HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Compass del Sur Puerto Varas Hostel

Klenner 467, Puerto Varas, Chile

Atmosphere 91%

Cleanliness 97%

Facilities 92%

Location 85%

Safety 97%

Staff 95%

Value 87%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Airport Transfers
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Fridge Freezer"
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Microwave
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Reading Light
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Towels for hire

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 29.93USD

Important Information

The rates expressed in this site are free of chilean VAT taxes for international passengers that are not resident in Chile, presenting their passport and immigration card at the check in.



Please consider that domestic tourists, need to pay the 19% value added tax (IVA) on fares advertised here.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 10:30

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Puerto Varas?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 91%

Cleanliness 97%

Facilities 92%

Location 85%

Safety 97%

Staff 95%

Value 87%

Showing 1-10 of 12 reviews

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Apr 2016

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: The cleanliness and atmosphere of the Private suites was top notch.

Disliked: The service lady behind the desk was a bit snippy with clients for my taste.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Fantastic security, large lockers for everyone, fires going all day so the property was always warm and cosy, fantastic large kitchen, amazing hot showers in clean bathrooms, homely duvets on the beds, breakfast included with optional extras you can purchase, lovely staff. Would stay again in a heartbeat!

Disliked: Only 2 bathrooms for 4 bedrooms worth of travelers.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Daniel is a great host and helped us with all the doubts we had about the city. The common areas are good the rooms are warm.

Disliked: The only suggestion for improvement would be to improve the kitchen equipments.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The constantly upbeat, friendly, helpful staff are a real highlight. The shared facilities were always clean. The layout lends itself to meet other travelers which always results in beneficial exchanges of many kinds. We slept well and ate adequately (breakfast included) with add-ons at a reasonable price for those with bigger appetites.

Disliked: The wifi coverage was spotty, leaving guests stranded off-line for several minutes frequently. Not a show-stopper but, if you are in a hurry to finish something, sitting and waiting for 15 minutes could be an issue.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Helpful staff. Modern, clean, well-equipped bathrooms. Comfortable, interior wood finish. Good kitchen and laundry facilities.

Disliked: Creaky floors, thin walls (if you need to sleep in). Quite expensive for a hostel.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It is such a cosy house with a lot of charm. Everything is very clean, the breakfast is substantial, the common rooms are equipped with a lot of nice details and above all the staff was really likeable and helpful. They provide many information material about Puerto Varas, the region and Chile in general. We also would absolutely recommend one of the excursions they are offering. We took the one to Volcano Osorno and didn't regret it!

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Atmosphere

Disliked: No compains.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Friend helpful staff, nice room and bed. Cozy fire

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Breakfast, the Staff.

Disliked: There was a confusion with our reservation (they were full when we reserved, but our reservation was made anyways) and we got a bedroom in the attic, which, although it was nice, it was too low and had two separate beds. In any case, they did let us know before and explain this situation, so it was ok.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The hostel is like home.. Nice and warm. We like everything... Maria Jose und Neli are the bests..

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability