We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Pichilemu Surf Hostal

Guesthouse | Calle Eugenio Diaz Lira 167, Pichilemu, Chile 3220000

83.0% Overall Rating

57 out of 62 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (10/12/2012)

paride facciani thinks…

"good seaview from my room and from the restaurant. the restaurant is a safe goal at night. wifi connection is strong over all the area (1.8M down 0.4 up)."

Read all Pichilemu Surf Hostal reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Hot tub / jacuzzi
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Pichilemu?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Pichilemu

Cabañas Buena Vista
22.90 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Surf Eat Sleep
11.66 USD

Hostel 96.9% 26 reviews
Hostel Moreno Pichilemu
15.82 USD

Hostel 88.6% 7 reviews
Natural Surf Lodge
26.64 USD

Guesthouse 94.3% 27 reviews
Hostal Casa Verde
16.65 USD

Hostel 96.8% 9 reviews
Hostel Punta de Lobos
24.98 USD

Hostel 80.0% 6 reviews
The Sirena Insolente Hostel
13.32 USD

Hostel 94.0% 9 reviews
Surfarm
8.33 USD

Hostel 96.9% 12 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.0%

Overall Rating

57 out of 62 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Pichilemu Surf Hostal'

Atmosphere
84.0%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
77.6%
Cleanliness
80.0%
Staff
84.0%
Value
78.4%
Safety
85.6%
Refine your results Showing 38 of 41 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

paride facciani

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 December 2012 paride would recommend this property

Liked: good seaview from my room and from the restaurant. the restaurant is a safe goal at night. wifi connection is strong over all the area (1.8M down 0.4 up).

Disliked: rooms are too expensive for hostelling standards. 60€ for a cheap hotel room is just too much. breakfast should definitely be better. don't book it at the hostel, you'll find something better and cheaper walking 5 minutes to the town center.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Right on the beach

Disliked: Bit expensive

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Derek Nielsen

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 January 2012 Derek would recommend this property

Liked: My girlfriend and I stayed here at the hostel for several nights and we both agreed the best thing about this hostel was its location to the beach and town.

Disliked: Everything at the hostel is way over priced, from the rooms themselves to the food and drinks at the restaurant on site. We only had 30 seconds of a hot shower for the 5 nights we stayed there. The ocean view that is advertised is a small little 5x3 loft you have to climb up a ladder to get to. The internet is also really really bad at the hostel. wi-fi is almost useless and the only computer on site is no better.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I could not believe how awesome this hostel was when we arrived. The restaurant area is right on the beach...we walked off the deck and onto the sand. The staff are super friendly and helpful, one told me she loves working there. The bedroom and kitchen facilites are so-so, not any better or worse than any other hostel I´ve stayed in, and a bit of an ant problem in the kitchen. But the owner is doing work on the hostel (literally right now) to upgrade the kitchen. they also offer surf lessons and free bikes to ride around the city. Definitely stay here if you come to Pichilemu!

Disliked: ants in the kitchen, not very clean bathroom

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the restaurant is close to the ocean, you can rent all the surf stuff there, good athmosphere with a lot of wood, canvas chairs, offer bikes for free (when you see them you´ll know why for free ;) )

Disliked: the staff didn´t really consider when we gave recommendations; we stayed on the right side of the hostel (I think you can´t see it on the fotos) which is not so nice like the left side, only one shower and toilet in one room for at least 10 beds

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Stayed at the Pichilemu Surf Hostel end of May 2011 (which is out of season) and it was very nice. Although the hostel was very quiet (again due to it being out of season) it was clean, comfortable and Marcel, the proprietor was extremely nice, friendly and helpful. The location is extremely good on the beach and just a five minute walk from La Puntilla surf point (where the point break is) and about 10 to 15 minutes into the centre of town. All in all it was a very good stay and I think in season the restaurant/bar area, which is very nice, will be a great place to hang out. One interesting point about future stays here is that Marcel is installing central heating in the hostel and bar/restaurant which will be great for when it is cold (as it is now) and it will be a big plus point as heating is not common in many of the pubs, restaurants and hostels in Pichilemu.

Disliked: Nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: First place that is looks exactly as it does in the photos, fantastic place would recommend it to all

Disliked: wi fi is a bit sketchy but it's a great factor if you're looking to disconnect from the world

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Pieter de Meijer

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 March 2011 Pieter would recommend this property

Liked: The location is just amazing, right on the beach. I stayed at the upper level with great view (and sound) of the sea. The walk to the center of town is about 15 minutes, but therefore the hostel offers to borrow bikes for free. The staff is really nice and gives great surfing lessons.

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break

20 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, house

Disliked: small double room

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Richard Zanki

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 February 2011 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: Hot sea bath and the relaxing atmosphere in the Restaurant. Felt like in a livingroom. Just great. Love this place.

Disliked: There is no roomcleaning during your stay. But the rest was just great.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location on a beautiful beach and the architecture of the buildings

Disliked: there were no mats in the bathroom. the main problem was with Pichilemu itself - don't believe the guidebooks - this is a busy seaside resort with hundreds of souvenir stands and it swarms with Chilean holiday-makers in February. however, the beach outside the hostel is much quieter.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Kara Dillon

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

15 February 2011 Kara would recommend this property

Liked: We loved the Surf Hostal so much we stayed for 2 extra nights. Marcel, Carmen, and Daniel made our stay extra-accommodating. We really enjoyed our special Valentines Day bath on the beach with a bottle of wine and a million stars over-head. The coffee was amazing. Thanks for everything!

Disliked: Nothing, we loved it.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Magdalena Torres

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 January 2011 Magdalena would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, the best in town! Right on the beach. Friendly and very helpful staff. Great to meet people, it feels like home.

Disliked: It needs a bit more of cleaning but it's not bad, I'll stay there again 110%!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kevin Bradley

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

23 October 2010 Kevin would recommend this property

Liked: The owner is amazingly helpful and the rooms are spacious and clean

Disliked: The only 2 complaints are no wifi and you have to pay for breakfast

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

02 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The night staff is great! Cristobal is very helpful and is a great guy!! Gracias por hacer mi estadía en Pichilemu tan agradable.The view of the ocean is incredible.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

25 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Right on the beach.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ian Titman

05 October 2009 Ian would recommend this property

Liked: This property undersells itself as a hostel. In our eyes it was more like a romantic getaway. Of course it is good for backpackers as well but we thought it was fantastic value for money. It is so peaceful to wake up to the sound of waves crashing.The hostel owners also own a restaurant in front of the hostel which is right on the beach and is so laid back - good music and some cool facilities such as a hot tub over looking the ocean, hammocks and some good drinks and snacks. The owners are very welcoming and helpful.

Disliked: Ian left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emilie Forbes Holmen

18 April 2009 Emilie Forbes would recommend this property

Liked: A beautiful boat with a perfect captain, great atmosphere and amazing view!

Disliked: Emilie Forbes left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

12 April 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location...

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

06 March 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great spot right on the beach and very cheap!!! Pichilemu itself was the only thing that dissapointed me with my stay

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Eoin Garvey

01 March 2009 Eoin would recommend this property

Liked: Unbelievable location! Right on the beach. Hostel is very unique and is full of character.

Disliked: Eoin left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

21 February 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: comfortable bed, great location, beautiful views, spacious and comfortable living/dining room/ kitchen.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Michael Wiedmer

13 February 2009 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: special caracters of the rooms, great view to the see!Would be practical if there would be a description of the way from the busterminal to the hostel, not only from the citycenter.

Disliked: Michael left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

marcus derencius

18 January 2009 marcus would recommend this property

Liked: it's beauty, in front of the beach, has a good value, includes a nice breakfast for chilean standards, easy to get in downtown.

Disliked: marcus left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

12 January 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: They have one of the best rooms, and showers I have ever seen in a hostel. Their breakfast was also one of the top ones I had while in Chile. Bikes were on offer for free so you could ride up to Punta de Lobos to check the surf.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.