We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hospedaje Costanera

Hostel | Romulo Correa 1221, esquina calle Quillota, Punta Arenas, Chile .

79.4% Overall Rating

240 out of 263 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/04/2014)

"It felt comfortable, like you were in a person's home. Also, they provide a computer with a printer which really came in handy and I thought that was really considerate. Also, they had a useful map of the town. I…"

Read all Hospedaje Costanera reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Punta Arenas?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Punta Arenas

Residencial Tres Hermanos
19.06 USD

Hostel 80.6% 48 reviews
Cabañas Ariskaiken
25.16 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Maipu Street Hostal
36.00 USD

Guesthouse 87.5% 16 reviews
Hostal Ainil
25.00 USD

Guesthouse 81.7% 42 reviews
Hostel Keoken
25.16 USD

Hostel 88.8% 86 reviews
Hostal La Estancia
19.00 USD

Guesthouse 92.5% 201 reviews
Hostal Bustamante
83.86 USD

Guesthouse 74.8% 24 reviews
Al Fin del Mundo Hostal
21.74 USD

Guesthouse 77.8% 57 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
79.4%

Overall Rating

240 out of 263 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hospedaje Costanera'

Atmosphere
79.2%
Location
64.0%
Facilities
76.0%
Cleanliness
82.4%
Staff
88.0%
Value
82.4%
Safety
84.0%
Refine your results Showing 189 of 214 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Wonderful owners who are extremely welcoming, kind and helpful. Combination of cold air, warm blankets, good beds = great sleep. A nice place to relax and take is easy

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very homely feel. Nice duvets on most beds and all had blankets. Very warm.

Disliked: Wifi was down. Didn't feel so comfortable using the kitchen due to restrictions.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 February 2012

Liked: We stayed in private room which was spacious and clean with a reasonably comfy bed. Decent breakfast of rolls, ham, cheese, jam, tea and coffee was included.

Disliked: Although the owner was friendly, he did not speak any English which made communicating hard. If you do not speak Spanish do not stay here. Location was a decent 15 minute main part of town. There was also no running water in the morning so showers and the toilet were not usable. Overall the hostel lacked any form of atmosphere and was more like a house than a hostel! I would not stay here again.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

rossana figini

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 February 2012

Liked: te staff are very friendly and the place very clean , the only problem is that the hostes is very far from the centre and far from the stop bus , it needs to use a taxi . for the other it is ok

Disliked: rossana left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We had a great 3 night stay. Teresa was very friendly and informative. The property was spotless. Our double room was a good size and even unexpectedly included private bathroom and cable tv - terrific value for money. They picked us up from the bus stop as well. Very reasonable price.

Disliked: Didnt dislike anything, but the breakfast was just average and the walls were a but thin. Location is a little far from the main plaza but is close to the coast and the cemetery so we didnt mind it.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Ugofilippo Basellini

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 January 2012

Liked: The atmosphere is good

Disliked: There was a mistake with the reservation and we ended up without a room there. The staff provided us with alternatives but only after a long discussion, and we were pretty anoyed by their behavior and luck of professionality. Furthermore, the wifi does not work.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Katrin Heindl

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 January 2012 Katrin would recommend this property

Liked: It is funny to live as quasi part of the family - might put some people off though. Breakfast was good! Rooms were nice, girls dorm had its own private bathroom - no bunks but real beds there! The host lady is really nice and helpful.

Disliked: A bit far from the center... feels even further in that awful icy wind! But therefore close to the cemetary! A must see in P Arenas, I think!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 January 2012

Liked: very clean and warm comfy beds.

Disliked: they dont give you a door key but then dont always answer the door. dont come here if you need to get in early or late. kitchen very small for the number of rooms.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jessica Marion Gnibba

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 January 2012 Jessica Marion would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the rooms because I sleeped very well, it is warm and you have central heating what is very important for Patagonia. The staff is a friendly family, they have all information that you need and help you to organize tripps. I lived in a 4-person-female-dorm and we had our own bathroom. The atmosphere is very familiar.

Disliked: It's like a privat house and the family lives there, so you don't really know what you can use in the kitchen. As well the kitchen is very small. Furthermore the WIFI doesn't work, but they offer an public computer for the free use of 30 minutes.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Shopping

06 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: all nice and neat, great breakfast

Disliked: could be closer to the center

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maggie Selvin

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 December 2011 Maggie would recommend this property

Liked: The couple who runs the hospedaje is wonderful; warm and extremely helpful. Hospedaje Costanera is very clean, cozy and has great hot water in the showers. They have great kitchen facilities and can book you tours with ease. I would absolutely recommend it again, in fact I canceled other reservations for my return trip to Punta Arenas in order to stay here.

Disliked: The only downside is the location, which is a good 10 to 15 minute walk from the center. However, it is a very safe neighborhood, I enjoyed the walk and cab fare is really cheap.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

SOPHIE LUSSIEZ

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 November 2011 SOPHIE would recommend this property

Liked: the personnel very nice

Disliked: to long of the center

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 May 2011

Liked: Was fairly good value compared to others we saw but was a long way from the centre of town- 20 mins at least and you passed many other Hospedajes on the way through. Was relatively clean and heating in rooms

Disliked: though the walls were about as thick as a piece of paper- though that is not unusual for this part of the world

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Angela Origaen

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 April 2011 Angela would recommend this property

Liked: Big, warm, clean rooms. Very comfortable bed.

Disliked: Small kitchen, basic breakfast

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely family, very helpful when asked questions. Always kept very clean and tidy.

Disliked: No lockers in dorms as stated

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Andrew Moss

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 March 2011 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly woman and the kitchen

Disliked: It was in Punta Arenas which was not a great place

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the owners were very friendly and helpful, there is wifi and the rooms have heating and are spacious

Disliked: the walls are so thin you can hear everybody talking outside the room. we got one in front of the kitchen and the noise of the ones cooking and eating was a bit too loud.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 March 2011

Liked: Good and clean rooms, Bathrooms were good as well, pretty flexible when we needed rebooking

Disliked: Felt like beeing visitor at some strange grandmas place. Called their guests "hijos", owners live in the hostel and share hostel facilities. strange kitchen rules "only cook fast food, don't fry,..."

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Donna Vincent

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 March 2011 Donna would recommend this property

Liked: Nice comfy beds and cable TV in the dining room,

Disliked: Location, not just the distance from the town but Punta Arenas is not the nicest town.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I would have to disagree with some of the ratings I read prior to staying... there is no language barrier for one - the hosts speak excellent castellano (after all, the language of the country you have opted to visit!) and reasonable english if you are struggling. They were very friendly, the breakfast was good, the kitchen facilities were good.

Disliked: Only minor points were location is further from the town centre than some other hostels (although good acccess to Magellan Strait) and that the dorm room was a little cramped.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Hans-Juergen Zemke

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 January 2011

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff (landlady herself)

Disliked: Old and plain property. Rooms small and narrow. Baths small, old and very cold.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Martine Boetje

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 January 2011 Martine would recommend this property

Liked: cosy family atmosphere

Disliked: location

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: atmosphere

Disliked: nothing

34.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 December 2010

Liked: Clean bathrooms

Disliked: Far too many beds in our dorm (5 when 3 should be the max). You couldn`t open the window in our dorm - bad smells (eg old trainers/sneakers) fester. No curtains in our room, the sunpoursin at sunrise. Kitchen wholly inadequate for the numbers staying in the hostel. Nowhere secure for your belongings

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 December 2010

Liked: the senora was very nice and the bathroom was clean

Disliked: the room was not clean and it smelled bad