HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostal El Arbol

Hostel | Eduardo de la Barra 29, La Serena, Chile N/A

93.9% Overall Rating

87 out of 87 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/04/2014)

James Ballardie thinks…

"Really lovely hostel about 5 mins walk from the beach. Close to town and supermarket too. The owner and her whole family were amazingly helpful at check in and with recommendations, and even drove us…"

Read all Hostal El Arbol reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Only Cash on arrival. If you are chilean or have a chilean residence visa a tax charge of 19% will be added. Tax is not included in rates shown.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to La Serena?

Contact us directly

See other properties in La Serena

Backpackers La Serena
10.65 USD

Hostel 76.3% 10 reviews
Hostal Maria Casa
14.20 USD

Guesthouse 89.4% 35 reviews
Hostal Balmaceda
18.64 USD

Guesthouse 91.7% 9 reviews
Hotel del Cid
32.54 USD

Hotel 3 star 87.3% 29 reviews
Aji Verde Hostel
15.09 USD

Hostel 76.1% 148 reviews
Andes Hostal Serena
17.75 USD

Hostel 82.9% 8 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
93.9%

Overall Rating

87 out of 87 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostal El Arbol'

Atmosphere
92.0%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
89.6%
Cleanliness
94.4%
Staff
97.6%
Value
95.2%
Safety
96.8%
Refine your results Showing 72 of 86 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

James Ballardie

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 April 2014 James would recommend this property

Liked: Really lovely hostel about 5 mins walk from the beach. Close to town and supermarket too. The owner and her whole family were amazingly helpful at check in and with recommendations, and even drove us to the bus station when we seriously underestimated our timings! Double room at the beach location was super clean and comfortable. Breakfast was fine and the kitchen was well stocked. Recommend the beach location!

Disliked: There are some dogs at the property, they are friendly but just to warn you!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anna Collier

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 March 2014 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: Very pretty and a cosy hostel. Lovely duvets and sheets!!!! Staff bring you breakfast round the dining table in the morning, including a smoothie. Clean rooms and bathroom cleaned daily and beds are made for you! Very nice :-)

Disliked: Beds were a bit squeaky but no other complaints!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yves Bussard

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 March 2014 Yves would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was fantastic. Safe and good location.

Disliked: Yves left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lee Jones

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 January 2014 Lee would recommend this property

Liked: Really, really nice owner and staff. Very helpful and knowledgable. Great breakfast. Really nice, clean rooms. Beautiful garden.

Disliked: Lee left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Stephanie Lorenz

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

13 January 2014 Stephanie would recommend this property

Liked: Nice garden at Beach-Hostel & nice common rooms. Breakfast was okay but nothing special.

Disliked: Cleanliness could be better. 5-bed-dorm turned out to be a 7-bed-dorm.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Best shower in South America, breakfast very good. Beautifully decorated house and garden. We could stay in the common area on the departure day until 10:30pm. Nice staff. Close to mall and supermarket

Disliked: Dorm a bit small, in general the house is somewhat small

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Robert Benson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 January 2014 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: Although it states that double rooms are at the beach, there are double rooms in the town and we stayed there on our first night. It is convenient to the town centre, shopping mall and bus station. The facilities are very clean and the room was comfortable. We were then collected the next evening and moved down to the beach (a 5 minute walk to the seafront) It is a bungalow on the owner's property. We had a double room on one side and there is a dorm with 5 beds on the other side with a shared bathroom. We had the place for a couple of nights to ourselves before the dorm got filled. The rooms were cleaned every day and the breakfasts were very nice. There was a kitchen where we could cook. We enjoyed our stay very much. It was chilled and relaxed and the family were very warm and welcoming. We stayed over NYE and we had an asado and then went to the beach to watch amazing fireworks.

Disliked: There was a closet in the room in town. It would have been useful to have somewhere to put our clothes in the property at the beach rather than leaving them in our rucksacks on the floor. That is our suggestion rather than a complaint.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

William Eichenlaub

Alone

Relaxation/spa

22 December 2013 William would recommend this property

Liked: Really well run. Clean. Not to big, not to small. Close to city center and the bus station yet in a nice part of town.

Disliked: William left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Simon Bentley

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

31 October 2013 Simon would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, good showers, BEST bed- super comfortable. Great breakfast

Disliked: I think the staff could offer you more information about the town on arrival

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Owner was very nice, helpful and welcoming. Breakfast was very good, rooms were clean and beds were comfortable. The lockers are huge and can easily store all valuables. Wifi was great. Hostel seems pretty new.

Disliked: One of the staff members was stood outside the rooms shouting on the phone around 1am, need to have a bit more consideration for the guests.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Morgane Sokolowski

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

31 August 2013 Morgane would recommend this property

Liked: Very cute hostel, good location, very clean. The breakfast was nice and people friendly !

Disliked: Morgane left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Francesca Whitlock

Alone

Work / volunteering

14 August 2013 Francesca would recommend this property

Liked: What a wonderful place - I was sad it was just for one night! Even so, the owner and Juanita were so kind and helpful gave me such a warm welcome I felt at home right away. The property is beautifully kept, sparkling clean, homely atmosphere and great breakfast. Good location near the centre and feels very safe. Mil gracias por darme una bienvenida tan calida a La Serena, voy a pasar por el hostal un dia para saludaros!

Disliked: Francesca left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

09 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very comfortable beds, great duvets and pillows, slept so well there. Warm rooms from wood burner in centre of house. Modern and very clean large bathroom upstairs. Good wifi which could be used in rooms. Helpful and friendly staff, who spoke English. Good location as easy to get everywhere, but then in a very quiet area too. Smallish twin room but big built in wardrobe to put bags. Breakfast was ok, but you could also use kitchen to cook and make drinks. Noise not a problem as other travellers quiet and respectful of each other in the house, which felt more like that than a hostel.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Robert Tierney

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 August 2013 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is extremely clean, and very modern. It contains all the comforts of a modern house, hot showers, comfortable beds, living and dining room and a basic but tasty breakfast. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful and I would highly reccommend staying here.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

06 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: My stay here was just brilliant. It is an incredibly cosy little hostel down a quiet side street in La Serena. It is within walking distance of mostly everything but in a tranquil location. The bed was amazingly comfortable and I thought breakfast was decent. My favourite aspects were the size (small enough for you to get to know everyone who was staying there) and the cleanliness.

Disliked: There was no hot water in the downstairs shower on the first night. But other than that, I didn't dislike anything.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very homeley

Disliked: when there are many people it can be inconvenient that the staff is leaving at 21:00 - kitchen and bathroom got dirty as the rubbish bins were too ful.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast was lovely, staff friendly and good location.

Disliked: The bunk beds are very low, they could do with being a bit higher for the person on the bottom bunk. Dorm room in the yard was quite cold! Lots and lots of keys to get in and out is a bit of a hassle.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were really friendly and the breakfast was great - brought to you at the table! The hostel was really clean and tidy.

Disliked: Nothing really, except they say you have to leave at 9pm even if you have a later bus... Otherwise an excellent place to stay and would recommend it to others!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cozy small hostel

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Samuel Blagg

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 April 2013 Samuel would recommend this property

Liked: Everything, the cleaner lady in particular is very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Samuel left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I thought this hostel was outstanding- it felt more like a hotel than a hostel. our room was lovely and really really clean.the shared bathroom was also really homely and clean! all the staff were really friendly and couldn't help us enough. The breakfast was the best we've had in Chile - proper service and good food. really impressed with this hostel.

Disliked: Nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Carolina Yatros

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

28 February 2013 Carolina would recommend this property

Liked: El hostal es muy lindo y calido. Es muy agradable, se comparte con los demas viajeros en los espacios comunes, el comedor y el living. Todos los q trabajan alli son muy agradables tambien. Lo pase excelente!

Disliked: Hay uno de los baños q es extremadamente pequeño y los lockers tampoco son lo suficientemente grandes.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Comfortable and clean rooms with a friendly staff. Kitchen is nice to have for those who like to cook own meals. Patio outside was a nice feature.

Disliked: A little noisy at night.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

16 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location within walking distance of bus terminal, shopping/grocery, city center, and beach. All staff were eager to assist and help with any questions/planning. Beds and facilities were clean and well-stocked.

Disliked: Kitchen and common areas were small and on a couple busy nights (i.e. full occupancy) it was difficult to find space to prepare and eat our dinner.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness, staff, calm, atmosphere

Disliked: Nothing