HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostal Ainil

Guesthouse | C/Lautaro Navarro 230, Punta Arenas, Chile .

81.7% Overall Rating

34 out of 42 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/12/2013)

Colin Clark thinks…

"It had a good location, was cleaned every day, had an excellent breakfast and was comfortable. The staff were very friendly and helpful."

Read all Hostal Ainil reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 15.00

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Punta Arenas?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Punta Arenas

Hostel Keoken
25.66 USD

Hostel 88.8% 86 reviews
Maipu Street Hostal
36.00 USD

Guesthouse 87.5% 16 reviews
Residencial Tres Hermanos
19.44 USD

Hostel 80.6% 48 reviews
Hostal La Estancia
19.00 USD

Guesthouse 92.5% 201 reviews
Cabañas Ariskaiken
25.66 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Hospedaje Costanera
17.11 USD

Hostel 79.4% 262 reviews
Hostal Bustamante
85.53 USD

Guesthouse 74.8% 24 reviews
Al Fin del Mundo Hostal
22.17 USD

Guesthouse 77.8% 57 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.7%

Overall Rating

34 out of 42 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostal Ainil'

Atmosphere
77.6%
Location
73.6%
Facilities
80.8%
Cleanliness
90.4%
Staff
84.0%
Value
74.4%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 25 of 41 reviews
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Colin Clark

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 December 2013 Colin would recommend this property

Liked: It had a good location, was cleaned every day, had an excellent breakfast and was comfortable. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: The shower was so small in the private double room, the price was very high for a hostel (the price gouging is ridiculous in Patagonia), and there were too many rooms for the space (small rooms and bathrooms and could hear people next door in their bathrooms really clearly).

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: feels very homy

Disliked: staff only speaks spanish

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Michelle Kramer

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 November 2013

Liked: The staff and family were very nice. The water was hot, the rooms were heated and they were clean. They also had two Internet options in case one failed.

Disliked: We didn't feel comfortable using the kitchen, it's not your typical hostel environment. We had to ask to use it and the fridge and it was fine with the owner, but we just felt out of place. The family was very friendly though. We also thought it was strange that they advertise accepting credit cards, but they didn't accept them. There's also no where to socialize with other guests or just relax in a common area. I think this is essential in Patagonia with the changing weather as you could be stuck inside for a day or two. We also rely a lot on the hostel for local tours and information which wasn't offered here. We spent a lot more time at travel agencies trying to figure out what to do.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast was good. Staff were friendly. Beautiful bathroom.

Disliked: Kitchen a little limited and smelly.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday

17 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Our family of 4 stayed in a charming wooden cabin with a separate bedroom (king sized bed, flat screen TV, closet) and a twin trundle bed in the main area. All of the beds had nice linens and down comforters. The kitchen was reasonably well equipped, and there was a small table and chairs. There isn't a living room. The circulating hot water radiators kept the place cozy and warm. The bathroom was clean. The cabin appeared newly built or renovated- fresh paint, new appliances, etc. WiFi worked well.

Disliked: No washing machine as advertised on Hostelbookers, instant coffee for breakfast and no coffeemaker in the kitchen of the cabin, no couch in the cabin, owner didn't seem to have our reservation written down in her book when we arrived.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 March 2011

Liked: The private room was cosy and quite clean.

Disliked: It is far from the centre, but we werent here to see anything just to catch a flight. Weirdly in portable type sheds on someones property. The breakfast was really bad, unfortunately it all tasted cheap & nasty. Lady at the front desk smiles sweety while tries to overcharge you and round up with the exchanbge rate. Light in the bathroom wasnt working properly.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

24 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We were in a nice annex, our room was right next to the breakfast room! Great smell of toast coming in from below the door. Friendly staff, well-working heater and good (although small) shower. You could make hot water for tea etc. and there was a computer with internet free to use.

Disliked: A bit far from the center, but not bad if you like a good walk. Due to our room location, we woke up with the sounds of people having breakfast.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful and friendly staff. Clean and warm.

Disliked: Not in amain tourist area but ok. Short walk to main streets.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 February 2011

Liked: Really helpful staff, location a short walk out of town but v near cemetery which is well worth a look round. Clean rooms, bathroom as clean as the guests leave it but the hostel stays on top of it. Reasonable breakfast.

Disliked: Sadly it would be perfect if not for the noise. The wooden floors creak a lot and the walls are very thin. We went and it was full, but you could hear every word the people next door said, and even them turning over in bed! So if someone leaves the tv on until 2am, you're not getting much rest. We just were knackered at the end of the stay, and thats a real shame as otherwise its an ace place with a great family.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Johan van Tulder

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 February 2011 Johan would recommend this property

Liked: overall quality

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Anna Maats

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 February 2011 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staf and very quit area

Disliked: a bit far from the center

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice breakfast

Disliked: There is a twin bed room in owner's house, try not to stay there it's very noisy

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway

30 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place. The lady was very kind. The breakfast was superb. Bathroom very clean.

Disliked: .

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

yechiel rave

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

02 November 2010 yechiel would recommend this property

Liked: quit area, a lot of privacy, large and comfort room/ bed, nice kitchen,

Disliked: bathroom outside the room.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Emma Hutton

10 May 2010 Emma would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly owners and staff.

Disliked: Emma left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Claire Bennett

06 May 2010 Claire would recommend this property

Liked: Cosy clean rooms. Excellent breakfast. Very friendly owners. Would recommend.

Disliked: Claire left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Rodrigo Albuquerque Camargo

25 April 2010

Liked: The manager Magali is very nice. All staff is very atencious.

Disliked: Rodrigo left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

22 April 2010

Liked: Breakfast was nice, but the room and bathroom were very small, there was an ill equipped kitchen with no oven, the computer didn´t work, and the staff didn´t speak English.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Carolyn Opps

23 March 2010 Carolyn would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in a cabin, and it was really cozy and clean. The breakfast was nice and the daughter who works at the hostel spoke great English (which helped, since our Spanish isn't great).

Disliked: Carolyn left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

gilles engelberts

12 March 2010 gilles would recommend this property

Liked: If the outside temperture is higher than it was this week, you might prefer the possibility to open a window. That is not possible in room 9.

Disliked: gilles left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

27 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

31 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: near city-center and very quiet. Maggi does everything you need to have a great stay.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bernhard Burtscher

06 January 2010 Bernhard would recommend this property

Liked: A very friendly and familiar hostel with really nice owners. They even invited us for Christmas evening!!The room was cleaned every day, breakfast tasted perfect, the owners helped us with everything and the hostel is located in the centre. 100% to recommend!

Disliked: Bernhard left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

26 December 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly, quiet, secure. The staff was great, always helpful and has very good tips for excursions and trips around Punta Arenas. They know many people and help you organizing accommodations in another destinations.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nils Jacobsen

03 December 2009 Nils would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed for one night in the Hostal Ainil and we loved it! It's a beautiful little place, lovely decorated (warm!) room that was spotless clean. The owners were so helpful with everything we needed to know and they both spoke english. The hostel is not right in the centre of Punta Arenas but in few minutes walking distance to the Plaza de Armas. It's right next to the famous cemetery and the Museo Salesiano. The area seemed to be very safe too. The internet (wifi) was fast and reliable at all time. We can really recommend staying in the Hostal Ainil!!!

Disliked: Nils left no negative feedback.