We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Pucon hostels

Reviews of Hostal el Refugio

Hostel | Palguín 540, Pucon, Chile .

92.6% Overall Rating

176 out of 189 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (06/09/2014)

Leon Boerboom thinks…

"Close to center, nice and inviting communal area, clean and fairly big room. Most of the staff is very helpful."

Read all Hostal el Refugio reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note that after you receive your booking confirmation you will need to contact the hostel directly in order to inform your arrival time.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Pucon?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Pucon

House of Colors, Backpackers-hostel
13.32 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Lounge Brasil
25.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Hostal Emalafquen
14.99 USD

Guesthouse 95.3% 113 reviews
Nativo Hostel
11.66 USD

Hostel 93.3% 3 reviews
Hostel Donde German
16.45 USD

Hostel 89.4% 119 reviews
Princesa Insolente Hostel Pucon
11.66 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Nativa Hostel
13.32 USD

Apartment 83.7% 49 reviews
Cabañas Amapolas
19.98 USD

Apartment Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.6%

Overall Rating

176 out of 189 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostal el Refugio'

Atmosphere
92.8%
Location
96.8%
Facilities
90.4%
Cleanliness
85.6%
Staff
94.4%
Value
92.0%
Safety
96.0%
Refine your results Showing 155 of 171 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Isabel Mattick

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 October 2012 Isabel would recommend this property

Liked: The staff and other people staying there were so friendly - we felt like part of the gang within a few hours of arriving. There were lots of opportunities to join in with everyone for activities and a barbecue, or of course just do your own thing.

Disliked: Whilst the cleanliness of the hostel was generally very good, I did think that the blankets on the bed were overdue to be washed.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Peter (owner) and James (staff) were super friendly and really helpful. The hostel has a cool rustic look that makes it really cozy, especially around the fire. Kitchen is well equipped, albeit quite small. We met lots of other travellers - this place is always packed and there's a good vibe. We stayed in a double for 4 nights (big comfy warm bed) and in the upstairs dorm for 1 night (big beds for bunks!).

Disliked: Smelly towels and the overflowing fridge. Some top bunks have an angled roof above them - watch your head!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Josie Debenham-Hardwick

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 August 2012 Josie would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful and friendly staff who can answer any question you have about what to see and do, cosy and warm atmosphere, fantastic location and the best beds ever!

Disliked: Josie left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Richard Lodge

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2012 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: Great Staff and a good small hostel. Hot water in showers and decent kitchen.

Disliked: No heating so can get very cold at night in the rooms (winter). Overall though a good hostel and I would stay there again.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Laura Durkin

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 July 2012 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: I love this hostel overall! The staff is exceptional. It is a wonderful place to meet other travelers. It was so easy to make friends there and everyone was really really nice.

Disliked: Laura left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Barry Jones

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 June 2012 Barry would recommend this property

Liked: Very cosy place with log fires throughout the hostal. Extremeley helpful staff and owner. Cleaner came daily so very clean. Great location in the centre of Pucon & next door to the bus station. Definately recomend this place!

Disliked: Barry left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic atmosphere. Perfect way to meet other travelers and get great advice about what to do in Pucon. I didn't want to leave!

Disliked: Only 2 bathrooms

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Has a very cool vibe and the beds are really nice

Disliked: could get messy at times

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place, really good information about all activities as wel as about all kind of amazing tracks you can do on your own. Very cosy and nice to sit around the fire in the evenings, having a wine and meeting other travelers. Muchas gracias Tom, Peter and Anne!!!

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jesse Mackin

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 March 2012 Jesse would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff. Nia made us feel welcome straight away and they were always on hand to help. Great place to meet others, be it outside in the garden area, the outside or inside kitchen/dining area and the small common area. Lots of room in the dorms(8person). And Negra the dog is always pleasent to have around.

Disliked: When it's full it might be a job trying to cook or get in the bathroom, but pros far out way cons

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maria Claudia Sotto Maior

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 March 2012 Maria Claudia would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel, the staff is friendly and make a good atmosphere for us. Thanks, Peter, Mia and Ana. And besides, it is well located, in the center of Pucon, making life easy for the traveler that comes by bus.

Disliked: No ensuites.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good place to meet other travellers. Very helpful and knowledgable staff.

Disliked: Small kitchen. Can get crowded at times.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chloe Snape

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 February 2012 Chloe would recommend this property

Liked: Best hostel I've stayed at in 2 months of travel in Argentina and Chile. Lots of character, extremely friendly staff, great value excursions and information on free activites. Fantastic atmosphere so great for meeting other travelers. Really comfortable beds and bedding which is just what you need after the volcano. Cute little garden with hammocks. Dorm tent in the garden also really comfortable. If you're in Pucon, stay at El Refugio!

Disliked: Chloe left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

kate allan

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing

23 February 2012 kate would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely friendly hostel with good facilities and really helpful staff

Disliked: No breakfast offered

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location, just next to the bus stations. Big beds. Very friendly staff.

Disliked: No lookers for backbacks available for us in our dorm. Kitchen is not very good equiped and also not very clean.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent hostel. Very cozy atmosphere, staff very helpful and friendly. Lots of activities offered.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: close to the bus station and center! Really nice staff that will help you with every thing.

Disliked: Dog hair every where! Kitchen way too small !

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matthias Juranitsch

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 February 2012 Matthias would recommend this property

Liked: Best Hostel I've been in South America,.....great Stuff,.....help you with all the possible activities,.....great atmosphere,....nice rooms with good beds..... I only can recommend this place to everybody!!!

Disliked: nothing to complain

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Tycho Van Essen

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 January 2012 Tycho would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, friendly Staff. Best place in pucon. Not super clean.

Disliked: The keysystem

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very homely feeling, good contact with the staff and other travellers

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Kevin Gostomski

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 January 2012 Kevin would recommend this property

Liked: Peter and Nea were incredibly helpful during our stay. The hostel is so relaxed and down to earth. Booking tours through the hostel was so easy that even though we arrived at 8am in the morning, we were able to go zip lining and hydrospeeding when Peter called in our reservations that morning. Great location near the main restaurants and bars and right across the street from the bus station!

Disliked: There is no breakfast served, but it's easy enough to go out and get something on your own.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff were fantastic - all very helpful and the culture of the hostel is al about helping each other have a great time. they do an excellent job of organising activities for you and once per week, they cook up a fantastic chilean bbq which was amazing! all in all, one of the best hostels weǘe stayed in.

Disliked: the shared bathroom has pretty poor ventilation & inconsistent hot water supply, but its not a deal breaker.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Incredible, amazing staff, super helpful with lots of excellent ideas. Well equipped kitchen, socialable common area, friendly dog. Great location, close to tour operators, supermarkets, bakeries and bars. A wonderful hostel

Disliked: Noise can travel through the house a bit, but it's not a party hostel so not a major problem. You need to get the key if coming in back late, so be organised.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Andrea Bachmaier

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 November 2011

Liked: The friendly staff and the location

Disliked: The bathrooms are really dirty even for a hostel. No other hostel I have ever been was so dirty and I travel a lot.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Monika Vetsch

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 November 2011 Monika would recommend this property

Liked: very helpful, friendly staff. good atmosphere, all the facilities there

Disliked: -


See all Pucon hostels