We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Pucon hostels

Reviews of Hostal Emalafquen

Guesthouse | Arauco 565, Pucon, Chile 4920000

95.1% Overall Rating

112 out of 112 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (25/08/2014)

Jorge Casanova Alonso thinks…

"Everything perfect. Very helpful Real hot water. Good indications, good location and recomendations."

Read all Hostal Emalafquen reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free city tour
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Room service (24 hour)
  • Room service (limited hours)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Television room
  • Sofa

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Pucon?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Pucon

House of Colors, Backpackers-hostel
13.31 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Lounge Brasil
25.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Hostal el Refugio
12.48 USD

Hostel 92.6% 189 reviews
Princesa Insolente Hostel Pucon
10.81 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Nativa Hostel
11.65 USD

Apartment 83.7% 49 reviews
Cabañas Amapolas
19.97 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Nativo Hostel
11.65 USD

Hostel 93.3% 3 reviews
Paradise Pucon Hostel
16.64 USD

Hostel 87.6% 14 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
95.1%

Overall Rating

112 out of 112 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostal Emalafquen'

Atmosphere
93.6%
Location
97.6%
Facilities
91.2%
Cleanliness
95.2%
Staff
98.4%
Value
94.4%
Safety
95.2%
Refine your results Showing 93 of 109 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jorge Casanova Alonso

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

25 August 2014 Jorge would recommend this property

Liked: Everything perfect. Very helpful Real hot water. Good indications, good location and recomendations.

Disliked: Nothing... everything was perfect, even the weather!!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Julia Silva

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway

20 June 2014 Julia would recommend this property

Liked: ótimo atendimento, localização e espaço

Disliked: o wifi não funciona direito de noite

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Best hostel in pucon! Amazing staff, beautiful and warm location, clean, and safe. It felt like a home and was so comfortable! Highly recommended

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bruno de Oliveira Lessa

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 May 2014 Bruno would recommend this property

Liked: Local Incrível. Me senti em casa. Emma e Valentina, as donas, me fizeram senti em casa. Recomendadíssimo !!!

Disliked: Bruno left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

William Wettenhall

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 April 2014 William would recommend this property

Liked: Large and clean rooms, lovely staff, great location, best kitchen ever!

Disliked: William left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful friendly staff. We had originally booked this hostel for 3 nights but because we changed travel plans, only stayed one. Staff were very easy about changing the booking. We were able to leave our bags when we went on a volcano hike on our check out day, to pay when we returned later that evening and were given a room and towels to change and were able to use the showers while we waited for our bus which didn't leave until 9:45pm at no extra charge. Good kitchen and communal areas and immaculately clean. Comfortable bed.Generally, very good value for money.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

julie chaudier

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 January 2014 julie would recommend this property

Liked: The best mattresses of 6 months travelling! The owner is very helpful and welcoming, feeling like home. Kitchen well equipped The 3 beds dormitory in the house separated was definitively comfy, super value for money. A good place to relax after rough excursions !

Disliked: The double room was expensive, that's why we staid one night only.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We had a 4 bed room as our double room. Nice cabin with kitchen. Owner helpful. Location good, just a 2min walk to cafes and bars. Easy to know people. Awesome garden!

Disliked: We couldnt find the bell to ring. Gate was unlocked all the time. It's not really a hostel, but cabins. Wifi slow.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and the owner was wonderful. Three of us were given the 5 bed cabin all to ourselves which was great. The kitchen was well-equipped and we had a nice log fire. Free wifi (although it doesn't always reach the cabins very well) and secure parking.

Disliked: The kitchen cupboards could have been cleaner, but everything else was spotless.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

08 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Spacious rooms and free parking inside the compound. Clean facilities and free towels provided

Disliked: Could use some renovation, but everything works well and was clean

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: LOVED THIS HOSTEL. Staff were amazing. Hostel was always warm, clean and very much like a home. We were upgraded from a 5 bed dorm to a private twin ensuite for no extra charge, we even extended for longer and they charged us the same rate and we kept the same room. Very informative.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lee Jones

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 September 2013 Lee would recommend this property

Liked: We loved this hostel. It's set up as a house share so even with choosing the mixed dorm option my boyfriend and I had a twin room in the cabin to ourselves. We shared the bathroom, kitchen, and living area with the other three guests but it was a nice intimate atmosphere and the hostel owners couldn't have been more friendly or helpful - always checking in the make sure the fire is well kept and the cabin is clean. It's. rocks throw from the bus station and just a few blocks from the main drag in town. We would definitely stay here again.

Disliked: Lee left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel consists of 3 cabins, each with a double room and a 3-bed dorm. So with max. capicity you share your bathroom and kitchen with only 4 others! Theres a fireplace inside the cabin that the lady looks after so you dont come home in a cold cabin.

Disliked: Duringthe night, the fire goes out and it get really cold. Not really pleasant when you wake up. Also the wifi is terrible inside the cabins.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Petia Rayner

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 July 2013 Petia would recommend this property

Liked: It was fantastic! Smaller and intimate with agreat vibe. A nice wooden hostel with a beautiful wood fireplace. We met some other great travellers and the staff were really helpful always with a massive smile on their face.

Disliked: Petia left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Amanda Poulter

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 May 2013 Amanda would recommend this property

Liked: An amazing place to stay, we were met from the bus from Santiago even though the hostel owner didnt know we were arriving that way, she had met the earlier bus just in case, exceptional service, the day we checked out we asked to leave our bags as we were climbing the volcano which takes all day, she let us keep the room without charging us so we could shower before we headed off for the bus back to Santiago, very helpful and friendly, the whole hostel was spotless, excellent value for money.

Disliked: Amanda left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good communal areas including garden. Really lovely owner.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The property is run by two extraordinarily kind and helpful ladies who more than make up for any minor grievances one may have with the facilities.

Disliked: The wifi range isn't the greatest.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christopher Laver

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 March 2013 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic location, we booked a 5 bed dorm but the dorm was split into 2 separate rooms (a 2 bed and a 3 bed room), we were the only people in the dorm which is in a separate block to the hostel and it had its own bathroom, kitchen and dining area so it was very quiet and easy to sleep, very comfy beds, we were, it's good value for money and very clean, there was also a ripe peach tree just outside our dorm meaning we had a limitless supply of very tasty free peaches to eat. There was also very conveniently washing lines and a nice hammock at our disposal as well.

Disliked: It was quite quiet - but when you're surrounded by so much beautiful nature this is not really a problem. Staff also speak very little English, however this wasn't really a problem for the 2 of us as I speak Spanish. The staff are great though and very helpful and friendly. Definitely did not dislike much at all about this hostel.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Todd Hodder

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 March 2013 Todd would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, secure, comfortable beds, good showers, and close to all amenities. Friendly staff who are patient with broken Spanish.

Disliked: Wifi only works in certain areas, not in the bedrooms, so planning our excursions was a bit tricky at times as you had to stand in certain spots.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa

21 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place, cute and welcoming.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Woohyoung Kim

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

27 January 2013 Woohyoung would recommend this property

Liked: Absolutely the best location ever- super close to the major bus stations, local bus stops, main streets, supermarkets etc. Not on the main street (a few blocks away) so you get to stay away from crazy noisy people from the bars. The owner lady was fantastic - friendly and understandable of our situation and help us through a lot.

Disliked: Woohyoung left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Perucha Hutagaol

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 January 2013 Perucha would recommend this property

Liked: Very strategic location in quiet street, very clean, very nice hosts (Emma & Valentina), best value for money, and they have the most comfortable bed and pillows among all the hostels I ever stayed!

Disliked: If you ever stay on their bed, you won't feel like to wake up! :)

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

christopher coleman

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 December 2012 christopher would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the centre of town and the bus stations.Very clean and has wifi. The kitchen you can use is roomy with lots of pans equipment etc.

Disliked: The wifi was a bit hit and miss.But it was similar throughout Pucon.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very helpful host

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Salman Ahmed

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 December 2012 Salman would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was absolutely lovely

Disliked: Salman left no negative feedback.


See all Pucon hostels