HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostal La Estancia

Guesthouse | O?Higgins 765, Punta Arenas, Chile .

92.5% Overall Rating

192 out of 201 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/03/2014)

nuala gilmartin thinks…

"The best part was the helpful advice in respect of trips provided by the owner. The Hostal was full for the 4th night I required. However, I was also provided with details of an excellent replacement…"

Read all Hostal La Estancia reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

We are charging 15% fee for every amendment. all the booking cancellations apply 50% of the balance, if they cancel within the last 7 days we'll charge the 100% of the balance. Prices are given (or fixed) in "USD per person without tax" (19% VAT), any other currency conversion might change the balance due the exchange rates. So, the only one fixed price is in USD.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Punta Arenas?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Punta Arenas

Hostal Bustamante
83.26 USD

Guesthouse 74.8% 24 reviews
Hospedaje Magallanes
19.98 USD

Hostel 91.0% 50 reviews
Hostel Keoken
24.98 USD

Hostel 88.8% 86 reviews
Hostal Ainil
25.00 USD

Guesthouse 81.7% 42 reviews
Al Fin del Mundo Hostal
21.58 USD

Guesthouse 77.8% 57 reviews
Maipu Street Hostal
41.00 USD

Guesthouse 87.5% 16 reviews
Cabañas Ariskaiken
24.98 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Residencial Tres Hermanos
18.92 USD

Hostel 80.6% 48 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.5%

Overall Rating

192 out of 201 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostal La Estancia'

Atmosphere
90.4%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
90.4%
Cleanliness
94.4%
Staff
97.6%
Value
88.0%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 145 of 166 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

nuala gilmartin

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 March 2014 nuala would recommend this property

Liked: The best part was the helpful advice in respect of trips provided by the owner. The Hostal was full for the 4th night I required. However, I was also provided with details of an excellent replacement hostal nearby.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

12 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and friendly

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

natalie petrou

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing

10 March 2014 natalie would recommend this property

Liked: Clean. spacious room. good tv with lots of channels. super powerful showers.. nice and hot. helpful staff.. booked us on a trip next morning even though we arrivef at midnight

Disliked: Bit pricey..

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

MARILYN STAIB

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 March 2014 MARILYN would recommend this property

Liked: Central location. Clean & warm. Good showers. Good value for money. Alejandro was incredibly helpful regarding my flight problems with LAN (My whole itinerary disappeared after a 2 hour delay in my 1st flight from London then 2 missed connections!). He spent almost 2 hours on the phone to LAN, then even emailed me a new itinerary after I had left Punta Arenas. Speaks good English. Good breakfast with delicious home-made bread.

Disliked: Squeaky floor boards so you can hear the movements of all the other guests. Need ear plugs

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Lee Jones

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 January 2014 Lee would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms and bathrooms were spacious and clean. It was in a great location - close to the bus terminal and the water. The breakfast was great!

Disliked: They shut off the Internet at 9 pm and the kitchen closed around the same time.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner gives a lot of Information ans is very helpful

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Complimentary Breakfast; Owner speaks English pretty well, Helpful [giving direction to bus station]; hot water; large room

Disliked: Sheets appears to be stained [probably couldn't get them out] but overall was fine; wifi was not working for me & my friend

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were so helpful, even managing to get us a refund from part of a trip that had been over charged at 11pm at night. He gave us the cash out of his own pocket.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hosue was so cozy and the owners were exceptionally helpful and sweet people. It was quiet, clean, great breakfast, etc. This was one of the best hostel experiences I've ever had.

Disliked: nothing.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the very helpful owner and. the breakfast.

Disliked: the rooms out to the front were a little to noisy because of the Main Street right in front.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

31 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Felt like home. Nice big single beds with big duvet. Very helpful friendly owners. Peaceful escape from smelly packed backpacker hostels.

Disliked: kitchen facilities close at 8.30 although there seems to be a bit of lenancy.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome hostel, delicious breakfast!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Peter Mueller

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 March 2013 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice, clean and centrally located. Breakfast is ok. Laundry service works great, but costs 7000 CLP converted about 10-13 euros per charge. Not exactly cheap.

Disliked: Peter left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anthony Kirkham

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 March 2013 Anthony would recommend this property

Liked: The property was in a great location close to some good local restaurants and supermarket. The owner, Alejandro, was a fantastic guy who helped us out with booking busses, cooking us a delicious breakfast (eggs and warm bread!) and also being generally helpful whenever we had any queries. The beds were comfy and warm with nice thick doonas. The WiFi was fast and available throughout the building. It was also generally quiet which was great. Would definitely stay there again. We had an awesome stay. Thanks Alejandro!

Disliked: nothing!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Neandro Pratt de Carvalho

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 March 2013 Neandro Pratt de would recommend this property

Liked: Staff very helpful with informations and good location

Disliked: They lost one of my socks during laundry

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Andrew Bermond

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 March 2013 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Alejandro was a huge help for both of our stays. We like the place, the staff, and the price enough to return for three more nights at the end of our trip. Throughout our trip, we asked the rhetorical question, "Has Alejandro ever steered us wrong?" And the answer was always no. The one time we didn't follow his recommendation, we quickly regretted it and changed our minds. The hostel is above average, but not by much. But the staff make this place exceptional!

Disliked: Andrew left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Meilir Jones

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 February 2013 Meilir would recommend this property

Liked: I'd recommend this place. I arrived late in the evening on the bus from Natales and Alejandro was very friendly despite my late arrival. He quickly arranged my taxi for the morning too. Very good set up in a central location, and the room was very clean. Recommended.

Disliked: Meilir left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The friendliness of the staff and their willingness to help.

Disliked: The kitchen was only for use between certain times, but I'm sure they would have made an exception if needed.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quiete

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is super friendly.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

09 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good atmosphere convenient location, friendly staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Heather MacCallum

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 February 2013 Heather would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing breakfast, English speaking owners, good location and don't miss out on the free yoga

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

katherine evans

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 January 2013 katherine would recommend this property

Liked: The owner went out of his way to ensure we were well looked after. The hostel was comfortable, convenient and took the extra mile everytime. Wonderful place to stay.

Disliked: katherine left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ian Telford

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 January 2013 Ian would recommend this property

Liked: Clean friendly and helpful. An excellent well run hostel to be recommended.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Robert Sroczynski

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 December 2012 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were really friendly and helpful. I stayed in the dorm room which was nice. A bit cold by morning but the bed kept me nice and warm. The breakfast is really good.

Disliked: Robert left no negative feedback.