HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Margouya Patagonia

Hostel | Purisima 681, Puerto Varas, Chile 550000

94.7% Overall Rating

107 out of 109 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/05/2014)

"We have seen quite a lot hostels so far, but just a few were hard to leave. And this definitely belongs to that category. Yes, It is an awesome old house for itself, true, but especially the owner Pierre and Constanza…"

Read all Margouya Patagonia reviews

Facilities

  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Puerto Varas?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Puerto Varas

Ruca Hostel
14.13 USD

Hostel 77.5% 28 reviews
Tradicion Austral
42.39 USD

Guesthouse 88.4% 16 reviews
Hostel Melmac Patagonia
17.66 USD

Hostel 89.8% 9 reviews
Compass del Sur
15.90 USD

Hostel 89.3% 161 reviews
Hostal Vermont
17.66 USD

Hostel 69.7% 5 reviews
Hostal Chancerel
26.50 USD

Guesthouse 82.4% 12 reviews
Bordemundo B&B y Cabañas
30.91 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Hosteria Outsider
18.55 USD

Guesthouse 87.8% 7 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
94.7%

Overall Rating

107 out of 109 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Margouya Patagonia'

Atmosphere
96.0%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
93.6%
Cleanliness
93.6%
Staff
96.8%
Value
95.2%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 88 of 107 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We have seen quite a lot hostels so far, but just a few were hard to leave. And this definitely belongs to that category. Yes, It is an awesome old house for itself, true, but especially the owner Pierre and Constanza with their cute daughter made our stay wonderful. It felt like being at home with some friends. After 7 months travelling this was an awesome feeling! We stayed in a private room which was clean and spacious, but I have also seen the dorms which look awesome. Really big beds and plenty of room for your stuff! Nothing compared to some completely stuffed and tiny rooms we have seen in other places. There was really nothing to complain. Go here and enjoy great hospitality!

Disliked: Yes, this is an old house and it is noisy when people are talking or walking over the woody floor. We have been here off-season so there weren't a lot of people, but I guess it is something different when the house is full. But still, this house is part of the overall charm and experience and is absolutely no reason to miss this amazing hostel!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Incredibly friendly and helpful staff. probably the most comfortable bed I've had in 4 months of travelling. good wifi. clean rooms. good kitchen. nice common area. you get a 50% discount for a decent breakfast at a cafe in town.

Disliked: the roof in the upstairs bathrooms is a little low, I hit my head. but that's really my height to blame.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner is very helpful and friendly. The house is very warm and cosy with a great atmosphere. Wi fi worked everywhere in the property. Great location.

Disliked: Could be a bit noisy but this is because it is an old house.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

James Ballardie

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 April 2014 James would recommend this property

Liked: Nice colonial building helpful staff.

Disliked: Kitchen is quite small for hostel this size. Only a few bathrooms for quite a lot of people.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful old building, lots of character

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Takashi Izumikawa

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 April 2014 Takashi would recommend this property

Liked: It's great place to stay in Puerto Varas. Nice atmosphere, good location, strong wifi connection, and very clean. You can get 50%off voucher at great cafe in town. I strongly recommend this place!

Disliked: Nothing.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stephen James

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 April 2014 Stephen would recommend this property

Liked: Big old house. Lots of character. Big dorm. TV room with great choice of movies. Qwner provided bottle of wine for my birthday,

Disliked: Common room/dining area small. No place to sit down in evenings. Aussie guy watching movies all day - kept telling people to be quiet. Creaky floorboards - no sleep some nights as people walking around at 5 in morning.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cosy

Disliked: Old bathrooms, difficult to shower

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: 英語が通じて、親切なスタッフ。部屋の天井が高くて開放感がある。

Disliked: 古い建物なので、廊下や上の階の足音が響く。

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The beds are amazing! Really comfortable and the rooms are big with large lockers too.

Disliked: This hostel was great but the kitchen is quite small if a few people are trying to cook.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Andrew Johnson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 December 2013 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Really helpful and welcoming staff. Nice atmosphere.

Disliked: Bathrooms a bit small and shower not so good but overall a great place to stay.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel Smith

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

02 December 2013 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: wonderful atmosphere with excellent staff. great introduction to hostel and area and lots of info and maps on activities. bikes for hire. well set up kitchen and common areas. old house with lots of character.

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Heyco Siebelink

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 December 2013 Heyco would recommend this property

Liked: At this hostel I started my trip around Chile and Bolivia. The staff is very helpfull and kind. The location is just outside the citycenter which is very quiet. A cool thing is that they organise English classes and little local children are practising it on the guest. And they do organise a lot of activities, and kayaking is their favourite.

Disliked: Heyco left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alfredo Castillo

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 November 2013 Alfredo would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the atmosphere, it was all great, great people, greaf stuff and great things to do. I did the bikeride to frutillar and it was amazing. The owner, Pierre, is a great person, always with a smile and ready to help you have a wonderful time in your stay.

Disliked: Too much movies to watch!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Adam Cohen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 November 2013 Adam would recommend this property

Liked: Was here for over 2 weeks and absolutely loved my time here. The staff were always friendly and generous, and helpful on everything I could possibly need. The place operates a small English school so therels a lot of people coming through every day and small group of gringos living in the building who massively help the atmosphere. Also, the film collection was fantastic, and the couch is the most comfortable I've ever encountered.

Disliked: The shower's a bit schitzophrenic, which shows how hard I have to think of something to complain about.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

18 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean & spacious dorm with great en suite. Excellent kitchen facilities and plenty of information on offer in common area as to local activities. Excellent multilingual staff attendance.

Disliked: No lockers available for personal storage, although they would look after your bags for you during the day. No way to lock the dorm room

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Rhiannon Finn

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 November 2013 Rhiannon would recommend this property

Liked: The Sunset Kayak was the highlight of our trip so far...beautiful scenery and Marius is a great guide! The rooms were spacious and the kitchen was well-equipped.

Disliked: Would be good if the kitchen was a bit larger.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

25 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. It was the best hostel I've ever stayed in. Last year I was traveling for almost a year, so I've been in lots of hostels and b&b... And this is probably the best one. It's clean, nice and cozy, grat staff, grat location, beautiful comon areas, nothing bad to say, I really recommend it!! And congratulations Pierre for having so amazing hostel.

Disliked: No bad comments, I loved it

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was a really well run hostel. Very clean and user friendly with a wonderful staff. They also have an awesome movie selection!

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alexander Kwako

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 August 2013 Alexander would recommend this property

Liked: Wonderful, helpful, and friendly staff. In addition to being a hostel, it is an English school, so there if your Spanish skills are lacking, there is nothing to fear here.

Disliked: Alexander left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rebecca Apostola

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 July 2013 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: Nice hostel, was confusion over our booking as we thought we had booked a private bathroom however were advised on check in that these are not available during winter. We had a quad room for 2 of us. Would have been very squashed if there was 4 of us in the room as well as baggage! Fireplace is nice, as is the movie area. There are 2 bathrooms upstairs and one downstairs.

Disliked: We didn't meet many other travellers as the hostel seemed to have many teachers living here who also teach at the hostel. If you are going here during the winter to meet other single travellers this may not be hostel for you.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel Boyle

Alone

Work / volunteering

05 July 2013 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: This is an excellent hostel. Very friendly owners along with a great vibe with the guests. Everything you could possibly need (eg each dorm room has a padlock for the lockers included, there are some computers to use and the fire is running during the winter months)

Disliked: Nothing. Puerto Varas did have its traditional rainy weather on my first day, but that cleared into a beautiful second day.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We really liked it at Margouyen 2 and ended up staying for a week - it proved a great place for some rest and recuperation after weeks of trekking around Patagonia! The house is a big old German family home and full of character, and the owners are really friendly. Big selection of films for the TV, coffee and tea available all day, and a good base for activities in and around Puerto Varas. Would definitely recommend, it's one of our favourite hostels so far during this trip,

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere is just charming, the owners are kindly and friendly (even gave recommendations for our next destinations), very close to the city center (though in Puerto Varas is not that difficult), the kitchen is well equipped and the common areas are cosy.

Disliked: While the common areas are heated the room are not, so it was quite chily each morning causing some discomfort.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We had a very friendly welcome. Staff were always friendly and helpful - even remembered our names when we came back to stay a second time. Lovely friendly atmosphere in the kitchen and lounge, people always chatty and welcoming. Double room was very nice. The building is old and wooden with a big wooden staircase and lots of character. We hired the bikes and cycled to Frutillar and back - it is hilly!! We would definitely recommend this as a lovely relaxing place to stay.

Disliked: Kitchen slightly small for the number of guests - we always cooked early at around 7.30 and didn't have any problem, but it seemed to get very busy around 9pm. No breakfast included, but free tea/coffee all day instead!