We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Al Fin del Mundo Hostal

Guesthouse | O' Higgins, 1026, Punta Arenas, Chile .

77.8% Overall Rating

48 out of 57 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (17/01/2011)

Gordana Johnson thinks…

"I liked: the hostal's location, one member of the staff with excellent English who was a good source of local history if you are interested in, a generous breakfast and the staff''s efforts for the…"

Read all Al Fin del Mundo Hostal reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Punta Arenas?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Punta Arenas

Hostal Bustamante
83.26 USD

Guesthouse 74.8% 24 reviews
Hostal La Estancia
19.00 USD

Guesthouse 92.5% 201 reviews
Hospedaje Magallanes
19.98 USD

Hostel 91.0% 50 reviews
Blue House I
0.03 USD

Hostel 66.3% 53 reviews
Patagonia House
16.65 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hostel Keoken
24.98 USD

Hostel 88.8% 86 reviews
Hostal Ainil
25.00 USD

Guesthouse 81.7% 42 reviews
Maipu Street Hostal
41.00 USD

Guesthouse 87.5% 16 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
77.8%

Overall Rating

48 out of 57 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Al Fin del Mundo Hostal'

Atmosphere
80.0%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
78.4%
Cleanliness
68.8%
Staff
72.0%
Value
68.8%
Safety
84.0%
Refine your results Showing 41 of 43 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Hanneke Huisman

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 March 2014

Liked: Decent breakfast. Good location, in citycenter.

Disliked: The place is old and rundown. Moldy bathrooms, not always toiletpaper. Kitchen is small, dirty dishes are everywhere, not a lot of kooking equipment. Sheets of the bed had a lot of bloodstains from former guests! Gross! Rooms were cold. Staff didn't know how much we had to pay and charged us more at first.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

04 January 2013

Liked: Close to city centre

Disliked: Everything looks very old, crummy, filthy... It probably looks worse than it actually is, but still...

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

31 December 2012

Liked: Location and kitchen facilities.

Disliked: Very dirty bathrooms and bedrooms.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 January 2012

Liked: Good location.

Disliked: Small, cramped rooms. Dirty. Dark rooms. Only 3 communal bathrooms, so queues develop quickly in the morning.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Janet Lewis

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 December 2011 Janet would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Huge very clean bathroom

Disliked: I didn't see the owner/manager until the 2nd day I was there. My single room was very small and didn't have a window or any way of getting fresh air.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Gabriel Carneiro

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Shopping

14 March 2011

Liked: The guests were friendly, but I could not reccomend this hostel.

Disliked: The lack of responsability and commitment of the staff. Even with a reservation of a room, and a telephone call to confirm that reservation one day before, we came in this hostel, in the time I informed them we would come, and there was NO ONE from the staff or any information about our arrival. I was received by the guests, that tried to find two free beds in a dorm for us, even though we reserved a private room.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Nikolai Shevchenko

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 February 2011 Nikolai would recommend this property

Liked: NIce place with very helpful owner

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice cozy place which provides home-feeling

Disliked: staff not always available, somewhat disordered (not ideal for a stay with may over 70 years old mum)

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 February 2011

Liked: ??

Disliked: the bed was dirty, the linen were not changed fo a paently long time, in the bathtube was birdsh..., a drunken guy tried to show us the room because the owner was not to be found....

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Mads Christoffersen

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 January 2011

Liked: Clean and quiet. Good wi-fi in the rooms. Breakfast is ok.

Disliked: Room without window. The staff wasn't around to help. Our laundry took more than 2 days to get done.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Gordana Johnson

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 January 2011 Gordana would recommend this property

Liked: I liked: the hostal's location, one member of the staff with excellent English who was a good source of local history if you are interested in, a generous breakfast and the staff''s efforts for the guests to feel at home.

Disliked: i didn't disliked anything particularly but I thought the dining room was bit gloomy. It should need some bright colours, but it's irrelevant.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

02 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: They helped organise a taxi very early for us.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

John Ziegelaar

05 February 2010 John would recommend this property

Liked: The property was clean and it had plenty of spaces where to relax and meet people such as an undercover area in the backyard with a pool table. We only used the kitchen to make tea and coffee but other guests were seen making full use of the kitchen. Overall it was a good experience.

Disliked: John left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

29 December 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the hostel was pretty nice!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

12 May 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good beds and nice rooms, but the bathrooms need some atention. The shower keeps turning off and somentimes out of toilet paper. Very good entertainment.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

EUGEN VACARU

04 April 2009 EUGEN would recommend this property

Liked: ...

Disliked: EUGEN left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

02 February 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We loved the atmosphere, the breakfast and the facilities in the common areas. The problem is that the rooms don´t feel so clean (mostly because of the carpets, which are quite dirty) and there´s a lot of noise from people walking on the same floor or climbing the stairs until late at night and from early in the morning.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

14 January 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Across the street from the best resturant in Punta Arenas.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Thomas Burnside

10 January 2009 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: Homely atmosphere, brilliant location 2 mins from the main square. Loads of dvds to watch if you fancy, books, and pool table (which we didnt use). Dead close to good bars, restaurants etc- La Luna opposite is great. Slightly rough and ready but very clean shared bathrooms with hairdriers. An enjoyable stay in a fascinating city.

Disliked: Thomas left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

09 January 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Rodrigo was quite helpful with calls to airlines and buses

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

05 December 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: in front of hostel was nice restaurant, and hostel's staff can speak English!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bronwyn Webb

23 October 2008 Bronwyn would recommend this property

Liked: friendly hosts, comfortable communal areas and kitchen access

Disliked: Bronwyn left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

07 April 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms pretty confortable

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

28 March 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I most liked the character of the hostel. It felt like being at home. Everything is very cosy and there is even a pool table and dedicated smoking area.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ari Juutistenaho

13 February 2008 Ari would recommend this property

Liked: Tranquilo, gente amable

Disliked: Ari left no negative feedback.