We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Search Accommodation

 
Please select from the dropdowns
 
Please select from the dropdowns
Property type
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/10/2015
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/10/2015
 
Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
 
Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.
processing

Top Rated Hostels in La Serena, Chile

93.8%
96 reviews Book Now 
1

Hostal El Arbol

Hostel
Eduardo de la Barra 29, La Serena, Chile N/A

96 out of 96 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Hostal El Arbol

Atmosphere - 92% Staff - 95% Facilities - 91% Safety - 96%
Location - 91% Cleanliness - 95% Value - 95%
Ellen Anderson
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Ellen would recommend this property 01 September 2014

The staff were helpful in reccommendations, very friendly and welcoming. It's such a cosy atmosphere, feels more like a home away from home. We were both sick on arrival and seeing the hostel we decided to book a few extra days to recover in such a nice warm environment. I enjoyed breakfast at the family table, freshly squeezed juice, homemade jam, simple but delicious, every so often you get a scrambled egg! The woman who makes breakfast is delightful, speaks little english but helped me learn Spanish words. Ellen & Robin

Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 22 July 2014

It's probably the prettiest hostel we've stayed in; modern, big wooden rooms, lovely cosy dining room and lounge area, big spacious bathroom, exceptionally high standards of cleanliness. We've experienced a few cold nights at other hostels but here they were not shy about putting the heating on, probably the most comfortable nights we've had. I had really bad stomach cramps one day and the maid was instantly finding teas and medicine for me and throughout my stay kept checking in on me, so lovely!! Excellent breakfast too, and really wanted you to feel at home, to be able to cook and sit and enjoy a drink.

91.4%
10 reviews Book Now 
2

Hostal Balmaceda

Guesthouse
Avda. J. M. Balmaceda Nº1032, La Serena, Chile 1710226

9 out of 10 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Hostal Balmaceda

Atmosphere - 84% Staff - 94% Facilities - 88% Safety - 96%
Location - 90% Cleanliness - 94% Value - 94%
Emma Lovett
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
88.6%
Emma would recommend this property 22 May 2014

Quiet location, rooms had cable tv and private bathroom. Some nice renovation work going on.

Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 20 November 2013

The property is in a great location with a short walk from the bus terminal and even the beach is a safe, easy walk. The Wifi was excellent.

89.4%
36 reviews Book Now 
3

Hostal Maria Casa

Guesthouse
Las Rojas Nr 18, La Serena, Chile 261-264

34 out of 36 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Hostal Maria Casa

Atmosphere - 89% Staff - 94% Facilities - 77% Safety - 92%
Location - 93% Cleanliness - 90% Value - 87%
Jorg Schrodter
With my spouse / partner
Sightseeing & culture
94.3%
Jorg would recommend this property 14 March 2013

Very helpful and friendly owners, very good location near bus station. Very happy to come back.

John Backhouse
With my spouse / partner
Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
John would recommend this property 07 November 2012

We loved the kindness that they offered. Definitely a place to lay back for a while.

87.3%
29 reviews Book Now 
4

Hotel del Cid

3 star Hotel
O'Higgins Nº 138, La Serena, Chile .

27 out of 29 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Hotel del Cid

Atmosphere - 84% Staff - 92% Facilities - 80% Safety - 91%
Location - 86% Cleanliness - 93% Value - 82%
Roger Lee
With my spouse / partner
Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture
77.1%
Roger would recommend this property 09 March 2013

The little patios were nicely surrounded with flowers and greenery. The owner was extremely helpful in suggesting bus routes to the sea and in recommending the few better restaurants. There is a good museum and an interesting house of a former President (1940s) to see.

Customer review
91.4%
Customer would recommend this property 11 May 2010

Comfortable accommodation, good heating in room, helpful English speaking owner, good location. More a hotel than a hostel.

83.5%
9 reviews Book Now 
5

Andes Hostal Serena

Hostel
Calle Vicuña 431, La Serena, Chile N/A

9 out of 9 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Andes Hostal Serena

Atmosphere - 73% Staff - 88% Facilities - 77% Safety - 86%
Location - 82% Cleanliness - 93% Value - 82%
Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture
82.9%
Customer would recommend this property 09 April 2014

The hostal was clean and the staff were freindly and helpful, the house maid even cooked our dinner for us one night. Was close to the town center.

Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
82.9%
Customer would recommend this property 11 January 2014

Very helpfully and friendly staff, breakfast was good and there was always a hot shower. Very clean and tidy hostel.

75.5%
149 reviews Book Now 
6

Aji Verde Hostel

Hostel
Vicuña 415 La Serena Centro, La Serena, Chile 1710104

127 out of 149 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Aji Verde Hostel

Atmosphere - 76% Staff - 84% Facilities - 67% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 66% Value - 73%
Therese Gjellestad Nundal
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
82.9%
Therese Gjellestad would recommend this property 07 August 2014

Superhelpfull staff great property, loved the roof terraces easy to meet other travelers

Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
91.4%
Customer would recommend this property 03 March 2014

They actually have two properties. We stayed in the quieter building next door as our booking on Hostelbookers came through wrong. We booked a 6 bex mixed dorm but they only had a female dorm. The staff were lovely though and upgraded us to a two person dorm. The kitchen facilities were great and there is a lovely little courtyard outside.

La Serena

6 Hostels from 10.82 USD

WHY BOOK WITH HOSTELBOOKERS?

  • No booking fees
  • Lowest price guarantee
  • Find the same cheaper and we'll refund double the difference
  • Over 1 million customer reviews
  • Over 200,000 bed nights booked every week
  • More than 20,000 properties in 3,500 destinations worldwide

Our top-rated La Serena hostels have only been scored by HostelBookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in La Serena. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.