We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Iquisa Hostal

Guesthouse | Poblacion el carmen, Calle puripica # 172, San Pedro de Atacama, Chile 1410000

74.3% Overall Rating

175 out of 202 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/10/2014)

Erin Allenby thinks…

"Our double private room was spacious, and looked onto the courtyard. The host dropped us off to the bus station in the morning at no charge. There is a restaurant two blocks away which is open 'til…"

Read all Iquisa Hostal reviews

Facilities

  • Free city tour
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to San Pedro de Atacama?

Contact us directly

See other properties in San Pedro de Atacama

Hostal Puripica
23.31 USD

Guesthouse 76.9% 43 reviews
Hostal Sumaj Jallpa
29.14 USD

Guesthouse 73.7% 82 reviews
VIENTO NORTE
23.31 USD

Guesthouse 83.2% 15 reviews
Hostal Rural
23.31 USD

Hostel 86.6% 34 reviews
Hostal Campo Base
25.00 USD

Hostel 93.8% 172 reviews
Hostal Mamatierra
18.00 USD

Hostel 90.3% 54 reviews
backpackers san pedro hostel & excursions
13.32 USD

Hostel 79.7% 44 reviews
Hostal Desert
35.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
74.3%

Overall Rating

175 out of 202 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Iquisa Hostal'

Atmosphere
74.4%
Location
60.0%
Facilities
73.6%
Cleanliness
76.8%
Staff
78.4%
Value
72.8%
Safety
84.0%
Refine your results Showing 173 of 194 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Erin Allenby

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 October 2014 Erin would recommend this property

Liked: Our double private room was spacious, and looked onto the courtyard. The host dropped us off to the bus station in the morning at no charge. There is a restaurant two blocks away which is open 'til 3am, and is really good value. Only a 10 min walk to town (20 to the bus stop).

Disliked: Erin left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tuncay Kilic

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 July 2014 Tuncay would recommend this property

Liked: Nice Rooms with a lot of blankets, good little kitchen, courtyard to relax and enjoy the sun. Owners were very friendly, did a nice breakfast and sold a good tour to us. Way to the center was about 10 Minutes.

Disliked: Tuncay left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christopher Lowe

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

26 March 2014 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: It was lovely, clean and quiet. Staff were super friendly. The kitchen was awesome.

Disliked: The hostel is a bit far out of the center, but I knew that when I booked it. It is only a 10 minute walk to town though. The area is quite badly lid at night.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 January 2014

Liked: good wifi, hot water and breakfast was ok.

Disliked: no hot in the sinks. So shaving was a problem.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice patio, nice rooms, clean

Disliked: stuff not very friendly and caring

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michaela Gibbs

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 June 2013 Michaela would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is a 10-15 minute walk away from the main square, but that's the only negative really! Our room was really clean, the shower was excellent and the staff really friendly. (We found that we could get hold of the owners when we needed to - they were never too far away). They organised a 'Valley of the Moon' tour for us which was good.

Disliked: Michaela left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Valerie Garside

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 June 2013 Valerie would recommend this property

Liked: The communal area is nice with hammocks and outside space to relax in. Dorms were small with plenty of blankets provided - which is good as its cold at night! The wifi is good.

Disliked: This property is a 15 minute walk out of the town centre which may or may not be suitable for people - especially if you are alone and walking at night. There are only two bathrooms which are not enough for the amount of people staying there. The staff are friendly enough but they are only around the hostel a handful of times a day which is difficult if you want to speak to them about something.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

David Wittwer

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 May 2013 David would recommend this property

Liked: Cheaper than most places in San Pedro.

Disliked: A little far, staff is hard to find.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very quiet hostel. Location is not in the centre, but the 10 min walk is no problem. Cheap little stores nearby where also locals shop. Clean rooms, lockers, good bed, enough covers so you totaly not cold at night. Free pickup from the terminal and a good first introduction on arrival. Book the tours with them: cheaper and good!

Disliked: Owners were almost invisible, never there, difficult when you need something or want to ask something

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice atmosphere and staff.

Disliked: Lacked crockery and cutlery.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Caroline Gansser

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 March 2013 Caroline would recommend this property

Liked: The owners are very friendly. We were 2 hours late with the bus from Salta but the owner was waiting for us to pick us up for free! The Hostel is very calm and only a short walk away from the city centre. The tours they help to organize are very good and also one of the cheapest.

Disliked: Caroline left no negative feedback.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

molly howard

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 February 2013

Liked: The pickup service from the station is helpful as it's a long walk from town in the heat with your luggage. One of the showers works well.

Disliked: The four bed dorm we stayed in was tiny - nowhere to sit or stand and no ventilation. Also a broken window that connects to the staff room and no lockers so not very secure. The main common area is outside and the floor is gravel which means everything gets very dusty and dirty quickly. There isn't a lot of shade and few spots out of the sun to sit for all of the guests. Only two bathrooms for everyone to share. San Pedro is expensive, but this hostal is not worth the price. We stayed only one night and then switched to a different hostal (Hostal Talar) that was the same price but with much friendlier staff and better facilities.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Julia Durston

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

20 February 2013 Julia would recommend this property

Liked: comfy beds

Disliked: the staff and the kitchen

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

31 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were so nice. They weren't always on the property, but they were very helpful in setting up our tours of San Pedro. Their prices were great. We had free use of the kitchen and their utensils. The beds were comfortable and warm, and there was free wifi and one computer to use.

Disliked: The showers are not hot for 24 hours like the websites suggests. They keep the hot water on from 7am to 10pm. At times, the water will falter and not come out of the spout. But for the most part, it's alright. Just keep your showers short and it should be fine.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Colin Fleming

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year

07 July 2012 Colin would recommend this property

Liked: basic hostel with a warm bed and contray to what others have said in reviews HOT showers all day and night.

Disliked: 10 min (max) walk into centre square, (20mins and you will have walked the entire town!) the staff sometimes dealing with business next door - but life is not meant to be rushed

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The outdoor area was nice. and the hammocks were cool.

Disliked: The hostel is located a little too far from the centre of town and the kitchen was poor... eg no knifes etc. But still useable.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Claudio Fabris

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 March 2012 Claudio would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere

Disliked: Claudio left no negative feedback.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Kathrin Schiele

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 February 2012

Liked: hmm, let me think about it.... NOTHING!

Disliked: WARNING! This place was a total nightmare to me and I have few points on the list to complain: First it is hard to find, because it is located outside of town (15 min walking) and no-one, even locals, knows it. When it started raining the first night water dropped from the ceiling and down the walls. So in the end we had a wet floor and wet luggage. And it was way to cramped, in no room there are enough plugs and kitchen and bathrooms are not the cleanest either. The second and last day the rain flooded the only dry spot in the place (the computer desk) where you are able to sit and chat on 4 chairs. Staff is hard to find, they are hardly there + seemed quite unorganized. And last but not least, the penetrative smell of cat food and pee all over.... well, definitely not a place I would recommend!

The property's response is...

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 February 2012

Liked: Nothing really. I have to say it's my worst hostel experience in two years.

Disliked: 1. No free pickup from bus terminal for us. 2. BAD location, have to walk for 20 min in mud (if it rains) or heat (if it doesn't rain) to go to the center. It's in a settlement outside of the San Pedro area. 3. BAD building design. Each room has only one outlet, no matter how many beds it has. Three dorm rooms have leaks when it rains, and the top beds will be wet. Some rooms will have flooding when it rains heavily. 4. Absent and careless staff. Staff will be around only for some time during the day. During lunchtime and late afternoon til morning, they'll only show up when they want to. The bell on their office door doesn't seem to work. 5. LYING STAFF. My bed was wet from the roof leak and they wouldn't let me change bed, saying that they have no extra beds. They were lying. They only let me change it when I said I heard from other guests that there were empty beds in their rooms. However they changed me to the wrong room that was already booked. They told me to move again after I had carried everything across the yard in the rain at 11:30 at night. I had to threaten not to pay to stay there. 6. Since the rain had flooded their office, the internet was out. And at the time I left the hostel, it was still not fixed.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a comfortable kitchen, though you can't use it if the family is cooking. They'll offer you dinner, but then they'll ask you to pay for the overpriced food. Make you're own! The family running it was friendly

Disliked: It was pricey, but is on par with the city and other hostel options. The toilets didn't flush very well. Not so sturdy beds. Offered dinner, but not told the cost and it turned out to be overpriced for what it was

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emma Bratt

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 January 2012 Emma would recommend this property

Liked: the staff is adorable. very helpful and friendly

Disliked: a bit of a walk, not to far but not the nicest if you're on your own

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: unique atmosphere, friendly bi-lingual staff, free pick up at bus terminal

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Alexandra Armstrong

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 January 2012 Alexandra would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is very relaxed and welcoming and the staff were super friendly.

Disliked: The kitchen and bathrooms could have been cleaner. Staff were often hard to find; they live two doors down on the right hand side so look for them there if you can't find them at the hostel. It was laid back to the point of disorganization. I ended up extending my stay by four days cause it was awesome, but almost every day that I was there people showed up who had reservations and there was no place for them. Also there are only two bathrooms for all the dorms and a couple of the other rooms so that was sometimes frustrating...

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Jaqueline Bohn Donada

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 January 2012

Liked: The price is good. There is a very good o the mountains and volcanos just outside the door. The bed was confortable. Wi-fi was good.J

Disliked: It's not really clean, specially the kitchen. The bedrooms are around the living area so it's always if people are talking, even if not too loudly

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 January 2012

Liked: Had a nice courtyard to sit in and escape the blistering sun

Disliked: Location is terrible, its 15 minutes outside the town centre in the middle of the ghetto. Very difficult to find. We arranged to be picked up by the hostel as they advertise this service but they never came and didnt even apologise for it.