HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostal El Arbol

Hostel | Eduardo de la Barra 29, La Serena, Chile N/A

93.9% Overall Rating

86 out of 86 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/03/2014)

Anna Collier thinks…

"Very pretty and a cosy hostel. Lovely duvets and sheets!!!! Staff bring you breakfast round the dining table in the morning, including a smoothie. Clean rooms and bathroom cleaned daily and beds are…"

Read all Hostal El Arbol reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Only Cash on arrival. If you are chilean or have a chilean residence visa a tax charge of 19% will be added. Tax is not included in rates shown.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to La Serena?

Contact us directly

See other properties in La Serena

Backpackers La Serena
10.81 USD

Hostel 74.3% 8 reviews
Hostal Maria Casa
14.41 USD

Guesthouse 89.4% 35 reviews
Hostal Balmaceda
18.92 USD

Guesthouse 91.7% 9 reviews
Hotel del Cid
33.03 USD

Hotel 3 star 87.3% 29 reviews
Aji Verde Hostel
15.31 USD

Hostel 76.1% 148 reviews
Andes Hostal Serena
18.01 USD

Hostel 82.9% 8 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
93.9%

Overall Rating

86 out of 86 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostal El Arbol'

Atmosphere
92.0%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
89.6%
Cleanliness
94.4%
Staff
97.6%
Value
94.4%
Safety
96.8%
Refine your results Showing 71 of 85 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

03 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hostal El Arbol itself is great. It feels like home with a nice living room with tv, dining room and [small] kitchen. We stayed in the 4 bed dorm for one night and the beds were great! The sisters who run the hostel are very nice.

Disliked: If you book the 6 bed dorm please beware that this is not in hostal El Arbol itself! The dorm is acutally a cabin in the garden of the house the sisters are living in. Although it is nice to be outside, and the cabin is close to the beach, it´s quite plain and not very clean. Moreover, you don´t have access to the facilities of the hostal as mentioned on hostelbookers. There is only a small ´kitchen´ with one small cooker. Although we liked our stay at the cabin, we were quite upset about the fact that this wasn´t clearly mentioned at hostelbookers and also no pictures were shown. This wasn´t what we expected. It seems like hostal El Arbol is making use of it´s good rates to also sell the cabin [which would get quite lower rates I assume].

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christoph Klauser

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 February 2013 Christoph would recommend this property

Liked: very familiar place, lovely breakfast

Disliked: Christoph left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

24 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice small hostel on a quiet street near the town center. One of the best I've visited. Staff spoke good english and were most helpful. Good breakfast.

Disliked: Staff is not always present at the property... remember to tell when you'll be arriving.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely property in a convenient location. Friendly and helpful manager. Excellent breakfast.

Disliked: Stayed in the 4 bed dorm between the kitchen and communal area. The bedroom had ants on the floor, on the wall under the window, and in the beds. I am nursing a number of bites on my legs, arms, hands and neck. It is a very small space; not much room for backpacks. The bunks are wobbly, but comfortable. The cleaner stripped a bed and left the door open when we were still in bed trying to sleep. Only room for one in the kitchen. Stay in a double instead - you will have a much better stay.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely property close to town. Clean, spacious and well decorated double room. Very friendly and helpful manager / owner. Great breakfast with warmed bread, cereal and fruit.

Disliked: Kitchen and fridge a little small, but this seems to be the norm in south america. Not a problem unless you are self catering.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, peaceful but sociable, very friendly staff and great location, comfy beds, good breakfasts, and the lovely Juanita!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lilian Ainley

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

05 January 2013 Lilian would recommend this property

Liked: We had an amazing stay at Hostal El Arbol. The staff are really friendly and helpful. The showers are always hot. The beds are comfy and the whole hostel was spotless.

Disliked: Lilian left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

15 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice atmosphere, friendly stuff

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jacqueline Cook

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 December 2012 Jacqueline would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely little place with super helpful staff! :)

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It feels like you're living in a relative's home. You can fully relax. Everything is clean, and I cooked every meal here. It was so easy.

Disliked: Nothing. I wish it was a franchaise all around South America.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

05 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel has more of a B&B feel to it. It has a quiet and relaxed atmosphere and is far from a noisy party hostel. The breakfast included cereal, bread, cheese, ham, jam and tea and coffee. The house keeper does a very good job of cleaning the house daily. Great showers! If travelling with a partner i would recommend paying a bit extra for the double room as the dorm room was very tight.

Disliked: Not a big issue but ill write it anyway. We arrived at a busy time of year. When the place is full it can seem very crowded. I waited an hour for the shower in the morning but it was still hot so I wasn't disappointed. There was a mix up with the hostel´s bookings and they had overbooked. 2 girls had to go to another hostel. We had to stay in the 8 bed dorm for one night instead of the 4 bed. The owner felt bad so upgraded us to the double which was nice but only after we said something. There wasn´t much information regarding what to do or see in La Serena. I felt like I had to really fish for information. When I asked though the owner was happy to book the star gazing tour for us. Overall, we left feeling happy!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location with very nice and helpful staff. Homely feel, comfortable beds, very clean place with a great kitchen.

Disliked: Nothing. Exceeded expectations.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We had a nice double room - a bit small but fine for us. Really friendly atmosphere and lovely staff. Good location - near the bus station, supermarket and center of town.

Disliked: There is only one shared bathroom upstairs which meant a bit of a wait in the mornings and evening. Also, the shared kitchen is small so again, can mean a bit of a wait.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Charlene Guyader

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals

25 October 2012 Charlene would recommend this property

Liked: Good

Disliked: Charlene left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice, friendly and familiar place to stay for some nights.

Disliked: The room we stayed was a little too small.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Tyce Clee

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 October 2012 Tyce would recommend this property

Liked: El Arbol is a beautiful little bnb just outside of the main square in La Serena. We stayed for a few nights in the double bed private room that overlooks the spectacular Japanese garden next door. The breakfast was brilliant, ham and cheese with good coffee. Location is a little further away from the main part of La Serena, but very close to the local shopping mall. Definitely get up to to the fish market in La Serena and try some of the local catch, very cheap and delicious!

Disliked: Tyce left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really hated the 'it feels like home' comments from other reviewers but it really does, I loved this place, small and quiet so not for the Rover and Loki crew but a lovely place to spend a few nights!

Disliked: Nothing at all

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

31 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff. easy to find and close to centre.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mikael Norton

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 August 2012 Mikael would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff, comfortable upmarket place to stay .

Disliked: Mikael left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

07 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is excellent. It is located in a quiet neighbourhood, but close enough to the city center and the bus terminal. The beds are comfy, the bathroom is very clean and the breakfast is super delicious. Certainly one of my best hostels that I've stayed in South America.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Roman Tolmachev

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 August 2012 Roman would recommend this property

Liked: very clean

Disliked: Roman left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was so clean. I arrived at 7am the day before my first night and could move into my room by 9. Really friendly staff. Comfy beds, warm- a nice warm fire. Warm shower. Great location too.

Disliked: i liked everything

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joshua Sakon

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

15 July 2012 Joshua would recommend this property

Liked: The bed is so comfortable. The location is great.

Disliked: It is probably impossible to add, but another shower room?

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gareth Thomas

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 July 2012 Gareth would recommend this property

Liked: This place is like an upmarket B & B, with comfortable beds in exceptionally clean and tasteful rooms. The owner speaks perfect English, and she and the staff make you feel really at home, and can provide plenty of information about local places to eat or visit, etc. It is in a central location within easy walking distance from the bus station and shops, sights and restaurants etc.

Disliked: Nothing really. Could be a bit cold in the rooms at night, but the house itself was warm.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The beds - dorm beds - were extremely comfortable and the bedding/linen was so warm. Had excellent nights sleep here. The staff were also very accommodating, helping us to organise tours, and giving us early breakfasts before the tours.

Disliked: Hot water was not that hot.