HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Margouya Patagonia Puerto Varas Hostel

Purisima 681, Puerto Varas, Chile

Atmosphere 98%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 94%

Location 97%

Safety 100%

Staff 98%

Value 97%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cafe
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Hot Showers
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Luggage Storage
  • Reading Light
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 08:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Non Smoking

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Puerto Varas?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 98%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 94%

Location 97%

Safety 100%

Staff 98%

Value 97%

Showing 11-20 of 29 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Nov 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great homey hostel in Puerto Varas, very centrally located and close to the super market and within walking distance to restaurants, shops, and the lake. The staff is very friendly and the owner is super helpful and informative on all the activities you can do around Puerto Varas. He spent a great deal of time giving us a route to take when we wanted to rent a car or do trekking so we knew the best way to go about it. We were fortunate enough to spend Thanksgiving there and the owner and the staff cooked an entire real Thanksgiving meal (turkey, stuffing, salad, etc.) for all the guests to enjoy free of charge (just to bring a side dish to share), which made those of us who celebrate the holidays and even those who don't usually, feel truly welcome and at home!They have free and hot coffee all day. The facilities are clean and nice with hot showers and good water pressure, plenty of clean bathrooms, and a huge kitchen with lots of utensils for cooking. The beds are super comfortable, the rooms are spacious and plenty of power outlets in the room. They also have an awesome TV area with a very comfy couch and lots of movies for a lazy/relaxing day in. Great atmosphere and vibe for solo travelers. I would definitely recommend this hostel, it's a home away from home!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Events / festivals, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Fue genial y la atención un 10.Grande, limpio, cómodo

Disliked: No hay aparcamiento y se deja en la calle, aunque no pasa nada.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 May 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Incredibly friendly and helpful staff. probably the most comfortable bed I've had in 4 months of travelling. good wifi. clean rooms. good kitchen. nice common area. you get a 50% discount for a decent breakfast at a cafe in town.

Disliked: the roof in the upstairs bathrooms is a little low, I hit my head. but that's really my height to blame.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 May 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: We have seen quite a lot hostels so far, but just a few were hard to leave. And this definitely belongs to that category. Yes, It is an awesome old house for itself, true, but especially the owner Pierre and Constanza with their cute daughter made our stay wonderful. It felt like being at home with some friends. After 7 months travelling this was an awesome feeling!We stayed in a private room which was clean and spacious, but I have also seen the dorms which look awesome. Really big beds and plenty of room for your stuff! Nothing compared to some completely stuffed and tiny rooms we have seen in other places. There was really nothing to complain. Go here and enjoy great hospitality!

Disliked: Yes, this is an old house and it is noisy when people are talking or walking over the woody floor. We have been here off-season so there weren't a lot of people, but I guess it is something different when the house is full. But still, this house is part of the overall charm and experience and is absolutely no reason to miss this amazing hostel!

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The owner is very helpful and friendly. The house is very warm and cosy with a great atmosphere. Wi fi worked everywhere in the property. Great location.

Disliked: Could be a bit noisy but this is because it is an old house.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It's great place to stay in Puerto Varas. Nice atmosphere, good location, strong wifi connection, and very clean. You can get 50%off voucher at great cafe in town. I strongly recommend this place!

Disliked: Nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Big old house. Lots of character. Big dorm. TV room with great choice of movies. Qwner provided bottle of wine for my birthday,

Disliked: Common room/dining area small. No place to sit down in evenings. Aussie guy watching movies all day - kept telling people to be quiet. Creaky floorboards - no sleep some nights as people walking around at 5 in morning.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Nice colonial building helpful staff.

Disliked: Kitchen is quite small for hostel this size. Only a few bathrooms for quite a lot of people.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Cosy

Disliked: Old bathrooms, difficult to shower

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: 英語が通じて、親切なスタッフ。部屋の天井が高くて開放感がある。

Disliked: 古い建物なので、廊下や上の階の足音が響く。

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability