HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Hostal El Arbol La Serena Hostel

Calle Eduardo de la Barra # 29, La Serena, Chile

Atmosphere 94%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 90%

Location 90%

Safety 97%

Staff 96%

Value 94%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire

Important Information

Only Cash on arrival.
If you are chilean or have a chilean residence visa a tax charge of 19% will be added. Tax is not included in rates shown.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 12:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Not Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to La Serena?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 94%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 90%

Location 90%

Safety 97%

Staff 96%

Value 94%

Showing 1-10 of 15 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Work / volunteering

Liked: stayed at the beach (would recommend that, 10 minute walk to the beach, very green surroundings, nice garden, etc) and had the 9 bed dorm alone, even as a reservation came in the staff asked us if we want to change to another dorm -> we didnt, but very nice of them, good included breakfast, staff was extremely helpful and friendly!!

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: A nice, save and clean property with warm showers, working wifi, amazing breakfast (!), small but sufficient kitchen and cosy common areas in and outside. It's not very big, what I found really nice in terms of getting to know people and sit together, very familiar atmosphere. The stuff was very friendly and helpful, too. Nights are quiet, you'll have a good sleep.I good choice to stay in La Serena, I'd go there again.

Disliked: The 4-shared room is very small, even more when all beds are taken and backpacks need to find space. Pretty tight. Lockers could be bigger, as well. Two bathrooms in the main building were often not enough in the morning. One of them is very tiny, too. You and the shower curtain are basically melting together.In the room next to the kitchen you'll be woken up in the morning when they start prepare breakfast ( when you are a light sleeper and don't wear earplugs).

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Lovely place close to the beach and the supermarket. Everything is clean and they have a nice kitchen.Staf is very friendly and the garden is very chilled out!We booked a private room and ended up with a cool beach hut instead.The showers are clean and warm..and breakfast is very good with scrambled eggs!I would recommed it to all people :)

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The staff were helpful in reccommendations, very friendly and welcoming. It's such a cosy atmosphere, feels more like a home away from home. We were both sick on arrival and seeing the hostel we decided to book a few extra days to recover in such a nice warm environment. I enjoyed breakfast at the family table, freshly squeezed juice, homemade jam, simple but delicious, every so often you get a scrambled egg! The woman who makes breakfast is delightful, speaks little english but helped me learn Spanish words. Ellen & Robin

Disliked: Nothing really, the top bunk in the 4 bed dorm was comfortable but a little flimsy. Shuddered a lot when the person below moves around. We stayed in the hostel in town, be aware that it's split into 2 hostels, the other is down at the beach.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very helpful and friendly staff... we stayed at the second location which was a bit out of the way (a walk from the beach and from the city). Wifi was out at that location for one of the days but they let us go to the other location and use the internet there. Good breakfast.

Disliked: The cat had fleas :( But I pet her anyway.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It's probably the prettiest hostel we've stayed in; modern, big wooden rooms, lovely cosy dining room and lounge area, big spacious bathroom, exceptionally high standards of cleanliness. We've experienced a few cold nights at other hostels but here they were not shy about putting the heating on, probably the most comfortable nights we've had. I had really bad stomach cramps one day and the maid was instantly finding teas and medicine for me and throughout my stay kept checking in on me, so lovely!! Excellent breakfast too, and really wanted you to feel at home, to be able to cook and sit and enjoy a drink.

Disliked: Nothing really! Can't really comment on their tours as we didn't book any thru them but I have no complaints

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 May 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It has a really homely feel and is very well located.

Disliked: The kitchen is slightly on the smaller side but manageable.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 May 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Really comfortable beds and nice hot showers

Disliked: Dorm room is quite cramped be lockers aren't big enough for backpack

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 May 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Spotlessly clean, very comfortable, good breakfast, helpful staff

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 May 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The rooms are very clean, the beds are comfortable.

Disliked: The kitchen is too small and the equipment needs improvement.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability