We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hospedaje Costanera

Hostel | Romulo Correa 1221, esquina calle Quillota, Punta Arenas, Chile .

86.5% Overall Rating

255 out of 278 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/04/2014)

"It felt comfortable, like you were in a person's home. Also, they provide a computer with a printer which really came in handy and I thought that was really considerate. Also, they had a useful map of the town. I…"

Read all Hospedaje Costanera reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Punta Arenas?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Punta Arenas

Residencial Tres Hermanos
18.52 USD

Hostel 81.1% 52 reviews
Cabañas Ariskaiken
26.44 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Maipu Street Hostal
41.00 USD

Guesthouse 87.5% 16 reviews
Hostal Ainil
27.00 USD

Guesthouse 81.7% 42 reviews
Hostel Keoken
19.26 USD

Hostel 91.8% 99 reviews
Hostal La Estancia
23.00 USD

Guesthouse 92.0% 203 reviews
Hospedaje Magallanes
14.81 USD

Hostel 90.7% 52 reviews
Hostal Bustamante
74.07 USD

Guesthouse 74.8% 24 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.5%

Overall Rating

255 out of 278 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hospedaje Costanera'

Atmosphere
87.2%
Location
73.6%
Facilities
82.4%
Cleanliness
90.4%
Staff
95.2%
Value
87.2%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 197 of 229 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 March 2011

Liked: Good and clean rooms, Bathrooms were good as well, pretty flexible when we needed rebooking

Disliked: Felt like beeing visitor at some strange grandmas place. Called their guests "hijos", owners live in the hostel and share hostel facilities. strange kitchen rules "only cook fast food, don't fry,..."

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Donna Vincent

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 March 2011 Donna would recommend this property

Liked: Nice comfy beds and cable TV in the dining room,

Disliked: Location, not just the distance from the town but Punta Arenas is not the nicest town.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I would have to disagree with some of the ratings I read prior to staying... there is no language barrier for one - the hosts speak excellent castellano (after all, the language of the country you have opted to visit!) and reasonable english if you are struggling. They were very friendly, the breakfast was good, the kitchen facilities were good.

Disliked: Only minor points were location is further from the town centre than some other hostels (although good acccess to Magellan Strait) and that the dorm room was a little cramped.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Hans-Juergen Zemke

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 January 2011

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff (landlady herself)

Disliked: Old and plain property. Rooms small and narrow. Baths small, old and very cold.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Martine Boetje

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 January 2011 Martine would recommend this property

Liked: cosy family atmosphere

Disliked: location

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: atmosphere

Disliked: nothing

34.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 December 2010

Liked: Clean bathrooms

Disliked: Far too many beds in our dorm (5 when 3 should be the max). You couldn`t open the window in our dorm - bad smells (eg old trainers/sneakers) fester. No curtains in our room, the sunpoursin at sunrise. Kitchen wholly inadequate for the numbers staying in the hostel. Nowhere secure for your belongings

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 December 2010

Liked: the senora was very nice and the bathroom was clean

Disliked: the room was not clean and it smelled bad

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Derek Smith

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 December 2010 Derek would recommend this property

Liked: The owners were very nice and although there was a slight language barrier, they were extremely helpful. It was more like staying in someones house than a hostel.

Disliked: It was a little bit further out of town than some of the other hostels, but still a walkable distance into town and there were still small shops closeby.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was a place that made you feel welcome and at home immediately. The owners were very helpful and friendly and we ended up staying another night!

Disliked: there was nothing I disliked

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly person

Disliked: the owner does not speak english, it is difficult to communicate.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

03 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice dorm, clean bed and bathrooms

Disliked: Not yet finished

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Comfortable, secure. Owner was helpful. Well priced.

Disliked: A bit out of the way with a 15 minute plus walk into the centre of the city. Hostel organised airport transfer was 30 minutes late. Bit of a nail biter to the check in.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It´s a nice hostal, a bit out of town but only a five min walk. The owner is very helpful, we arrived very early in the morning 5am and the owner allowed us to check in and use all the facilities on arrival. You get free internet and breakfast. It´s a nice friendly place, more like a home than a hostal..

Disliked: nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Igor Abasolo

22 March 2010 Igor would recommend this property

Liked: quite place and cosy atrmosphere

Disliked: Igor left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

claudia Manzke

17 March 2010 claudia would recommend this property

Liked: nice an dhelpful people

Disliked: claudia left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Barbara Daly

11 March 2010 Barbara would recommend this property

Liked: Teresa, the proprietoress, is friendly, helpful and above all, cheerful

Disliked: Barbara left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

11 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very homely. The host was very kind. It was warm and comfortable. No Wi-Fi and only one computer and the little boys that lived there wanted to play games on it all the time.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

05 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Homely atmosphere. Clean rooms and bathrooms.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

02 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We got stuck in Punta Arenas after the eartquake, the Costanera was full of people in the same boat, which made for a strange but good atmosphere among the guests. However the hostel is not in a great location, and a bit run down. Apparently the upstairs rooms are better, more modern though. Punta Arenas isn't exactly a tourist hotspot, but the Costanera is fine to pass the 1 night that you should only stay here for!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

01 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a long way out of town and a pretty dodgy area, but the rooms were nice and hostel was friendly and good value

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

David Nevins

01 March 2010 David would recommend this property

Liked: Homely Feel ... more of a B&B

Disliked: David left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

22 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything people commented about the staff is very true. The couple that owns the hostel are wonderful and extremely nice and helpful. They have recently renovated the upstairs, which is new and nice. The rooms are spacious, clean and nice. The downside is it is quite a walk from downtown....though downtown doesn't have much to see. Just a warning, however.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

18 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Muy buen hostal, muy amables los duenos y la gente!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chris Hollins

10 February 2010 Chris would recommend this property

Liked: Main selling point of this place is the absolutely lovely people that run it, its more like a guesthouse than a hostel and the lady that owns it was so friendly, warm and helpful that you're instantly part of the family. She even made us our own breakfast when we got up too late. Its not very central but seeing as there's not a lot in the centre of Punta Arenas, this isn't a problem and the walk is about 15minutes. There is one computer with internet but no Wifi. We got a double bed for the price of a twin room too, would definitely reccomend it and we're going to stay there again on our return.

Disliked: Chris left no negative feedback.