HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Hostal El Refugio Pucon Hostel

Palguin 540, Pucon, Chile

Atmosphere 92%

Cleanliness 87%

Facilities 89%

Location 96%

Safety 97%

Staff 94%

Value 91%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine

Important Information

Please note that after you receive your booking confirmation you will need to contact the hostel directly in order to inform your arrival time.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 08:00

Latest Check-out: 10:30

Policies

  • Credit Cards Not Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Pucon?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 92%

Cleanliness 87%

Facilities 89%

Location 96%

Safety 97%

Staff 94%

Value 91%

Showing 21-14 of 14 reviews

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good location, staff were great, beds pretty good but bunks very high! Good common areas to meet other travellers, good advice and activities on offer. Kitchen also pretty good.

Disliked: Showers not great, was pretty expensive and you don't get anything extra for what you pay, but I guess it was Pucon in high season.

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: The location and the offered Tours are very good.

Disliked: It´s one of the dirtiest hostel, I stayed during my trip.

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Excellent homey feel with friendly and helpful staff. Theres lots of outdoor activities in Pucon so knowledgable staff is key. The hostel itself is small but cozy and a great place to recahrge your batteries. Thanks to Alec and staff for a great stay.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: absolutely homely hostel! we felt ourselves very comfortable during our stay! really nice atmosphere inside...especially the fireside is awsome after the trekking tour to the villarica volcano

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Actually wanted to stay for two nights but quickly realised i have to extend my stay at El Refugio. Amazing atmosphere in this chalet style hostel and staff which is super friendly, helpful and with a professional attitude anytime. You feel becoming part of the family :). Had such a good time. El Refugio is the place to stay in Pucon.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Good Atmosphere, small + v easy to meet others. Comfy beds in top dorm. Fab warm stove in main area that makes it so cozy. Only recommend reputable companies. V helpful with advice on hikes.

Disliked: Kitchen too small when hostel full, have to wait to cook. Not enough fridge + food storage space. Not enough bathrooms and water not always hot. Staff have hangovers too often which is not terrible but we are all a little slower when hungover.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: The staff and other people staying there were so friendly - we felt like part of the gang within a few hours of arriving. There were lots of opportunities to join in with everyone for activities and a barbecue, or of course just do your own thing.

Disliked: Whilst the cleanliness of the hostel was generally very good, I did think that the blankets on the bed were overdue to be washed.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The hostel was run really well, lots of information on the many activities and adventures that pucon has to offer (many of which are free or that you can do yourself). The guys running the hostel were excellent - giving advice and joining in the fun! Great atomphere, nice place to chill out as well as party and adventure. BBQ was yummy and good value for money!! Felt extremely welcomed and comfortable. Our 3 nights turned into 10!!! GREAT PLACE!!

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Peter (owner) and James (staff) were super friendly and really helpful. The hostel has a cool rustic look that makes it really cozy, especially around the fire. Kitchen is well equipped, albeit quite small. We met lots of other travellers - this place is always packed and there's a good vibe. We stayed in a double for 4 nights (big comfy warm bed) and in the upstairs dorm for 1 night (big beds for bunks!).

Disliked: Smelly towels and the overflowing fridge. Some top bunks have an angled roof above them - watch your head!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Helpful and friendly staff who can answer any question you have about what to see and do, cosy and warm atmosphere, fantastic location and the best beds ever!

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability