We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Downtown Hostel

Hostel | Armando Sanhueza 555, Punta Arenas, Chile .

90.6% Overall Rating

44 out of 46 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (09/02/2014)

"quiet hostel on a quiet street but not far from the main part of town. Lovely owners, very helpful and friendly. breakfast was okay - just left in fridge so could help yourself which was great!"

Read all Downtown Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note that Check-in is from 12:00 h - 23:00 h. If you arrive out of these hours please advise the property as soon as possible to arrange it. The property reserves the right to reject a booking if the time of arrival is not as agreed above.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Punta Arenas?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Punta Arenas

Patagonia House
16.65 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Blue House I
0.03 USD

Hostel 66.3% 53 reviews
Al Fin del Mundo Hostal
21.58 USD

Guesthouse 77.8% 57 reviews
Hostal Bustamante
83.26 USD

Guesthouse 74.8% 24 reviews
Hospedaje Magallanes
19.98 USD

Hostel 91.0% 50 reviews
Hostal La Estancia
19.00 USD

Guesthouse 92.5% 201 reviews
Hostel Keoken
24.98 USD

Hostel 88.8% 86 reviews
Hostal Ainil
25.00 USD

Guesthouse 81.7% 42 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.6%

Overall Rating

44 out of 46 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Downtown Hostel'

Atmosphere
88.0%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
86.4%
Cleanliness
97.6%
Staff
94.4%
Value
84.0%
Safety
95.2%
Refine your results Showing 32 of 33 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: quiet hostel on a quiet street but not far from the main part of town. Lovely owners, very helpful and friendly. breakfast was okay - just left in fridge so could help yourself which was great!

Disliked: very expensive for what it is.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Valentina Gomes Haensel Schmitt

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 January 2014 Valentina would recommend this property

Liked: Excelente local. Como se estivesse hospedada numa residência, porém com toda a privacidade de um hotel. O casal que administra o local é super simpático e atencioso. O local uma graça, super limpo e cheiroso. No meu caso me hospedei sozinha e mesmo assim tive um quarto e banheiro exclusivos - independente de demanda. Melhor hostel que já me hospedei em termos de conforto.

Disliked: -

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Kate Miles

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 December 2013 Kate would recommend this property

Liked: The property is well located, walking distance to everything. The wifi signal was good and strong. Bathrooms are clean and you can help yourself to tea. The bed was very very comfortable with real down duvets. Very clean and no issues with shared bathroom.

Disliked: We booked a double room, but they were double booked, so we got the triple room instead. Took an hour for the owner to arrive so we could confirm we were in the right room. The breakfast was average, but ok - 2nd day was better than 1st. Ham and cheese with two slices of stale bread with juice. No milk for tea and no coffee. Home made cookies were nice, but I saved them for morning tea. Lounge area was really too small for everyone to congregate and you could not use the kitchen to cook.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paul Acfield

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

01 December 2013 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: very nice staff and good facilities

Disliked: Paul left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Wade Trindle

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 February 2013 Wade would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly owners. Beds were very clean and comfortable.

Disliked: Wade left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yair Amit

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 February 2012 Yair would recommend this property

Liked: quite place with few rooms, private bathrooms, even the 2 without one in the room. Owners are very freindly and helpfull.

Disliked: nothimg

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Diana Dietrich

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 January 2012 Diana would recommend this property

Liked: It's one of the best! Very luxury!

Disliked: Diana left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Stephanie Rohrer

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 May 2011 Stephanie would recommend this property

Liked: Home-like

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ricardo Furuta

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 January 2011 Ricardo would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, nice decoration, confortable bed...worths the money

Disliked: The tips about restaurants and were to shop were not so good.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

sarah jones

10 January 2010 sarah would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is actually 4 rooms in a house in front of the owners property. It is nice enough and well kept - more like a mini apartment but kithen is only for making coffee.We booked a double room however on arrival were offered a triple room with single beds. Despite our booking and an empty double room for the period of our stay, we were only allowed this if we paid more. We were the only people staying so not a good place to meet people and didn´t receive any of the advice etc talked about in other postings. But overall, not a bad place to stay if you get your booking right.

Disliked: sarah left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Isaac Silber

08 December 2009 Isaac would recommend this property

Liked: Friendlines of Sonia & her husband. Cleanlines - very good

Disliked: Isaac left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

27 June 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: O:k.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Simpson

06 April 2009 David would recommend this property

Liked: Jose and Sonia were very friendly and helpful in getting us settled and arranging tours for us in Punta Arenas. The hostel was very well set up and we felt very comfortable and safe. Punta Arenas was a first stop in Chile and Jose and Sonia made our stay so comfortable we hated to leave.

Disliked: David left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ilona Fischer

20 February 2009 Ilona would recommend this property

Liked: It was warm and cozy and the owner was friendly and helpful.It was more a home then a hostel

Disliked: Ilona left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

12 January 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very convenient for the bus station, and run by an extremely helpful and enthusiastic couple. Small and friendly, good wifi covereage.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

05 January 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the very cosy character and colourful decoration of the hostel

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Badri Krishnamurthy

04 January 2009 Badri would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff, price and proximity to the downtown

Disliked: Badri left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

01 January 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice, very clean and quite hostel, located a few minutes to walk to the downtown area and just around the corner to bus to Puerto Natales. very friendly and helpful owners! we went there again!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

30 December 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Comfortable beds, nice communal area. The owners Sonia and Jose are extremely helpful.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

chan pui yee

14 December 2008 chan would recommend this property

Liked: unforgettable hostel, it is clean, warm,beautiful and tidy.sonia and jose are cheerful, helpful and energetic,i visited their home and specialized outdoor store, i wonder how they can manage everything so well!

Disliked: chan left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

11 December 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Quentin Sibille

09 December 2008 Quentin would recommend this property

Liked: very nice bed and breakfast, people more than helpfull and all the facilities you can expect

Disliked: Quentin left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

22 November 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: You feel like in your own home and sleep like in your own bed New,Warm and very clean and very friendly stuffBest hostel i ever seen

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

06 April 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful, friendly staff. Very small hostel, with a homely, welcoming atmosphere. 'Authentic' feel, but very newly fitted rooms & ensuites. Close to bus station. Free internet.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Thomas M Johansson

20 February 2008 Thomas M would recommend this property

Liked: small, secure

Disliked: Thomas M left no negative feedback.