HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostal Balmaceda

Guesthouse | Avda. J. M. Balmaceda Nº1032, La Serena, Chile 1710226

91.4% Overall Rating

9 out of 10 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/05/2014)

Emma Lovett thinks…

"Quiet location, rooms had cable tv and private bathroom. Some nice renovation work going on."

Read all Hostal Balmaceda reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 8.33

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to La Serena?

Contact us directly

See other properties in La Serena

Hostal Maria Casa
13.32 USD

Guesthouse 89.4% 36 reviews
Hostal El Arbol
14.15 USD

Hostel 93.8% 96 reviews
Aji Verde Hostel
14.15 USD

Hostel 75.5% 149 reviews
Hotel del Cid
30.53 USD

Hotel 3 star 87.3% 29 reviews
Andes Hostal Serena
10.82 USD

Hostel 83.5% 9 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.4%

Overall Rating

9 out of 10 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostal Balmaceda'

Atmosphere
84.0%
Location
90.0%
Facilities
88.0%
Cleanliness
94.0%
Staff
94.0%
Value
94.0%
Safety
96.0%
Refine your results Showing 8 of 10 reviews
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emma Lovett

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 May 2014 Emma would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet location, rooms had cable tv and private bathroom. Some nice renovation work going on.

Disliked: Kitchen could do with a few more utensils, but otherwise nothing much.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

20 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The property is in a great location with a short walk from the bus terminal and even the beach is a safe, easy walk. The Wifi was excellent.

Disliked: The property is under construction. There were never any noise issues, yet you see the work in progress. It will be spectacular when done.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Gilbert

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 January 2013 David would recommend this property

Liked: We had a great stay at Hostel Balmaceda. We were staying for Christmas and had booked a room with a shared kitchen, but when we arrived there was a problem with the room. The friendly and helpful staff upgraded us to an apartment with kitchen and bathroom with no extra cost. Amazing. The hostel is safe and clean and with a nice, quiet atmosphere. A little more than we normally pay but totally worth the money. 10 min walk to the centre and near supermarkets. A great place.

Disliked: Nothing.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

29 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We had the place to ourselves with the kitchen. All the bedrooms were upstairs and the bathroom downstairs.

Disliked: The map and the directions made this incredibly hard to find. They need someone to help them the directions. We drove by it a couple of times. It is right next to the police department. The floors needed to be washed in the place but it was nice and private.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel owners were really friendly and helped us a lot when we arrived. In the hostel, we had an own apartment, with a kitchen and an own bathroom. So especially if you want to go there with some friends, you can enjoy yourself and have a lot of fun!

Disliked: -

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 September 2011

Liked: Free loan of bikes.

Disliked: Fair distance from beach, though all hostel accom seems to be.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Johan Fornander

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 June 2011 Johan would recommend this property

Liked: This is the BEST hostel we have encountered during our 10 months in South America! The newly renovated apartments are clean, comfortable and have really well equipped kitchens. The location is awesome, the staff so, so friendly, helpful and service minded. We arrived late at night and they had made us sandwiches to eat since all stores and restaurants were closed! Showers are hot, wi-fi works well, it's close to a great supermarket, it's right in the city center on a back yard so no street noise. There are tables to sit outside of every apartment, a green garden full of flowers, what more can we say? It's just an awesome place! Maybe not the right place if you are looking for parties and to meet a lot of new people, since the apartments are fit for small groups of people and there are no common areas except for the garden. Perfect for everyone who wants a quiet, friendly and safe hostel!

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the fact that it was self contained apartments and therefore had more of a homelike feel to it. Kitchen and bathrooms completely spotless. Owners extremely friendly and helpful (and a friendly dog too!).

Disliked: As there is only one bathroom per apartment this can mean a bit of awkward waiting time.