We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Ruca Hostel

Hostel | San Ignacio 1100 Puerto Varas, Región de los Lagos, Puerto Varas, Chile -

77.5% Overall Rating

23 out of 28 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (03/01/2013)

ignacio barrenengoa thinks…

"Spent some nights at ruca hostel and they were the best, lot´s of nice people and great atmosphere. we cooked in an awesome firewood oven and also had BBQ in the back yard. the owner was so…"

Read all Ruca Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • BBQ area
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 24.98
  • Towel USD 1.67

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Puerto Varas?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Puerto Varas

Margouya Patagonia
14.99 USD

Hostel 94.7% 110 reviews
Hostel Melmac Patagonia
21.65 USD

Hostel 92.1% 12 reviews
Tradicion Austral
39.96 USD

Guesthouse 88.4% 16 reviews
Compass del Sur
19.98 USD

Hostel 89.9% 163 reviews
Hostal Vermont
16.65 USD

Hostel 69.7% 5 reviews
Hostal Chancerel
36.63 USD

Guesthouse 82.4% 12 reviews
Hosteria Outsider
24.98 USD

Guesthouse 87.8% 7 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
77.5%

Overall Rating

23 out of 28 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Ruca Hostel'

Atmosphere
77.6%
Location
78.4%
Facilities
72.0%
Cleanliness
75.2%
Staff
78.4%
Value
79.2%
Safety
81.6%
Refine your results Showing 21 of 26 reviews
Reset filter
37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 March 2014

Liked: It was easy to find and the Wifi was working allright.

Disliked: With 7 full dorms, 9 tents in the backyard and only 2 bathrooms the place was never quiet, never clean and hardly any safe. Our 2-nights reservation for a double room was not checked on time, so useless. Horrible place.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 February 2013

Liked: the only place available in town! Free tea and coffee anytime.

Disliked: see above

The property's response is...

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

08 January 2013

Liked: Close to town square and restaurants, etc.

Disliked: The owner did not seem to care if anyone else was trying to sleep and decided to start a mini´concert, singing and playing guitar around 11:30 unitl after 1:00 in the morning. That might have been fine for the other guests but my wife and I had to get up early and didn´t appreciate the lack of consideration.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ignacio barrenengoa

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

03 January 2013 ignacio would recommend this property

Liked: Spent some nights at ruca hostel and they were the best, lot´s of nice people and great atmosphere. we cooked in an awesome firewood oven and also had BBQ in the back yard. the owner was so wellcoming and was allways trying to help you to get arround. they have incredibly good local beer on tap, it was kind of hard to leave the hostel actually! tottaly recomended.

Disliked: ignacio left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Kitchen

Disliked: bathroom

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap

Disliked: Very small rooms

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and cosy rooms

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very quiet, chilled environment.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Norbert Lindner

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 March 2012 Norbert would recommend this property

Liked: good location

Disliked: Norbert left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: es muy calido y esta muy bien. las camas y las almohadas son muy comodas

Disliked: nada

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very cozy hostel, I had a very good time here. Leon is very, very friendly and helpful. When I needed accomodation for another night and the Hostel was full, he called other hostels to find a place for me. Also helps to organize activities. Laundry service.

Disliked: Small rooms.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Leon was very helpful and very nice. He threw a party for the entire hostel, so that everybody would get to talk. There's a really good atmosphere, and if you need anything, Leon is there to help you!

Disliked: If you are tall I would recommend you to go somewhere else, because it can get a bit claustrofobic because you can't stand up straight in your room, but at the same time it is cozy and has a great cave-like feeling to it!

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

FAbio Bertola

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 February 2012

Liked: The owner was helpful enough

Disliked: The place was just way too small for the number of people it catered for. Most people were leaving upstairs in tiny spaces (my room had 5 people and was probably around 2mX4m). Not to mention the fact that upstairs in most places I could not stand upright cause the ceiling was low (I had to lean to get through the bathroom door, lean to get in the shower, lean to get up the stairs). There were only two bathrooms and I ha to wait almost two hours to shower in the evening. Bathrooms and kitchen were dirty as the owner is the only one who works in the hostel and he did not do too much to clean them while I was there. The beds and mattresses are worn out and impossible to sleep in. Overall the worst hostel I´ve stayed in Chile.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marcos Duque

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

01 January 2012 Marcos would recommend this property

Liked: The ownew was super nice and helpful, the hostel is very near from the center of the town and the room was quite big and confortable.

Disliked: During the night, other guests meet at the living room and is quite noisy.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

26 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Owner is very helpful, when the hostel is not full he´ll give you an own room for the price of a dorm, comfortable beds, clean bathroom, good shower, nice common area upstairs with couches

Disliked: Upstairs is not for tall people (>150cm), neighbour´s dog barks all night long, rooms are quite small so it can get crowded if the hostel is full. Not too many bathrooms

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katiana johnson

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 May 2011 Katiana would recommend this property

Liked: jorge and the staff are GREAT! very nice and very helpful!

Disliked: the rooms upstairs are filled with beds and not much floor space to change or put your bags. if you are travelling with a group of 3 its great but if you are alone, it can be a little odd to be sleeping so close to the other person.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

31 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A lovely little hostel that feels just like being at home. The rooms are nice, and though small, the lounge downstairs is a great space and very comfortable. There are a few guitars hanging around and the laptops are a great touch. Would recommend.

Disliked: nothing, very good.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Large, clean bathrooms, big and tasty breakfasts, nice decor. I liked that the owner sends a personal email to confirm my reservation.

Disliked: Rooms are small and cramped, with no lockers and no keys. The location is up a big hill from the center and not very convenient, but the neighborhood is nice. The hostel was mostly very clean, but the dog left some surprises in the common areas which is a bit gross. The owner is friendly but a lot of friends and family were there using the kitchen, making it difficult to use it ourselves.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Bianca Leite

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

02 February 2011 Bianca would recommend this property

Liked: They just started, but the staff is so nice and helpfull. Bathroom is very clean and big!!! A very good place to stay!!

Disliked: They should clean the kitchen a little bit better.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely staff who are very helpful! Home made pies! clean tidy and modern.

Disliked: Only issue i had was with Ruca was the extreme amount of noise. This is a lovely little hostel, but if your needing a rest i would go somewhere that doesnt keep you up until 6:30pm with partying and dog barking - the walls are thin and you can here EVERYTHING!........... Its sad because it kind of spoiled all the good points for me.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Owner was exceptionally friendly and very welcoming. Everything was kept spotlessly clean and the facilities i.e. laptop computers, kitchen etc were excellent. The breakfast was yum, fruit, yogurt and cereal, fresh juice, coffee, tea, toast and cheese was a nice change from the dulce de leche and bread we have had everywhere. They also have the most adorable dog!!

Disliked: House made noises i.e. you could hear water passing through the pipes etc. Not a major gripe. The only possible problem I could find with what is an exellcent hostel