We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Margouya Patagonia

Hostel | Purisima 681, Puerto Varas, Chile 550000

96.8% Overall Rating

123 out of 125 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/08/2015)

"El staff fue muy amable y ellos nos ayudaron con informacion importante sobre Puerto Varas. Los baños fueron limpios, y tambien con la cocina grande. Un gran lugar para conocer muchas personas."

Read all Margouya Patagonia reviews

Facilities

  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Puerto Varas?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Puerto Varas

Ruca Hostel
13.00 USD

Hostel 79.3% 29 reviews
Tradicion Austral
38.99 USD

Guesthouse 89.7% 18 reviews
Hostel Melmac Patagonia
13.00 USD

Hostel 94.8% 22 reviews
Compass del Sur
13.00 USD

Hostel 91.8% 169 reviews
Hostal Chancerel
31.77 USD

Guesthouse 82.4% 12 reviews
Hosteria Outsider
21.66 USD

Guesthouse 87.8% 7 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
96.8%

Overall Rating

123 out of 125 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Margouya Patagonia'

Atmosphere
98.4%
Location
96.8%
Facilities
94.4%
Cleanliness
93.6%
Staff
98.4%
Value
97.6%
Safety
98.4%
Refine your results Showing 99 of 123 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: El staff fue muy amable y ellos nos ayudaron con informacion importante sobre Puerto Varas. Los baños fueron limpios, y tambien con la cocina grande. Un gran lugar para conocer muchas personas.

Disliked: Non sound proof rooms lol

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Dan Hughes-Morgan

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 July 2015 Dan would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful colonial building. Really comfortable bed with excellent bed linen. Really helpful friendly staff. Free tea and coffee all day. Nice wood burning stove in the meeting area.

Disliked: Bathrooms could have done with a clean. No breakfast.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is one of the best hostels I have visited in south america. The house is charming with a cosy wood fire and armchairs. The owner was very welcoming, providing excellent information on the surrounding area and activities in Puerto varads. The staff and family were very friendly and the hostel had a very homely feel. The location is in walking distance to the main street all bus stops. Definetly the place to stay in Puerto varas!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elissa Sundman

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 April 2015 Elissa would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel absolutely beautiful. So cute and cozy. Very clean. Kitchen stocked well. Staff really friendly. We extended our stay because it was so nice!

Disliked: Elissa left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The building itself, which is charming, and the cleanliness of the showers and toilets.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

27 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cozy, comfortable house. Our room had a view of Volcano Osorno which was beautiful. The bed was very comfortable with nice sheets and a comforter. Very clean room and bathroom was too! Walking distance to everything in Puerta Varas. The staff was helpful with giving you directions and many ideas for things to do.

Disliked: The girl that checked us in was snippy and a little bit rude. She gave us information but had a snappy remark every time we asked her anything so we stopped asking. She did help us find a place to stay another night as they were booked which was nice. Her behavior might have been her culture but it was abrasive and not welcoming. The place was awesome so it didn't really matter! The night staff was super friendly as was the staff the next day . The man, maybe owner was very helpful and informative.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fabulous old house in excellent location. Spacious rooms, and very helpful owner. Excellent activities on offer - canyoning, cycling, kayaking. Great information given re day trips, buses, hikes etc. Good advice re supermarkets, restaurants, bars & coffee shop!

Disliked: Only outdoor area limited, & occupied by smokers.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is a very nice hostel!! The owners are really helpfull and friendly. Great atmosfere. The rooms are spacious. Do the sunset kayak tour if you can. It's amazing!

Disliked: This is a very nice hostel!! The owners are really helpfull and friendly. Great atmosfere. The rooms are spacious. Do the sunset kayak tour if you can. It's amazing!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff and nice facalities. Especially the new years BBQ was brilliant.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Farima Moradnouri

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 December 2014 Farima would recommend this property

Liked: Great homey hostel in Puerto Varas, very centrally located and close to the super market and within walking distance to restaurants, shops, and the lake. The staff is very friendly and the owner is super helpful and informative on all the activities you can do around Puerto Varas. He spent a great deal of time giving us a route to take when we wanted to rent a car or do trekking so we knew the best way to go about it. We were fortunate enough to spend Thanksgiving there and the owner and the staff cooked an entire real Thanksgiving meal (turkey, stuffing, salad, etc.) for all the guests to enjoy free of charge (just to bring a side dish to share), which made those of us who celebrate the holidays and even those who don't usually, feel truly welcome and at home! They have free and hot coffee all day. The facilities are clean and nice with hot showers and good water pressure, plenty of clean bathrooms, and a huge kitchen with lots of utensils for cooking. The beds are super comfortable, the rooms are spacious and plenty of power outlets in the room. They also have an awesome TV area with a very comfy couch and lots of movies for a lazy/relaxing day in. Great atmosphere and vibe for solo travelers. I would definitely recommend this hostel, it's a home away from home!

Disliked: Farima left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jorge Casanova Alonso

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

10 August 2014 Jorge would recommend this property

Liked: Fue genial y la atención un 10. Grande, limpio, cómodo

Disliked: No hay aparcamiento y se deja en la calle, aunque no pasa nada.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We have seen quite a lot hostels so far, but just a few were hard to leave. And this definitely belongs to that category. Yes, It is an awesome old house for itself, true, but especially the owner Pierre and Constanza with their cute daughter made our stay wonderful. It felt like being at home with some friends. After 7 months travelling this was an awesome feeling! We stayed in a private room which was clean and spacious, but I have also seen the dorms which look awesome. Really big beds and plenty of room for your stuff! Nothing compared to some completely stuffed and tiny rooms we have seen in other places. There was really nothing to complain. Go here and enjoy great hospitality!

Disliked: Yes, this is an old house and it is noisy when people are talking or walking over the woody floor. We have been here off-season so there weren't a lot of people, but I guess it is something different when the house is full. But still, this house is part of the overall charm and experience and is absolutely no reason to miss this amazing hostel!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Incredibly friendly and helpful staff. probably the most comfortable bed I've had in 4 months of travelling. good wifi. clean rooms. good kitchen. nice common area. you get a 50% discount for a decent breakfast at a cafe in town.

Disliked: the roof in the upstairs bathrooms is a little low, I hit my head. but that's really my height to blame.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner is very helpful and friendly. The house is very warm and cosy with a great atmosphere. Wi fi worked everywhere in the property. Great location.

Disliked: Could be a bit noisy but this is because it is an old house.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

James Ballardie

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 April 2014 James would recommend this property

Liked: Nice colonial building helpful staff.

Disliked: Kitchen is quite small for hostel this size. Only a few bathrooms for quite a lot of people.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful old building, lots of character

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Takashi Izumikawa

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 April 2014 Takashi would recommend this property

Liked: It's great place to stay in Puerto Varas. Nice atmosphere, good location, strong wifi connection, and very clean. You can get 50%off voucher at great cafe in town. I strongly recommend this place!

Disliked: Nothing.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stephen James

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 April 2014 Stephen would recommend this property

Liked: Big old house. Lots of character. Big dorm. TV room with great choice of movies. Qwner provided bottle of wine for my birthday,

Disliked: Common room/dining area small. No place to sit down in evenings. Aussie guy watching movies all day - kept telling people to be quiet. Creaky floorboards - no sleep some nights as people walking around at 5 in morning.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cosy

Disliked: Old bathrooms, difficult to shower

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: 英語が通じて、親切なスタッフ。部屋の天井が高くて開放感がある。

Disliked: 古い建物なので、廊下や上の階の足音が響く。

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The beds are amazing! Really comfortable and the rooms are big with large lockers too.

Disliked: This hostel was great but the kitchen is quite small if a few people are trying to cook.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Andrew Johnson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 December 2013 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Really helpful and welcoming staff. Nice atmosphere.

Disliked: Bathrooms a bit small and shower not so good but overall a great place to stay.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel Smith

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

02 December 2013 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: wonderful atmosphere with excellent staff. great introduction to hostel and area and lots of info and maps on activities. bikes for hire. well set up kitchen and common areas. old house with lots of character.

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Heyco Siebelink

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 December 2013 Heyco would recommend this property

Liked: At this hostel I started my trip around Chile and Bolivia. The staff is very helpfull and kind. The location is just outside the citycenter which is very quiet. A cool thing is that they organise English classes and little local children are practising it on the guest. And they do organise a lot of activities, and kayaking is their favourite.

Disliked: Heyco left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alfredo Castillo

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 November 2013 Alfredo would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the atmosphere, it was all great, great people, greaf stuff and great things to do. I did the bikeride to frutillar and it was amazing. The owner, Pierre, is a great person, always with a smile and ready to help you have a wonderful time in your stay.

Disliked: Too much movies to watch!