We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Pucon hostels

Reviews of Hostal el Refugio

Hostel | Palguín 540, Pucon, Chile .

92.6% Overall Rating

176 out of 189 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (06/09/2014)

Leon Boerboom thinks…

"Close to center, nice and inviting communal area, clean and fairly big room. Most of the staff is very helpful."

Read all Hostal el Refugio reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note that after you receive your booking confirmation you will need to contact the hostel directly in order to inform your arrival time.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Pucon?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Pucon

House of Colors, Backpackers-hostel
13.46 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Lounge Brasil
25.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Hostal Emalafquen
16.83 USD

Guesthouse 95.1% 112 reviews
Nativo Hostel
11.78 USD

Hostel 93.3% 3 reviews
Hostel Donde German
14.24 USD

Hostel 88.5% 118 reviews
Princesa Insolente Hostel Pucon
10.94 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Nativa Hostel
11.78 USD

Apartment 83.7% 49 reviews
Elementos EcoHostel
0.01 USD

Guesthouse 91.4% 20 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.6%

Overall Rating

176 out of 189 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostal el Refugio'

Atmosphere
92.8%
Location
96.8%
Facilities
90.4%
Cleanliness
85.6%
Staff
94.4%
Value
92.0%
Safety
96.0%
Refine your results Showing 155 of 171 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Leon Boerboom

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 September 2014 Leon would recommend this property

Liked: Close to center, nice and inviting communal area, clean and fairly big room. Most of the staff is very helpful.

Disliked: One of the staff was smoking in the doorway all the time, causing the communal area to smell like smoke

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break

05 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was great in the hostel and there were super cute dog and cat. Atmosphere was very friendly and we got good advices to what to do in Pucón. We had too less time in there.

Disliked: The rooms were a bit cold (winter time) but the fireplaces saved the situation.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Monique Triglia

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2014 Monique would recommend this property

Liked: By far the best hostel I've stayed in during my south American travels and right up their with my top stay around the world. The current managers Heidi and Santi are absolutely fantastic. They happily let us stay around the hostel before check in and then the whole day after we'd checked out. They were sociable, friendly and made sure we were enjoying our stay. An absolute asset to the place, this hostel will go far with them running it. Loved Negra too, breath of fresh air to havea dog around

Disliked: Could have used another toilet but apart from that no flaws!

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hendrik Schaefer

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 May 2014 Hendrik would recommend this property

Liked: nice common area, central, very kind staff, wide variety on activites to offer (also free ones)

Disliked: The common area is right next to the rooms (wooden walls), we had people sitting until 4am in the morning playing drinking games & stuff which is not so helpful if you want to get up early (for the volcano at 6am i.e.), staff tried to calm the group down several times but without longer effect, maybe they were a bit too kind to them in this manner.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

julie chaudier

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 January 2014 julie would recommend this property

Liked: Very secure. Good value for money for a double room. Bathroom clean

Disliked: Terribly noisy, teenager staff unable to control the noise performed by clients (mainly teenagers also). Common areas are definitely too small when the hostel is full... finding seats to eat can be a struggle...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Kai Ammerich

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 November 2013 Kai would recommend this property

Liked: vrey helpfull dtaff, hostal is like a ski hut, very nice and comfortable, enjoyed our stay very much

Disliked: breakfast could be included :)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Simon Bentley

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

31 October 2013 Simon would recommend this property

Liked: Loved this hostel! Staff are super helpful and the hostel itself has so much information on local activities and onwards travels. Small hostel so easy to meet others, comfy beds, warm showers. Oh and lovely hostel pets!

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ondrej Pinkas

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 September 2013 Ondrej would recommend this property

Liked: location, unlimited hot water and internet use, full-equipped kitchen, friendly staff

Disliked: maybe a breakfast included, but for this price it is OK

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very huge amount of things that you can book there and they inform you excellently about the tours etc. In general: very friendly and helpful staff!

Disliked: Kitchen is a little bit small.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Francesca Whitlock

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 September 2013 Francesca would recommend this property

Liked: Can't recommend El Refugio highly enough - cosy, WARM (very important in Pucón!) with very comfy beds, in a lovely log cabin-style house. Not too big so it has a really homely and welcoming atmosphere. Well-stocked kitchen (including a moka pot!), clean bathrooms with reliable hot water, really convenient location. The staff are unfailingly helpful and friendly, full of information about the local area - they set us up for the volcano hike with some fantastic guides. Overall muy buena onda in one of the nicest hostels I've ever stayed in - thank you guys, I'll be back!

Disliked: Francesca left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were incredibly helpful and extremely friendly.

Disliked: I paid for 4 person dorm but had to share 1 shower with 8 other people....? Sheets aren't always changed between people.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jamie Green

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 June 2013 Jamie would recommend this property

Liked: This is the BEST hostel I´ve ever stayed in all around the world! James and the staff were the friendliest people that enjoyed helping us figure out our plans; but not only did they help us, James organized all of our activities with the people in charge of the activity, who he knows personally! He even got us a dicount on a few activities because he is just that GREAT! The hostel feels like a home! It is very clean and comforting. The beds were exceptionally comfortable, and the showers were hot. The location is amazing- just two blocks from main downtown! I honestly couldn´t recommend this hostel more...stop reading the reviews and book it now!!! You won´t regret it!

Disliked: I didn´t dislike anything.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Valerie Garside

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 May 2013 Valerie would recommend this property

Liked: The place was really welcoming and cosy, the log fires were ace to warm up by. The staff were very helpful, and gave really unbiased useful information about local activities giving info about both their own excursions and those of other operators so you could make the right decision about your activities. They also gave lots of info about free activities you could do. I was there for three days and the hostel's guides were the only ones out of four or five operators that managed to get their groups to the top of the volcano every day, all the others stopped about two thirds of the way up.

Disliked: The kitchen could have had slightly more equipment (pots and pans etc). It wasn't terrible but compared to other places they were a bit short on cooking utensils!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The ease of signing up for excursions. Everything was clean.

Disliked: bathrooms were crowded

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was super cozy and their staff was extremely helpful in setting up tours and excursions. Most excursions left directly from the hostel. Beds and bathrooms were clean and the wood stove in the living room made our stay the best ever! And Negra, the dog, was adorable and cuddly.

Disliked: There weren't really enough bathrooms for everyone. This hostel is like the TARDIS--it's bigger on the inside and when there are so many people staying the kitchen/bathrooms/common spaces can get crowded.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Mutlu Gunay

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 April 2013 Mutlu would recommend this property

Liked: Small, cosy, friendly and welcoming. It is right next to the bus station and one block to center. Staff is very helpfull with activities.

Disliked: Wish they had more toilets but it is ok after all

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ana Crisan

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 March 2013 Ana would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very friendly and helpful, giving us a lot of information about things we could do in the area. It's super close to all the bus terminals and to the center of the town. We booked a trip to the summit of the Villarrica volcano with them and everything went smoothly, even though we were a full group (18 people, all from the hostel). The atmosphere was nice, people were always hanging out in the common area and sharing stories.

Disliked: The only slight downside is the fact that sometimes you have to wait for a shower or just going to the bathroom as there are only 3 bathrooms (I believe), so if the hostel is pretty full, like it was when we were there, it can get pretty crowded. Also, it would've been nice to have breakfast included, but that was not a big minus point for us.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Steve Haley

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 February 2013 Steve would recommend this property

Liked: Cosy hostel

Disliked: The fact that we booked the tour to climb Villarica volcano with el Refugio and left at 7am to get to the base only to be told immediately after getting out of the truck that the climb was cancelled due to the clouds? It was obvious that the guides knew the volcano climb was not going to be possible when they picked us up at the hostel and we ended up having to pay 5000 pesos for the truck ride to see a volcano covered by clouds? Very dishonest?? So if you see clouds on the volcano the morning of your climb go back to bed and save yourself 5000 pesos! This is what we call a set up! I cant believe that over 60 people were driven up to the base only to be told it was no go? They need to have a guide check the conditions in the morning and ring the hostels so people dont have their time wasted and others in the dorm dont get woken at 5.30am for no reason! Point made i hope?

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Meagan Lee

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 January 2013 Meagan would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, staff were great, beds pretty good but bunks very high! Good common areas to meet other travellers, good advice and activities on offer. Kitchen also pretty good.

Disliked: Showers not great, was pretty expensive and you don't get anything extra for what you pay, but I guess it was Pucon in high season.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: absolutely homely hostel! we felt ourselves very comfortable during our stay! really nice atmosphere inside...especially the fireside is awsome after the trekking tour to the villarica volcano

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Alfredo Rodriguez

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 January 2013 Alfredo would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent homey feel with friendly and helpful staff. Theres lots of outdoor activities in Pucon so knowledgable staff is key. The hostel itself is small but cozy and a great place to recahrge your batteries. Thanks to Alec and staff for a great stay.

Disliked: Alfredo left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Thomas Maege

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 December 2012

Liked: The location and the offered Tours are very good.

Disliked: It´s one of the dirtiest hostel, I stayed during my trip.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Actually wanted to stay for two nights but quickly realised i have to extend my stay at El Refugio. Amazing atmosphere in this chalet style hostel and staff which is super friendly, helpful and with a professional attitude anytime. You feel becoming part of the family :). Had such a good time. El Refugio is the place to stay in Pucon.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good Atmosphere, small + v easy to meet others. Comfy beds in top dorm. Fab warm stove in main area that makes it so cozy. Only recommend reputable companies. V helpful with advice on hikes.

Disliked: Kitchen too small when hostel full, have to wait to cook. Not enough fridge + food storage space. Not enough bathrooms and water not always hot. Staff have hangovers too often which is not terrible but we are all a little slower when hungover.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was run really well, lots of information on the many activities and adventures that pucon has to offer (many of which are free or that you can do yourself). The guys running the hostel were excellent - giving advice and joining in the fun! Great atomphere, nice place to chill out as well as party and adventure. BBQ was yummy and good value for money!! Felt extremely welcomed and comfortable. Our 3 nights turned into 10!!! GREAT PLACE!!

Disliked: Nothing


See all Pucon hostels