HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Pucon hostels

Reviews of Hostal el Refugio

Hostel | Palguín 540, Pucon, Chile .

89.9% Overall Rating

171 out of 184 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/11/2013)

Kai Ammerich thinks…

"vrey helpfull dtaff, hostal is like a ski hut, very nice and comfortable, enjoyed our stay very much"

Read all Hostal el Refugio reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note that after you receive your booking confirmation you will need to contact the hostel directly in order to inform your arrival time.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Pucon?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Pucon

House of Colors, Backpackers-hostel
14.35 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Lounge Brasil
40.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Hostal Emalafquen
14.35 USD

Guesthouse 94.2% 106 reviews
Nativo Hostel
12.55 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hostel Donde German
20.75 USD

Hostel 86.6% 115 reviews
Princesa Insolente Hostel Pucon
12.55 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Nativa Hostel
14.35 USD

Apartment 83.7% 49 reviews
Elementos EcoHostel
0.02 USD

Guesthouse 91.4% 20 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.9%

Overall Rating

171 out of 184 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostal el Refugio'

Atmosphere
91.2%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
86.4%
Cleanliness
82.4%
Staff
92.8%
Value
88.8%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 151 of 166 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: really nice hostel!!! loved Tanya and David and the beds were comfy :)

Disliked: the maid was kinda pushy...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stephen Chappell

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 March 2011 Stephen would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, great location. The beds are big and very comfy. The staff give good advice on tours and expeditions and the evening entertainment is class, especially the asado´s!

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: excellent hostel with very friendly staff!very relaxed vibe!spontaneous wine tasting night was great fun!

Disliked: nothing!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 February 2011

Liked: The staff were friendly and organised a great wine and cheese night; they had a washing machine.

Disliked: Showers were cold for the entire five days; the common area was far too small for the number of guests; our door didn't lock; the owners were no where to be seen, despite everything we'd read about their hands-on approach (they left the running to part-time staff who struggled with the responsibility).

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Callum McLean

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 February 2011 Callum would recommend this property

Liked: Location fantastic, though I forgot my directions, they weren't needed as 99% of buses pull up right next to the hostel! Staff fantastic, they organised tours for everyone and gave advice for things to do - they even helped to reunite me with my phone charger which I left in Pucon! Not to mention the Chilean lady working there is awesome and basically the mother of every guest at the hostel - she even did my laundry for free. The dorms and beds are nice (duvets!) and all staff speak English.

Disliked: Despite all the above, I'm not sure it was great value - it's not the cheapest hostel, there was no breakfast provided (you could request it for a hefty 3000 pesos) and the facilities were limited. Though I had a laptop, the computer there was ancient, the showers were never hot, and the kitchen - well - it was tiny, only two of the hobs worked, the oven itself was pretty hazardous (I burned the hair off my whole right hand lighting it - the staff had no idea it even worked) and it was all so small that only one person could really cook at a time - especially an issue considering the staff there cooked their own meals in the same kitchen. Generally, it was a lovely hostel but I wasn't sure it quite warranted the price (I guess you pay for the awesome staff) nor the impressively high Hostelbookers rating. Go, but don't expect perfection!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jörgen Lindeborg

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 February 2011 Jörgen would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice place to stay, small and cozy. Last day I stayed they had a exellent BBQ!! Peter the owner is great and gives you great suggestions of what to do!!

Disliked: Only 2 toilets and surthen hours it was hard to use them..

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

paul housden

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

09 February 2011 paul would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, helpful staff

Disliked: No free brek

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Wendy van der Kruijs

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 February 2011 Wendy would recommend this property

Liked: Nice owner Peter, he really helps you with the questions you have. Nice athmosphere.

Disliked: We could not lock our room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

31 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent hostel, staff and stmosphere

Disliked: Bathroom lock a little dodgy!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were brilliant with a wide range of tours at very good prices. If you stay here go on the Volcan tour that they arrange - the tour company was BRILLIANT!! Social spaces great for interaction.

Disliked: Kitchen quite poor

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely friendly, helpful and knowledgeable staff, great location, nice garden, I had the view on the volcano from my bed, washing machine available for clients, very big and comfortable beds, big lockers

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very cosy atmosphere and friendly owner / staff and travelers. great to meet other people or just chill if the weather is bad.

Disliked: there are only 2 bathrooms which sometimes results in a bit of queueing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ian Wacker

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 December 2010 Ian would recommend this property

Liked: Peter was very helpful with local, travel, and hiking information. The bbq's were fun, and there is a homey relaxed atmosphere that makes it a great place to stay.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sigrid Torbay

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 December 2010 Sigrid would recommend this property

Liked: Very cozy hostel with a wonderful atmosphere. Excellent place to meet other travelers. Perfect location, at a walking distance from the city center and bus stops. They organized all my adventures and they were awesome!. The beds are so comfortable, BBQ's delicious, and most importantly a very friendly staff (Amber, James, Peter, Sandra and the hostel's pet -Negra- are great). The best hostel ever! 100% recommended!

Disliked: nothing. it was all perfect.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Nadine Noeth

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

05 December 2010 Nadine would recommend this property

Liked: Pucon is an outdoor adventure town. The hostel had an incredible knowledge on all activities and what to do in Pucon, with a lot of experience as well. They also offer some tours, which were all really good. I can highly recommend this hostel, since it was really easy and nice to meet people and get your trips booked.

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Monique Jarny

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

23 November 2010 Monique would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel El Refugio made my stay in Pucon easy, effortless and fun! They arranged all my activities for me upon simple request, provided me with all the information I needed to make decisions and created a fun and dynamic atmosphere! Their BBQ was wonderful and made it easy to meet people! The staff are wonderful - especially the AUSTRALIAN couple!

Disliked: The only negative thing I have to say is that they need more working power points! Otherwise, wonderful!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere at the hostel was really good! Nice helpful staff!

Disliked: There can be a queue for the bathroom.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Josefin Bardby

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

15 November 2010 Josefin would recommend this property

Liked: Pleasant atmosphere and helpful staff who were fluent in several languages. They helped us book different activities and put on an amazing Chilean BBQ. The house is very cosy with a cute dog and open fireplaces. All in all, a very enjoyable stay.

Disliked: Only two bathrooms and tricky showers

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location! Awesome people in the hostel, Pucon is a great and fun town!

Disliked: A little cramped, but great in general

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Josy Cristine Martins

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
City break

15 September 2010 Josy Cristine would recommend this property

Liked: The house is amazing, very cozy. The owner, Peter, along with Amber and James are amazing, very helpfull and welcoming. Loved our time there. Would certainly go back.

Disliked: Josy Cristine left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ainsley Whitfield

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
City break

13 September 2010 Ainsley would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic hostel, the couple running it were really friendly and helpful, with lots of advice and suggestions for activities and things to do in Pucon, and the smaller size of the hostel meant that it was really easy to meet and get to know the other people staying there.

Disliked: The annoying sliding doors that covered the safe lockers in the bedrooms, it ment that only one side of the lockers could be accessed at a time, if they were removed I think it would be easier for people to access their gear.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

22 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I had an amazing time at el refugio!! The staff was very competent - and not only that, it has been a lot of fun staying there. The wooden house makes you feel so cozy, kitchen is great, beds are huge, looking forward to come back one day!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jeffrey goodhartz

07 March 2010 jeffrey would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly, relaxed atmosphere. Great staff. Very helpful

Disliked: jeffrey left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

20 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was in a great location and it had a nice cosy feel to it. Great big beds and spacious! The staff were very friendly and helpful. All round nice hostel.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

marc squires

07 February 2010

Liked: its been a while since i stayed so maybe things have changed but as of dec2009 there were no locks on doors in a hostel that just didnt have 'that vibe' to pull it off - some do and i have no problem with no locks if that is the case - this place didnt - it also was freezing, cramped and the kitchen was tiny and often dirty- that said the sitting area is nice and a good place to meet folk - 2 girls running it were sound but not on top - look elsewhere

Disliked: marc left no negative feedback.


See all Pucon hostels