HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Hostal El Refugio Pucon

Hostel

Palguin 540, Pucon, Chile

Atmosphere 92%

Cleanliness 87%

Facilities 89%

Location 96%

Safety 97%

Staff 94%

Value 91%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine

Important Information

Please note that after you receive your booking confirmation you will need to contact the hostel directly in order to inform your arrival time.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 08:00

Latest Check-out: 10:30

Policies

  • Credit Cards Not Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Pucon?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 92%

Cleanliness 87%

Facilities 89%

Location 96%

Safety 97%

Staff 94%

Value 91%

Showing 11-19 of 19 reviews

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Very huge amount of things that you can book there and they inform you excellently about the tours etc. In general: very friendly and helpful staff!

Disliked: Kitchen is a little bit small.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Can't recommend El Refugio highly enough - cosy, WARM (very important in Pucón!) with very comfy beds, in a lovely log cabin-style house. Not too big so it has a really homely and welcoming atmosphere. Well-stocked kitchen (including a moka pot!), clean bathrooms with reliable hot water, really convenient location. The staff are unfailingly helpful and friendly, full of information about the local area - they set us up for the volcano hike with some fantastic guides. Overall muy buena onda in one of the nicest hostels I've ever stayed in - thank you guys, I'll be back!

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Staff were incredibly helpful and extremely friendly.

Disliked: I paid for 4 person dorm but had to share 1 shower with 8 other people....? Sheets aren't always changed between people.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

We are happy you enjoyed the atmosphere of the hostel and just wanted to clarify about the bathrooms and cleaning. We have 3 bathrooms to share with a max capacity of 16 people at the moment. Bathrooms are shared by all regardless of what room category booked. As for cleaning, we have a cleaner who comes daily and always changes the sheets. Thanks again for the feedback and safe travels.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: This is the BEST hostel I´ve ever stayed in all around the world! James and the staff were the friendliest people that enjoyed helping us figure out our plans; but not only did they help us, James organized all of our activities with the people in charge of the activity, who he knows personally! He even got us a dicount on a few activities because he is just that GREAT! The hostel feels like a home! It is very clean and comforting. The beds were exceptionally comfortable, and the showers were hot. The location is amazing- just two blocks from main downtown! I honestly couldn´t recommend this hostel more...stop reading the reviews and book it now!!! You won´t regret it!

Disliked: I didn´t dislike anything.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 May 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The place was really welcoming and cosy, the log fires were ace to warm up by. The staff were very helpful, and gave really unbiased useful information about local activities giving info about both their own excursions and those of other operators so you could make the right decision about your activities. They also gave lots of info about free activities you could do.I was there for three days and the hostel's guides were the only ones out of four or five operators that managed to get their groups to the top of the volcano every day, all the others stopped about two thirds of the way up.

Disliked: The kitchen could have had slightly more equipment (pots and pans etc). It wasn't terrible but compared to other places they were a bit short on cooking utensils!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: The ease of signing up for excursions. Everything was clean.

Disliked: bathrooms were crowded

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: This hostel was super cozy and their staff was extremely helpful in setting up tours and excursions. Most excursions left directly from the hostel. Beds and bathrooms were clean and the wood stove in the living room made our stay the best ever! And Negra, the dog, was adorable and cuddly.

Disliked: There weren't really enough bathrooms for everyone. This hostel is like the TARDIS--it's bigger on the inside and when there are so many people staying the kitchen/bathrooms/common spaces can get crowded.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Small, cosy, friendly and welcoming. It is right next to the bus station and one block to center. Staff is very helpfull with activities.

Disliked: Wish they had more toilets but it is ok after all

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The staff was very friendly and helpful, giving us a lot of information about things we could do in the area. It's super close to all the bus terminals and to the center of the town. We booked a trip to the summit of the Villarrica volcano with them and everything went smoothly, even though we were a full group (18 people, all from the hostel). The atmosphere was nice, people were always hanging out in the common area and sharing stories.

Disliked: The only slight downside is the fact that sometimes you have to wait for a shower or just going to the bathroom as there are only 3 bathrooms (I believe), so if the hostel is pretty full, like it was when we were there, it can get pretty crowded.Also, it would've been nice to have breakfast included, but that was not a big minus point for us.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Cosy hostel

Disliked: The fact that we booked the tour to climb Villarica volcano with el Refugio and left at 7am to get to the base only to be told immediately after getting out of the truck that the climb was cancelled due to the clouds?It was obvious that the guides knew the volcano climb was not going to be possible when they picked us up at the hostel and we ended up having to pay 5000 pesos for the truck ride to see a volcano covered by clouds? Very dishonest?? So if you see clouds on the volcano the morning of your climb go back to bed and save yourself 5000 pesos! This is what we call a set up!I cant believe that over 60 people were driven up to the base only to be told it was no go? They need to have a guide check the conditions in the morning and ring the hostels so people dont have their time wasted and others in the dorm dont get woken at 5.30am for no reason! Point made i hope?

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability