We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

HostelBookers Logo
No booking fees

Search Accommodation

Please select from the dropdowns
Please select from the dropdowns
Property type
Invalid date
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/11/2016
Invalid date
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/11/2016
Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

Top Rated Hostels in La Serena, Chile

101 reviews Book Now 

Hostal El Arbol

Eduardo de la Barra 29, La Serena, Chile N/A

101 out of 101 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Hostal El Arbol

Atmosphere - 94% Staff - 96% Facilities - 88% Safety - 96%
Location - 89% Cleanliness - 94% Value - 93%
Dominik Zeilinger
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Dominik would recommend this property 06 November 2015

stayed at the beach (would recommend that, 10 minute walk to the beach, very green surroundings, nice garden, etc) and had the 9 bed dorm alone, even as a reservation came in the staff asked us if we want to change to another dorm -> we didnt, but very nice of them, good included breakfast, staff was extremely helpful and friendly!!

Rebekka Müller
Backpacking / gap year
Rebekka would recommend this property 29 October 2015

A nice, save and clean property with warm showers, working wifi, amazing breakfast (!), small but sufficient kitchen and cosy common areas in and outside. It's not very big, what I found really nice in terms of getting to know people and sit together, very familiar atmosphere. The stuff was very friendly and helpful, too. Nights are quiet, you'll have a good sleep. I good choice to stay in La Serena, I'd go there again.

36 reviews Book Now 

Hostal Maria Casa

Las Rojas Nr 18, La Serena, Chile 261-264

34 out of 36 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Hostal Maria Casa

Atmosphere - 89% Staff - 94% Facilities - 77% Safety - 92%
Location - 93% Cleanliness - 90% Value - 87%
Jorg Schrodter
With my spouse / partner
Sightseeing & culture
Jorg would recommend this property 14 March 2013

Very helpful and friendly owners, very good location near bus station. Very happy to come back.

John Backhouse
With my spouse / partner
Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture
John would recommend this property 07 November 2012

We loved the kindness that they offered. Definitely a place to lay back for a while.

14 reviews Book Now 

Hostal Balmaceda

Avda. J. M. Balmaceda Nº1032, La Serena, Chile 1710226

13 out of 14 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Hostal Balmaceda

Atmosphere - 82% Staff - 90% Facilities - 87% Safety - 92%
Location - 88% Cleanliness - 91% Value - 92%
Emma Lovett
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
Emma would recommend this property 22 May 2014

Quiet location, rooms had cable tv and private bathroom. Some nice renovation work going on.

Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Sightseeing & culture
Customer would recommend this property 20 November 2013

The property is in a great location with a short walk from the bus terminal and even the beach is a safe, easy walk. The Wifi was excellent.

29 reviews Book Now 

Hotel del Cid

3 star Hotel
O'Higgins Nº 138, La Serena, Chile .

27 out of 29 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Hotel del Cid

Atmosphere - 84% Staff - 92% Facilities - 80% Safety - 91%
Location - 86% Cleanliness - 93% Value - 82%
Roger Lee
With my spouse / partner
Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture
Roger would recommend this property 09 March 2013

The little patios were nicely surrounded with flowers and greenery. The owner was extremely helpful in suggesting bus routes to the sea and in recommending the few better restaurants. There is a good museum and an interesting house of a former President (1940s) to see.

Customer review
Customer would recommend this property 11 May 2010

Comfortable accommodation, good heating in room, helpful English speaking owner, good location. More a hotel than a hostel.

15 reviews Book Now 

Andes Hostal Serena

Calle Vicuña 431, La Serena, Chile N/A

14 out of 15 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Andes Hostal Serena

Atmosphere - 74% Staff - 88% Facilities - 78% Safety - 86%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 92% Value - 81%
Brianna Stimpson
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture
Brianna would recommend this property 03 September 2015

Honestly my first night there was TERRIBLE. I was in a room with a group that was super rude--they were out late and came back loud, was so drunk one was moaning in her sleep all night, phones on, etc. etc. The next morning I said something to the staff and they were immediately helpful and made everything awesome. I stayed another night and am glad I did.

Luke Robinson-Grant
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture
Luke would recommend this property 18 May 2015

Very friendly staff happy to help you with anything. Clean bathrooms and dorms, two nice social areas and a fully equipped kitchen. Great value and in a good location close to the center of La Serena. I'd stay here again for sure. Good social atmosphere too and the internet is blazing fast.

156 reviews Book Now 

Aji Verde Hostel

Vicuña 415 La Serena Centro, La Serena, Chile 1710104

134 out of 156 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Aji Verde Hostel

Atmosphere - 76% Staff - 83% Facilities - 71% Safety - 83%
Location - 82% Cleanliness - 68% Value - 74%
James O'Donnell
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
James would recommend this property 24 August 2015

Great location; very friendly, helpful and bilingual staff; nice common areas; hot shower; nice breakfast

Therese Gjellestad Nundal
Backpacking / gap year
Therese Gjellestad would recommend this property 07 August 2014

Superhelpfull staff great property, loved the roof terraces easy to meet other travelers

La Serena

6 Hostels from 10.52 USD


  • No booking fees
  • Lowest price guarantee
  • Find the same cheaper and we'll refund double the difference
  • Over 1 million customer reviews
  • Over 200,000 bed nights booked every week
  • More than 20,000 properties in 3,500 destinations worldwide

Our top-rated La Serena hostels have only been scored by HostelBookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in La Serena. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.