We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Margouya Patagonia

Hostel | Purisima 681, Puerto Varas, Chile 550000

94.7% Overall Rating

108 out of 110 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/05/2014)

"We have seen quite a lot hostels so far, but just a few were hard to leave. And this definitely belongs to that category. Yes, It is an awesome old house for itself, true, but especially the owner Pierre and Constanza…"

Read all Margouya Patagonia reviews

Facilities

  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Puerto Varas?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Puerto Varas

Ruca Hostel
13.32 USD

Hostel 77.5% 28 reviews
Tradicion Austral
39.96 USD

Guesthouse 88.4% 16 reviews
Hostel Melmac Patagonia
16.65 USD

Hostel 92.1% 12 reviews
Compass del Sur
16.65 USD

Hostel 89.9% 163 reviews
Hostal Vermont
16.65 USD

Hostel 69.7% 5 reviews
Hostal Chancerel
24.98 USD

Guesthouse 82.4% 12 reviews
Bordemundo B&B y Cabañas
33.30 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Hosteria Outsider
24.98 USD

Guesthouse 87.8% 7 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
94.7%

Overall Rating

108 out of 110 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Margouya Patagonia'

Atmosphere
96.0%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
93.6%
Cleanliness
93.6%
Staff
96.8%
Value
95.2%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 89 of 108 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loved it. Friendly and warm owners, huge kitchen and dining/common area, big room with very comfortable bed, beautiful historic property on a quiet residential street. Bikes for rent on the premises and great info on activities and tours.

Disliked: Only downside is having just two bathrooms for everyone. But if it's not full or you don't shower during prime time it should be OK.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jeffrey Young

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 November 2012 Jeffrey would recommend this property

Liked: Just 5mins walk up from the centre this lively atmospheric full of character wooden clad traditional hostal houses an eclectic crowd due to doubling as an International laguage school.Efficiently run the vivacious and unfailingly helpful Constanza it offers huge high ceiling comfortable roomswell equipped kitchen rear garden fast free wifi excellent cheap bike hire.For interest atmosphere and unique style an unbeatable unequivocally recommended base in the Lakes reion

Disliked: Jeffrey left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jennifer Turner

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 November 2012 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: Wee stayed longer than originally planned, had a lovely big room and felt like at home.

Disliked: Jennifer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were so helpful, all of them couldn't do enough to help. We hired bikes for the day but because of terrible weather we only used them for a short time, the owner didn't charge us-very nice! The kitchen is well equipped and the supermarket is just down the road so really good if cooking for yourself. Warm showers and good internet.

Disliked: Sometimes a queue for the bathroom but the lovely warm showers made up for this!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Luke Kendall

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 September 2012 Luke would recommend this property

Liked: We just loved, loved, loved this hostel or should I say home! Pierre was so welcoming, the house warm and cosy, the kitchen big and well equipped, the private double room was big and the bed so comfortable - we really felt at home here, best hostel of our six month trip!

Disliked: Absolutely nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We really like this guesthouse ! we spend a lovely time there ! Warm house, clean, good atmosphere ! The perfect place to stay in Puerto Varas. the owner is very helpful and can help you to organise the rest of your trip (Chile, Argentina, Bolivia and Perou !!) with a lot of good and precious advises !! We travel around the world and this place is definetly a great value !!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Richard Lodge

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 July 2012 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful house, great staff, heater in room for when it gets cold.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Francynne Richter

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

22 June 2012 Francynne would recommend this property

Liked: The location, the hostel is very comfortable.

Disliked: They don't have a private bathrooms

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Prayag Thakrar

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 June 2012 Prayag would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, the manager is very helpful and friendly, good kitchen facilities, great atmosphere

Disliked: They messed up my booking, but booked me in another hostel in town. Bathroom facilities aren't the best.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ian Gough

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 April 2012 Ian would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel is in a great location on a quiet street. The rooms are large, clean and comfortable, bathrooms are ok but not as good as the bedrooms. The house is a really old building with a lot of character, nice kitchen and living room and fast wifi allover. Constanza, the manager, was probably the friendliest and most helpful person I met in Chile. It also doubles as a school, offering Spanish and English classes.

Disliked: Ian left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Michael Sneddon

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

12 April 2012 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Cool old house, close to supermarket etc.

Disliked: Michael left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: almost everything

Disliked: it was a bit irritating, that the manager woke me up after the first night, to tell me, that i "have to" change the room - in this case i refused

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

31 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and good communal areas

Disliked: Bin in toilet needs to be emptied more regularly. Otherwidse a really nice hostel

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The property has great charachter and is close to the surrounding area

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Minyoung JANG

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 March 2012 Minyoung would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly warm staff, quiet but fun atmosphere- no wild parties but easy to meet and chat with other guests. Very Close to TurBus station, a bit farther from Cruz del sur. Conveniently close to downtown. Felt very homey

Disliked: Minor things, but upstairs bathroom was a bit grimy if you looked closely. No lockers in the room in which I stayed, however overall felt secure. Overall felt it was an excellent value

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is a great colonial house with lots of character and friendly staff. What we most liked about the Margouya 2 though is the rare combo of a great atmosphere and a good nights rest! The community space was full of friendly people but everyone went to bed at a decent hour and got a quiet nights rest on a comfy bed (the beds are quiet to, for those couples out there ;) ).

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great historic house, well decorated, spotless kitchen with free spices etc, absolutely huge room and very friendly staff. The backyard is great too. Unfortunately we had only spent one night, we wish we could have stayed longer. The owner Pierre gave us a lot of info about activities. I would recommend this place to anyone Visiting puerto Vargas or puerto montt.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice and charming hostel with nice communal area. We really liked everything. The staff is very nice and definitely goes the extra mile. Would stay there again when back in Puerto Varas.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely big house; great heating, nice and warm; great kitchen facilities; good sized rooms.

Disliked: Nothing

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Niels Meulenberg

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 March 2012 Niels would recommend this property

Liked: house has lots of character

Disliked: small diner/sittingroom and lacks atmosphere

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

gloria paterson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 March 2012 gloria would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel in old wooden house with a nice kitchen and lounge area. Close to supermarket and town. Very helpful staff. ¡Muy bueno!

Disliked: Needs couch/bean bags in the lounge to better utilise the space.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Patrick Scott

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 March 2012 Patrick would recommend this property

Liked: One of the nicest hostels we have stayed in! The staff is very friendly and always there to answer your questions about Puerto Varas and the surronding areas.

Disliked: Patrick left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Jean-Louis Levesque

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

27 February 2012 Jean-Louis would recommend this property

Liked: Room ok. A small mirror would be appreciated for wemen.

Disliked: kitchen: not well organised. Not enough disshes. Dining room to small: 6 people only at a time. Saloon:only to seats...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Kathleen Macneish

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 February 2012 Kathleen would recommend this property

Liked: Spacious, lots of room

Disliked: Bathrooms old and stained

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Helen Barrett

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 February 2012

Liked: The owner and his wife were very nice.

Disliked: Sorry to say there is no logic in the layout of the rooms. There are three large rooms in the front of the house which all get uses for admin purposes, & 2 of the 3 were always empty, while the guest's lounge and dinning room are squeezed into one small room and the communal computer and tea/coffee facilities are in the hallway right outside our door; so we had people a couple of feet from our bedroom door all night interacting, this was very annoying. There is only two small old bathrooms to service 18-20 people & sometimes the wait for the bathroom was over an hour. Too bad if you were sick.