HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Margouya 2

Hostel | Purisima 681, Puerto Varas, Chile 550000

95.4% Overall Rating

101 out of 103 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/04/2014)

Takashi Izumikawa thinks…

"It's great place to stay in Puerto Varas. Nice atmosphere, good location, strong wifi connection, and very clean. You can get 50%off voucher at great cafe in town. I strongly recommend this place!"

Read all Margouya 2 reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Puerto Varas?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Puerto Varas

Ruca Hostel
9.98 USD

Hostel 77.5% 28 reviews
Tradicion Austral
43.13 USD

Guesthouse 88.4% 16 reviews
Hostel Melmac Patagonia
23.36 USD

Hostel 88.6% 8 reviews
Compass del Sur
18.87 USD

Hostel 88.9% 160 reviews
Hostal Vermont
17.97 USD

Hostel 69.7% 5 reviews
Hostal Chancerel
26.95 USD

Guesthouse 82.4% 12 reviews
Bordemundo Bed and Breakfast
35.94 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Hosteria Outsider
18.87 USD

Guesthouse 85.7% 6 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
95.4%

Overall Rating

101 out of 103 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Margouya 2'

Atmosphere
95.2%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
96.0%
Cleanliness
95.2%
Staff
96.8%
Value
96.0%
Safety
95.2%
Refine your results Showing 85 of 102 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is a beautiful old house with large bright rooms, comfortable beds & owners that are there to help with a warm friendly smile! They don't overfill the rooms with beds & the 5 bed dorm even has it's own computer in it! They don't offer breakfast but you fo get a 50% off voucher for a great cafe a short walk away. T

Disliked: The only bad things I have to say about this hostel is because it's an old building the floors creek loudly so you can hear when anyone is walking at all times and the dining/common area is quite small so not enough room if too many people are having dinner at the same time or if more then 3 people want to watch a movie.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stefanie Pitterle

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 March 2013 Stefanie would recommend this property

Liked: perfect stay, helpful and friendly stuff, cool, chilled atmosphere not like a hostel,

Disliked: Stefanie left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Francis Daly

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 March 2013 Francis would recommend this property

Liked: Firstly the staff are very friendly and welcoming, willing to help you with any query you may have. The beds are fantastic and I'm finding it very hard to get up in the morning ;) Tea and coffee readily available 24/7- it's been one of the best I've stayed in in South America

Disliked: Two small points: no breakfast and the back garden could do with some maintenance to make it more appealing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

DAMIEN FAURE-MARTY

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 March 2013 DAMIEN would recommend this property

Liked: After 18 months of travel arround the world, i think i have found probably one of the best hostel to stay. The cleanness is perfect, and bathrooms and toilets are cleaned everyday. the kitchen is cute and many tools allow us to prepare many different dishes. They have toaster, micro waves, also an oven to cook pies. Wifii is damned fast, the commun place have a big TV screen where movies can be watched in high quality. They clean and change sheets everyday, and they also make the bed! towels are provided ! the hostel is only 2mn by walk to the center fot he town, where they are 3 different big supermarket ! the owners are really kind and helpful and they can rent you bicycle at a very affordable price! Atmosphear is really good and familiar.

Disliked: Nothing !

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the old house, lots of character, loved all the space and wood, loved that they had computers, v friendly hosts

Disliked: No complaints

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Steve Haley

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 February 2013 Steve would recommend this property

Liked: Everything!! Pierre has the best hostel in Chile!! Awesome beds in dorm with free internet! Great kitchen, free tea and coffee and the best lounge to watch many movies from his collection!! Great staff on site who are very helpful! Keep up the great work!!!

Disliked: Nothing!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

kyle ekeli

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 February 2013 kyle would recommend this property

Liked: everything felt like being in a friends cabin

Disliked: paying with visa would be nice, breakfest would be to.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michela Dai Zovi

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 February 2013 Michela would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful building, friendly ambiance, great conversation. Very comfortable and interesting place to stay!

Disliked: The only thing I disliked about my stay was that it rained when I tried to ride my bike along the coast and it destroyed the view of the volcano.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: well equiped and big kitchen, very helpful and friendly staff (good information about the city, they even called other hostels to check for avaliabilty when their hostel was fully booked) nice and new beds, very clean bathrooms, nice common areas, rooms are very big, enough space to put your stuff, voucher for 50% off at a breakfast café, bike rental

Disliked: no breakfast included

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniela Heinrich

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 February 2013 Daniela would recommend this property

Liked: We loved our stay at Margouya 2! Even though there was a mess-up with our booking, the owner, Pierre, handled the situation extremely well (thanks again for that!). The tour of the house we got as well as all the maps and suggested (self-guided) walking tour were excellent. The kitchen was great, it was a pleasure to cook in it and it had anything you could ever need to make a decent meal. And the bed was super comfortable. We wish we could have stayed longer!

Disliked: The bathrooms (showers) could use an upgrade, but this didn't distract from the hostel's charm.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It,s really a nice place to stay, you fell welcome and Piere and his stuff are very friendly and helpful. I would like to stay here again!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sally Meadows

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 January 2013 Sally would recommend this property

Liked: The whole experience in this hostel was absolutely fabulous. From the moment I arrived, I felt reassured that it was secure, friendly and professional. The hosts were unbelievably helpful. I cannot recommend this hostel more highly. Superb! Thank you!!

Disliked: Sally left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very clean and big rooms. a lot of movies to watch when the weather is bad....and the weather is always bad in puerto varas ;-)

Disliked: only one bathroom on the first floor....when all the people get up early in the morning and want to have a shower you have to wait

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rosie Ditchburn- Clark

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 January 2013 Rosie would recommend this property

Liked: This is a fantastic hostel. The staff are friendly and helpful, the facilities are excellent and the hostel is spotless.It is excellent value an one of the best places we have stayed in south America. I would definitely recommend staying here if you are in the town.

Disliked: Rosie left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Piotr Sliz

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year

14 January 2013 Piotr would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff, large common space, good atmosphere, kitchen available, wifi

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Situated in an old German mansion house. We had a spacious room. Very helpful and friendly staff.

Disliked: One morning there was no warm water because there was no gas. The owner got the issue fixed within an hour.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

gemma burnham

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 December 2012 gemma would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely old building, the bedrooms were clean and cosy and nicely decorated. The sheets smelt very fresh! The bathrooms were also very clean. The hostel had a friendly and homely feel to it. The staff were helpful and spoke good English. The hostel is also an English/Spanish school. There is a good kitchen and communal area with a comfy couch and huge tv where you can watch one of their many dvds. There are plenty of things to do in the area and the staff can help you plan you treks, bike rides etc. You can hire bikes and book tours through the hostel. Breakfast was not included but there is free tea/coffee all day.

Disliked: Breakfast would have been good, but other than that, nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Erik Hillenbrand

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 December 2012 Erik would recommend this property

Liked: very warm atmosphere, the staff is very nice rooms and bathroom clean

Disliked: Erik left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Above all the owner and the staff is very friendly and supportive. They helped me a lot to organize my stay and further trip. The house is very charming with big rooms, nice interior and hot showers. It offers good value for money.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 November 2012

Liked: Big room (we stayed in double en suite room)

Disliked: Gas heater in room - not the safest method of heating No breakfast provided - all other hostels in South America we stayed in offered some kind of breakfast Kitchen too small and busy for number of users. No real lounge space Very noisy and creaky floorboards

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff. Spacious accommodation and social area. A characterful building which you are encouraged to treat as your own home. Good hot showers.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loved it. Friendly and warm owners, huge kitchen and dining/common area, big room with very comfortable bed, beautiful historic property on a quiet residential street. Bikes for rent on the premises and great info on activities and tours.

Disliked: Only downside is having just two bathrooms for everyone. But if it's not full or you don't shower during prime time it should be OK.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jeffrey Young

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 November 2012 Jeffrey would recommend this property

Liked: Just 5mins walk up from the centre this lively atmospheric full of character wooden clad traditional hostal houses an eclectic crowd due to doubling as an International laguage school.Efficiently run the vivacious and unfailingly helpful Constanza it offers huge high ceiling comfortable roomswell equipped kitchen rear garden fast free wifi excellent cheap bike hire.For interest atmosphere and unique style an unbeatable unequivocally recommended base in the Lakes reion

Disliked: Jeffrey left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jennifer Turner

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 November 2012 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: Wee stayed longer than originally planned, had a lovely big room and felt like at home.

Disliked: Jennifer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were so helpful, all of them couldn't do enough to help. We hired bikes for the day but because of terrible weather we only used them for a short time, the owner didn't charge us-very nice! The kitchen is well equipped and the supermarket is just down the road so really good if cooking for yourself. Warm showers and good internet.

Disliked: Sometimes a queue for the bathroom but the lovely warm showers made up for this!