HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Search Accommodation

 
Please select from the dropdowns
 
Please select from the dropdowns
Property type
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/04/2015
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/04/2015
 
Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
 
Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.
processing

Top Rated Hostels in La Serena, Chile

93.9%
87 reviews Book Now 
1

Hostal El Arbol

Hostel
Eduardo de la Barra 29, La Serena, Chile N/A

87 out of 87 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Hostal El Arbol

Atmosphere - 92% Staff - 97% Facilities - 89% Safety - 96%
Location - 92% Cleanliness - 94% Value - 95%
James Ballardie
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture
97.1%
James would recommend this property 16 April 2014

Really lovely hostel about 5 mins walk from the beach. Close to town and supermarket too. The owner and her whole family were amazingly helpful at check in and with recommendations, and even drove us to the bus station when we seriously underestimated our timings! Double room at the beach location was super clean and comfortable. Breakfast was fine and the kitchen was well stocked. Recommend the beach location!

Anna Collier
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Anna would recommend this property 19 March 2014

Very pretty and a cosy hostel. Lovely duvets and sheets!!!! Staff bring you breakfast round the dining table in the morning, including a smoothie. Clean rooms and bathroom cleaned daily and beds are made for you! Very nice :-)

91.7%
9 reviews Book Now 
2

Hostal Balmaceda

Guesthouse
Avda. J. M. Balmaceda Nº1032, La Serena, Chile 1710226

8 out of 9 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Hostal Balmaceda

Atmosphere - 86% Staff - 95% Facilities - 88% Safety - 95%
Location - 88% Cleanliness - 93% Value - 93%
Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 20 November 2013

The property is in a great location with a short walk from the bus terminal and even the beach is a safe, easy walk. The Wifi was excellent.

David Gilbert
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
97.1%
David would recommend this property 10 January 2013

We had a great stay at Hostel Balmaceda. We were staying for Christmas and had booked a room with a shared kitchen, but when we arrived there was a problem with the room. The friendly and helpful staff upgraded us to an apartment with kitchen and bathroom with no extra cost. Amazing. The hostel is safe and clean and with a nice, quiet atmosphere. A little more than we normally pay but totally worth the money. 10 min walk to the centre and near supermarkets. A great place.

89.4%
35 reviews Book Now 
3

Hostal Maria Casa

Guesthouse
Las Rojas Nr 18, La Serena, Chile 261-264

33 out of 35 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Hostal Maria Casa

Atmosphere - 89% Staff - 94% Facilities - 76% Safety - 92%
Location - 93% Cleanliness - 90% Value - 88%
Jorg Schrodter
With my spouse / partner
Sightseeing & culture
94.3%
Jorg would recommend this property 14 March 2013

Very helpful and friendly owners, very good location near bus station. Very happy to come back.

John Backhouse
With my spouse / partner
Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
John would recommend this property 07 November 2012

We loved the kindness that they offered. Definitely a place to lay back for a while.

87.3%
29 reviews Book Now 
4

Hotel del Cid

3 star Hotel
O'Higgins Nº 138, La Serena, Chile .

27 out of 29 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Hotel del Cid

Atmosphere - 84% Staff - 92% Facilities - 80% Safety - 91%
Location - 86% Cleanliness - 93% Value - 82%
Roger Lee
With my spouse / partner
Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture
77.1%
Roger would recommend this property 09 March 2013

The little patios were nicely surrounded with flowers and greenery. The owner was extremely helpful in suggesting bus routes to the sea and in recommending the few better restaurants. There is a good museum and an interesting house of a former President (1940s) to see.

Customer review
91.4%
Customer would recommend this property 11 May 2010

Comfortable accommodation, good heating in room, helpful English speaking owner, good location. More a hotel than a hostel.

82.9%
8 reviews Book Now 
5

Andes Hostal Serena

Hostel
Calle Vicuña 431, La Serena, Chile N/A

8 out of 8 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Andes Hostal Serena

Atmosphere - 70% Staff - 87% Facilities - 80% Safety - 85%
Location - 85% Cleanliness - 92% Value - 80%
Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture
82.9%
Customer would recommend this property 09 April 2014

The hostal was clean and the staff were freindly and helpful, the house maid even cooked our dinner for us one night. Was close to the town center.

Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
82.9%
Customer would recommend this property 11 January 2014

Very helpfully and friendly staff, breakfast was good and there was always a hot shower. Very clean and tidy hostel.

76.3%
10 reviews Book Now 
6

Backpackers La Serena

Hostel
Regimiento Coquimbo #975, La Serena, Chile N/A

6 out of 10 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Backpackers La Serena

Atmosphere - 76% Staff - 80% Facilities - 70% Safety - 72%
Location - 86% Cleanliness - 76% Value - 74%
Ian Warren
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year
71.4%
Ian would recommend this property 19 April 2014

It was cheap and located a short walk from the bus station. It was close enough to the town centre to walk to.

Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Sightseeing & culture
60.0%
22 March 2014

This hostel is close to the bus station and centre. They have a bikes to rent. Dorms are spacious and relatively clean.

76.1%
148 reviews Book Now 
7

Aji Verde Hostel

Hostel
Vicuña 415 La Serena Centro, La Serena, Chile 1710104

126 out of 148 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Aji Verde Hostel

Atmosphere - 76% Staff - 84% Facilities - 68% Safety - 80%
Location - 81% Cleanliness - 68% Value - 73%
Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
91.4%
Customer would recommend this property 03 March 2014

They actually have two properties. We stayed in the quieter building next door as our booking on Hostelbookers came through wrong. We booked a 6 bex mixed dorm but they only had a female dorm. The staff were lovely though and upgraded us to a two person dorm. The kitchen facilities were great and there is a lovely little courtyard outside.

James Stead
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
James would recommend this property 20 December 2013

Great staff, easy to find, good atmosphere, good rooms, nice breakfast too and kitchen available for use, excellent hostel

La Serena

7 Hostels from 10.67 USD

WHY BOOK WITH HOSTELBOOKERS?

  • No booking fees
  • Lowest price guarantee
  • Find the same cheaper and we'll refund double the difference
  • Over 1 million customer reviews
  • Over 200,000 bed nights booked every week
  • More than 20,000 properties in 3,500 destinations worldwide

Our top-rated La Serena hostels have only been scored by HostelBookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in La Serena. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.