HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Hostal El Refugio Pucon Hostel

Palguin 540, Pucon, Chile

Atmosphere 92%

Cleanliness 87%

Facilities 89%

Location 96%

Safety 97%

Staff 94%

Value 91%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine

Important Information

Please note that after you receive your booking confirmation you will need to contact the hostel directly in order to inform your arrival time.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 08:00

Latest Check-out: 10:30

Policies

  • Credit Cards Not Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Pucon?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 92%

Cleanliness 87%

Facilities 89%

Location 96%

Safety 97%

Staff 94%

Value 91%

Showing 1-10 of 14 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Everything, really nice Stadt, good time there

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Clean hostel, big beds.

Disliked: Wifi didn't work for most of the time that I stayed there. Staff said it is a regular thing and didn't bother to check or fix it. Rooms are very small. I stayed in the 4bed dorm and had the upper bunk. Upper bunk was too close to the ceiling - so couldn't even sit straight.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Close to center, nice and inviting communal area, clean and fairly big room. Most of the staff is very helpful.

Disliked: One of the staff was smoking in the doorway all the time, causing the communal area to smell like smoke

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break

Liked: Staff was great in the hostel and there were super cute dog and cat. Atmosphere was very friendly and we got good advices to what to do in Pucón. We had too less time in there.

Disliked: The rooms were a bit cold (winter time) but the fireplaces saved the situation.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your comment, guys! Really nice having you here! The fireplaces here are absolutely amazing, I live next to them (: Such a shame the cat is only staying for a couple of more weeks, but Negra will stick around! Hugs

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 May 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: By far the best hostel I've stayed in during my south American travels and right up their with my top stay around the world. The current managers Heidi and Santi are absolutely fantastic. They happily let us stay around the hostel before check in and then the whole day after we'd checked out. They were sociable, friendly and made sure we were enjoying our stay. An absolute asset to the place, this hostel will go far with them running it. Loved Negra too, breath of fresh air to havea dog around

Disliked: Could have used another toilet but apart from that no flaws!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you so much Monique! We had a really good time with you girls here, it`s so easy to have a good hostel - atmosphere when the guests are absolutely fantastic! Come back one day and we`ll do another BBQ. Best Regards, Heidi and Santi

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: nice common area, central, very kind staff, wide variety on activites to offer (also free ones)

Disliked: The common area is right next to the rooms (wooden walls), we had people sitting until 4am in the morning playing drinking games & stuff which is not so helpful if you want to get up early (for the volcano at 6am i.e.), staff tried to calm the group down several times but without longer effect, maybe they were a bit too kind to them in this manner.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Very secure. Good value for money for a double room. Bathroom clean

Disliked: Terribly noisy, teenager staff unable to control the noise performed by clients (mainly teenagers also). Common areas are definitely too small when the hostel is full... finding seats to eat can be a struggle...

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: vrey helpfull dtaff, hostal is like a ski hut, very nice and comfortable, enjoyed our stay very much

Disliked: breakfast could be included :)

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Loved this hostel! Staff are super helpful and the hostel itself has so much information on local activities and onwards travels. Small hostel so easy to meet others, comfy beds, warm showers. Oh and lovely hostel pets!

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: location, unlimited hot water and internet use, full-equipped kitchen, friendly staff

Disliked: maybe a breakfast included, but for this price it is OK

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability