HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Hostal El Refugio Pucon Hostel

Palguin 540, Pucon, Chile

Atmosphere 92%

Cleanliness 87%

Facilities 89%

Location 96%

Safety 97%

Staff 94%

Value 91%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine

Important Information

Please note that after you receive your booking confirmation you will need to contact the hostel directly in order to inform your arrival time.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 08:00

Latest Check-out: 10:30

Policies

  • Credit Cards Not Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Pucon?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 92%

Cleanliness 87%

Facilities 89%

Location 96%

Safety 97%

Staff 94%

Value 91%

Showing 51-14 of 14 reviews

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Nov 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The friendly staff and the location

Disliked: The bathrooms are really dirty even for a hostel. No other hostel I have ever been was so dirty and I travel a lot.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Nov 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: very helpful, friendly staff.good atmosphere, all the facilities there

Disliked: -

Customer would recommend this property

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Nov 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: It has a nice common area.

Disliked: It doesn't look quite as nice as in the photos and it is very, very noisy if you have a room on the ground floor.

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Nov 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Ver warm and welcoming atmosphere. lovely comunal space and nice clean rooms. The staff where very accomodating and helped us with bus organisation and ideas for things to do. Great idea of having a shelf for food that was no longer wanted by other travelers.

Disliked: Kitchen was a little squished, just being picky

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Oct 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Hostel is located directly across the road from the bus station, and down the road from a few great places to eat. Also the staff let us stay in the hostel long after we checked out and even streamed movies for us to watch while we were waiting for our bus later that evening.

Disliked: Nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Oct 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Heaps of young people, cosy and friendly atmosphere with the open fireplace in the living room! Great place to stay for tours around Pucon!

Disliked: Kitchen a bit small and messy sometimes.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Oct 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: homely, intimate, warm, friendly, Anna, really nice place.

Disliked: nothing springs to mind.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Oct 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Nicest hostel we have stayed in in South America! Staff were unbelieveably friendly and went out of their way to help us. Comfiest beds ever, such a nice The Irish Girls :)

Disliked: NADA

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Sep 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: El Refugio is a cosy, friendly environment. The rooms are spacious and comfy and very good value for money. There is a great shared living area where comfortable couches huddle around the fire. The showers are hot. We were even lucky enough to have a room with our own wood fire. Heidi on staff was extremely helpful, attentive and friendly.

Disliked: I wish they changed the hand towel in the bathroom more frequently.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Sep 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Our stay was great! We booked 2 nights and end up staying 4. The volcano tour that we booked with the hostel was great and a must do, also during our stay we had Asado wich was yummy.

Disliked: The Hydrospeed tour we booked with the hostel was good fun but we got half of the promise time and we didn´t get pictures/video as we were told, it was too expensive for what we got.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability