HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostal El Arbol

Hostel | Eduardo de la Barra 29, La Serena, Chile N/A

93.7% Overall Rating

95 out of 95 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/07/2014)

"It's probably the prettiest hostel we've stayed in; modern, big wooden rooms, lovely cosy dining room and lounge area, big spacious bathroom, exceptionally high standards of cleanliness. We've experienced a few cold…"

Read all Hostal El Arbol reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Only Cash on arrival. If you are chilean or have a chilean residence visa a tax charge of 19% will be added. Tax is not included in rates shown.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to La Serena?

Contact us directly

See other properties in La Serena

Hostal Maria Casa
14.00 USD

Guesthouse 89.4% 36 reviews
Hostal Balmaceda
18.37 USD

Guesthouse 91.4% 10 reviews
Hotel del Cid
32.08 USD

Hotel 3 star 87.3% 29 reviews
Aji Verde Hostel
14.87 USD

Hostel 76.1% 148 reviews
Andes Hostal Serena
11.37 USD

Hostel 82.9% 8 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
93.7%

Overall Rating

95 out of 95 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostal El Arbol'

Atmosphere
92.0%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
90.4%
Cleanliness
95.2%
Staff
95.2%
Value
95.2%
Safety
96.8%
Refine your results Showing 77 of 94 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

07 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is excellent. It is located in a quiet neighbourhood, but close enough to the city center and the bus terminal. The beds are comfy, the bathroom is very clean and the breakfast is super delicious. Certainly one of my best hostels that I've stayed in South America.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Roman Tolmachev

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 August 2012 Roman would recommend this property

Liked: very clean

Disliked: Roman left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was so clean. I arrived at 7am the day before my first night and could move into my room by 9. Really friendly staff. Comfy beds, warm- a nice warm fire. Warm shower. Great location too.

Disliked: i liked everything

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joshua Sakon

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

15 July 2012 Joshua would recommend this property

Liked: The bed is so comfortable. The location is great.

Disliked: It is probably impossible to add, but another shower room?

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gareth Thomas

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 July 2012 Gareth would recommend this property

Liked: This place is like an upmarket B & B, with comfortable beds in exceptionally clean and tasteful rooms. The owner speaks perfect English, and she and the staff make you feel really at home, and can provide plenty of information about local places to eat or visit, etc. It is in a central location within easy walking distance from the bus station and shops, sights and restaurants etc.

Disliked: Nothing really. Could be a bit cold in the rooms at night, but the house itself was warm.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The beds - dorm beds - were extremely comfortable and the bedding/linen was so warm. Had excellent nights sleep here. The staff were also very accommodating, helping us to organise tours, and giving us early breakfasts before the tours.

Disliked: Hot water was not that hot.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Larissa Gray

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 June 2012 Larissa would recommend this property

Liked: After travelling in South America for two months this hostel was like a breath of fresh air. The nicest place we have stayed at, with some of the kindest staff, that also willing to help. The hostel is more like a b&b, with a great breakfast, and amazing bed's with feather pillows, and dooveh's. It was so nice we didn't want to leave.

Disliked: I liked everything about this property, but you should know that there are no lockers available.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Keeley Hampton

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 June 2012 Keeley would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is absolutely fantastic. You feel like you are staying in your own home. The beds are the most comfortable that I have slept in in my 9 months of travelling. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful and they make your stay very pleasurable. It is only a 10 minute walk from the bus station.

Disliked: There is nothing not to like.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jason Brooks

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

01 June 2012 Jason would recommend this property

Liked: There are party hostels and there are relaxed hostels. El Arbor is the best relaxed hostel I have ever stayed at. I give it a perfect rating, first time I've done that. Best beds in Latin America, hands down. Breakfast is delicious and filling. The owner is kind, genuinely helpful, and down to earth and the lady that cleans and cooks breakfast is the sweetest lady you'll meet. There is a clean new kitchen for guests use. I can't recommend this place enough

Disliked: Nothing negative to say.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner was lovely, the cleaners were very friendly. We had a double room and the beds were the most comfortable I've slept in in South America! Everything is really new. The breakfast is lovely also.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Polly Smeaton

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 May 2012 Polly would recommend this property

Liked: Wow, where do I start?! This is a b&b more than a hostel, but with hostel prices. From the minute you arrive you feel as though you are in someone's home. The place is immaculate and everything brand new. Towels, soap, toilet paper, and the best bed+pillow+comforter combo so far in south america. Good breakfast and really lovely staff who are very welcoming and eager to help. Everyone who stayed here stayed longer than they planned because it was so nice. Can't recommend highly enough!

Disliked: No sharp knives in the kitchen.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

ken eder

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 May 2012 ken would recommend this property

Liked: Spotless; friendly helpful staff - Isabel even made phone calls for us to book our next place - thank you! Good facilities, outside area with BBQ, great location near bus terminal and centre esp. E.D.Barra street.

Disliked: Slightly pricey for a hostel.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Wayne Vincent

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

13 May 2012 Wayne would recommend this property

Liked: Located in the beautiful seaside city of La Serena, the new Hostal El Arbol is the perfect home away from home experience. More like a high-end Bed and Breakfast than a Hostal. Located near the hub of the city, and near the beaches, it is a walkable location with many nearby attractions…the open fruit and veggie market, downtown, parks, museums, the Japanese Gardens, the beach, restaurants and bars. The Hostal has been completely updated and remodeled, and is located in a quiet neighborhood just across from the Japanese Gardens, with a terrific view of their grounds from some of the rooms. This is a boutique Hostal with 6 rooms and accommodates up to 18 guests at a time. The beds are new, the pillows just right, and layers of down comforters are waiting to embrace you for a good night’s sleep. In the morning the windows are thrown open and the fragrance of the flowers in the yard waft into your room delivering sweet fresh air and sea breezes. When you stay at El Arbol you start your day with a large sit down breakfast served with loving hands…freshly squeezed juice, cereal, toast, jams, cheese, meat, teas and coffee. The staff is standing by to serve your every need, and they are so helpful assisting you to book tours and learn about all of the local attractions. People arrived early in the morning, and late at night, and the staff is there and ready to receive people from7am until midnight…the rooms are always ready! We also saw people whose travel connections didn’t quite match the check-out time (noonish) and they were welcomed to pack their bags and hang out in the common areas until they needed to leave…sometimes an entire day! Isabel and her team go out of their way to accommodate you…to ensure a great experience and enjoy all the comforts of home away from home. There is a lovely garden, a large BBQ grill, and comfy outdoor chairs and umbrella tables. The main living room has French doors that open to the gardens, a large flat screen TV, a community PC with really fast wifi, and a book lending library. There are bathrooms in every level of the main house and one in the dorm adjacent to the main house, lots of hot water, and a sufficient yet small kitchen that everyone uses. During our one week stay here we enjoyed several communal meals at this Hostal with people from Australia, Sweden, Britain, the US, Alaska, Morocco, France, The Netherlands, England, Holland, Germany, and Switzerland. Everyone contributing towards the meals, and stories of world travel were shared by all. Often people extended their stay because it was like an oasis of comfort for the weary travelers making connections. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay with these people…thank you Isabel!

Disliked: Wayne left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely and homely small hostel, very friendly staff, good breakfast, very clean and a comfortable bed.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katarzyna Lewieniec

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 April 2012 Katarzyna would recommend this property

Liked: It's a place where you can really feel at home. It is spotlessly clean, all brand new, the brekfast is among top 3 we've had on a 7-month trip (toast, jam, butter, cheese, jam, fresh juice, yoghurt, sometimes scrambled eggs), the location is great, the beds couldn't be more comfortable. the staff, especially Juanita, put their hearts into running the place. i would love to have stayed there for a week to recharge the batteries even more.

Disliked: NOTHING

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The bed was very comfortable and clean, the staff was very friendly, the breakfast was good and the hostel is close to the center and busstation. The Hostel is new and very nice and modern. I felt almost at home there.

Disliked: The only negative thing maybe is, when it is full, it could get a little crowded, because there is not much space in the room. When I was there it was not full, so it was perfect. The hostel can also be hard to find, especially arriving by taxi.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Arielle Nash

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 April 2012 Arielle would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best places we've stayed in South America. The attention to detail is amazing. The place is spotless, basically like staying in someone's house.

Disliked: Arielle left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Isabel was unbelievably friendly and helpful. The hostel had a lovely home-like feeling and the breakfast was fantastic!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The most clean hostel I have ever been in! Might almost be too clean for some! Very attentive and friendly staff, feels more like a quaint little bed and breakfast, not suitable if u want a party hostel but brilliant if you would like a little bit of comfort and luxury at a bargain price this place is for you! The best breakfast I have had in south America!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jo francis

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 April 2012 jo would recommend this property

Liked: The first hostel i've given top marks to! Great location, friendly and helpful staff, good brekkie and the whole place is spotless. Thanks for a great stay, el arbol!

Disliked: jo left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

31 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beds are soooo comfy!!!! And the commun area is like being in someone's home, a living room, a little kitchen, and a huge, nice table for eating all together. It's not a partyhostel!!!! It's a quiet and comfy place where you can feel at home far from home. Great!!!

Disliked: --

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jeanette stanley

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

29 March 2012 jeanette would recommend this property

Liked: It is a safe area and you feel secure. Like being in a house.

Disliked: The private double room waa just a little small when you have two packs!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The property is located in a great area, right next to the japanese garden and very close to the main plaza. It is also seems a very safe area and you can easily walk to the beach.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stefan Melchior

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 March 2012 Stefan would recommend this property

Liked: El Arbol is by far the best hostel we found on our whole trip through Chili (4 weeks). Very nice Hostel and room (double con matrimonial). Wooden floors and very tasteful furniture etc. Excellent bathroom. Very good breakfast. All the facilities you might want to use. Very good location.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marcus Wichert

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 March 2012 Marcus would recommend this property

Liked: This is a very new hostel beeing operated by a very nice lady with a lot of love, effort and good will. The hostel provides everything a hostel needs to be, this is why I got everywhere the full rating given.Very friendly, very clean, very quiet, very safe (lockers in the rooms, Keys for garden-door, House-door and dorm-door !) , free Wi-fi with proper speed, greaat breakfast, fully equiped kitchen and the feeling that you are in a house, with a living room with TV and a dining room for doing other stuff. It is very near to a super market and also near to the Bus-station (15 min. on foot).

Disliked: Nothing really. Stayed there 2 nights longer than planned...