HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel Keoken

Hostel | Magallanes 209, Punta Arenas, Chile 6212692

88.3% Overall Rating

79 out of 84 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (29/01/2014)

Tamzin Ross thinks…

"Warm and cozy downstairs with nice big area to eat and read etc. Good kitchen facilities. Very helpful owners. We had a room on top floor which was much cooler and fresh than the first floor which…"

Read all Hostel Keoken reviews

Facilities

  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Punta Arenas?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Punta Arenas

Hospedaje Magallanes
17.94 USD

Guesthouse 91.0% 50 reviews
Hostal Ainil
25.00 USD

Guesthouse 81.7% 42 reviews
Hostal La Estancia
21.27 USD

Guesthouse 91.8% 200 reviews
Hostal Bustamante
89.68 USD

Guesthouse 74.8% 24 reviews
Maipu Street Hostal
36.00 USD

Guesthouse 87.5% 16 reviews
Residencial Tres Hermanos
20.45 USD

Hostel 80.6% 48 reviews
Cabañas Ariskaiken
26.90 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Al Fin del Mundo Hostal
23.25 USD

Guesthouse 77.8% 57 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.3%

Overall Rating

79 out of 84 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Keoken'

Atmosphere
86.4%
Location
82.4%
Facilities
84.0%
Cleanliness
92.8%
Staff
96.0%
Value
87.2%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 59 of 78 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 March 2014

Liked: Very nice stylish place, everything looks new. The kitchen is excellent!

Disliked: There was loud music in the bar next door, but with a pair of good earplugs it's not a big issue

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

21 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean

Disliked: rude cleaning ladys

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tamzin Ross

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 January 2014 Tamzin would recommend this property

Liked: Warm and cozy downstairs with nice big area to eat and read etc. Good kitchen facilities. Very helpful owners. We had a room on top floor which was much cooler and fresh than the first floor which suited us perfectly, and very nice comfortable bed. Only had one night on our way somewhere but would have liked to stay longer!

Disliked: Tamzin left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We were just here overnight. Close to bus, services. Nice building, quiet location, comfy beds. Good breakfast

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kimberley WILKES

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 January 2014 Kimberley would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel! clean, new, welcoming, great environment to cook or hang out. Rooms and facilities are beautiful. I highly recommend this great hostel to everyone.

Disliked: Nothing.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Vishal Padwal

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 January 2014 Vishal would recommend this property

Liked: The location of the hostel is pretty good. Its right next to the cemetery and the downtown is not too far away, about 10-15 minutes walking time. They have a nice common area for socialize with other people. The breakfast was decent too. The staff is quite friendly. The owner speaks English, but otherwise its better if you know Spanish.

Disliked: The room I had (twin bed with shared bathroom) was pretty cold. It was on the topmost floor and wasn't quite comfortable. I happened to be going around in day time so it wasn't a huge problem. They are doing a lot of new construction, so maybe this is not a problem going forward.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday

01 January 2014

Liked: The breakfast was good.

Disliked: Our room was 3rd floor, and the stairs between 2nd and 3rd floor was outside and no roof. It was heavy rain, so we got wet every time when we went downstairs. The 3rd floor was very cold. 2nd and 1st floor were warm. The hostel was far from the main square. The price (over 29000CLP for twin shard bathroom) was expensive, there are many hostels more cheap and better near the main square.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent value for money. Spacious triple room, clean facilities, friendly and helpful staff, and good location a few blocks from town/shops. New renovations look like they will make this a spectacular hostel once complete.

Disliked: Nothing in particular, considering the price.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Laura Karjalainen

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 May 2013 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and clean rooms. Felt more like a hotel than a hostel.

Disliked: This hostel is for people travelling with their friends. I think it would be pretty hard to meet people in this hostel.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly owner, extremely helpful and wanted to make our stay as pleasant as possible.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Billie Hicks

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 February 2013 Billie would recommend this property

Liked: It felt like home away from home. We arrrived into Santiago from Australia and caught a flight straight to Punta Arenas so when we got here we were quite tired. It was very welcoming and our host was so friendly and informative. He answered our questions and gave us some travel advice. We will definitely be back as we are passing through Punta Arenas again. Regards Billie

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Karolina Grudzinska

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 January 2013 Karolina would recommend this property

Liked: Close to city but in a quiet neiberhood. Very nice atmosphere.

Disliked: A little bit cold in the rooms.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly, helpful staff. Warm and comfortable, hot showers,well equipped kitchen.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really great place. Small, cosy and family run it seems - this place was perfect. In fact Id say that it offered the best value for money of any place I stayed in Chile! The rooms are super clean, well appointed and the shower is strong and hot. Breakfast in the morning is also great.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was amazing. The guy loaded up his son, and took me to the pharmacy when i was sick, offering to drive over town to find one that was open or take me to the hospital if needed. The beds were very comfortable and warm, and i LOVED the heater in the room for the cold. Breakfast was good. Easily the best hostel I stayed in on my trip to South America.

Disliked: absolutely nothing negative to say

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Deborah Walker

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 March 2012 Deborah would recommend this property

Liked: Nice rooms, good decor, gas fires in each room to keep off the cold.

Disliked: Owner manager always too busy to provide a welcome or briefing. Limited English spoken. Computer in communal area not linked to internet. Her toddler 'served' breakfast - don't find a small child's screeching pleasant first thing in the morning nor a snotty nose and hands in my food as it is served. He seemed to think it acceptable to steal my breakfast off my plate and eat it himself. Was not impressed.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: really really friendly owners. one of the best hostels i have ever stayed in. hosts really helpful with suggestions etc. breakfast was great and met some interesting travellers as everone sat at the one table. cooked one evening and the kitchen facilities are good. i was given strawberries by the owner for desert. really nice touch - really reccomend this hostel

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jose Antonio Castellanos

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 January 2012 Jose Antonio would recommend this property

Liked: La amabilidad de los que lo regentan es excepcional. El ambiente relajado, con buena musica ambiente. Habitacion limpia.

Disliked: Nada.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Emily Noden

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 January 2012 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: Nice friendly (although quiet) family. Really went out of their way to help us with a bank problem and also to help some really rude travellers who didn´t really deserve it! Breakfast is sociable and tasty, with home made cakes and pancakes. Nice, quiet location about 7 mins walk from the centre and v close to supermarket.

Disliked: Sometimes the downstairs (communal area) was locked and we had to knock to be let in. They always let us in very promptly and were very friendly, but it was a bit weird for us. They do have a young son though, so we could understand.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nearly everything was perfect! We really enjoyed our stay!

Disliked: The only disadvantage was the distance between the hostel and the center but you can get good and cheap connection going by collectivo.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Vedran Anelic

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

15 January 2012 Vedran would recommend this property

Liked: Keoken is only 15mins walk from the centre of Punta Arenas. Friendly staff, clean rooms and probably the best bed I have had on my 2-month trip through South America. Would definitely stay here next time.

Disliked: Everything was great

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great professional Chilean hospitality, the best breakfast we had on our trip, home made granola cakes and jams, fresh brewed coffee, hot chocolate and fresh warm toasted rolls. Nice new bathrooms, a useful kitchen. No complaints at all

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place, clean, friendly staff

Disliked: a bit far from the main square, but walkable.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kari Borowiecki

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 November 2011 Kari would recommend this property

Liked: COMFY beds, clean rooms and bathrooms, very sweet lady who runs the place. She got up early to give us breakfast before our very early bus. Very nice place. We would definitely stay there again.

Disliked: nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff and a nice guesthouse feel. Good kitchen facilities as well

Disliked: nothing really..