We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Compass del Sur

Hostel | Klenner 467, Puerto Varas, Chile .

89.9% Overall Rating

155 out of 163 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/07/2014)

Jaqueline Kunz thinks…

"The hostel is like home.. Nice and warm. We like everything... Maria Jose und Neli are the bests.."

Read all Compass del Sur reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 29.97

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

The rates expressed in this site are free of chilean VAT taxes for international passengers that are not resident in Chile, presenting their passport and immigration card at the check in. Please consider that domestic tourists, need to pay the 19% value added tax (IVA) on fares advertised here.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Puerto Varas?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Puerto Varas

Hostal Vermont
16.65 USD

Hostel 69.7% 5 reviews
Tradicion Austral
39.96 USD

Guesthouse 88.4% 16 reviews
Hostal Chancerel
36.63 USD

Guesthouse 82.4% 12 reviews
Margouya Patagonia
14.99 USD

Hostel 94.7% 110 reviews
Hostel Melmac Patagonia
21.65 USD

Hostel 92.1% 12 reviews
Ruca Hostel
13.32 USD

Hostel 77.5% 28 reviews
Bordemundo B&B y Cabañas
33.30 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Hosteria Outsider
24.98 USD

Guesthouse 87.8% 7 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.9%

Overall Rating

155 out of 163 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Compass del Sur'

Atmosphere
89.6%
Location
84.8%
Facilities
89.6%
Cleanliness
92.0%
Staff
93.6%
Value
85.6%
Safety
94.4%
Refine your results Showing 110 of 124 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

31 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast, the Staff.

Disliked: There was a confusion with our reservation (they were full when we reserved, but our reservation was made anyways) and we got a bedroom in the attic, which, although it was nice, it was too low and had two separate beds. In any case, they did let us know before and explain this situation, so it was ok.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friend helpful staff, nice room and bed. Cozy fire

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jaqueline Kunz

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 July 2014 Jaqueline would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is like home.. Nice and warm. We like everything... Maria Jose und Neli are the bests..

Disliked: Jaqueline left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sarah Tinnin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 February 2014 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: It is a beautiful house at located very close to the center. There is lots of space in all rooms including the kitchen! Lots of seating both inside and outside as well as a garden with apples and raspberries! Oh, and the fireplace was a very very nice touch!

Disliked: Maybe a little hard to find. I came into a different bus station and there were no. Directions on how to get the hostel from there.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff, reception open 24/7, very nice house and big dorms with big lockers and comfortable beds with a little reading light for each. Clean everything. Quiet at night. Good location in a quiet area just a few streets off the main streets. Tours available from reception in small group only for the hostel guests. Free wifi and free computers to use. Free basic breakfast. Tv room, backyard, ... Nothing to complain about :)

Disliked: /

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Christina Atkin

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

12 February 2013 Christina would recommend this property

Liked: Free breakfast with the option to upgrade if you wanted. Kitchen is quite well stocked with cutlery, crockery etc so makes it easy for a lot of people to be cooking at the same time.

Disliked: The stairs are really slippery and you need to be careful you don't bump your head on the roof as you ascend.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel staff was a great help, very friendly and symphatic, the rooms in good condition.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

19 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Central location and secure parking.

Disliked: We have stayed in 7 different Hostels/B&Bs in Chile, some with a private bathroom and some with shared facilities but this was the most expensive by far and we dont feel we got any real extra value for our money, especially when other places give you juice, eggs, muesli and coffee for breakfast at no extra cost.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nick Hopwood

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 January 2013 Nick would recommend this property

Liked: One of my favourite hostels in Chile. Wonderfully comfortable and very homely with wood burning stoves, wooden floors, comfy sofas, a big kitchen and lots a character. The staff are all so friendly and helpful. Very highly recommended.

Disliked: Absolutely nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Steven Davies

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 December 2012 Steven would recommend this property

Liked: Superb hostel. nice staff, very clean, comfortable, spacious... Like a home away from home. Breakfast was also excellent - fresly baked bread and homemade jam, or you can add extras like eggs for a small fee

Disliked: Steven left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff really friendly and helpful. good internet connection. clean and safe.

Disliked: did get a bit loud in the common area with some young kids.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Warm, clean, friendly.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

rebecca berman

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

04 March 2012 rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was extremely helpful, they called local tour operators for us to help us set up trips. Also, the common areas were very comfortable and big, the kitchen wasn´t cramped and had plenty of room for cooking, and they did our laundry and dried certain items on the line for us. Couldn´t have asked for more!

Disliked: rebecca left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

03 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It looked a good place for young backpackers - not suitable for the grey suitcase set.

Disliked: The shared bathroom facilities require renovation.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful old building. Maria was wonderful, so friendly and helpful. Great breakfast options. Tours are good but not on regularly.

Disliked: Being old is it a very creaky house, you can hear everything footstep throughout the house. Closing the kitchen at 10.30 is a little tricky, especially when you get back late from day trips.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Das Hostel lag 3min vom Zentrum entfernt. Das Frühstück war okay (Menge abgezählt), mehr oder spezielle Wünsche werden gegen Bares erfüllt. Geschäftsführer sprechen mehrere Sprachen, Personal ist freundlich und hilfsbereit.

Disliked: Ich fand das Preis / Leistungsverhältnis war nicht in Ordnung.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 January 2012

Liked: Standard breakfast (included in rate ) was good

Disliked: Not enough bathrooms / toilets !!! 2 for 20 beds only

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

hannah smith

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 January 2012 hannah would recommend this property

Liked: I liked this place a lot and stayed there twice. The staff are friendly, helpful and make the guests feel at home. It is really clean, the breakfast is yummy and the kitchen is well equipped and spacious. There is a lot of information for other places and the tour I went on (a little pricey) was really good fun.

Disliked: hannah left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Nicola Carter

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 December 2011 Nicola would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff. Gave us lots of information about the area. Our double room was a good size and everything was clean. Great location with 5 min walk into town.

Disliked: The bathrooms could do with updating, although they were clean.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nena Logan

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 November 2011 Nena would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is beautiful and our room was the best double we have had in all of South America. Staff were so friendly, hostel squeaky clean and the breakfast delicious.

Disliked: The only one thing is that I found the tours offered by the hostel very expensive.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the staff were really helpful and friendly especially Maria-Jose! The common areas were cosy and the kitchen big. when the hostel is not full they also spread out the people over several rooms to give people space which is nice

Disliked: you have to pay a lot of extras

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kaspar Brand

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 October 2011 Kaspar would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very helpfull and nice they offer also nice tours!

Disliked: the bad wether. And some other guests they were realy loud at 3am.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Brinnand Dearna

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 September 2011 Brinnand would recommend this property

Liked: From the moment I walked in the door to the moment I left, the staff couldn't have been more helpful and wonderful. The location is excellent, best night's sleep I have had for ages. Even though Puertes Vares is cold, it certainly isn't in the hostel. The whole hostel is warm, friendly, super clean and the hot water in the shower is super hot. Breakfast was good, great to have bread other than white bread. Yes you paid extra for a good coffee, but to me it was worth having an excellent coffee in the morning. There is so much character in the building and town you won't want to leave. I had a fantastic time there and would highly recommend you stay at Compass del Sur.

Disliked: nada

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Victoria Cole

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 August 2011 Victoria would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel itself has great character. A great place to stay to have a quiet get away. Chloe and Marie were very helpful and gave me lots of information on things to do in and around puerto varas. I even ended up staying another night. The kitchen is very well equipped the best i have seen.

Disliked: Nothing!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good hostel a few mins walk from centre of town. Nice large building with plenty of room, massive kitchen, and good facilities. Breakfast good with home made jams and breads. Friendly owner and very helpful.

Disliked: Hostel was quite quiet but this was due to us being off season. Breakfast was good but did not like having to pay extra for proper coffee.