HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Hostal Balmaceda - La Serena La Serena Hostel

Av. Jos Manuel Balmaceda 1032, La Serena, Chile

Atmosphere 83%

Cleanliness 91%

Facilities 88%

Location 88%

Safety 92%

Staff 89%

Value 92%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • Linen Included
  • Meeting Room
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Reading Light
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 8.16USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to La Serena?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 83%

Cleanliness 91%

Facilities 88%

Location 88%

Safety 92%

Staff 89%

Value 92%

Showing 1-4 of 4 reviews

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Romantic getaway, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Super Hostel

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 May 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Romantic getaway

Liked: Cozy, location

Disliked: We booked a tour from 8am till 6pm the day we were leaving. We asked the receptionist if we could leave our small bags. She agreed. When we returned, two of the staff members showed a rude attitude giving us a lecture that we had to pay for using the utilities and leaving the bags. We offered to pay and the man took half of what they were charging. In the future, they should make this clear to avoid this hassle. It was a sour note to end a day that was magical.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 May 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Quiet location, rooms had cable tv and private bathroom. Some nice renovation work going on.

Disliked: Kitchen could do with a few more utensils, but otherwise nothing much.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The property is in a great location with a short walk from the bus terminal and even the beach is a safe, easy walk. The Wifi was excellent.

Disliked: The property is under construction. There were never any noise issues, yet you see the work in progress. It will be spectacular when done.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: We had a great stay at Hostel Balmaceda. We were staying for Christmas and had booked a room with a shared kitchen, but when we arrived there was a problem with the room. The friendly and helpful staff upgraded us to an apartment with kitchen and bathroom with no extra cost. Amazing. The hostel is safe and clean and with a nice, quiet atmosphere. A little more than we normally pay but totally worth the money. 10 min walk to the centre and near supermarkets. A great place.

Disliked: Nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Oct 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: We had the place to ourselves with the kitchen. All the bedrooms were upstairs and the bathroom downstairs.

Disliked: The map and the directions made this incredibly hard to find. They need someone to help them the directions. We drove by it a couple of times. It is right next to the police department. The floors needed to be washed in the place but it was nice and private.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Oct 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: The hostel owners were really friendly and helped us a lot when we arrived. In the hostel, we had an own apartment, with a kitchen and an own bathroom. So especially if you want to go there with some friends, you can enjoy yourself and have a lot of fun!

Disliked: -

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Sep 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Free loan of bikes.

Disliked: Fair distance from beach, though all hostel accom seems to be.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 May 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Romantic getaway, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: This is the BEST hostel we have encountered during our 10 months in South America! The newly renovated apartments are clean, comfortable and have really well equipped kitchens. The location is awesome, the staff so, so friendly, helpful and service minded. We arrived late at night and they had made us sandwiches to eat since all stores and restaurants were closed! Showers are hot, wi-fi works well, it's close to a great supermarket, it's right in the city center on a back yard so no street noise. There are tables to sit outside of every apartment, a green garden full of flowers, what more can we say? It's just an awesome place! Maybe not the right place if you are looking for parties and to meet a lot of new people, since the apartments are fit for small groups of people and there are no common areas except for the garden. Perfect for everyone who wants a quiet, friendly and safe hostel!

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability