We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostal La Estancia

Guesthouse | O?Higgins 765, Punta Arenas, Chile .

92.5% Overall Rating

192 out of 201 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/03/2014)

nuala gilmartin thinks…

"The best part was the helpful advice in respect of trips provided by the owner. The Hostal was full for the 4th night I required. However, I was also provided with details of an excellent replacement…"

Read all Hostal La Estancia reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

We are charging 15% fee for every amendment. all the booking cancellations apply 50% of the balance, if they cancel within the last 7 days we'll charge the 100% of the balance. Prices are given (or fixed) in "USD per person without tax" (19% VAT), any other currency conversion might change the balance due the exchange rates. So, the only one fixed price is in USD.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Punta Arenas?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Punta Arenas

Hostal Bustamante
83.26 USD

Guesthouse 74.8% 24 reviews
Hospedaje Magallanes
23.31 USD

Hostel 91.0% 50 reviews
Hostel Keoken
24.98 USD

Hostel 88.8% 86 reviews
Hostal Ainil
25.00 USD

Guesthouse 81.7% 42 reviews
Al Fin del Mundo Hostal
21.58 USD

Guesthouse 77.8% 57 reviews
Maipu Street Hostal
41.00 USD

Guesthouse 87.5% 16 reviews
Cabañas Ariskaiken
24.98 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Residencial Tres Hermanos
20.81 USD

Hostel 80.6% 48 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.5%

Overall Rating

192 out of 201 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostal La Estancia'

Atmosphere
90.4%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
90.4%
Cleanliness
94.4%
Staff
97.6%
Value
88.0%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 145 of 166 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Frühstück war sehr gut. Duschen und Toiletten sauber und neu.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Family run hostel with friendly owners, help arranging airport transfers and penguin colony trips, comfortable beds, towel provided in the dorm, hot and powerful showers, and the best hostel breakfast I´ve had in South America.

Disliked: No lockers for dorms, but the owner can look after valuables in the safe.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The price is good, and the staff is really helpful. The bedroom is also nice, very comfortable and warm bed (it was really cold outside!!). They also kept our luggage after the check out while we got out for a walk.

Disliked: The stairs are a little challenging, but the staff help you with the luggage. The building is not very beautiful, it is a little old, but the bedroons are really nice. The bathroom in my bedroom was quite cold.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tania Connolly

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

25 April 2012 Tania would recommend this property

Liked: Good central location. We had a private room with bathroom and it was fantastic value! Really clean, good shower, really comfortable bed and free satellite tv. The best part was the service. On arrival I realized I ha stupidly left my handbag in the taxi with my wallet containing about $400 and iPhone. The owner Alejandro called taxi companies for us even though he knew this wouldn't help because it was private taxis that work from the bus stations. When that failed he drove my husband to the bus station at 11pm at night and asked other bus driver if they knew who the taxi driver may have been based on description. One driver thought he knew our driver from the description and Alejandro drove to his house and knocked on the door to no avail. Alejandro then offered to drive my husband to the house again early in the morning but it turned out that it wasn't our driver. We flew onto another city that day but due to Alejandro talking to the drivers the night before the taxi driver was found and returned my bag late that day. Alejandro arranged for it to be shipped to us. It only had about $140 in the wallet which I told Alejandro to keep for the postage and his help. We were just so grateful to get the phone an credit card back. You never know what might happen when you re travelling overseas in a country where you don't speak the native language and it's reassuring to stay somewhere where the owners are so willing to help when something goes wrong.

Disliked: Tania left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marita Bodman

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 April 2012 Marita would recommend this property

Liked: A quaint and cosy hostel. The owners were welcoming and particularly helpful with their advice about going to Torres del Paine National Park. They rang a friend of theirs who worked in the Park and gave me a map which helped me a lot. There was also free internet service.

Disliked: One of the toilets didn't work.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean bathrooms and GREAT warm breakfast. Staff was very helpful and kind.

Disliked: Bed covers had a few stains on them but the sheets seemed clean enough

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Brunaud Devillard

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

20 March 2012 Brunaud would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanlinless of the bed sheets

Disliked: Wall papers and carpets a bit tired. Should be renovated

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

01 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great accomodation and comfortable. Also great breakfast too!!!

Disliked: Not so much, just could be useful have the facilities use rules, more visible.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ragu Thileeban

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 February 2012 Ragu would recommend this property

Liked: a nice hostel close to the bus station. very quiet which I like it. breakfast is good.

Disliked: Ragu left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

24 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The very clean Hostel is situated 5 minutes from the City Center. The dorms are for 3 to 5 people and the beds are comfortable.

Disliked: There were no lockers, the doors of the dorms couldn't be looked and the door of my dorm was Left open most of the. Allthough nothing was stolen this didn't seem pretty to me. The kitchen can only be used from 13:00-20:30 which means you have to start cooking at 19:00 latest or go out. I found this a little early - especially for a southern american country. Sometimes Alejandro seemed a little nerved which somehow influenced the atmosphere as well.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pamela Ross

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 February 2012 Pamela would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, plenty of room, great breakfast including eggs, convenient location.

Disliked: Bus information not the most reliable.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cosy beds with great duvets. Warm place generally. Great breakfast. Good kitchen facilities and very helpful friendly staff. Would stay again - wanted to stay longer but had to keep moving.

Disliked: Nothing.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Brayden Borcherding

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 February 2012 Brayden would recommend this property

Liked: The staff, Alejandro and Carmen, are very nice people and are willing to help you with anything. This hostel is an old house that has been converted into, more or less, a bed and breakfast. As a result, the inside looks generally old, but the facilities are comfortable and clean. The beds are comfy too. Breakfast in the morning is great! We has eggs, toast and jam, coffee and breakfast cookies - for free!

Disliked: The house is old and creaky. The walls and ceilings are pretty thin which makes it easy to hear every conversation or footstep. The two rooms used for dorms are at the front of the house, next to the street. They were pretty noisy, given that we could hear the doorbell and street noise.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Neil Halliday

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

09 February 2012 Neil would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, comfortable

Disliked: Very creaky building, no locks on doors

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Incredible friendly and helpful owners! Very clean, amazing hot shower 24h a day. And everything else was perfect, too!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Giulia Gargioni

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

03 February 2012 Giulia would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed at a private double, the room was really nice, confortable beds and had even cable TV. The bathrooms (shared) were really clean and the shower excellent! Breakfast was simple, but very tasty.

Disliked: Giulia left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet, small hostel. Breakfast is really amazing with warm bread every day.

Disliked: It can be a bit cold at night.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Alejandro war sehr hilfsbereit und freundlich. Man konnte Ihn alles Fragen, stand immer mit Rat und Tat bereit, um den Aufenthalt so angenehm wie möglich zu machen. Das Frühstück war gut, die Unterkunft wurde gut gepflegt und war sauber. Das Bad war vorbildlich und man konnte wirklich heiß duschen. Der Parkettboden ist unter Teppich versteckt, knarrt aber trotzdem. Ich finde, das gibt dem Haus Athmosphäre. Das Hostel liegt etwas vom Stadtkern entfernt, ist aber gut zu Fuss erreichbar (ca 5-10min)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stephen Jaffe

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 January 2012 Stephen would recommend this property

Liked: A lovely place to stay, in a very central part of Punta Arenas. Spotlessly clean.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the hostel is clean and the owners help you all the time

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the owners are really nice

Disliked: nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Peter Dolenc

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 January 2012 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: Great and helpfull owner!

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Juan Carballo

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 January 2012 Juan would recommend this property

Liked: The place is great and the staff is super friendly. It´s the best hostel I has ever stayed in and I have stayed in many different hostels in different countries.

Disliked: Juan left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: welcoming relaxed hosts. they seemed to enjoy being hosts.

Disliked: I stayed in the only single room, which was very small. the doubles and triples were 4 times the size of my teeny cubby. this seems to be common with singles, which is too bad.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staffs are great, very helpful. The shower is excelent, and the breakfast is very good as well.

Disliked: The dorm is very small for 6 people.