathrooms & DIY kitchen

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: One of the better hostels in San Pedro. If you have an early tour (which you probably will at some point), they'll happily prepare a take-away breakfast for you. The 4-bed dorm is clean, towels are provided and they'll make your bed every day. Fast wifi throughout (including rooms and kitchen).

Disliked: It's not cheap, but nothing in San Pedro is. Prices are average for the town.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ana Carolina Tan Moreira

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 November 2013 Ana Carolina would recommend this property

Liked: It's really close to the main street, Caracoles! Very clean and organized! Staff really friendly! Rooms are confortable and Nice bathrooms!

Disliked: Ana Carolina left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Carmel Pezzullo

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 July 2013 Carmel would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and staff extremely helpful.

Disliked: NA

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hanna Andersson

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 June 2013 Hanna would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was impeccably clean. The location was great, super close to the centre and the breakfast was awesome! The staff was friendly and helped you to plan your stay in San Pedro, offering a lot of different tours.

Disliked: -

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, helpful staff, great location.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, good breakfast including fruit salad - thank you. Very helpful

Disliked: Manager a "little" disorganized. Because records only show stays by first name of person booking, got a little confusing, and beause we extended our stay and made changes to the dates, we weren't always immediately recognizable. Things were resolved satisfactorily.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The fruit salad for breakfast, the guy in the bandanna was very helpful and friendly, the rooms were big and the bedding was nice

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Tomas Enrique Garcia Botta

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

27 February 2013 Tomas Enrique would recommend this property

Liked: It was very clean and the kitchen was excellent. The bed was very comfortable too. Staff was also very helpful.

Disliked: Nothing in particular. I found price a bit high but I think is just above average in the place.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stephanie Howes

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 February 2013 Stephanie would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and quiet. Lovely comfortable beds with duvets which was great as San Pedro gets quite cold at night. Amazing breakfast with eggs! Cannot fault it!

Disliked: Nothing.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

SEUNG EUI KO

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 February 2013 SEUNG EUI would recommend this property

Liked: clean room, breakfast electricity during no service in city. warm shower

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great breakfast. very helpful front desk staff. the most clean hostel I have ever stayed at. prob not possible - but ceiling fans or pedestal fans (possible) for the intense summer heat would be a bonus. highly recommended!

Disliked: nothing really

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everything was spotless, rooms were comfortable. mixed dorms only sleep 4 so nice and quiet. breakfast had great variety and kitchen was well equiped and also spotless

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Stayed in a private double room. Lovely hostel minutes from the main street with very friendly and helpful staff. Great breakfast. Good wi-fi and two laptops available.

Disliked: Room off the courtyard. Ants trespassed under the door, but the ladies providing the daily maid service would brush them out and use Raid, so not a major problem.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and comfy, great kitchen and breakfast

Disliked: Staff were helpful but not very friendly

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Roberta Rodrigues

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 January 2013 Roberta would recommend this property

Liked: Amei tudo! Todos são muito prestativos, amigaveis e divertidos; fizeram com que o hostal se transformasse em um lar em poucos dias! Super recomendo a todos!!!!!

Disliked: Roberta left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great breakfast with pancakes, bread, fruit salad, tomatoes, cheese and jam!! The staff will offer to help you check your tour or your transfer to the airport even if you don't ask!!!

Disliked: The twin room with bunked beds is very very very small. If you are backpacking, you and your partner wont'be able to open the bags inside. It's you or your bag. The others room are quite big, so prefer them to have some more space.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

25 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: One of the owners, Mari, was an absolute gem and really made us feel like we were at home. Very accommodating and generous woman.... Our matrimonial room was darling and the bed was great. Would definitely stay here again!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jason Webber

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 October 2012 Jason would recommend this property

Liked: amazing! great staff, good location, exactly what you need!!!

Disliked: Jason left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quarto, banheiro e cozinha limpos e organizados. Chuveiro bom e cama confortavel.

Disliked: Nao ha. Gostei de tudo.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Suzannah Partner

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 October 2012 Suzannah would recommend this property

Liked: Don´t usually get round to doing these reviews but Campo Base is such a great place that I wanted to say so. Wish I could rate above good, especially for friendliness and cleanliness! Everything is spotless, staff can't do enough for you and because it's small there's a really nice friendly atmosphere and great to meet people. There's a kitchen, 2 computers, 2 hammocks and a few tables for sitting out in the desert sun. The doems have 2 bunk beds in each and private bathroom so really cosy. Definitely you should stay here, it's great!

Disliked: Suzannah left no negative feedback.