HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel El Patagonico

Hostel | O´Higgins Nº 741, Puerto Natales, Chile 6160000

97.4% Overall Rating

43 out of 43 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (12/04/2014)

Trent Brandie thinks…

"The owners know absolutelyeverything about Puerto Natales and Torres Del Paine. I arrived the night before I was planning on starting the W at TDP with no knowledge of anything. Andres and Monica…"

Read all Hostel El Patagonico reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Late check-out
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Puerto Natales?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Puerto Natales

Residencial Danicar
17.15 USD

Guesthouse 66.6% 37 reviews
Tin House Patagonia
15.01 USD

Guesthouse 96.0% 74 reviews
Hospedaje Maria
15.14 USD

Hostel 80.7% 73 reviews
Hostal Lili Patagonicos
13.72 USD

Guesthouse 87.4% 109 reviews
Koten-Aike Hostel
15.14 USD

Hostel 84.8% 16 reviews
Hostal Coloane
17.15 USD

Guesthouse 89.5% 9 reviews
Bories House
65.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
The Singing Lamb Backpackers
16.00 USD

Hostel 92.7% 88 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
97.4%

Overall Rating

43 out of 43 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel El Patagonico'

Atmosphere
97.6%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
94.4%
Cleanliness
99.2%
Staff
100.0%
Value
97.6%
Safety
98.4%
Refine your results Showing 37 of 43 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Trent Brandie

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 April 2014 Trent would recommend this property

Liked: The owners know absolutelyeverything about Puerto Natales and Torres Del Paine. I arrived the night before I was planning on starting the W at TDP with no knowledge of anything. Andres and Monica provided me with a tent, all other gear required and told me the route to take. Everything went perfectly. I stayed 4 more nights after completing TDP. The hostel is also very clean, secure and modern.

Disliked: Trent left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and helpful stuff! They help you to book everything, and you can leave your stuff there while travelling

Disliked: No breakfast

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, very close to restaurants and supermarkets. The kitchen, dining room, and living spaces were large and comfortable, as well as modern and clean. Andres and his wife were so kind and helpful. He had lots of great information and advice on our upcoming Torres del Paine hike. Our room was also spacious and super nice... when our friends came to visit, they were vocal in their envy. We highly recommend this hostel!

Disliked: Nothing to dislike.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff very helpful and left our gear here when we hiked the W in Torres del Paine.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Andres and Monica were delightful, welcoming, and went out of their way to be helpful. A warm, friendly haven in Patagonia.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly, homely and comfortable hostel. The owners were helpful in everything we needed.

Disliked: The camping equipment wasn't entirely suitable for Torres Del Paine. Inadequate tent, no ground sheet, broken sleeping bag.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Natalie Pilling

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 March 2014 Natalie would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best hostels I have ever stayed at. I felt so much at home I didn't want to leave anymore. Monica and Andres (the couple running the hostel) bend over backwards to help you for anything - planning your hike in Torres del Paine, booking bus tickets, etc. Some people may be thrown off by the fact that breakfast is not included, but the palce is so great you quickly forget that you have to bring your own. Definitely recommend staying here!!

Disliked: Absolutely nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Natalie Petrou

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 March 2014 Natalie would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. Owners were just fantastic.. felt like you were family moment you arrived.. big welcome.. map and nearby shops etc.. showers hot ans powerful. Most comfortable bed and pillows.. ever great kitchen brilliant price

Disliked: Nothing.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: 英語が通じて、トレッキング情報やバスチケット、キャンプ用品が安くゲットできる。

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best hostels I've stayed in, owners are very friendly and helpful, kitchen area is good and the rooms are really spacious and the beds are soooooo comfy!

Disliked: Nothing really, it's a great hostel. The lounge area is not big but it's usually empty as most people don't stay long and just pass through on the way to or back from the W trek. The doorbell is also irritating but that's a small point!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sarah Jennings

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 February 2014 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: I loved staying here, it was a real home from home and the owners couldn't have been any more helpful and kind. They are super relaxed and and I felt like I was treated like family. It was warm, the showers were amazing, comfortable beds and great internet connection! The rooms are a couple of bedrooms inside the owners house, so you use their kitchen and living room but this never felt in the slightest bit awkward as they are such open and generous people. We were given so much excellent trekking advice about Torres del Paine and they helped organise our trip there (we did day trip not W but plenty of W hikers received all their advice from them too), and my trip to see penguins. I ended up staying 5 nights and would have happily stayed longer if I hadn't had a boat to catch. I would recommend this hostel to everyone!

Disliked: Sarah left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

nelba gaete

As a family with children

Family Holiday

24 February 2014 nelba would recommend this property

Liked: very clean, and pretty. the staff (owners) very nice and helpfull. big dorms, big kitchen, big diner place. i realy liked it!

Disliked: nothing, i loved it!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome place!! Modern kitchen and bathrooms, comfy beds, nice and light house. Owners are guides, so you can book most things from the hostel and they're very helpful with planning. Can alo rent gear here. Very secure.

Disliked: No breakfast.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Andres and Monica were extremely helpful, which really made our stay: as it was high season, their prompt booking of buses and tours made everything a lot more relaxing. The communal environment was also nice, the room clean, and shared bathroom facilities good quality (we didn't have a queue). Would highly recommend.

Disliked: N/A

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Benoit Thill

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 December 2013 Benoit would recommend this property

Liked: We had a fantastic stay at the hostel. Andres and Monica are awesome and have helped us to plan our stay in Patagonia! Definitely the best hostel we have been during our stay in Chile!!! Ben & Steph (belgium)

Disliked: Benoit left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I rarely review anything but the owners here were so nice they deserve it. They go way out of their way to make sure you are comfortable and help you with everything, from helping plan your trip to Torres del Paine national park or getting you bus tickets. And they are the opposite of pushy. Andres and Monica. Very good people. And they are honest. They hang on to your stuff while you trek. Nothing was missing, no problems.

Disliked: Not a thing. It's fantastic.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kai Ammerich

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 December 2013 Kai would recommend this property

Liked: friendly and helpful staff, rooms very clean and spacy

Disliked: Kai left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Giulio Barani

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 November 2013 Giulio would recommend this property

Liked: Very good atmospere, very clean and nice staff, very helpful.

Disliked: Giulio left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kevin Jessen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 November 2013 Kevin would recommend this property

Liked: Decent and clean rooms, good common area, quiete place. The staff was very helpfull in arranging transports (there was a strike at the border and they kept calling every hour to check whether i could book a bus ticket), renting camping gear, providing information. The owner also spoke pretty good english. I would definitely recommend this place.

Disliked: Kevin left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

JON UNZUETA

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 November 2013 JON would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel. Very nice staff and well located in the center of Puerto Natales, 15 min walking from the bus station.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ian baker

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 August 2013 ian would recommend this property

Liked: The owners were very friendly and helpful with anything you needed. They had plenty advice for the treks and plus you could rent camping gear from them to. The hostel is very homely.

Disliked: ian left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: REALLY enjoyed my time in Puerto Natales thanks to Andres and Monica, the owners of El Patagonico! They are very very friendly and helpful, give you tips about Torres del Paine, and can arrange you bustickets and tours as they are tour operators too. The hostel really feels like home. Very comfy bed, and huge fully-equipped kitchen. Super clean everywhere. Good heating too!

Disliked: Common room with TV and sofas a bit small. When I was there it was at the end of season so hostel half empty I can't imagine during high season... No breakfast. I have to admit I did not shop around that much to compare, but the prices of the renting equipment in my opinion is a bit expensive, although good quality. So when it adds up with al the Torres del Paine it becomes expensive, so I would suggest to go elsewhere for renting.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Gregory Maggass Jr

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

31 March 2013 Gregory would recommend this property

Liked: Andres was super nice, the hostel was small and cozy and ended up being a good launching point for doing some hiking up in Torres del Paine. There were usually showers available, the rooms weren´t too big (traveling in a group of 4, so we ended up taking up most of the rooms of 5 anyways!), the beds were comfy, and he made the house feel to be like our home. He also had a laptop for us to use, pretty sweet.

Disliked: There wasn´t any sort of breakfast offerred, which is pretty lame. But, a sweet kitchen to cook all the stuff that´s better than white bread and dulce anyways.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Andres was great helping us set up everything we needed to hike in torres del paine. They were very welcoming and even gave us a farewell drink on our last day. Great hostel and for a good price.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is awesome. From the start, Monica and Andres (the owners) were very helpful and friendly. They booked a bus for us from the airport in Punta Arenas. Then they arranged everything after we arrived in Puerto Natales - bus to Torres del Paine, full day tour to Torres del Paine and bus to El Calafate. We had a packed 2 and a half days in PN, so it was really helpful that they organized everything for us. And Andres is very knowledgeable about the national park and can arrange things very efficiently. The hostel itself is quite small, but it was pretty full when we were there, so there are always people hanging around the kitchen area. There are 3 bathrooms, nice hot showers (which is very important after a full day trek in Torres del Paine), kitchen has pretty much everything you need. One really nice thing was that in the double room we stayed in we had really nice pillows (similar to memory foam), which is something very pleasantly surprising.

Disliked: Just one thing - some plates and cups were still dirty even if they were in the cupboard already, so they needed to be washed again before using them. Also, most of the cups look old and are colored from tea. But you can work around these things, as the plus points clearly outweigh them.