We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel El Patagonico

Hostel | O´Higgins Nº 741, Puerto Natales, Chile 6160000

97.0% Overall Rating

50 out of 50 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/01/2015)

Marianne Greenwell thinks…

"This is the best option for a hotel before or after going to Torres del Painne! We stayed there one night before and one night after going to the park and Andres and his wife could not have been more…"

Read all Hostel El Patagonico reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Late check-out
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Puerto Natales?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Puerto Natales

Residencial Danicar
16.65 USD

Guesthouse 66.6% 37 reviews
Tin House Patagonia
14.57 USD

Guesthouse 96.1% 75 reviews
Hospedaje Maria
28.39 USD

Hostel 80.7% 73 reviews
Hostal Lili Patagonicos
16.65 USD

Guesthouse 87.4% 115 reviews
Koten-Aike Hostel
14.69 USD

Hostel 83.9% 17 reviews
The Singing Lamb Backpackers
22.00 USD

Hostel 93.7% 90 reviews
Nikos I Guesthouse
18.32 USD

Guesthouse 71.0% 15 reviews
Erratic Rock II
31.64 USD

Hostel 89.9% 102 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/01/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/01/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
97.0%

Overall Rating

50 out of 50 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel El Patagonico'

Atmosphere
98.4%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
92.8%
Cleanliness
99.2%
Staff
99.2%
Value
96.8%
Safety
97.6%
Refine your results Showing 41 of 49 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marianne Greenwell

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 January 2015 Marianne would recommend this property

Liked: This is the best option for a hotel before or after going to Torres del Painne! We stayed there one night before and one night after going to the park and Andres and his wife could not have been more helpful! They rent all the stuff you need to go to the park and it's all in great condition and really good value for money and you can leave all the rest of your stuff in the hostel whilst you're away :) there's tea, coffe, and oats to make for breakfast and the most wonderful hot showers when you get back :) the beds are comfy and the hostel is warm and cosy, just what you need after 5 days in Torres. I can't recommend this place enough! Thank you so much for everything! :)

Disliked: Marianne left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 December 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Andres is a very nice guy and does really everything he can to help with reservations for bus tickets, travel advice,... We all had diner together at Christmas Eve in a very nice atmosphere. The starter and dessert were offered by El Patagonica which was very nice !

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elizabeth Engler

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 December 2014 Elizabeth would recommend this property

Liked: Andres and Monica were wonderful hosts. They helped us book buses to TDP and to El Calafate. When we needed white gasoline, they helped us track it down in the last place that was open on a Sunday. The hostel is very clean and small enough to relax after a big hike yet meet other travelers. They even made arrangements for availability so we could stay here after the hike when we didn't have reservations. I will stay here again when we do the circuit next time.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 December 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Trent Brandie

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 April 2014 Trent would recommend this property

Liked: The owners know absolutelyeverything about Puerto Natales and Torres Del Paine. I arrived the night before I was planning on starting the W at TDP with no knowledge of anything. Andres and Monica provided me with a tent, all other gear required and told me the route to take. Everything went perfectly. I stayed 4 more nights after completing TDP. The hostel is also very clean, secure and modern.

Disliked: Trent left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and helpful stuff! They help you to book everything, and you can leave your stuff there while travelling

Disliked: No breakfast

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, very close to restaurants and supermarkets. The kitchen, dining room, and living spaces were large and comfortable, as well as modern and clean. Andres and his wife were so kind and helpful. He had lots of great information and advice on our upcoming Torres del Paine hike. Our room was also spacious and super nice... when our friends came to visit, they were vocal in their envy. We highly recommend this hostel!

Disliked: Nothing to dislike.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff very helpful and left our gear here when we hiked the W in Torres del Paine.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Andres and Monica were delightful, welcoming, and went out of their way to be helpful. A warm, friendly haven in Patagonia.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly, homely and comfortable hostel. The owners were helpful in everything we needed.

Disliked: The camping equipment wasn't entirely suitable for Torres Del Paine. Inadequate tent, no ground sheet, broken sleeping bag.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Natalie Pilling

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 March 2014 Natalie would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best hostels I have ever stayed at. I felt so much at home I didn't want to leave anymore. Monica and Andres (the couple running the hostel) bend over backwards to help you for anything - planning your hike in Torres del Paine, booking bus tickets, etc. Some people may be thrown off by the fact that breakfast is not included, but the palce is so great you quickly forget that you have to bring your own. Definitely recommend staying here!!

Disliked: Absolutely nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Natalie Petrou

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 March 2014 Natalie would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. Owners were just fantastic.. felt like you were family moment you arrived.. big welcome.. map and nearby shops etc.. showers hot ans powerful. Most comfortable bed and pillows.. ever great kitchen brilliant price

Disliked: Nothing.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: 英語が通じて、トレッキング情報やバスチケット、キャンプ用品が安くゲットできる。

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best hostels I've stayed in, owners are very friendly and helpful, kitchen area is good and the rooms are really spacious and the beds are soooooo comfy!

Disliked: Nothing really, it's a great hostel. The lounge area is not big but it's usually empty as most people don't stay long and just pass through on the way to or back from the W trek. The doorbell is also irritating but that's a small point!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sarah Jennings

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 February 2014 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: I loved staying here, it was a real home from home and the owners couldn't have been any more helpful and kind. They are super relaxed and and I felt like I was treated like family. It was warm, the showers were amazing, comfortable beds and great internet connection! The rooms are a couple of bedrooms inside the owners house, so you use their kitchen and living room but this never felt in the slightest bit awkward as they are such open and generous people. We were given so much excellent trekking advice about Torres del Paine and they helped organise our trip there (we did day trip not W but plenty of W hikers received all their advice from them too), and my trip to see penguins. I ended up staying 5 nights and would have happily stayed longer if I hadn't had a boat to catch. I would recommend this hostel to everyone!

Disliked: Sarah left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

nelba gaete

As a family with children

Family Holiday

24 February 2014 nelba would recommend this property

Liked: very clean, and pretty. the staff (owners) very nice and helpfull. big dorms, big kitchen, big diner place. i realy liked it!

Disliked: nothing, i loved it!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome place!! Modern kitchen and bathrooms, comfy beds, nice and light house. Owners are guides, so you can book most things from the hostel and they're very helpful with planning. Can alo rent gear here. Very secure.

Disliked: No breakfast.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Andres and Monica were extremely helpful, which really made our stay: as it was high season, their prompt booking of buses and tours made everything a lot more relaxing. The communal environment was also nice, the room clean, and shared bathroom facilities good quality (we didn't have a queue). Would highly recommend.

Disliked: N/A

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Benoit Thill

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 December 2013 Benoit would recommend this property

Liked: We had a fantastic stay at the hostel. Andres and Monica are awesome and have helped us to plan our stay in Patagonia! Definitely the best hostel we have been during our stay in Chile!!! Ben & Steph (belgium)

Disliked: Benoit left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I rarely review anything but the owners here were so nice they deserve it. They go way out of their way to make sure you are comfortable and help you with everything, from helping plan your trip to Torres del Paine national park or getting you bus tickets. And they are the opposite of pushy. Andres and Monica. Very good people. And they are honest. They hang on to your stuff while you trek. Nothing was missing, no problems.

Disliked: Not a thing. It's fantastic.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kai Ammerich

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 December 2013 Kai would recommend this property

Liked: friendly and helpful staff, rooms very clean and spacy

Disliked: Kai left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Giulio Barani

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 November 2013 Giulio would recommend this property

Liked: Very good atmospere, very clean and nice staff, very helpful.

Disliked: Giulio left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kevin Jessen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 November 2013 Kevin would recommend this property

Liked: Decent and clean rooms, good common area, quiete place. The staff was very helpfull in arranging transports (there was a strike at the border and they kept calling every hour to check whether i could book a bus ticket), renting camping gear, providing information. The owner also spoke pretty good english. I would definitely recommend this place.

Disliked: Kevin left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

JON UNZUETA

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 November 2013 JON would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel. Very nice staff and well located in the center of Puerto Natales, 15 min walking from the bus station.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ian baker

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 August 2013 ian would recommend this property

Liked: The owners were very friendly and helpful with anything you needed. They had plenty advice for the treks and plus you could rent camping gear from them to. The hostel is very homely.

Disliked: ian left no negative feedback.