HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Pucon hostels

Reviews of Ruka Pucón Hostel

Hostel | Del Pillán 101, Pucon, Chile 4920840

88.7% Overall Rating

37 out of 37 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/04/2013)

"Brilliant staff, lovely relaxed feel and comfy beds with well equipped kitchen. The house was toasty warm aswell - kept so by the wood stove."

Read all Ruka Pucón Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Pucon?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Pucon

Nativo Hostel
12.41 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hostel Donde German
14.78 USD

Hostel 87.4% 117 reviews
Elementos EcoHostel
0.01 USD

Guesthouse 91.4% 20 reviews
Hostal el Refugio
12.41 USD

Hostel 91.4% 188 reviews
House of Colors, Backpackers-hostel
14.19 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Lounge Brasil
26.40 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Hostal Emalafquen
14.19 USD

Guesthouse 95.0% 111 reviews
Princesa Insolente Hostel Pucon
13.30 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.7%

Overall Rating

37 out of 37 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Ruka Pucón Hostel'

Atmosphere
89.6%
Location
72.0%
Facilities
85.6%
Cleanliness
93.6%
Staff
96.0%
Value
94.4%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 32 of 36 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loved this property! Wonderful owners and really chilled out!

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

14 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Brilliant staff, lovely relaxed feel and comfy beds with well equipped kitchen. The house was toasty warm aswell - kept so by the wood stove.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was around half the price of other hostels located in the centre of Pucon. It was located a 15 minute walk from the town centre. There is a large common area, and the kitchen is reasonable.

Disliked: The walls are very thin, there was a young family staying with an insomniac 2 year old which made sleep difficult. There road is also reasonably noisy despite the residential appearance. The wifi is slow. There is only one bathroom/toilet.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Elia Orellana

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 January 2013 Elia would recommend this property

Liked: It felt well kept, nice living area, not noisy. On a cold rainy day they came in to light the fire which meant we could dry our clothes and stay warm!

Disliked: Slight disadvantage that it's not right in the centre but we knew this before we came and didn't mind the walk.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jon Zygadlo

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 November 2012 Jon would recommend this property

Liked: Cosy, comfortable place.

Disliked: Only one bathroom.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: o

Disliked: o

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean hostel, nice and helping staff. Small rooms, which enable to have a quiet atmosphere.

Disliked: A bit far from the center (10 to !5 min walk)

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Beany Townsend

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 April 2012 Beany would recommend this property

Liked: The owners are really kind and helpful people. I left my phone in a taxi and they managed to get it back for me in time to catch my bus which was such a releif. We'd already checked out so they didn't have to but they went out of their way to help. Lovely clean hostel with massive common area with tv and cosy woodburning stove, good for drying things after all the activities on offer! Would definately go back there again.

Disliked: Good 15 minute walk to city centre but it's not that bad unless your lazy!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The guy who runs it is very helpful and friendly. I was there in low season, so I had a room all to myself, which was nice. It was very cheap too.

Disliked: A bit of a walk from the center.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Max was a great help for planning my tours in Pucon! Overall a very nice familiar atmosphere with a big fully equipped kitchen in which you can cook everything!!

Disliked: It is a small walk from the city center. But in the end it takes only 10 minutes and it is nice to get out of the completely touristy center of Pucon.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Linda Brown

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 March 2012 Linda would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly Staff. Cosy lounge and good kitchen. secure parking.

Disliked: It turned cold, no heating in the bedrooms.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Lachlan Moore

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 March 2012 Lachlan would recommend this property

Liked: Very cosy, Max was very helpful and entertaining. Value for money in Pucon. Kitchen was spacious and tidy.

Disliked: Lachlan left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: really lovely staff and great place for friendly people and good recommendations for stuff to do in Pucon

Disliked: nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Ling Yin Phyllis Ho

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 March 2012 Ling Yin Phyllis would recommend this property

Liked: It's really quiet and clean (especially the kitchen).

Disliked: It's 20 minutes walk away from the main street.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the german boy was very friendly and helpful, n was cozy nice room.

Disliked: it was alittle bit away from center, but only like 10 min walk

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Ralf Kittler

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 February 2012 Ralf would recommend this property

Liked: Sehr nettes Hostel, etwas abseits vom Zentrum gelegen. Kueche und Bad sehr sauber. Ruhig, eher etwas fuer Leute die Ruhe suchen. Nix fuer Party-Typen. Die 2-Bett-Dorms sind in Wirklichkeit 3-Bett-Dorms. Ich war aber zwei Naechte allein.

Disliked: Etwas zu weit vom Zentrum.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The family and the young international help they have are very useful and social. It id a small initimate hostel that feels like a home. They organise evening meals that brings the whole place together.

Disliked: Just 1 bathroom and toilet can cause a jam esp as they recommend checking out bet 10:30 and 11:00. The internet connection is painfully slow and maybe they can upgrade the computer to make life a bit easy.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: kitchen was well equipped.

Disliked: might think about some kind of system for the fridge and not just throw awy everything all the time. seems very clean, but also really rude.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

MARGARET RULLI

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 February 2012 MARGARET would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was incredibly friendly and the rooms and common area were nice and comfy. It was a great place to hang out and cook meals after a day of exploring Pucon.

Disliked: A little far out of the center of town, but in a safe and nice neighborhood. No breakfast at the hostel (Although most in Pucon do not offer this) but they had a great kitchen to cook in.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Jonathan Maytham

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 January 2012 Jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: It has a nice feel to it and the other guests were interesting (pot luck, not the hostel really) The staff were really excellent but temporary (aren´t they all?)

Disliked: It is a long walk from the bus (at least 16 minutes with a bag, not 6! and 25 from the Pullman depot) There is only one toilet, and it is in the bathroom. The hosts were civil but not very sociable, perhaps nervous of their English.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We absolutely loved our stay here and extended it from 2 to 4 days wishing we could stay longer. Phillipe and Max made us feel at home and gave us loads of useful info. They also organised a pizza night and other fun things. Cabins are lovely and clean, really good facilities.

Disliked: Nothing, was great!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was cosy and the staff were very helpful and informative.

Disliked: Nothing.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Matt Shaw

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 November 2011 Matt would recommend this property

Liked: This Hostel is run by a lovely Chilean couple. The rooms are quite small (we had the triple room) but they are clean and warm. The walls of the room are thin so you can hear the noise of the kitchen if you happen to get the room near the kitchen. The living area is large and has sofa’s, a nice log fire and a computer for internet access (also has free wifi). You are very much left to your own devices to come and go freely (the hostel is next to, but separate to the owners house) which was fine for us, but might not suit people travelling alone as it’s not really got a hostel ‘buzz’, more like a motel feel. It is a little out of the centre of Pucon and if you are walking back at night the roads are quite dark, although Pucon appeared to be quite a safe place.

Disliked: -

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andreas Twardon

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 April 2011 Andreas would recommend this property

Liked: all

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: As the description says it is a home away from home. Well equipped kitchen, nice cozy meals and lounge area. It is about 15 minutes walk from town with your packs, but is is definitley worth the extra few minutes. The hostel is close enough to bars, tour operators, bus stations and supermarkets, but far way enough to get a good nights sleep after a long hike or a big night out. If you only speak english then Philippe is the man you need to ask for. He checks in with his guests both at breakfast and dinner time.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike about the property more the layout of the bus stations in Pukon. Each bus company has its own station in different locations so read the hostels directions carefully before you arrive. They cover all bases.


See all Pucon hostels