We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostal La Estancia

Guesthouse | O?Higgins 765, Punta Arenas, Chile .

92.5% Overall Rating

192 out of 201 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/03/2014)

nuala gilmartin thinks…

"The best part was the helpful advice in respect of trips provided by the owner. The Hostal was full for the 4th night I required. However, I was also provided with details of an excellent replacement…"

Read all Hostal La Estancia reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

We are charging 15% fee for every amendment. all the booking cancellations apply 50% of the balance, if they cancel within the last 7 days we'll charge the 100% of the balance. Prices are given (or fixed) in "USD per person without tax" (19% VAT), any other currency conversion might change the balance due the exchange rates. So, the only one fixed price is in USD.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Punta Arenas?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Punta Arenas

Hostal Bustamante
83.26 USD

Guesthouse 74.8% 24 reviews
Hospedaje Magallanes
23.31 USD

Hostel 91.0% 50 reviews
Hostel Keoken
24.98 USD

Hostel 88.8% 86 reviews
Hostal Ainil
25.00 USD

Guesthouse 81.7% 42 reviews
Al Fin del Mundo Hostal
21.58 USD

Guesthouse 77.8% 57 reviews
Maipu Street Hostal
41.00 USD

Guesthouse 87.5% 16 reviews
Cabañas Ariskaiken
24.98 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Residencial Tres Hermanos
20.81 USD

Hostel 80.6% 48 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.5%

Overall Rating

192 out of 201 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostal La Estancia'

Atmosphere
90.4%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
90.4%
Cleanliness
94.4%
Staff
97.6%
Value
88.0%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 145 of 166 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful and knowledgeable people. A medium-sized hostel that felt pleasantly like a family home.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast and the helpfulness of the staff, plus free internet.

Disliked: Dorm cramped with no room for our stuff and no lockers.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The guy who runs the Hostel is extremly friendly and helpful. Alejandro knows lots about the immediate area and South Patagonia in general. Breakfast was good, beds very comfy and warm. Also the place has a nice and not very bussy atmosphere. If you look for a place to party out go somewhere else but if you just want a peaceful place after a long day out where you still can meet others and have a good laugh go to La Estancia.

Disliked: Bathrooms are very clean but they have only two. During my stay the place was booked out and i onece had to wait for 5 minutes - nothing of a problem to me but others might be bothered.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and very helpful staff.

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice condition. Comfortable beds. Very clean bathrooms. Nothing is too much trouble for the manager. Very secure.

Disliked: Nothing - It's great. Not the place for people who are looking for noise and partying though.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laura Woodhouse

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 September 2011 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: The owners are really nice and eager for you to feel comfortable. Alex was super helpful giving us tips to do things I wouldn't have known about otherwise. Breakfast was the best in South America. The kitchen was completely spotless and equipped to a high standard. The beds are good quality with plenty of blankets and a nice duvet. Nice communal areas and great showers.

Disliked: Nothing. The only thing I would suggest is to get some lockers.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Carla Mota

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 May 2011 Carla would recommend this property

Liked: Great place. Good kichen, free wi-fi, VERY VERY GOOD breakfast and the staff is great. I love to saty here. Rooms are very comfortable and worm. Great. :-)

Disliked: Nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and warm. Comfy bed, hot shower. Easy to find.

Disliked: Lacks atmosphere and feels slightly utilitarian.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is so supportive and kind! Xh

Disliked: Never

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great atmosphere, very helpfull, when my luagage was left

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Alejandro is a hero! We arrived in Punta Arenas on the day the gas protests were due to start and the roads were to be blockaded. Not realising this we did not understand our dilemma until we tried to arrange a bus transfer to the airport for the following day. Nothing was getting through. Alejandro went out of his way to call our airline to see if flights were still going and then drove us to the airport himself that evening before the roadblocks went up. We didn't get to stay in the hostel which was a shame as the beds looked super comfortable (unlike the airport terminal floor) but he did let us use the showers and kitchen before we left. We hope to come back and stay at Le Estancia sometime soon!

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great familly, very helpful and very friendly.

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are super helpful, offering advice and directions at every turn. The hostel is clean and quiet.

Disliked: The walls are a bit thin (you can hear other people in the hostel if they are awake early or late), but we found this to be the case everywhere in Chile.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year

03 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Facilities are all you can wish for. Staff very helpful and friendly.

Disliked: Only complex issue is payment: need to pay with US$ to avoid sales tax on foreigners. US$ not readily available in P.A. on holidays!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: .

Disliked: .

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andreas Lehner

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 December 2010 Andreas would recommend this property

Liked: great breakfast

Disliked: nothing

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

17 November 2010

Liked: Nada!

Disliked: Nada funciona bem no hotel: chuveiro, fechadura das portas, tudo sem manutenção a muito tempo....

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture

04 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere and the staff are very good.

Disliked: They told the breakfast would be every day from 7 to 10 am. In the first day, ok, but on the 2nd day at 7:30 am, where was the breakfast?

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

17 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great breakfast every morning and if you kinda have an idea of what you wanted to do while you are here the staff can help you set up your tours.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

12 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: -

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Freddie Prendergast

01 March 2010 Freddie would recommend this property

Liked: Everything went well and very comfortable / warm beds. Also the main staff guy was really helpful and with good English. Good value for money

Disliked: Freddie left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Emma Gore-Lloyd

22 February 2010 Emma would recommend this property

Liked: The owner is very nice and makes delicious scrambled eggs for breakfast. The only problem in this hostel is the common area which is not really set up to easily meet people and there aren´t many comfy seats. You can only use the kitchen at certain times so it sort of feels like you´re in someone´s house. It´s a very nice house though!

Disliked: Emma left no negative feedback.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

31 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Owner was helpful and place was very clean. Streetnoise came into the room and bed was quote soft.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

16 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We liked the service and friendliness of the staff.It wasn´t the newest hostel. I can´t remember if HostelBookers was promoted. Didn´t pay attention to that.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

13 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clan, comfortable, good location, very helpful staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.