We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostal El Arbol

Hostel | Eduardo de la Barra 29, La Serena, Chile N/A

93.8% Overall Rating

96 out of 96 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/09/2014)

Ellen Anderson thinks…

"The staff were helpful in reccommendations, very friendly and welcoming. It's such a cosy atmosphere, feels more like a home away from home. We were both sick on arrival and seeing the hostel we…"

Read all Hostal El Arbol reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Only Cash on arrival. If you are chilean or have a chilean residence visa a tax charge of 19% will be added. Tax is not included in rates shown.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to La Serena?

Contact us directly

See other properties in La Serena

Hostal Maria Casa
13.32 USD

Guesthouse 89.4% 36 reviews
Hostal Balmaceda
17.48 USD

Guesthouse 91.4% 10 reviews
Hotel del Cid
30.53 USD

Hotel 3 star 87.3% 29 reviews
Aji Verde Hostel
14.15 USD

Hostel 75.5% 149 reviews
Andes Hostal Serena
10.82 USD

Hostel 83.5% 9 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
93.8%

Overall Rating

96 out of 96 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostal El Arbol'

Atmosphere
92.0%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
91.2%
Cleanliness
95.2%
Staff
95.2%
Value
95.2%
Safety
96.8%
Refine your results Showing 78 of 95 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Samuel Blagg

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 April 2013 Samuel would recommend this property

Liked: Everything, the cleaner lady in particular is very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Samuel left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I thought this hostel was outstanding- it felt more like a hotel than a hostel. our room was lovely and really really clean.the shared bathroom was also really homely and clean! all the staff were really friendly and couldn't help us enough. The breakfast was the best we've had in Chile - proper service and good food. really impressed with this hostel.

Disliked: Nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Carolina Yatros

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

28 February 2013 Carolina would recommend this property

Liked: El hostal es muy lindo y calido. Es muy agradable, se comparte con los demas viajeros en los espacios comunes, el comedor y el living. Todos los q trabajan alli son muy agradables tambien. Lo pase excelente!

Disliked: Hay uno de los baños q es extremadamente pequeño y los lockers tampoco son lo suficientemente grandes.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Comfortable and clean rooms with a friendly staff. Kitchen is nice to have for those who like to cook own meals. Patio outside was a nice feature.

Disliked: A little noisy at night.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

16 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location within walking distance of bus terminal, shopping/grocery, city center, and beach. All staff were eager to assist and help with any questions/planning. Beds and facilities were clean and well-stocked.

Disliked: Kitchen and common areas were small and on a couple busy nights (i.e. full occupancy) it was difficult to find space to prepare and eat our dinner.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness, staff, calm, atmosphere

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the staff was so lovely and it is one of the best hostels that we have ever been ! THANK YOU

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

03 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hostal El Arbol itself is great. It feels like home with a nice living room with tv, dining room and [small] kitchen. We stayed in the 4 bed dorm for one night and the beds were great! The sisters who run the hostel are very nice.

Disliked: If you book the 6 bed dorm please beware that this is not in hostal El Arbol itself! The dorm is acutally a cabin in the garden of the house the sisters are living in. Although it is nice to be outside, and the cabin is close to the beach, it´s quite plain and not very clean. Moreover, you don´t have access to the facilities of the hostal as mentioned on hostelbookers. There is only a small ´kitchen´ with one small cooker. Although we liked our stay at the cabin, we were quite upset about the fact that this wasn´t clearly mentioned at hostelbookers and also no pictures were shown. This wasn´t what we expected. It seems like hostal El Arbol is making use of it´s good rates to also sell the cabin [which would get quite lower rates I assume].

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christoph Klauser

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 February 2013 Christoph would recommend this property

Liked: very familiar place, lovely breakfast

Disliked: Christoph left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

24 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice small hostel on a quiet street near the town center. One of the best I've visited. Staff spoke good english and were most helpful. Good breakfast.

Disliked: Staff is not always present at the property... remember to tell when you'll be arriving.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely property in a convenient location. Friendly and helpful manager. Excellent breakfast.

Disliked: Stayed in the 4 bed dorm between the kitchen and communal area. The bedroom had ants on the floor, on the wall under the window, and in the beds. I am nursing a number of bites on my legs, arms, hands and neck. It is a very small space; not much room for backpacks. The bunks are wobbly, but comfortable. The cleaner stripped a bed and left the door open when we were still in bed trying to sleep. Only room for one in the kitchen. Stay in a double instead - you will have a much better stay.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely property close to town. Clean, spacious and well decorated double room. Very friendly and helpful manager / owner. Great breakfast with warmed bread, cereal and fruit.

Disliked: Kitchen and fridge a little small, but this seems to be the norm in south america. Not a problem unless you are self catering.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, peaceful but sociable, very friendly staff and great location, comfy beds, good breakfasts, and the lovely Juanita!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lilian Ainley

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

05 January 2013 Lilian would recommend this property

Liked: We had an amazing stay at Hostal El Arbol. The staff are really friendly and helpful. The showers are always hot. The beds are comfy and the whole hostel was spotless.

Disliked: Lilian left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

15 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice atmosphere, friendly stuff

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jacqueline Cook

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 December 2012 Jacqueline would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely little place with super helpful staff! :)

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It feels like you're living in a relative's home. You can fully relax. Everything is clean, and I cooked every meal here. It was so easy.

Disliked: Nothing. I wish it was a franchaise all around South America.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

05 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel has more of a B&B feel to it. It has a quiet and relaxed atmosphere and is far from a noisy party hostel. The breakfast included cereal, bread, cheese, ham, jam and tea and coffee. The house keeper does a very good job of cleaning the house daily. Great showers! If travelling with a partner i would recommend paying a bit extra for the double room as the dorm room was very tight.

Disliked: Not a big issue but ill write it anyway. We arrived at a busy time of year. When the place is full it can seem very crowded. I waited an hour for the shower in the morning but it was still hot so I wasn't disappointed. There was a mix up with the hostel´s bookings and they had overbooked. 2 girls had to go to another hostel. We had to stay in the 8 bed dorm for one night instead of the 4 bed. The owner felt bad so upgraded us to the double which was nice but only after we said something. There wasn´t much information regarding what to do or see in La Serena. I felt like I had to really fish for information. When I asked though the owner was happy to book the star gazing tour for us. Overall, we left feeling happy!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location with very nice and helpful staff. Homely feel, comfortable beds, very clean place with a great kitchen.

Disliked: Nothing. Exceeded expectations.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We had a nice double room - a bit small but fine for us. Really friendly atmosphere and lovely staff. Good location - near the bus station, supermarket and center of town.

Disliked: There is only one shared bathroom upstairs which meant a bit of a wait in the mornings and evening. Also, the shared kitchen is small so again, can mean a bit of a wait.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Charlene Guyader

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals

25 October 2012 Charlene would recommend this property

Liked: Good

Disliked: Charlene left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice, friendly and familiar place to stay for some nights.

Disliked: The room we stayed was a little too small.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Tyce Clee

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 October 2012 Tyce would recommend this property

Liked: El Arbol is a beautiful little bnb just outside of the main square in La Serena. We stayed for a few nights in the double bed private room that overlooks the spectacular Japanese garden next door. The breakfast was brilliant, ham and cheese with good coffee. Location is a little further away from the main part of La Serena, but very close to the local shopping mall. Definitely get up to to the fish market in La Serena and try some of the local catch, very cheap and delicious!

Disliked: Tyce left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really hated the 'it feels like home' comments from other reviewers but it really does, I loved this place, small and quiet so not for the Rover and Loki crew but a lovely place to spend a few nights!

Disliked: Nothing at all

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

31 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff. easy to find and close to centre.

Disliked: Nothing