We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostal Maria Casa

Guesthouse | Las Rojas Nr 18, La Serena, Chile 261-264

89.4% Overall Rating

34 out of 36 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/03/2013)

Jorg Schrodter thinks…

"Very helpful and friendly owners, very good location near bus station. Very happy to come back."

Read all Hostal Maria Casa reviews

Facilities

  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

Cash only

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to La Serena?

Contact us directly

See other properties in La Serena

Hostal Balmaceda
17.61 USD

Guesthouse 91.4% 10 reviews
Hostal El Arbol
14.26 USD

Hostel 93.8% 96 reviews
Aji Verde Hostel
14.26 USD

Hostel 75.5% 149 reviews
Hotel del Cid
30.75 USD

Hotel 3 star 87.3% 29 reviews
Andes Hostal Serena
10.90 USD

Hostel 83.5% 9 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.4%

Overall Rating

34 out of 36 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostal Maria Casa'

Atmosphere
89.6%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
77.6%
Cleanliness
90.4%
Staff
94.4%
Value
87.2%
Safety
92.8%
Refine your results Showing 31 of 33 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jorg Schrodter

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

14 March 2013 Jorg would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful and friendly owners, very good location near bus station. Very happy to come back.

Disliked: hot water issues, get in early if you want hot water

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

John Backhouse

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

07 November 2012 John would recommend this property

Liked: We loved the kindness that they offered. Definitely a place to lay back for a while.

Disliked: All good!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Yichen Bai

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Family Holiday

02 September 2012 Yichen would recommend this property

Liked: The hostal is very near to the bus station,and very quiet and confortable ,The owner is very kind and can help for the booking of travel agency.

Disliked: None

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice atmosphere. Nice family run hostel.

Disliked: The rooms were a little drafty, it was not that warm in April. I would be wary of staying here later in the winter. Bathrooms could be better looked after.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

matthew roberts

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 June 2012 matthew would recommend this property

Liked: Casa Maria Hostel is a great place to stay - Very friendly and always willing to lend a hand/advice. The added bonus of having Poncho on sight who makes leather sandals in his workshop on sight is GREAT!!! Get to make your own if you want to.......

Disliked: Nothing....

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anja Kamp

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

29 April 2012 Anja would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is a small family home with the most amazing atmosphere. its cozy, clean and friendly. if you are looking for a real Chile experience this is the place to go. you can pick fresh fig fruit and lemon from the small garden and use the kitchen or the outside grill. It´s close to city center, the bus station and the best supermarket in town. The family speaks english and are very helpful. coming from someone who traveled the world, this is a wonderful place to be. you most visit when in chile.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rolf Wiessner

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 December 2011 Rolf would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly familly! Individual service! We like it very much!

Disliked: Rolf left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely garden area, close to the central core.

Disliked: The common area tables were right outside my room. I paid for a single room to have a bit of quiet, privacy and there were times when the common area was very noisy. Earplugs a must for that particular room ! Usually hostels of this type serve breakfast in the mornings ..... next time I would likely search for another hostel simply for that convenience.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laura Dohan

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 October 2011 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: Everything about Maria´s Casa was wonderful! Very at home feel, the hostel seems to mainly be run by Maria´s two sons (yet she lives there) and Maria´s brother Pancho is often in and around the hostel, helping people make their very own leather sandals! First night we were there we had a group bbq with all the other travelers in which Mauri cooked and taught us a little history of the area. All rooms are private with their own keys and the backyard is beautiful, with 5-6 different fruit trees growing the scenery is quite beautiful. Another big plus is the fact that it is literally a 3-5 minute walk from the bus station in La Serena and about the same distance from the highly recommended EcoTourism tours. We booked 3 nights and ended up staying 5, I would highly recommend Casa Maria to any and all travelers (Maria speaks Spanish/Italian, Mauri speaks Spanish/English, and Andres speaks Spanish/French a big plus)

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: mother and son who run the hostel are verry friendly. he speaks englisch. location is perfect less then 5 min from bus terminal. 5 min to mall. 7 min to city center. 20 min to beach. There is a lovely big garden to sit in with big tables so you can eat outside. everything in the hostel is clean. good big kitchen.

Disliked: no wifi in the room (but good in the common ereas), no laundry service (but there is one in the mall).

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

12 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location to bus station and handy to city centre Nice garden area

Disliked: Erratic hot water in showers

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good value for money - we stayed in a double room which was basic but clean, comfy bed. The family that run the place are really great - they helped us out with maps, lots of information on La Serena and surrounding area, good recommendations on places to eat and we even got to watch a rugby game on their TV! Kitchen is basic but well-equipped. Nice garden. Near supermarket, shops and only 5-10 mins walk from town centre. If you want a quiet place, this is it. Also good for kids, there was a family staying there at the same time as us and they seemed to have a good time.

Disliked: Location was good for us, but some may think it's far from the centre. I think the directions from the station need to be clearer as we got ripped off in a taxi when it's literally a couple of minutes' walk!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly hostel- lovely staff. Went out of their way to help. Definitely recommend

Disliked: None

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Imogen Smith

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 July 2011 Imogen would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were really friendly and always wanted to help. The showers are lovely and hot and the beds are very comfy! You can also make your own flip flops with Pancho!! Overall areally nice place!

Disliked: None

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place, great staff (especially Maria, she tried to teach us some Spanish), you can make your own sandals/flipflops with Pacho. Really cool!

Disliked: No breakfast (but not a big deal), and the shower. But these are always questionable in chili.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

29 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the bus station and not too far from the centre of town either. The staff were very friendly and helpful. It was a pleasant place to stay and would highly recommend it.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Andres, Maria´s son seems to run the place now, is very friendly and takes time to explain a little about La Serena to all. Ultra helpful too, booking our onward accommodation. Great location for bus station and town.

Disliked: Kitchen smallish but adequate.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Patrick Higson-Smith

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 April 2011 Patrick would recommend this property

Liked: Maria and her family are so warm and welcoming ! Her son surprised us at the bus stop which is less than 5 minutes walk. Maria made us all tea and coffee as soon as we arrived while they spent time telling us about the area. Beautiful home and they have recently renovated the kitchen so more than enough space for everyone to cook etc. Plenty of blankets to keep you warm! Such a wonderful family who are happy to help you with anything and always asking about your day . Would definitely recommend staying here !

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Helena Skinn

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 April 2011 Helena would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms are basic but nice and good value for money. The set up of the place is good with a little garden towards the back. the kitchen is small-ish but has most of the things you might need. The staff are very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: n/a

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Marcel Knothe

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 March 2011 Marcel would recommend this property

Liked: Maria is a very friendly and welcoming person who makes you feel at home. Unfortunately for us we don't speak Spanish so we could only talk to her with our hands and feet. But Andres speaks English and gives you good information about La Serena.

Disliked: The walls are very thin so you can hear every cough of your neighbor. Toilet paper is not always provided and there is no breakfast (only coffee and tea).

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 November 2010

Liked: Met some great people there. Seemed very safe and fairly relaxed.

Disliked: Quite cold at night, and having to walk all the way down the garden path to get to the toilets and shower each time wasn't nice. Cramped kitchen.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 November 2010

Liked: It's an interesting set up.

Disliked: As with all the backpacker mecca hostels we've encountered on this trip, we didn't like it. The rooms are in little huts around a courtyard and path, we were there in November and it was freezing so I can only imagine what it's like on a cold month. The first night after arriving into La Serena completely disoriented at 10 pm, we were confusedly told that we would be spending the night across the street at what looked like someone's house (but was actually a dormant hostel in someone's house) because they didn't have the room that we had reserved. While we met some nice people, the facilities were crowded and in short supply and it was cold and there's no breakfast. There are tons of hostels in La Serena, you could find one cheaper with better amenities if you arrive in the day and walk around.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

stacey herbert

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 October 2010 stacey would recommend this property

Liked: The people, Pancho, andre, maria and ,mauritzio are absolutely amazing, This is a family home, but you are really made to feel welcome and treated well. The free internet is fantastic, though the kitchen to small to accommodate more than 2 people cooking at once, this is being fixed though. The rooms are clean and well kept, though they get extremely cold at night, so wrap up. The only thing that would ,make this place perfect for me would be a basic breakfast. Great guest house, great people, great location. I will be back to hang out with you guys again, and thanks for everything.xx

Disliked: Size of the kitchen, outdoor toilets, and no breakfast

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, advising us on what to do in the local area. The family made us feel very welcome.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly staff, and helpful for booking trips, accomodation elsewhere etc.Nice open eating/kitchen area.Comfy beds.

Disliked: Couldn't get the shower above tepid.