HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Hospedaje Magallanes Punta Arenas

Hostel

Magallanes 570, Punta Arenas, Chile

Atmosphere 88%

Cleanliness 93%

Facilities 85%

Location 92%

Safety 87%

Staff 97%

Value 86%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Common Room
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Vending Machines

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:30

Policies

  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Punta Arenas?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 88%

Cleanliness 93%

Facilities 85%

Location 92%

Safety 87%

Staff 97%

Value 86%

Showing 1-5 of 5 reviews

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:

Liked: You feel confortable and safe. They were friendly and ready to help.

Disliked: There is no place for you to store your bag, either during your stay or if you have to leave it after check out.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Very nice hostel, cosy inside, nice breakfast, owners were very friendly and had a lot of information on tours and excursions that they could books for you. Hostel is close to supermarket, atm and town centre.

Disliked: No lockers in dorm room

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks Emma for your very nice review! Actually, our lockers are in the common area, under the seats/ benches, just outside the dorm... Anyways, because of some re-arrangements in the common area, we actually will have lockers directly in the dorm next season. Sorry for the inconvenience! I'm glad you liked everything else, though! Best regards and happy travels! --Sebastian

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Friendly and helpful owners - they gave us a great recommendation for dinner as well as places to see in the area. The location was very good: close to Unimarc (a large supermarket), many restaurants, shops, and sites. Very good breakfast, clean rooms.

Disliked: Nothing.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your wonderful review and recommendation! --Sebastian

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: very clean and comfortable.The stuff is allways helpful.the breakfast was really nice.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks, Junko, for recommending us to your friends! Happy Travels and see you one at your hostel! ;-) --Sebastian

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Friendly staff, good breakfast

Disliked: Kitchen is very small

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your review, Tony. You're right, our kitchen is rather small - especially for hostel standards! Sorry! Nevertheless, we still like to keep it open to our guests and invite everyone to make it happen anyways by simply taking turns, cooking together or having a BBQ in the backyard. In over 12 years it has always worked out fine and the only true alternative would be to close the kitchen - but we don't want to do this either... Please note that a lot of our guests go out for dinner...

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Super nette Besitzer, die einem sehr viele Tipps geben und auch Trips buchen. Wir waren gleich zweimal am Anfang und Ende unser Reise dort und haben uns sehr wohl gefühlt.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Besten Dank für Deine netten Worte! ... aber 60% "Value" widerspricht sich doch eigentlich unter anderem mit den von Dir genannten "sehr vielen Tipps", oder?!

Wir glauben ernsthaft, mehr zu bieten, als die im September/ Oktober 2012 neu gekauften Federkernmatratzen und unser für Landesverhältnisse weitaus überdurchschnittlichen Frühstück - aka "Bed" & "Breakfast".

Unterm Strich ist es uns jedoch wichtiger, dass Ihr Euch bei uns "sehr wohl gefühlt" habt, als der angegebene numerische Wert!

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Plenty of hot water!

Disliked: No smoke alarms.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Not True! We _have_ smoke alarms! True! We have plenty of hot water - for both, all the tea you can drink and in the shower! ;-) Besides that: Thanks for your great review and for staying with us! --Sebastian

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Relaxed hostel located in short working distance from city centre. Owners were very nice and supported us greatly in planning our activities around Punta Arenas as well as the following trip to Puerto Natales / Torres del Paine NP.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks, Jens, for taking your time to review our Bed & Breakfast and your very nice words! --Sebastian

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Crepes for breakfast, Crepes! Super friendly and helpful staff. Onsite tour booking. Clean and comfortable.

Disliked: No lockers in dorm room, small kitchen.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Our kitchen is rather small, especially for hostels, we know - but taking turns and everybody wanting to make this work has always worked out fine so far. Our only alternative would be to close the kitchen for guests, but we choose to keep it open. Lockers are in the making and we should have some shortly! Thanks for your otherwise great review and rating! Vive les crêpes! ;-) --Sebastian

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
With a large group / tour

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Sebastian is a great host

Disliked: This is nitpicky but one shower was broken and the other was not very good. This is no reason not to stay here though.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Awesome review! Thanks, Steve! The shower has been fixed and we have an all-new showing cabin in the bathroom that is attached to the dorm room! --Sebastian

Check Availability