HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Pucon hostels

Reviews of Hostal el Refugio

Hostel | Palguín 540, Pucon, Chile .

89.9% Overall Rating

171 out of 184 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/11/2013)

Kai Ammerich thinks…

"vrey helpfull dtaff, hostal is like a ski hut, very nice and comfortable, enjoyed our stay very much"

Read all Hostal el Refugio reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note that after you receive your booking confirmation you will need to contact the hostel directly in order to inform your arrival time.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Pucon?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Pucon

House of Colors, Backpackers-hostel
14.41 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Lounge Brasil
40.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Hostal Emalafquen
14.41 USD

Guesthouse 94.2% 106 reviews
Nativo Hostel
12.61 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hostel Donde German
20.72 USD

Hostel 86.6% 115 reviews
Princesa Insolente Hostel Pucon
12.61 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Nativa Hostel
14.41 USD

Apartment 83.7% 49 reviews
Elementos EcoHostel
9.01 USD

Guesthouse 92.4% 18 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.9%

Overall Rating

171 out of 184 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostal el Refugio'

Atmosphere
91.2%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
86.4%
Cleanliness
82.4%
Staff
92.8%
Value
88.8%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 151 of 166 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: homely, intimate, warm, friendly, Anna, really nice place.

Disliked: nothing springs to mind.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nicest hostel we have stayed in in South America! Staff were unbelieveably friendly and went out of their way to help us. Comfiest beds ever, such a nice The Irish Girls :)

Disliked: NADA

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Colin Hallion

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 October 2011 Colin would recommend this property

Liked: Our stay was great! We booked 2 nights and end up staying 4. The volcano tour that we booked with the hostel was great and a must do, also during our stay we had Asado wich was yummy.

Disliked: The Hydrospeed tour we booked with the hostel was good fun but we got half of the promise time and we didn´t get pictures/video as we were told, it was too expensive for what we got.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: El Refugio is a cosy, friendly environment. The rooms are spacious and comfy and very good value for money. There is a great shared living area where comfortable couches huddle around the fire. The showers are hot. We were even lucky enough to have a room with our own wood fire. Heidi on staff was extremely helpful, attentive and friendly.

Disliked: I wish they changed the hand towel in the bathroom more frequently.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Matthew McClain

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 June 2011 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: Really warm feel indoors. Less than a block from the bus stations and 2 blocks from "Main Street" (Bernardo O'Higgins). Very friendly, English speaking staff who were always around to answer questions and offer advice. Very homey.

Disliked: A little cold at times but they do their best to keep it warm. There's always a fire going.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

David Nieto Lara

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 June 2011 David would recommend this property

Liked: There is simply something charming about El Refugio. It might not be the best equipped, but the atmosphere is unbeatable, spent 5 nights there when I was just planning for 3. Great staff, very nice people around, great beds, great place!

Disliked: The kitchen could be bigger!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

John Kinnaird

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 June 2011 John would recommend this property

Liked: Good location beside the bus station, near to the supermarket etc. Very friendly, & helpful staff and owner. Thanks

Disliked: Hmmm nothing really, maybe an extra toilet/shower room would be good.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I felt like if i were at home!!

Disliked: nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, helpful and friendly staff.

Disliked: Kitchen area is a little tight.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was really great, super comfy dorms with extra big beds, an open fire downstairs and located right beside the bus station and main street. The staff were also great- really helpful and friendly- they sorted out all our activities for us and even baked fresh banana bread! The staff also organised activities in the hostel so we met lots of people and had a really good time. Would definitely recommend it to anyone going to Pucon!

Disliked: Nothing, everything was great!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place. Central location in Pucon, especially if You arrive with Pullman buses. Good kitchen/eating area and nice warm living room.

Disliked: no breakfast! And I booked a 4 bed dorm, but got a 8 bed...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were brilliant, could not fault them. God location.

Disliked: My mattress was threadbare to say the least. A bit pokey.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is great, super friendly. Deb and Darren make you feel right at home, I wish them the best of luck!!!

Disliked: very small, after a few days of rain you tend to get cabin fever, the silver lining is that you make friends quickly :)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

JONNY MILLAR

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 April 2011 JONNY would recommend this property

Liked: Good base to stay in Pucon - friendly staff, good common areas and comfortable beds. All very clean. Lots of activities / trips offered

Disliked: Kitchen can get busy as quite small. Also only 2 bathrooms, not always hot water. Otherwise good place to stay

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The people working there were so friendly and helpful, they really made you feel welcome, even though they had only been there for a week! Hostel had a homely feel to it, and beds were comfy.

Disliked: Kitchen really small so difficult to cook. Breakfast not included in the price. Shower sometimes ran out of hot water. Rooms did not have heating in them, although duvets were warm.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Caitlin Verhagen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 April 2011 Caitlin would recommend this property

Liked: EVERYTHING!!! Deborah and Darren were Awesome! Absolutley Loved the beds, if I hadn´t forced myself to get out in the morning I wouldn´t have. Hostel is cozy with good atmosphere and very close to at least 2 bus terminals (across the street). Could go back in a heartbeat!

Disliked: Shower ran out of hot water sometimes because everyone is doing outdoor activities and water sports but you just had to wait a bit and it was fine.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

susan baker

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 April 2011 susan would recommend this property

Liked: Very very homely & friendly, fire place, brilliant beds & duvets, so comfortable

Disliked: Only that the hot water would run out and 2 bathrooms between so many people

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gillian Hurn

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

31 March 2011 Gillian would recommend this property

Liked: We loved every minute of our stay at El Refugio! It's small and cosy with a wonderful friendly atmosphere. It was so easy to meet people with weekly wine tastings and asados - thanks Dave and Tanja! Every effort was made to make us fit in and enjoy our time in Pucon. There's so much to do in Pucon, but it's also a great place to just hang out and and read in front of the fire. We originally booked 3 nights and ended up staying for 5!

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly place, great for meeting people. Lovely area. Beds comfortable and warm. Tanya and Dave are just amazing!

Disliked: Hot water a bit temperamental

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly place both staff and other travellers. Lots of information and really helpful.

Disliked: Showers sometimes not brilliant but rest of the hostel makes up for this.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice, clean, cosy - and great staff

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Brilliant hostel! Great staff, really friendly and helpful, knew all the guests by name. Great asado on Monday evening and he best beds I've slept in in South America. Worth going to even if they say they are fully booked as they have a sister/overflow hostel a few blocks away that is just as nice according to travellers I met who stayed there

Disliked: Maybe that breakfast was extra, but the hostel is quite cheap so it didn't really matter

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Joanna Hollebon

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 March 2011 Joanna would recommend this property

Liked: great hostal - stay here!

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owners were super helpful in getting you out on activities, depending on interests. Really laid back. The beds are really comfortable as well and the location right across from the bus station was perfect. It´s small, but a good communal area with a fireplace, so it really just depends on who ends up there.

Disliked: Nothing, it was a nice property. I slept great.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Graf Kevin

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 March 2011 Graf would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice atmosphere and staff. David and Tanja were very helpfull and had some nice recommendations.

Disliked: Nothing


See all Pucon hostels