We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Tren del Sur Hostel-Boutique

Hostel | Santa Teresa N° 643, San Pablo N*670, Puerto Montt, Chile 0.5504484

82.6% Overall Rating

128 out of 132 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (09/02/2014)

"Lovely rooms, good location not far from the town centre, good breakfast, quiet, great place to rest after a 30hour trip."

Read all Tren del Sur Hostel-Boutique reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 11.62

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Puerto Montt?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Puerto Montt

Hostal Millantú
21.59 USD

Guesthouse 75.8% 71 reviews
hospedaje corina
23.25 USD

Hostel 81.0% 34 reviews
Casa Perla
14.94 USD

Guesthouse 79.2% 200 reviews
Rocco Casa
21.59 USD

Guesthouse 83.1% 12 reviews
Parque Domo Andino
74.72 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.6%

Overall Rating

128 out of 132 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Tren del Sur Hostel-Boutique'

Atmosphere
84.8%
Location
72.0%
Facilities
78.4%
Cleanliness
88.8%
Staff
88.8%
Value
74.4%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 91 of 102 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely rooms, good location not far from the town centre, good breakfast, quiet, great place to rest after a 30hour trip.

Disliked: it's more like a hotel than a hostel, no kitchen, not a very big common area, restaurant was closed the day i was there.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bodo Michael Piller

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 June 2013 Bodo Michael would recommend this property

Liked: A very rustic atmosphere. A very good restaurant!! A very good, rich breakfast. Nice rooms, each with an individual character.

Disliked: Much more a hotel. You cannot prepare your own meals because there is no kitchen for common use.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, helpful staff and good breakfast.

Disliked: Was quite noisy as very thin walls and all the rooms come off the same internal coridoor.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was fantastic--extremely helpful in every single way. Free internet, let us use their phone, made useful recommendations. The decorating and overall atmosphere were great, and we feel they should really play up their on site restaurant "Anden", which was super good, elegant, and very nice for the money. Although the location is a bit far from the center or the waterfront neighborhood of Angelmo, it was a walkable distance, and the staff was available and willing to call taxis for us. Taxi pick up from the airport, and luggage storage were huge pluses for us as well.

Disliked: The physical layout of the rooms in relation to the common hallway made extreme noise an unavoidable problem. Also, we were suffocating in our room, which like all the others, only had a tiny bathroom window and a tinier vent window opening to the hallway for any air circulation. Thank god we were there during a cool period--must be tough in the warmer months.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Caroline Swanson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 February 2012 Caroline would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice place full of old photos and trinkets! The room was pretty big and we even had a jacuzzi corner bath!

Disliked: Our room was at the end of the corridor so a little bit gloomy.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jenna Seymour

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 February 2012 Jenna would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is fabulous. It is more a hotel than hostel really, i.e. no kitchen/ self catering facilities but great comfortable rooms with cable and large beds and bathrooms. The restaurant up stairs is great and delivers a welcomed piece of quality food and wine. I got the feeling that this hostel was one of the few, if not the only, "nice" place in Puerto Montt.

Disliked: Nothing really. It is not right bang in the middle of town, so you have to walk about 15 mins to get there.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I like the interior and style. Its different from other places

Disliked: Nada

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the look of the hotel is very artistic and with a lot of thought. very unusual and gives a lot of fun to stay in

Disliked: we did not have any dislikes at this hotel

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is very clean and welcoming. The rooms and ensuite bathrooms are a good size. The restaurant also is excellent.

Disliked: No opportunity to cook your own food.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Brad Baker

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 March 2011

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: This is not a Hostel, it's a Hotel. It's overpriced, it has a cold unwelcoming atmosphere, it's over decorated, they had lost my booking and had no idea that I was supposed to be arriving then put me in the system at an even higher price than what I should have already been paying, they put me isolated on the basement level in a room with no windows. This Hotel should not be listed in Hostelbookers as it is not a place which welcomes backpacker type travellers.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good atention, helpfull staff, decoration

Disliked: you can hear all the noises from the other guests

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Charles Zarza

With my spouse / partner

29 November 2010 Charles would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and quiet room. Great staff.

Disliked: Located 1 KM from Puerto Montt center & local bus lines

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Zee Connell

20 June 2010 Zee would recommend this property

Liked: It is warm, cosy and quiet.

Disliked: Zee left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Zee Connell

17 June 2010 Zee would recommend this property

Liked: This property had a great atmoshere. Very warm and cosy.

Disliked: Zee left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

10 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very good

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

10 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good and cute

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Karen Lowe

08 February 2010 Karen would recommend this property

Liked: Such a lovely hostel. It has to be the best place to stay in Peurto Montt....it is a 10min walk to the centre and water and benefits from being this far away. Lovely staff and stay in for the evening meal ....delicious food

Disliked: Karen left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Malin Eklund

27 January 2010 Malin would recommend this property

Liked: LOVED IT! Lovely atmosphere, helpfull staff! close to the main square. GOOD breakfost, the best we had in 3 month. Love the bubble bathtub! its was a bit expencive for us, but its worth every peny!!

Disliked: Malin left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Hayes

15 January 2010 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: I thought this place was great, very friendly and helpful, lovely atmosphere and close to the town centre. The food is super too :-)

Disliked: Michael left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

08 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: we liked the atmosphere and the warm welcome by the staff. The Christmas cocktail + dinner was a great idea!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

01 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Extremly helpfull staff !!!!!!! thanks again !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!fantastic place to arrive in chile :-D

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

ANGEL RUIZH

05 November 2009 ANGEL would recommend this property

Liked: nice

Disliked: ANGEL left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Caroline Jones

01 November 2009 Caroline would recommend this property

Liked: The jacuzzi in the bathroom was a nice surprise. In addition the helpfulness and friendliness of the manager was a bonus..

Disliked: Caroline left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Renato del Claro

25 April 2009 Renato would recommend this property

Liked: Tren del Sur is a very nice place to stay and to find people that enjoy discovering and exploring new places. The Staff is very friendly and gave us a lot of attention.

Disliked: Renato left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

rachel dunsdon

02 March 2009 rachel would recommend this property

Liked: We were able to check in very early in the morning. Full of character. Excellent breakfast with more choice than usual.

Disliked: rachel left no negative feedback.