HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Hostal El Arbol La Serena Hostel

Calle Eduardo de la Barra # 29, La Serena, Chile

Atmosphere 94%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 90%

Location 90%

Safety 97%

Staff 96%

Value 94%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire

Important Information

Only Cash on arrival.
If you are chilean or have a chilean residence visa a tax charge of 19% will be added. Tax is not included in rates shown.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 12:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Not Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to La Serena?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 94%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 90%

Location 90%

Safety 97%

Staff 96%

Value 94%

Showing 11-18 of 18 reviews

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Really lovely hostel about 5 mins walk from the beach. Close to town and supermarket too. The owner and her whole family were amazingly helpful at check in and with recommendations, and even drove us to the bus station when we seriously underestimated our timings! Double room at the beach location was super clean and comfortable. Breakfast was fine and the kitchen was well stocked. Recommend the beach location!

Disliked: There are some dogs at the property, they are friendly but just to warn you!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Very pretty and a cosy hostel. Lovely duvets and sheets!!!! Staff bring you breakfast round the dining table in the morning, including a smoothie. Clean rooms and bathroom cleaned daily and beds are made for you! Very nice :-)

Disliked: Beds were a bit squeaky but no other complaints!

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing

Liked: Nice garden at Beach-Hostel & nice common rooms. Breakfast was okay but nothing special.

Disliked: Cleanliness could be better. 5-bed-dorm turned out to be a 7-bed-dorm.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Although it states that double rooms are at the beach, there are double rooms in the town and we stayed there on our first night. It is convenient to the town centre, shopping mall and bus station. The facilities are very clean and the room was comfortable. We were then collected the next evening and moved down to the beach (a 5 minute walk to the seafront) It is a bungalow on the owner's property. We had a double room on one side and there is a dorm with 5 beds on the other side with a shared bathroom. We had the place for a couple of nights to ourselves before the dorm got filled. The rooms were cleaned every day and the breakfasts were very nice. There was a kitchen where we could cook. We enjoyed our stay very much. It was chilled and relaxed and the family were very warm and welcoming. We stayed over NYE and we had an asado and then went to the beach to watch amazing fireworks.

Disliked: There was a closet in the room in town. It would have been useful to have somewhere to put our clothes in the property at the beach rather than leaving them in our rucksacks on the floor. That is our suggestion rather than a complaint.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Relaxation / spa

Liked: Really well run. Clean. Not to big, not to small. Close to city center and the bus station yet in a nice part of town.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Really, really nice owner and staff. Very helpful and knowledgable. Great breakfast. Really nice, clean rooms. Beautiful garden.

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Best shower in South America, breakfast very good. Beautifully decorated house and garden. We could stay in the common area on the departure day until 10:30pm. Nice staff. Close to mall and supermarket

Disliked: Dorm a bit small, in general the house is somewhat small

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great atmosphere, good showers, BEST bed- super comfortable. Great breakfast

Disliked: I think the staff could offer you more information about the town on arrival

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Owner was very nice, helpful and welcoming. Breakfast was very good, rooms were clean and beds were comfortable. The lockers are huge and can easily store all valuables. Wifi was great. Hostel seems pretty new.

Disliked: One of the staff members was stood outside the rooms shouting on the phone around 1am, need to have a bit more consideration for the guests.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: What a wonderful place - I was sad it was just for one night! Even so, the owner and Juanita were so kind and helpful gave me such a warm welcome I felt at home right away. The property is beautifully kept, sparkling clean, homely atmosphere and great breakfast. Good location near the centre and feels very safe. Mil gracias por darme una bienvenida tan calida a La Serena, voy a pasar por el hostal un dia para saludaros!

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability