HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Pucon hostels

Reviews of Hostal el Refugio

Hostel | Palguín 540, Pucon, Chile .

89.9% Overall Rating

171 out of 184 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/11/2013)

Kai Ammerich thinks…

"vrey helpfull dtaff, hostal is like a ski hut, very nice and comfortable, enjoyed our stay very much"

Read all Hostal el Refugio reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note that after you receive your booking confirmation you will need to contact the hostel directly in order to inform your arrival time.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Pucon?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Pucon

House of Colors, Backpackers-hostel
14.41 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Lounge Brasil
40.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Hostal Emalafquen
14.41 USD

Guesthouse 94.2% 106 reviews
Nativo Hostel
12.61 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hostel Donde German
20.72 USD

Hostel 86.6% 115 reviews
Princesa Insolente Hostel Pucon
12.61 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Nativa Hostel
14.41 USD

Apartment 83.7% 49 reviews
Elementos EcoHostel
9.01 USD

Guesthouse 92.4% 18 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.9%

Overall Rating

171 out of 184 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostal el Refugio'

Atmosphere
91.2%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
86.4%
Cleanliness
82.4%
Staff
92.8%
Value
88.8%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 151 of 166 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Customer review

06 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the staff, the house, the price and the location.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

03 February 2010

Liked: it was okay, the bed was very comfuertable. cleaness more or less. it was nod bad but there are better hostels in pucon =)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

03 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: El Rufugio was like staying at a mate's house (although maybe they lived in student digs)... very friendly and welcoming and lots of activities on offer. Just a note that your hostelbookers 10% doesn't count towards your room - it's apparently a booking fee. Normally we might have argued but the girls seemed to give us a deal on the tours and they were so nice that we didn't care.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

rodrigo belda

31 January 2010 rodrigo would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff. Helped with any questions and doubts we have about the city/tours. Good place to meet people. Clean bathrooms. Strongly recommend!! Ah, great dog also.

Disliked: rodrigo left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

27 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere was very relaxed and everyone was very friendly, this relaxation did lead to a few mix-ups over beds though, which the staff didn't seem too fussed about. I also got a lot of bed bug bites here. Overall the location and atmosphere was great though.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Alex Oneill

11 January 2010 Alex would recommend this property

Liked: th atmosphere, the people the place. It was a great and chilled out hostel. The activities on offer were fantastic (shame the Volcano was not open due to weather) and reasonalbly proced. The staff were mor than happy to go out of their way to ensure that you got onto the activity you wanted, even if it was not one on their list! I would recommend this hostel to anyone who wants to stay in Pucon- Its location is ideal (right next to the bus station) and its just a great laugh. Be warned- the dog is a menace.... only joking, negra the dog is ultra friendly- but that does mean if you have a fer of dog, or are allergic this is not the place for you as she will always greet you!

Disliked: Alex left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sofia Ferraz

09 January 2010 Sofia would recommend this property

Liked: i liked very much the atmosphere. the bedroom was very cozy and negra was very cute.

Disliked: Sofia left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sarah Holohan

11 December 2009 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Brilliant hostel run by a great pair of girls. Central location, comfy beds and good advice on trips. Nice dog too!

Disliked: Sarah left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Christopher Wong

05 November 2009

Liked: Owner was lovely and knowledgable but we only saw him for ten minutes during our 5 night stay. Instead we had to deal with an unfriendly, unhelpful and loud staff member, who is also a guide for the volcano. For this reason we did not book the volcano tour with him but tried to make us feel extremely guilty for this. He also tried to charge us 98,000 pesos for our stay when HostelBookers said we owed 84,000 pesos. After showing him our email from HostelBookers he still wanted to charge us 98,000 pesos. Other 2 staff are friendly but new so don't have much knowledge of Pucon. Small kitchen but big enough for us to cook our meals. Hostel has 2 bathrooms which are shared by 15 guests and 3 staff. Hostel is very warm with log burner constantly on. Great location close to main road and bus stations. Bedrooms are of good size with TV and good storage space. Overall, our stay was ruined by the one staff member. Owner definitely needs more input into his hostel.

Disliked: Christopher left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Adrian Hyde

28 October 2009 Adrian would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, lovely dog.

Disliked: Adrian left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sarah Sherratt

27 October 2009 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to stay - very friendly host and dog! Very homely feel with log burners and comfortable sofas. They organised a great BBQ with excellent food and drinks. Highly recommended.

Disliked: Sarah left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Neil Vigar

23 October 2009 Neil would recommend this property

Liked: Good location right next to bus stations and close to centre

Disliked: Neil left no negative feedback.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

01 October 2009

Liked: the dog

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew Robins

28 September 2009 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, great place to meet people and the best breakfast so far!!

Disliked: Andrew left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

michael prior

21 September 2009 michael would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, great beds, best hostel i have stayed in

Disliked: michael left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michela Bellodi

12 September 2009 Michela would recommend this property

Liked: Very warm and lovely

Disliked: Michela left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

07 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff really helpful, a very homey atmosphere. It was pretty quiet when I was there, and there weren`t many people around, because of the weather. The staff didn`t try and sell me any tours, but were very honest and said that it wouldn`t be a good day. An excellent hostel - I will go back when the weather is better!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

06 September 2009

Liked: location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

05 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is a beautiful log cabin with a real wood stove and a lovely dog called la negra which the owner´s let us walk! we loved every second of our stay here. It´s so rustic and it´s a great place to chill out with a glass of wine next to the fire. The bedrooms can be a little cold but the whole atmosphere of the place really did make up for any of its shortcomings.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Angela Geard

12 August 2009 Angela would recommend this property

Liked: Nice relaxed atmosphere. Very homely.

Disliked: Angela left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

anita jacak

03 August 2009 anita would recommend this property

Liked: A fab hostel, very cozy and with the fire on I felt as if I were at home. Great location! All the staff, Victor and Peter were very helpful and pleasant to be around with. I will definitely come back here shortly

Disliked: anita left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Daan Tol

07 May 2009 Daan would recommend this property

Liked: Really liked the hostel >> we were nearly the only guests then! So it was very relaxing for us. Although they have to get a better boiler - or repair this one...warm water wasn't always available in the shower...

Disliked: Daan left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

03 May 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really liked the dog (Negra)...

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Edward Byrne

26 April 2009 Edward would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent place to stay, really friendly and helpful staff. Feels like your in your own house with friends. Go there...

Disliked: Edward left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sian Lewis

20 April 2009 Sian would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly homely atmosphere

Disliked: Sian left no negative feedback.


See all Pucon hostels